Keyboard for Beginner

RoxyGal
post Sep 9 2008, 07:49 PM

٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶ Im roxygal ٩͡[๏̯͡๏]۶
1,031 posts

welcome to the digital piano world

i had one.Dont ask me how much k,it's quite expensive.

88 hammer key with touch sensitive. 2 Pedals

Dun ask bout grade already.Me no more grade.

Works the same with my real piano except for the live sound

http://www.casio-intl.com/emi/piano/privia/px400r.html

SUSParamore
post Sep 9 2008, 10:54 PM

626 posts

I started playing the keyboard as a beginner using Casio CTK-710, 61 keys.

It has more voice compare with CTK-700. Highly recommended, you can choose CTK-700 or CTK-710, it is just about RM50 difference. I brought from a dealer that I know personally, you can PM me for it if you want any Casio keyboard. smile.gif

Casio CTK-710. I brought last year about RM595 comes with stand and adapter. icon_rolleyes.gif
sarcast
post Sep 10 2008, 12:22 AM

\^w^/
612 posts

oo.. Josh plays keyboard too..?
SUSParamore
post Sep 10 2008, 12:29 AM

626 posts

QUOTE(sarcast @ Sep 10 2008, 12:22 AM)
oo.. Josh plays keyboard too..?
Yes, mostly piano pieces. Keyboard for Good Charlotte songs. smile.gif
Mythras231
post Sep 10 2008, 02:25 PM

499 posts

Keyboard are cool allright...Synthesizer makes them cooler !
N33d
post Sep 10 2008, 06:01 PM

896 posts

QUOTE(batuapi @ Sep 10 2008, 02:36 PM)
another very good way is to just buy a simple USB midi compatible keyboard only and hook it to the pc and use the tons of software choices available.
agreed
that is wat i am doing
using midi controller, u will get better sound output if using a good sampler, dont need to worry about out of tune (real piano will be out of tune everytime u move it), light weight (without speakers,speakers are heavy)

but the prob is u need at least a computer to run it and it's useless without computer.. so bring ur laptop if u wanna jam with ur frenz..
need powerful computer for resource hog sampler
harddisk space..

This post has been edited by N33d: Sep 10 2008, 06:02 PM
Mythras231
post Sep 12 2008, 12:32 PM

499 posts

Becareful when you buy a ''BELOW' 61KEY's keyboard ... Cause the sounds and octave are all different already...Very limited sounding...If you wanna get one which can satisfy you for long and for many song...88 key is recommended but its over your budget...I will suggest you to try 2nd hand keyboard...61 is ok too but some songs need more than that...
NickyLim
post Sep 17 2008, 02:31 PM

73 posts

dear andy.. i learn piano until grade 6.. but now i study at selangor and dont have the piano with me.. i am planning to get a keyboard as a substitute. i want to know if the yamaha DGX - 220 touch is more like real piano touch? i had a tight budget. i want to know if this keyboard is suitable for me for practice purpose until grade8?

Added on September 17, 2008, 2:38 pmor should i get the casio ? my budget is below Rm1300.. is there any recommendation for me..? er...i hope the touch will be more like real piano tho... thx..!~ hope for ur reply.. ^^

Added on September 17, 2008, 2:39 pmwhat is the meaning of touch response?

This post has been edited by NickyLim: Sep 17 2008, 02:39 PM
little ice
post Sep 17 2008, 02:51 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

dear nicky.. you won't learn the proper way by playing digital piano since you already reach grade 6. digital piano, no matter how advanced are they, will never be the same as a real piano. don't be spoiled by digital piano, learn to play a real piano and learn to produce a good tone. smile.gif

PS: if you really want to look for a substitute, just head out and try some digital pianos out there. but for RM1300, the chances are pretty low to get something as close as a acoustic piano.

QUOTE(N33d @ Sep 10 2008, 06:01 PM)
agreed
that is wat i am doing
using midi controller, u will get better sound output if using a good sampler, dont need to worry about out of tune (real piano will be out of tune everytime u move it), light weight (without speakers,speakers are heavy)

but the prob is u need at least a computer to run it and it's useless without computer.. so bring ur laptop if u wanna jam with ur frenz..
need powerful computer for resource hog sampler
harddisk space..
not that simple, without proper soundcard the latency will be driving you nuts (i know, there're things like ASIO4ALL, but won't help too much). not to mention tons of softwares need to learn. i'd still recommend a simple keyboard for beginners. smile.gif

This post has been edited by little ice: Sep 17 2008, 02:57 PM
NickyLim
post Sep 17 2008, 03:00 PM

73 posts

i see..because now i am studying at selangor and its very far from my hometown. i seldom go back my hometown,so.. i was planning to buy a keyboard, so that i can practice a little bit.. its better than not practising,right? is there any recommendation..? i really dont want to stop learning piano. thanks!
little ice
post Sep 17 2008, 03:05 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(NickyLim @ Sep 17 2008, 03:00 PM)
i see..because now i am studying at selangor and its very far from my hometown. i seldom go back my hometown,so.. i was planning to buy a keyboard, so that i can practice a little bit.. its better than not practising,right? is there any recommendation..? i really dont want to stop learning piano. thanks!
hmm.gif for RM1300 and below, most of the keyboards don't make much of a difference. you can head out and try, see which you like and buy la. actually i believe solely for practice purpose, under RM1k you can get a decent one.

you can also ask if the music center you gonna take lessons offer you to rent the class room or not. say you can go there and practice in rooms where no teacher is teaching, work out a good relationship perhaps you can go there practice for free. icon_idea.gif
NickyLim
post Sep 17 2008, 03:54 PM

73 posts

Ooo..~ thanks alot for ur advice!! ^^ em.. about rent room... i asked before ad.. its quite far away. A lot of my friends asked me to buy 1keyboard instead of going to the music school to practice,caused the way to the nearest music centre is dangerous for a girl go walk alone. Thanks for ur advice..! ^^ i should go see and try the keyboard ~ ^^
SweetAngel
post Sep 22 2008, 04:49 AM

76 posts

anyone used Casio CTK 2000 before?
kamechi
post Sep 24 2008, 04:30 PM

272 posts

hmm..i was thinking to get a keyboard as well. i wanna ask hor.. Yamaha Keyboard PSR E213 and Casio Keyboard CTK710 which 1 better? the price just slightly diff..is Yamaha Keyboard PSR E313 is preferable if i gonna take Yamaha? For beginner use. budget <RM800. Any pros give suggestion pls, thx biggrin.gif
lee_lnh
post Oct 18 2008, 09:15 AM

115 posts

when i started to hav interest keyboard.. (originally i only learn classic piano)

i used a Casio LK-50, that was 7 yrs ago... cost around RM999 at that time. the price was quite high because of its MIDI. but it coupled plenty of useless functions such as lighting keys n Step-by-step song banks (totally useless).

now im using a Korg TR-61 and Roland XP-10 (both does not belong to me) and plan to get a Korg M50 anytime soon.. haha

if ur a beginner.. get a Casio CTK-700, it has decent functions n (coupled with the useless functions), but it should satisfy ur basic needs for a couple of years.

This post has been edited by lee_lnh: Oct 18 2008, 09:20 AM
Cith
post Nov 9 2008, 04:05 PM

I'm planning to buy a keyboard too. I wished to have Yamaha PSR series keyboard, but it's too expensive for me who is really poor now.
So, i tried and checked Casio out.

And I found that Casio CTK-2000 is quite OK for me. The dealer offers me RM650 with free stand and adaptor and disocunt ofr portable keyboard bag.

Are there anyone using CTK-2000??
Izit really good and worths?

I think it's the best i can find within my budget range.... (RM500 - 700)
Can u guys give some suggetions?

This post has been edited by Cith: Nov 9 2008, 04:08 PM
cyclone9
post Nov 25 2008, 09:58 PM

War Kills Love , Love Save War
2,949 posts

any keyboard weighted key to recommand for beginners of coz
ChopSuey
post Dec 16 2008, 07:02 PM

222 posts

I'm eyeing this below one.

Casio CDP-100

This post has been edited by ChopSuey: Dec 16 2008, 07:04 PM
little ice
post Dec 16 2008, 08:22 PM

PROFESSIONAL TROLL
3,242 posts

QUOTE(cyclone9 @ Nov 25 2008, 09:58 PM)
any keyboard weighted key to recommand for beginners of coz
how "weighted" you want? a true weighted keys that feels like piano are mostly digital piano and they're RM2000 and up. as for keyboard type with a lot of sound, they're RM4000 and up.

anyway how much you want to spend? if you only want something plays like a piano you're looking at at least RM2000.

Added on December 16, 2008, 8:24 pm
QUOTE(ChopSuey @ Dec 16 2008, 07:02 PM)
I'm eyeing this below one.

Casio CDP-100
sound not so nice, but price is reasonable and you get a decent piano touch keys.

This post has been edited by little ice: Dec 16 2008, 08:24 PM
MR.Syxo
post Jan 23 2009, 02:01 PM

367 posts

how bout the KORG x50 keyboard/synthesizer?

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0220sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:37 AM