how an adjustable cam pulley works?

drexchan
post Oct 24 2008, 01:35 PM

91 posts

As he said, tuner's problem.

Added on October 24, 2008, 2:01 pm
QUOTE(alamdamai1 @ Jun 20 2008, 02:34 PM)
thanks Bro for pointing out to us on this shortcoming cam pulley mod if one were to shift the engine powerband to lower rpm...i was about to purchase a Works Engineering Cam Pulley worth RM230 but upon giving further thougths, maybe it is not a good idea after all considering this knocking side effect...like they say - you can't have the cake and eat it also...better spent my money on the Boron Nitride thing...thanks Sifu... notworthy.gif
you better check back what Guan posted regarding to the knocking issue.

This post has been edited by drexchan: Oct 24 2008, 02:01 PM
drexchan
post Mar 24 2011, 05:55 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(tictac @ Mar 22 2011, 07:57 AM)
Even with Stock camshaft... the adjustable cam can tune Air Fuel Compression efficientcy.

This is with Adjustable cam + Stock 4G15 EFI Camshaft :

Stock 0 Degree : Air Fuel Compression 69% Efficiency
Advanced 2 Degree : Air Fuel Compression 70% Efficiency
Advanced 4 Degree : Air Fuel Compression 71% Efficiency
Advanced 6 Degree : Air Fuel Compression 72% Efficiency
Advanced 8 Degree : Air Fuel Compression 73% Efficiency
Advanced 10 Degree : Air Fuel Compression 75% Efficiency
Interesting... but need some clarification:

1. degrees as in cam or crank degrees?
2. advance as in advancing the cam (clockwise) or the crank (counter clockwise)?
3. what's A/F comp efficiency?
4. where you get the data from.

TQVM. =]
drexchan
post Mar 24 2011, 09:13 PM

91 posts

My brain went wee wang wang reading your explanation but lets assume that you got it right, have you factored in the effect of advances exhaust valve?
drexchan
post Mar 24 2011, 09:29 PM

91 posts

Exactly. It's all about getting a balanced point between the compression efficiency and power efficiency. While calculations may give you a picture of what's happening, the end result is still pretty much depending on OTR and on-dyno tests.

This is the reason why most DOHC tuners advance the intake and retard the exhaust. While the idea of advancing the intake and retarding the exhaust improve both compression and power efficiency, the high overlapping duration also means poor idling quality and narrow powerband at the high range. That's how high duration camshaft works.

The ultimate questions are - at which rev range the tuner intend to squeeze more juice out of the engine, how much advance, how much retard. The answers come with experience of trial and error, with or without dyno (which just makes things simpler).

Oh yes, just want to point out to you that you have neglected the flow efficiency in the intake and exhaust ports.

This post has been edited by drexchan: Mar 24 2011, 09:38 PM

0.0188sec    0.86    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 01:54 AM