QUOTE(khguan @ Oct 22 2008, 06:21 PM)
Adjustable cam gear will not cause knocking problems if u set everything correctly.
I have tuned a wira 1.5A cam gear with 6 degree advance crank. Without any knocking problems.. and the car damn so powerful at low end pickup and still able to cruise at 170kmh without much probs with 1.6 internals.
The knocking problem is caused by the wrong ignition timing after u adjusted the cam timing. When u advance the crank (retard cam), the ignition timing at the distributor side also advanced.. that's y u get the knocking...
So pls dun blame the cam gear for the knocking problem... blame the tuner.
Added on October 22, 2008, 6:25 pmAs for adjustable cam gear with stock camshaft, it will still make some difference to the performance... just that u will experience a major compromise between pickup and high end power..
With performance camshaft, u can fine tune and maximise the powerband to suit ur driving style with proper cam timing.
Can we adjust the cam pulley to retard 6 degree (3mm)? No any problem and can gain pick up starting?I have tuned a wira 1.5A cam gear with 6 degree advance crank. Without any knocking problems.. and the car damn so powerful at low end pickup and still able to cruise at 170kmh without much probs with 1.6 internals.
The knocking problem is caused by the wrong ignition timing after u adjusted the cam timing. When u advance the crank (retard cam), the ignition timing at the distributor side also advanced.. that's y u get the knocking...
So pls dun blame the cam gear for the knocking problem... blame the tuner.
Added on October 22, 2008, 6:25 pmAs for adjustable cam gear with stock camshaft, it will still make some difference to the performance... just that u will experience a major compromise between pickup and high end power..
With performance camshaft, u can fine tune and maximise the powerband to suit ur driving style with proper cam timing.
My car (Proton 4G15 SVDO) already install Pipercam cam shaft.
Jul 16 2009, 02:02 PM

0.0175sec