Penryn-based MBP is OUT,finally..With Multi-touch!, UPDATE: New MBP has just arrived!!!

TSChristWolves
post Feb 26 2008, 11:48 PM, updated 18y ago

148 posts

Hello to my dear Malaysia fellas,

I've been waiting for this MBP update since last year! At last, it is out today, BUT let's speculate when and where will it be first available in Malaysia...! I suspect that the earliest to be next week as the reports stats that it has already started shipping? Good luck dudes!

Macbook Pro 15" 2.4GHz / 2GB / 200GB 5400RPM / 256MB Vram

Macbook Pro 15" 2.5GHz / 2GB / 250GB 5400RPM / 512MB Vram

Macbook Pro 17" 2.5GHz / 2GB / 250GB 5400RPM / 512MB Vram

P/S: WITH MULTI-TOUCH!!!

This post has been edited by ChristWolves: Mar 17 2008, 08:47 PM
Balok
post Feb 27 2008, 12:26 AM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

Sadly someone said the new Macbook and Macbook Pro did not use Penryn processor.

not sure true or not
torreto
post Feb 27 2008, 12:30 AM

659 posts

are you sure ?
gnome
post Feb 27 2008, 12:30 AM

- We game, do you? -
4,925 posts

Its penryn (according to engadget)
Balok
post Feb 27 2008, 12:31 AM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

then my mistake for assuming notworthy.gif

BTW Macbook doesn't features multi-touch trackpad.

Need to know the price for all the new Macbooks nod.gif
really interested on Macbook. BTW did Apple still use Combo Drive? doh.gif

This post has been edited by Balok: Feb 27 2008, 12:33 AM
torreto
post Feb 27 2008, 12:33 AM

659 posts

can't wait... faster reach our shore mbp !
kazasho
post Feb 27 2008, 12:35 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

wow

bye2 mba..bwahaha..i thought the m touch only for air,

now mbp is awsome again..yeah
friends
post Feb 27 2008, 12:55 AM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

wow.... multi-touch features, great !!
i think this would be one of the next generation Technology for Apple !
allvin
post Feb 27 2008, 12:57 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Feb 27 2008, 12:35 AM)
wow

bye2 mba..bwahaha..i thought the m touch only for air,

now mbp is awsome again..yeah
won't 1 la. Later on, i bet mb also hav multitouch trackpad rolleyes.gif
Cello
post Feb 27 2008, 01:03 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

Apple invited the iPhone. They have an idea of multi-touch, so they use it on MacBook Air as they are inventing a new laptop. So, every now and then, they will come up with new laptops that has the multi-touch. MacBook Pro now has it, the next MacBook update will have it too. (cannot be confirm after all).

Apple.com has updated.

TSChristWolves
post Feb 27 2008, 01:10 AM

148 posts

Yea, only MBP is equipped with the advanced multi-touch function! And yes, both MB and MBP utilise the 45nm Penryn architecture based on Core 2 duo platform. *Can't wait for the arrival...*
Cello
post Feb 27 2008, 01:13 AM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

I suggest Malaysians should not put hope on the arrival, you will be disappointed. Make sure you have the waiting patient.
kazasho
post Feb 27 2008, 01:18 AM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

just make sure if ur wanna buy a apple product, research first if already update,or price update...dun wan to get cheated by seller
friends
post Feb 27 2008, 01:31 AM

Benjiro Kujo
1,291 posts

Macrumors.com updated with several infos.
laszlo
post Feb 27 2008, 01:47 AM

Have... you met me?
1,473 posts

the cheapest macbook still have combo drive doh.gif

as well as the lame graphic chipset yawn.gif
allvin
post Feb 27 2008, 02:24 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(laszlo @ Feb 27 2008, 01:47 AM)
the cheapest macbook still have combo drive doh.gif

as well as the lame graphic chipset yawn.gif
btw, x3100 is not "lame" sweat.gif cool2.gif
laszlo
post Feb 27 2008, 02:48 AM

Have... you met me?
1,473 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Feb 27 2008, 02:24 AM)
btw, x3100 is not "lame"  sweat.gif  cool2.gif
yea not lame...my bad too harsh blush.gif notworthy.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

just hoping more....i need to use a simulator for my studies...but X3100 not good enough lor...
but me no money for MBP.....
but ill sure get the macbook when it hits our shores... icon_idea.gif

dragna
post Feb 27 2008, 02:53 AM

5,252 posts

Oh well it's been almost a month with my MBP and i needed it for work too bad they had to release it now.. sad.gif
-Banana-
post Feb 27 2008, 03:10 AM

79 posts

Dont sad Dragna , same prob here i just buy my MB just 2 week and thay release 2.4 . sad-nessssssssssssss
dragna
post Feb 27 2008, 03:12 AM

5,252 posts

I'm not sad la.. balanar! They only introduced Multi-touchpad to it and increased the processor a little, after all owning a MBP is far good enough.
yawhong
post Feb 27 2008, 05:13 AM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(-Banana- @ Feb 27 2008, 03:10 AM)
Dont sad Dragna , same prob here i just buy my MB just 2 week and thay release 2.4 . sad-nessssssssssssss
ya me too. just few weeks ago.. no wonder they give free printer! damn it i should sense it
TSChristWolves
post Feb 27 2008, 08:03 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Feb 27 2008, 05:13 AM)
ya me too. just few weeks ago.. no wonder they give free printer! damn it i should sense it
Something fishy, doncha think so? tongue.gif
3ric
post Feb 27 2008, 08:49 AM

349 posts

Yeah Finally the wait for me its over, in RMIT get a MAc free Ipod Nano... hehe later going to check see if they got any special promo. happy.gif
TSChristWolves
post Feb 27 2008, 09:00 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(3ric @ Feb 27 2008, 08:49 AM)
Yeah Finally the wait for me its over, in RMIT get a MAc free Ipod Nano... hehe later going to check see if they got any special promo. happy.gif
Do you think Apple will actually give promo for a newly-released mac? I personally don't think so... hmm.gif
tinkerbel
post Feb 27 2008, 09:32 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@ChristWolves,
It's possible, for students perhaps since it's through RMIT.

Speaking of which, can't Apple do something like a software update to the current/old batches so we get the multi touch track pad function too? *grins*

BridgestoneRE711
post Feb 27 2008, 10:14 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

i am thinking the same thing . since the trackpad now works kinda the same thing , i think flashing it with a new firmware can work .
vetkin_gray
post Feb 27 2008, 11:12 AM

766 posts

i like the multi touch stuff, can't they just release a new driver which allows us older mac users to utilise the trackpad to do the same thing too?
tinkerbel
post Feb 27 2008, 12:04 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@vetkin_gray,
I guess we shall just have to wait; or it's perhaps another strategy to get us to put our old ones aside and invest in a brand new Apple smile.gif
allvin
post Feb 27 2008, 12:39 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Feb 27 2008, 09:32 AM)
@ChristWolves,
It's possible, for students perhaps since it's through RMIT.

Speaking of which, can't Apple do something like a software update to the current/old batches so we get the multi touch track pad function too? *grins*
nope. it is not just software or firmware issue, but hardware. macrumors already clarify this. One of the component (from multi-touch trackpad) is similar like iPod touch or iPhone
tinkerbel
post Feb 27 2008, 01:01 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@allvin,
Ah well, in that case get a new MBP ! smile.gif Or, wait for the current trackpad to go bad and hopefully it'll be replaced with the new one *grins*
IvanKang
post Feb 27 2008, 01:10 PM

238 posts

I think there will be a driver for the macbook to have the multitouch feature in the near future, because the old powerbook g4 didn't have 2 finger right click and once you have installed leopard it seems to have. So for all macbook users, its just the processor and ram that have been upgraded, and well, it sure keeps your battery and your lap happy too!
lil twist
post Feb 27 2008, 02:01 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

btw, the L2 cache is lower lor... got differences between the 3MB L2 cache with 4MB L2 cache?? sweat.gif
allvin
post Feb 27 2008, 02:09 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(IvanKang @ Feb 27 2008, 01:10 PM)
I think there will be a driver for the macbook to have the multitouch feature in the near future, because the old powerbook g4 didn't have 2 finger right click and once you have installed leopard it seems to have. So for all macbook users, its just the processor and ram that have been upgraded, and well, it sure keeps your battery and your lap happy too!
Not in this case. You need the hardware in order to have pinch and rotate to work. It is not about driver or firmware. You can go macrumors or google. They already clarify it. wink.gif

and larger hdd also for macbook, no more 80GB. starting from 120GB/160GB/250GB(for the black 1)

QUOTE(lil twist @ Feb 27 2008, 02:01 PM)
btw, the L2 cache is lower lor... got differences between the 3MB L2 cache with 4MB L2 cache?? sweat.gif
according to macrumors speculation, penryn got two version. High end Penryn is 6MB L2 cache, whereas low end Penryn is 3MB L2 cache. Although merom (older version macbook processor) is 4MB L2 cache, Penryn got SSE4 that can speed up the instruction application (that's mean it improves the performance as well). In conclusion, Penryn will be faster compare to merom

This post has been edited by allvin: Feb 27 2008, 02:11 PM
zealless
post Feb 27 2008, 03:25 PM

542 posts

got MBP Price in malaysia dy ?
planning to get the 2.5Gh 15"

but no 8800M GT ... : ( ...
tinkerbel
post Feb 27 2008, 03:38 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@zealless,
U don't expect to find the 'perfect' unit do u? *grins*
yawhong
post Feb 27 2008, 03:52 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(zealless @ Feb 27 2008, 03:25 PM)
got MBP Price in malaysia dy ?
planning to get the 2.5Gh 15"

but no 8800M GT ... : ( ...
yeah me too... but my toshiba core duo laptop still functioning, curse it! haha.. erm, or else i will just get when the next generation come out, properly half year time from now..
TSChristWolves
post Feb 27 2008, 04:26 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Feb 27 2008, 01:01 PM)
@allvin,
Ah well, in that case get a new MBP ! smile.gif  Or, wait for the current trackpad to go bad and hopefully it'll be replaced with the new one *grins*
Yeah, I love your idea or "renewing" the old MBP... Called Mac Studio just now, they said they still haven't gotten any status about the new MBP! I wonder when will it be arriving in Malaysia... doh.gif
tinkerbel
post Feb 27 2008, 04:43 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@ChristWolves,
Er.. well, Apple announced it less than 12 hours ago and U expect delivery to be in oredi? Super Apple meh U think tongue.gif

I do like the additional touch functions but I'm satisfied with what my current MBP can do for now - doubt I be looking at a change in laptops; at least not for another 3-4 years *gulps*
TSChristWolves
post Feb 27 2008, 05:08 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Feb 27 2008, 04:43 PM)
@ChristWolves,
Er.. well, Apple announced it less than 12 hours ago and U expect delivery to be in oredi?  Super Apple meh U think tongue.gif

I do like the additional touch functions but I'm satisfied with what my current MBP can do for now - doubt I be looking at a change in laptops; at least not for another 3-4 years *gulps*
Thought it will be delivered to Malaysia with iPlane... Wakaka! I don't know how amazing the multi-touch available on the new laptop will be... We'll see in a few weeks to come! *waiting for arrival* whistling.gif
Balok
post Feb 27 2008, 05:24 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

I need to know the price. then decide which MB or MBP to buy.

BTW the higher white macbook is abit more expensive than old version sad.gif
tinkerbel
post Feb 27 2008, 05:28 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@ChristWolves,
Shouldn't the Multi Touch Function be the same as the MBA - u could check that one out without waiting smile.gif

@Balok,
The MBPs are definitely gonna be priced higher than the MBs; my guess is that it'll probably be about the same as the current range with maybe a difference of a few hundred.
Balok
post Feb 27 2008, 05:34 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

suddenly Macbook Air left behind on performance. If Macbook Air got abit better spec or cheaper i buy it.

BTW will you buy Macbook Air if 5 years later the Macbook Air spec is better than Macbook Pro?
zealless
post Feb 27 2008, 05:37 PM

542 posts

for me 2.5Ghz, 2Gb RAM, 8600M GT 512mb, 6mb cache
is sufficient for my work ...

can play occasion WOW and some stupids game ... can dy .. hehe ...

kazasho
post Feb 27 2008, 06:06 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Feb 27 2008, 05:34 PM)
suddenly Macbook Air left behind on performance. If Macbook Air got abit better spec or cheaper i buy it.

BTW will you buy Macbook Air if 5 years later the Macbook Air spec is better than Macbook Pro?
naah..cannot cramped all super power graphic card and others..plus will be super hot

i think price will go down rolleyes.gif
Moonflown
post Feb 27 2008, 06:51 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Feb 27 2008, 05:34 PM)

You cant expect an ultraportables to have higher specs than Macbook Pro dont. MBA currently is the fastest notebook under 1.5kg because of the redesigned processor. I've owned a Macbook Pro before for music composing but I sold it because its quite heavy to bring it around. Different users have different needs.
BridgestoneRE711
post Feb 27 2008, 06:53 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

u wont be going for macbook air spec five years later when it is better than macbook pro . sure .

this is something like today u got celeron and C2D ... will u buy celeron next 5 years if it is better than the C2D of TODAY ?

hmm ..

one thing for sure , macbook air wont have so much keng stuff as macbook pro. they aren't finding trouble for that . even if they have found the key to design a slimmer laptop to make macbook pro slimmer , probabaly the next step they are going to do is to make the macbook air more portable .

Added on February 27, 2008, 7:02 pmANOTHER good thing of buying macbook is that u always buy it with the latest technology .
think of the 2.0 GHz C2D i bought during 6 months ago . i know it is outdated now .
i bought the 2.0GHz when they released the 2.1Ghz macbook . i was thinking to skip it and get the latest one . but during that time, i compared it with mother brand like sony toshiba or even dell , yes , they do offer ower price by thousand something . but it was still some 1.8 or 1.6 Ghz processor . get wad i mean.
even 2.0Ghz by today is not so called super outdated as u can still see some brand selling the 2.0 C2D laptop at 3K range .

This post has been edited by BridgestoneRE711: Feb 27 2008, 07:02 PM
laszlo
post Feb 27 2008, 07:46 PM

Have... you met me?
1,473 posts

QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Feb 27 2008, 06:53 PM)

Added on February 27, 2008, 7:02 pmANOTHER good thing of buying macbook is that u always buy it with the latest technology .
think of the 2.0 GHz C2D i bought during 6 months ago . i know it is outdated now .
i bought the 2.0GHz when they released the 2.1Ghz macbook . i was thinking to skip it and get the latest one . but during that time, i compared it with mother brand like sony toshiba or even dell , yes , they do offer ower price by thousand something . but it was still some 1.8 or 1.6 Ghz processor . get wad i mean.
even 2.0Ghz by today is not so called super outdated as u can still see some brand selling the 2.0 C2D laptop at 3K range .
yup i agree nod.gif macbook offers attractive price for the performance they offer...

so its best to get it while its new tongue.gif
gozila84
post Feb 27 2008, 08:33 PM

197 posts

so the newest Macbook got the multi-touch function??
Balok
post Feb 27 2008, 08:40 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

QUOTE(gozila84 @ Feb 27 2008, 08:33 PM)
so the newest Macbook got the multi-touch function??
sadly, no. cry.gif

only Macbook Pro and Macbook Air have it.
yawhong
post Feb 27 2008, 08:43 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Feb 27 2008, 08:40 PM)
sadly, no.  cry.gif

only Macbook Pro and Macbook Air have it.
well that is good news for me since i just purchase my macbook 2-3weeks ago haha

Added on February 27, 2008, 8:46 pm
QUOTE(zealless @ Feb 27 2008, 05:37 PM)
for me 2.5Ghz, 2Gb RAM, 8600M GT 512mb, 6mb cache
is sufficient for my work ...

can play occasion WOW and some stupids game ... can dy .. hehe ...
so when u plan to get it? i just about to key in my credit card no for order the macbook pro but still not dare to click the complete payment button.. i guess i will stay with my toshiba laptop even i got the money... feel bad to get a new laptop since mine is still functioning! curse it!

This post has been edited by yawhong: Feb 27 2008, 08:46 PM
3ric
post Feb 27 2008, 09:01 PM

349 posts

I just got back from Apple in Melb City, 2 more weeks to go to reach AUS shore, and the Promotion for student price is till April 18 08, i'm swaying bout 2.4ghz or 2.5 ghz on 15" ...

They Confirmed with me that The promotion its free with 4gb Nano...

Now i just need to wait for them to come.. hehe
vetkin_gray
post Feb 27 2008, 09:54 PM

766 posts

i wish i have the money so whenever apple releases a batch, i'll replace them immediately.. haizz

please fast forward 3-4 years so i can get a new MBP...
TSChristWolves
post Feb 27 2008, 11:56 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Feb 27 2008, 09:54 PM)
i wish i have the money so whenever apple releases a batch, i'll replace them immediately.. haizz

please fast forward 3-4 years so i can get a new MBP...
Technology keeps going, on and on... So, buy whenever you need it.

P/S: I'm still waiting despite I need it not so urgently now. tongue.gif
allvin
post Feb 28 2008, 12:31 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(ChristWolves @ Feb 27 2008, 11:56 PM)
Technology keeps going, on and on... So, buy whenever you need it.

P/S: I'm still waiting despite I need it not so urgently now.  tongue.gif
bro, you got read macrumors?

"Intel is planning to replace the Santa Rosa mobile platform with Montevina this June" quote from there. Santa Rosa going to end pretty soon brows.gif That's technology laugh.gif
TSChristWolves
post Feb 28 2008, 08:04 AM

148 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Feb 28 2008, 12:31 AM)
bro, you got read macrumors?

"Intel is planning to replace the Santa Rosa mobile platform with Montevina this June" quote from there. Santa Rosa going to end pretty soon  brows.gif That's technology  laugh.gif
I've no choice, dude! This will be my last-wait.. No more, please... It was very hectic! I don't care - getting Penryn as it hits the shore.. *bugging Mac Studio everyday* icon_idea.gif
BridgestoneRE711
post Feb 28 2008, 10:32 AM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

update ur macbook everyitme they upgrade their product . hmm ...
prepare to lose RM6000 per year as everytime a new one comes out , the older version price will drop , then ure 2nd hand resale value will drop too .
i bought my BlackBook last 7 months ago , and i ahve to say that it has been updated 4 times . 2.1Ghz , SantaRosa Platform and now the latest one . so consider mine is 4 generations older than the current one .
tinkerbel
post Feb 28 2008, 11:24 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@BridgestoneRE711,
If ur MB is insured, U could try losing it and getting a brand new one [am sure the shops no longer stock the MB u bought 4 generations ago *grins*]

I don't think mine's insured at the right price cause it didn't take into account the additional ACPP I purchased sad.gif

BridgestoneRE711
post Feb 28 2008, 12:12 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

i think they will still produce the spare part for it.
anyway , i am buying the ACCP soon ... not sure when whitin this month , march time lor .
zealless
post Feb 28 2008, 01:04 PM

542 posts

QUOTE(ChristWolves @ Feb 28 2008, 08:04 AM)
I've no choice, dude! This will be my last-wait.. No more, please... It was very hectic! I don't care - getting Penryn as it hits the shore.. *bugging Mac Studio everyday*  icon_idea.gif
me too, waiting for the MPB update for a long time, not going to wait til june release of new platform, when it release i think next year or 4th Q only they going to update the MBP.

i am using a lousy P4 3.0ghz @ home, need a laptop for work (travel alot) and my office coms are lousy ... takes forever to load and render ...

wilson88
post Feb 28 2008, 01:35 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

I just got the update on the MB and MBP's price. Price DROPPPED biggrin.gif

MB 2.1GHz Rm3899
MB 2.4GHz SP-DV Rm4599
MB(B) 2.4GHz SP-DV Rm5299

MBP 2.4GHz Rm6999
MBP 2.5GHz Rm8699
MBP 2.5GHz Rm9699

dec21st
post Feb 28 2008, 01:45 PM

122 posts

QUOTE(wilson88 @ Feb 28 2008, 01:35 PM)

MB 2.1GHz Rm3899
MB 2.4GHz SP-DV Rm4599

MBP 2.4GHz Rm6999
MBP 2.5GHz Rm8699
MBP 2.5GHz Rm9699
is that the confirm price by authorized seller in msia?

so do u know when will it be available on our shore?
Mavik
post Feb 28 2008, 02:25 PM

Patience is a virtue
7,826 posts

MB 2.1GHz Rm3899
MB 2.4GHz SP-DV Rm4599

MBP 2.4GHz Rm6999
MBP 2.5GHz Rm8699
MBP 2.5GHz Rm9699
Wow thats amazing, nowonder I got a very good quote for the older MBP 2.2Ghz version.
zealless
post Feb 28 2008, 03:13 PM

542 posts

oh no, news say they might update MB and MBP to new platform ... in JUNE ~!

DailyTech reports that Intel is planning to replace the Santa Rosa mobile platform with Montevina this June. More specifically, they claim that Apple will be revising their notebooks again this June to incorporate newest chipsets:

Apple insiders confirmed the company will refresh its notebook lineups in June, which comes as no surprise since all Centrino partners indicated they will announce notebooks based on the new Montevina Centrino 2.

Alongside the platform refresh will be new Penryn processors with faster front-side buses (1066MHz) than the current revisions (800MHz). Apple just updated their MacBook Pro with the latest Penryn processors,

Menawhile, Digitimes details Intel's aggressive timetable with plans for Santa Rosa (Merom) to drop from 60% of shipments in the 1st quarter to 35% of shipments in 2nd quarter. Even the just released Santa Rosa (Penryn) is expected to be phased out by year's end to make room for Montevina.
Balok
post Feb 28 2008, 05:15 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

Damn.

i can only reach RM 5k this december. Please time, go faster sad.gif

BTW this Juna got newer Macbook and the Pro? wow, Technology flies when we walk
c2v4l
post Feb 28 2008, 05:15 PM

178 posts

wow. MB juz keep getting cheaper. luckily i hold on for new updates.

This post has been edited by c2v4l: Feb 28 2008, 05:19 PM
siawgu
post Feb 28 2008, 05:31 PM

996 posts

I just saw RM5799 for MBP in Apple Malaysia Website

Can it be true?

This post has been edited by siawgu: Feb 28 2008, 05:32 PM

Balok
post Feb 28 2008, 05:34 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ Feb 28 2008, 05:31 PM)

Can it be true?
WTF DuDE!!!!! drool.gif

even cheaper than Macbook Air

just look at Machines website. The price is RM6,999

http://www.machines.com.my/product_macbook_pro.php

This post has been edited by Balok: Feb 28 2008, 05:36 PM
siawgu
post Feb 28 2008, 05:37 PM

996 posts

and another one... Macbook RM3599 only.. also from Apple Malaysia Website

Balok
post Feb 28 2008, 05:38 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

i think without tax is that price

even USA showed the price without tax
siawgu
post Feb 28 2008, 05:40 PM

996 posts

If it is tax...

MacBook Pro
Without TAX = RM5799
With TAX = RM6999

I think that alot of TAX been makan'ed.. (RM 1200 !!)
Balok
post Feb 28 2008, 05:42 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

QUOTE(siawgu @ Feb 28 2008, 05:40 PM)
If it is tax...

MacBook Pro
Without TAX = RM5799
With TAX = RM6999

I think that alot of TAX been makan'ed.. (RM 1200 !!)
Retail shop also want to make money. maybe Tax + Shipment + Profit hmm.gif
lil twist
post Feb 28 2008, 09:09 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

good pricing... will keep on keeping my money to buy macbook soon... as after the updates in june laa... laugh.gif
wilson88
post Feb 28 2008, 09:27 PM

Dupe Acc
1,807 posts

Switch is selling the older MB and MBP at the lower price. The basic macbook is at Rm3599
kwekeugene
post Feb 28 2008, 09:30 PM

1,479 posts

There is no tax for computers products. Tax only applies for iPods since they fall under the "personal entertainment" catergory.

Macs are more affordable. Thumbs up!
TSChristWolves
post Feb 28 2008, 10:05 PM

148 posts

MB 2.1GHz Rm3899
MB 2.4GHz SP-DV Rm4599

MBP 2.4GHz Rm6999
MBP 2.5GHz Rm8699
MBP 2.5GHz Rm9699
Yeah maN~ I just got to know that! Luckily I hold on for the updates.. rclxms.gif

But the thing I don't like is about the 3MB level 2 cache for the RM6999 mbp. *swt*

Added on February 28, 2008, 10:06 pm

Can it be true?
*Hopefully* Which shop can I find the mbp with such price? TELL ME!!! drool.gif

This post has been edited by ChristWolves: Feb 28 2008, 10:06 PM
Moonflown
post Feb 28 2008, 10:23 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

Perhaps its the price for Merom-based model but not Penryn.
yawhong
post Feb 28 2008, 11:21 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

ahh so how? should get it now?
laszlo
post Feb 29 2008, 02:08 AM

Have... you met me?
1,473 posts

i think im gonna hold on until june...

hope macbook gets updates for the GPU and of course the new proc rclxm9.gif
yawhong
post Feb 29 2008, 02:37 AM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(zealless @ Feb 28 2008, 03:13 PM)
oh no, news say they might update MB and MBP to new platform ... in JUNE ~!

DailyTech reports that Intel is planning to replace the Santa Rosa mobile platform with Montevina this June. More specifically, they claim that Apple will be revising their notebooks again this June to incorporate newest chipsets:

Apple insiders confirmed the company will refresh its notebook lineups in June, which comes as no surprise since all Centrino partners indicated they will announce notebooks based on the new Montevina Centrino 2.

Alongside the platform refresh will be new Penryn processors with faster front-side buses (1066MHz) than the current revisions (800MHz). Apple just updated their MacBook Pro with the latest Penryn processors,

Menawhile, Digitimes details Intel's aggressive timetable with plans for Santa Rosa (Merom) to drop from 60% of shipments in the 1st quarter to 35% of shipments in 2nd quarter. Even the just released Santa Rosa (Penryn) is expected to be phased out by year's end to make room for Montevina.
i think better wait for the update only get the macbook pro rather than now. i hope by that time the low spec mbp got at least 512mb graphic card. haha...
zealless
post Feb 29 2008, 02:58 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Feb 29 2008, 02:37 AM)
i think better wait for the update only get the macbook pro rather than now.  i hope by that time the low spec mbp got at least 512mb graphic card. haha...
ya, i guess so ... nearly order dy ...
haih , back to the "waiting game" lol rclxub.gif
MacDaNife
post Feb 29 2008, 06:15 AM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

I'm amazed at the number of people who STILL have not clued in to the fact that computers WILL get CHEAPER and MORE POWERFUL with the passage of TIME.

By all means, wait. All you lose is productivity.

lailaikatong
post Feb 29 2008, 08:16 AM

601 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Feb 29 2008, 06:15 AM)
I'm amazed at the number of people who STILL have not clued in to the fact that computers WILL get CHEAPER and MORE POWERFUL with the passage of TIME.

Exactly! In June we'll most probably see the same people saying "let's wait until January coz I heard new updates are gonna be released and price gonna drop". We've seen too much of it already happening again and again.

It just goes to show that these people are not buying to fulfill a need, they're just buying for the sake of having the latest "it" gadgets and would not be using it in a productive way. Without a need to fulfill, it even makes less sense that they're waiting for specification bumps coz they're most likely to not fully utilize whatever extra GHz/extra cache/extra whatever that will be included in the next (and the next next) revision.

Since there's no productivity to lose in the first place, i guess they don't lose out. Let them wait smile.gif I wouldn't want them to get whatever they're waiting to buy now, coz they'll just turn from people who wait to people who flood the forum with "omfg my mac only few months outdated dy doh.gif " whenever a new revision is released.

This post has been edited by lailaikatong: Feb 29 2008, 08:21 AM
zealless
post Feb 29 2008, 09:42 AM

542 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Feb 29 2008, 06:15 AM)

Everyone is waiting because of the price, not spec ... i can get the current spec cheaper in 3 months time, why not wait? 8K is a lot of money, mayb not to you. Especially the money is coming out of my pocket, not my company, not my parents. If i can afford to change laptop every year, that is a diff story, so why not wait for 3 months for better spec to last longer or a cheaper price on current spec? doh.gif

This post has been edited by zealless: Feb 29 2008, 09:46 AM
vetkin_gray
post Feb 29 2008, 10:28 AM

766 posts

i agree with zealles.. if u can afford to wait without losing productivity, why not wait a couple months more?
SUSMike3300
post Feb 29 2008, 11:41 AM

6,866 posts

For Macbook Pro, if you buy from Apple Online Store you can choose few options for the LCD.

-Matte Screen
-Glossy Screen
-High resolution LED Matte Screen (add $100)
-High resolution LED Glossy Screen (add $100)

This only applies for 17" model. So many options. rclxub.gif

tinkerbel
post Feb 29 2008, 12:38 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

17" MBP is like desktop replacement; I oredi find the 15" heavy, can't imagine the weight of the 17"!
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Feb 29 2008, 12:43 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

is it possible to change specs? and also just found out that imac has 1gb ram...
tinkerbel
post Feb 29 2008, 01:14 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@almattitude_v1,
As in a customised unit?

SUSalmattitude_v1
post Feb 29 2008, 01:16 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Feb 29 2008, 01:14 PM)
@almattitude_v1,
As in a customised unit?
Yea...
TSChristWolves
post Feb 29 2008, 10:48 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Feb 29 2008, 11:41 AM)
For Macbook Pro, if you buy from Apple Online Store you can choose few options for the LCD.

-Matte Screen
-Glossy Screen
-High resolution LED Matte Screen (add $100)
-High resolution LED Glossy Screen (add $100)

This only applies for 17" model. So many options. rclxub.gif
But... I don't think we have an Apple Online Store here in Malaysia. hmm.gif
Therefore, don't think there will be any BTO models available, unless you order and wait for a decade? *sarcastic* tongue.gif

Added on February 29, 2008, 10:54 pm
QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Feb 29 2008, 10:28 AM)
i agree with zealles.. if u can afford to wait without losing productivity, why not wait a couple months more?
I second that.. *Thinks himself wait while losing productivity, just want to get that damn thing!*
HOWEVER, not that longggGG~ Will wait for 1 or 2 more weeks. Even if you want to buy now, as mentioned in the previous post, NO STOCK! So, will definitely have to wait till the new Penryn-based MBP comes.

Called Mac Studio @ Low Yat just now... Base config of mbp, they will give a pair of heat balls (yeah, balls) and a sleeve case.

Not sure for Machines, but they are usually that stingy anyway...

No discount even you pay with cash! *Damn* shakehead.gif

Update, update, update on promotions available please!

Added on February 29, 2008, 10:58 pm

Can it be true?
Yes, this is true. But I'm afraid to say that the stock for mbp of this price (Merom-based) is out dy, from the forumers here! The only option is to get the new ones! thumbup.gif

Added on March 1, 2008, 1:01 pmUpdate: MacBooks (with Penryn) is finally here! Available at Mac Studio @ Low Yat Plaza! Good luck.

This post has been edited by ChristWolves: Mar 1 2008, 01:01 PM
jonest
post Mar 2 2008, 01:19 AM

472 posts

wah so many ppl looking for mbp ahh???!!!!

Great, more kakis in mac family....
dragna
post Mar 2 2008, 02:24 AM

5,252 posts

Macs these days are getting more and more well known smile.gif
SUSMike3300
post Mar 2 2008, 02:43 AM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(dragna @ Mar 2 2008, 02:24 AM)
Macs these days are getting more and more well known  smile.gif
All thanks to the iPod cause that's where we start.
Balok
post Mar 2 2008, 10:32 AM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

i thing Apple will use new design on this June update smile.gif
allvin
post Mar 2 2008, 01:51 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Mar 2 2008, 02:43 AM)
hmm.gif i don't think so. More like since Apple "shift" to Intel. Ntg to do with "iPod".

Btw, till now i don't own any iPod wink.gif But I own macbook
Balok
post Mar 2 2008, 02:14 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

i think we start when Apple launch the new iMac on 1999 smile.gif
yawhong
post Mar 3 2008, 05:32 AM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Mar 2 2008, 02:43 AM)
well i think because they start to use intel chip. that is why i start to buy apple product
tishaban
post Mar 3 2008, 09:16 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(ChristWolves @ Feb 29 2008, 10:48 PM)
But... I don't think we have an Apple Online Store here in Malaysia.  hmm.gif
Therefore, don't think there will be any BTO models available, unless you order and wait for a decade? *sarcastic*  tongue.gif
We don't have an Apple Store in Malaysia, however you can still do a BTO. Drop by your favorite Apple retailer (I suggest Mac City) and ask a knowledgeable person. It'll take about a month, but it's still shorter than a decade biggrin.gif

SUSalmattitude_v1
post Mar 3 2008, 09:46 AM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Mar 2 2008, 10:32 AM)
i thing Apple will use new design on this June update smile.gif
i'm afraid of that! coz planning to get MB or MBP soon... but if they updating design, then i dont wana get now...
yawhong
post Mar 3 2008, 04:42 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Mar 3 2008, 09:46 AM)
i'm afraid of that! coz planning to get MB or MBP soon... but if they updating design, then i dont wana get now...
like what MacDaNife say, if you need it for business.. than just get it now or else what you lose is only productivity
if you like me, still own a laptop which still functioning and doin it job, and what you want it just a upgrade of the device for whatever reason, why don just wait until june?
vetkin_gray
post Mar 4 2008, 12:24 AM

766 posts

QUOTE(yawhong @ Mar 3 2008, 05:32 AM)
well i think because they start to use intel chip. that is why i start to buy apple product
i bought them cause of the sheer beauty of Apple products.. design does really sell..
kapalterbang_737
post Mar 4 2008, 12:35 AM

859 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Mar 4 2008, 12:24 AM)
i bought them cause of the sheer beauty of Apple products.. design does really sell..
i bought becoz the design+mac os
i have an assignment to be done about good product
guess what?
macbook is my choice
haha

i've tried the multi touch but then i think rotating a picture is a bit tricky isn't it?
but then good features for consumers
really hopes that multi touch were also on macbook
and i am for sure going to buy one
hahah brows.gif

This post has been edited by kapalterbang_737: Mar 4 2008, 12:36 AM
stringfellow
post Mar 4 2008, 12:36 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Read the verdict on Anandtech. The repackaged Penryn Macbooks/Macbook Pros's advantages over the older ones are a wash. Apple's probably being pushed to phase out the older processor by Intel in favor of the Penryns, because the window for Penryn-equipped Macs are probably going to be shortlived once Intel introduces Montevina in June. Now, THAT is a more interesting wait, and probably ,with Intel's push for smaller 45nm architecture in Montevina and Silverthorn(redubbed Atom now), THEN only we will see a case redesign for both the Macbooks and Macbook Pros. And THEN, only THEN will I be excited about the Macbooks and/or Macbook Pros, when the changes will be revolutionary, not evolutionary like the current speed bump and minor feature inclusions in the current lineup.

hapa
post Mar 4 2008, 12:43 AM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 4 2008, 12:36 AM)
Read the verdict on Anandtech. The repackaged Penryn Macbooks/Macbook Pros's advantages over the older ones are a wash. Apple's probably being pushed to phase out the older processor by Intel in favor of the Penryns, because the window for Penryn-equipped Macs are probably going to be shortlived once Intel introduces Montevina in June. Now, THAT is a more interesting wait, and probably ,with Intel's push for smaller 45nm architecture in Montevina and Silverthorn(redubbed Atom now), THEN only we will see a case redesign for both the Macbooks and Macbook Pros. And THEN, only THEN will I be excited about the Macbooks and/or Macbook Pros, when the changes will be revolutionary, not evolutionary like the current speed bump and minor feature inclusions in the current lineup.
hope the june coming macbook will hv the multitouch pad too...
vetkin_gray
post Mar 4 2008, 12:45 AM

766 posts

i hope there will be a miracle where apple announces that they've released a driver which allows all old MB &MBP users to have multitouch function also.
hapa
post Mar 4 2008, 12:52 AM

i kill u!!
828 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Mar 4 2008, 12:45 AM)
i hope there will be a miracle where apple announces that they've released a driver which allows all old MB &MBP users to have multitouch function also.
i tot the multi touch function is bcoz of the new hardware?? not??

stringfellow
post Mar 4 2008, 12:57 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(hapa @ Mar 4 2008, 12:52 AM)
i tot the multi touch function is bcoz of the new hardware?? not??
Correct. A tech lifestyle magazine reported that a possibility of software-updating the older Macbooks/Macbook Pros will enable Multitouch gestures, but later had to bring down that article after the teardown pictures shows that the Macbook Air uses the same Broadcomm controller found on iPhone and iPod Touch. The lack of this physical component alone ensures that older portables will not benefit from the Multitouch gestures.
yawhong
post Mar 4 2008, 04:37 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Mar 4 2008, 12:36 AM)
haha ya.. i quite sick with the design of macbook dy.. i want new design!!
Balok
post Mar 4 2008, 04:45 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

Hope to have Macbook Tablet but seems impossible since apple already have 3 Macbook.

Need to wait till June. Damn, more waiting game for me sad.gif
yawhong
post Mar 4 2008, 06:11 PM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Mar 4 2008, 04:45 PM)
Hope to have Macbook Tablet but seems impossible since apple already have 3 Macbook.

haha.. me too... dy have 2 macbook... and few core duo laptop... haha
jonest
post Mar 5 2008, 11:39 PM

472 posts

I'm waiting for the new iMac so I can buy the current iMac...... @ cheaper price of coz..... heeeeee
c2v4l
post Mar 6 2008, 06:45 AM

178 posts

For me, i'm waiting for new iMac as well. The current iMac doesnt have much different with new macbook except graphic card and larger storage. And considering cheaper price for new macbook, hopefully new iMac will be cheaper as well.
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Mar 6 2008, 08:49 AM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Mar 4 2008, 04:45 PM)

What if it doesnt come out in June? Are u gonna wait for March 2009? The waiting game may never end dood...
NSkyline
post Mar 6 2008, 01:35 PM

207 posts

u think we can trade in for the newer one ar???
dragna
post Mar 6 2008, 01:58 PM

5,252 posts

QUOTE(NSkyline @ Mar 6 2008, 01:35 PM)
u think we can trade in for the newer one ar???
I don't think so that you can trade for a newer model.
Balok
post Mar 6 2008, 03:38 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

QUOTE(almattitude_v1 @ Mar 6 2008, 08:49 AM)
What if it doesnt come out in June? Are u gonna wait for March 2009? The waiting game may never end dood...
You just destroy my hope. cry.gif

BTW This June is the WWDC? hmm.gif
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Mar 6 2008, 04:31 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Mar 6 2008, 03:38 PM)
You just destroy my hope.  cry.gif

BTW This June is the WWDC?  hmm.gif
Thats the dilemma i am facing too... get now or wait for June... but dont come out in June means how? Wait for March 2009? Or if that doesn't work, then maybe June 2009?
Balok
post Mar 6 2008, 05:34 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

If June no new Macbook/Macbook Pro,

we go for Macbook Air smile.gif
NSkyline
post Mar 6 2008, 11:32 PM

207 posts

man.....2.4ghz 2gb and 160gb hd for 4599!!! mine 200 xtra also 2.2ghz 1gb 120gb hd???!!!
Balok
post Mar 6 2008, 11:38 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

QUOTE(NSkyline @ Mar 6 2008, 11:32 PM)
man.....2.4ghz 2gb and 160gb hd for 4599!!! mine 200 xtra also 2.2ghz 1gb 120gb hd???!!!
Technology flies when we're walking nod.gif

Oh Shiet, the next revision will be iMac. blink.gif
kwekeugene
post Mar 7 2008, 01:24 AM

1,479 posts

Somehow I feel that the iPhone will be getting the next revision. It's been almost a year with not much changes other than larger capacity upgrades.

Probably a slimmer version with 3G?
laszlo
post Mar 7 2008, 01:48 AM

Have... you met me?
1,473 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Mar 7 2008, 01:24 AM)
Somehow I feel that the iPhone will be getting the next revision. It's been almost a year with not much changes other than larger capacity upgrades.

yup, it should get an update...

this is what macrumors reported http://www.macrumors.com/2008/03/04/3g-iph...d-quarter-2008/ thumbup.gif
NSkyline
post Mar 7 2008, 09:00 AM

207 posts

guess what I might be the first person to know today that our macbook cannot upgrade processor wan.....cause it is solder to the logic board!!!! man....i understand the reason behind it though.......
tishaban
post Mar 7 2008, 09:09 AM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(NSkyline @ Mar 7 2008, 09:00 AM)
guess what I might be the first person to know today that our macbook cannot upgrade processor wan.....cause it is solder to the logic board!!!! man....i understand the reason behind it though.......
Dude 99% of laptops/notebooks in the world today cannot have their processors upgraded lah. Laptop processors are different from desktop ones and most of them are soldered on.

This post has been edited by tishaban: Mar 7 2008, 09:10 AM
z3171600
post Mar 7 2008, 12:36 PM

534 posts

QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Mar 7 2008, 01:24 AM)

slimmer? i already feel that iphone is slim enough as it is. Anyways, a new revision with 3G is a must! I'm still holding out on buying iphone now because there seems to be small problems with telco here and lack of 3G. But i guess I wouldnt need to wait much longer. It should come out in this year!
SUSalmattitude_v1
post Mar 7 2008, 12:42 PM

Fuck The Authorities
769 posts

About 48 milliseconds after the format war was officially over, rumors started running rampant (again) about Blu-ray making its way over to Microsoft's latest console. Now, however, those rumors actually have some legs -- well, at least a leg. According to Stan Glasgow, Sony Electronics US president, "Sony is in talks with console rival Microsoft about offering a Blu-ray drive for the Xbox 360." For whatever it's worth, the exec also noted that it was having similar discussions with Apple, which has yet to even offer a Blu-ray option on any of its machines. Unfortunately, not a peep was uttered about potential launch dates and the like, but you can rest assured that we'll be keeping an ear dangerously close to the ground.

Alrite guys, I'm giving it till June... If nothing happens in June, then I'm going for it and not wait anymore...
stringfellow
post Mar 7 2008, 02:46 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Read articles on AppleInsider and 9to5Mac, that Sony did approach Apple for the BD drives, but 3 criterias of the offered BD drive did not meet Apple's expectation :- Not slot-loading therefore it is huge, high power consumption there for meeting Apple's battery life expectation, and Apple wants BR-R capabilities as well , not just BD-ROM.

It is of these reasons why we are still not seeing any BD options on the the current Macbook Pro. There are third party options for the Mac Pro, but not a BTO option from Apple themselves.

I foresee the next architechtural change to 45nm, power-saving envelope of the Montevina/Nehalem to allow BD to finally appear on Apple's portable Macs. Also remember that both the Montevina/Nehalem platform now includes Intel's own push for their GMA X4500 integrated graphic engine that will take the load off when it comes to processing HD files/discs.
allvin
post Mar 7 2008, 04:54 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(NSkyline @ Mar 7 2008, 09:00 AM)
you did it for the lulz? laugh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

PS: I tot everyone knows that, i mean every mobile platform. whistling.gif Second tishaban post
TSChristWolves
post Mar 10 2008, 12:33 PM

148 posts

Got to know from Machines that the new MacBook Pros have arrived, BUT acquirying approval from SIRIM! *ArGH* mad.gif

I wonder how long more it will take for the approval to be done IN MALSYSIA.
allvin
post Mar 10 2008, 03:01 PM

4,506 posts

bro, if like that. I think you better wait till PC fair to buy, cos normally got good freebies during PC fair season. :hehe"
verced
post Mar 10 2008, 04:53 PM

168 posts

Can you get the glossy screen for the mbp here?
SUSMike3300
post Mar 10 2008, 05:02 PM

6,866 posts

QUOTE(verced @ Mar 10 2008, 04:53 PM)
Can you get the glossy screen for the mbp here?
Yup, only thru Apple Online Store. Otherwise you'll be getting a matte screen.
verced
post Mar 11 2008, 11:17 AM

168 posts

I don't there's any "Apple Online Store" here. Matte it is then. smile.gif
tishaban
post Mar 11 2008, 12:09 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(verced @ Mar 11 2008, 11:17 AM)
I don't there's any "Apple Online Store" here. Matte it is then. smile.gif
Go to a knowledgeable Mac retailer and ask them to do the special order. BTO is possible in Malaysia, but it'll take time.

TSChristWolves
post Mar 11 2008, 01:49 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Mar 11 2008, 12:09 PM)
Go to a knowledgeable Mac retailer and ask them to do the special order. BTO is possible in Malaysia, but it'll take time.
"Knowledgeable" Mac retailer... I guess you mean by Premium reseller uH~! nod.gif

allvin: Time is killing me! Unless it's around the corner.. icon_idea.gif
3ric
post Mar 11 2008, 08:18 PM

349 posts

i've played with the multi touch in my uni... sadly its not very responesive.. =/ i also considering should i buy now or later...
tinkerbel
post Mar 12 2008, 11:35 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@3ric,
Could it be possible U didn't spend enough time checking it out? *grins*
MacDaNife
post Mar 12 2008, 12:33 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

I've got no problems with the multitouch trackpad on my MB Air. I don't see why it should be any different on the new MB Pro.
Balok
post Mar 12 2008, 12:56 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Mar 12 2008, 12:33 PM)
I've got no problems with the multitouch trackpad on my MB Air. I don't see why it should be any different on the new MB Pro.
MB Pro trackpad is smaller hmm.gif

maybe this is what made MB Pro Multi-Touch not so responsive.

3ric
post Mar 12 2008, 01:32 PM

349 posts

*thinkerbel*

just whining abit =P
For sure gonna get within this month with free nano. happy.gif

Will use my wacom tablet to replace the touch pad... shouldn't a biggie..

tinkerbel
post Mar 12 2008, 01:53 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@3ric,
Is there a promo with the new MBP?
3ric
post Mar 12 2008, 02:07 PM

349 posts

yup student buy a mac free nano 4 gb... =)
tinkerbel
post Mar 12 2008, 02:10 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@3ric,
Just where is this promotion applicable? Then again, I'm not planning to get a new machine anytime soon; even if got also it'll probably be a Mac Mini or iMac - depends on when the desktop at home needs replacement *grins* tongue.gif
3ric
post Mar 12 2008, 02:28 PM

349 posts

Its in Australia Student's promotion. You need to show your ID to the Mac's reseller..
IMac here is pretty reasonable too..
tinkerbel
post Mar 12 2008, 02:41 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@3ric,
I guess it's not gonna help since I'm in KL ! *grins* U haf fun with ur new MBP smile.gif
TSChristWolves
post Mar 12 2008, 10:21 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(3ric @ Mar 12 2008, 02:28 PM)
Its in Australia Student's promotion. You need to show your ID to the Mac's reseller..
IMac here is pretty reasonable too..
ME TOO! In KL... Not much of promo here. MacStudio has a promo which is free a laptop sleeve and the ball to make typing easier, don't know what you call that. MBP in Malaysia still waiting for approval from SIRIM! ARGH!!!!! mad.gif vmad.gif

Happy waiting, guys!
allvin
post Mar 12 2008, 11:28 PM

4,506 posts

Guess just wait for pc fair. tongue.gif
Balok
post Mar 13 2008, 08:02 AM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

Aiyo,

at PC Fair is really rare to find Mac Reseller sad.gif

i went to every PC fair and the last time i saw Mac Reseller on December 2006.
NSkyline
post Mar 13 2008, 09:59 AM

207 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Mar 7 2008, 04:54 PM)
you did it for the lulz?  laugh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

PS: I tot everyone knows that, i mean every mobile platform.  whistling.gif Second tishaban post
hahaha....unfortunately been using deskstop all this years...macbook is my first lappy.....really noob la me...hehehe.... blush.gif doh.gif
TSChristWolves
post Mar 17 2008, 08:46 PM

148 posts

UPDATE: The new Penryn-based MacBook Pro has just arrived in Malaysia, Mac Studio being the first Apple Premium Reseller to get hold of the stock! (It has always been the first, like the Penryn-based MacBook.)

For the promotion, the guy has not confirmed with me any freebies which we will get upon purchase. He will update me tomorrow, maybe?

Finally, THE WAIT IS OVER!

Enjoy your mac, guys... The one who is waiting like I did.
Balok
post Mar 17 2008, 09:28 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

QUOTE(ChristWolves @ Mar 17 2008, 08:46 PM)
UPDATE: The new Penryn-based MacBook Pro has just arrived in Malaysia, Mac Studio being the first Apple Premium Reseller to get hold of the stock! (It has always been the first, like the Penryn-based MacBook.)

For the promotion, the guy has not confirmed with me any freebies which we will get upon purchase. He will update me tomorrow, maybe?
Finally, THE WAIT IS OVER!

Enjoy your mac, guys... The one who is waiting like I did.
For me not over yet sad.gif

want to wait till June and if new Macbook does come we also need to extend our wait since SIRIM has a very good heart

then if Apple didn't introduce new Macbook this June i might think to wait till December, hoping to see new updates and so on

Damn. So long i wait never buy any yet rclxub.gif
tinkerbel
post Mar 17 2008, 10:47 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Balok,
You struck lottery? I thought I remembered U telling us U needed to save till end of 2008 before u can even consider the RM5k MB? biggrin.gif
Moonflown
post Mar 17 2008, 11:47 PM

DayDreamer
1,036 posts

Yea, I heard you were saving money for MBA. The now you want MB. Greedy little balok. =D
Balok
post Mar 18 2008, 03:44 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

QUOTE(Moonflown @ Mar 17 2008, 11:47 PM)
Yea, I heard you were saving money for MBA. The now you want MB. Greedy little balok. =D
Try to get both Macbook and the Air drool.gif

but i target more on Macbook now since i know the hardness to earn money cry.gif
tinkerbel
post Mar 18 2008, 04:04 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Balok,
Stop telling us u don't have the moo-lah then! mad.gif *grins*
3ric
post Mar 19 2008, 03:07 PM

349 posts

tinkerbel =>

I got my MBP today! happy.gif

But my nano still need to wait...

I checked RMIT todya sold 35 MBP today and mine is the 2nd last ones...

They selling like hot cakes here...!

tinkerbel
post Mar 19 2008, 05:53 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@3ric,
thumbup.gif Am glad u managed to get a unit before it was sold out. Hope u are enjoying ur new toy - don't forget to update ur software; there apparently are new software updates available smile.gif
3ric
post Mar 19 2008, 06:23 PM

349 posts

I need help now...
after i plug my External harddisc i cannot scan my other drives even my XP lappy also... now i'm worried about my files in there all gone.. is there a way to save it out? =/
razuryza
post Mar 20 2008, 08:40 AM

\('o')/~fewwwiitttt~\("0")/
5,515 posts

where can i get the new macbook pro? in machines website got price all.. but do they have the stock?
ifer
post Mar 20 2008, 08:57 AM

4,637 posts

Mid Valley Mega Mall Tel: 603 2282 3996

Suria KLCC Tel : 603 2171 2633

Sunway Pyramid Tel : 603 5633 2998

Lot 10 Tel : 603 2142 5009

Gardens Mid Valley Tel : 603-2287 6787/ 5787

whichever branch that is nearer to you. thanks
razuryza
post Mar 20 2008, 02:59 PM

5,515 posts

so.. the stock is available la ek...good2.. can survey2
Chronolisme
post Mar 20 2008, 07:56 PM

OSX Preferred
544 posts

But I heard from the people from machines@mid-valley that they don't have stock yet, and they don't know when it'll be in... Anyone have any idea?

I ordered mine from an independent laptop shop who's taking it directly from US, but Estimate Time is unavailable... damn...
Balok
post Mar 20 2008, 08:31 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

the unit is still at SIRIM?

damn long sad.gif
allvin
post Mar 20 2008, 09:01 PM

4,506 posts

this afternoon just play my frie's penryn mbp biggrin.gif Sweet. Too bad not enuf time to test crysis out. biggrin.gif
razuryza
post Mar 20 2008, 11:29 PM

5,515 posts

QUOTE(Chronolisme @ Mar 20 2008, 07:56 PM)
But I heard from the people from machines@mid-valley that they don't have stock yet, and they don't know when it'll be in... Anyone have any idea?

I ordered mine from an independent laptop shop who's taking it directly from US, but Estimate Time is unavailable... damn...
dont have stock yet but advertise on the website what for? doh.gif
Chronolisme
post Mar 21 2008, 12:07 AM

OSX Preferred
544 posts

Something like pre-order I guess...

allvin: where ur fren got his MBP so fast?
TSChristWolves
post Mar 21 2008, 11:55 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(Chronolisme @ Mar 21 2008, 12:07 AM)
Something like pre-order I guess...

allvin: where ur fren got his MBP so fast?
WeW~ I got my Penryn MBP from MacStudio! (Didn't I announce it in the earlier post? *humph*)

Anyway, FYI, they have only got 3 17" which are sold out the next day. I booked my MBP, so went to collect on the 18th March. Damn cool machine, I've to admit. My first lappy btw. drool.gif

MacStudio has stock only for the medium range and high-performance range. They don't have stock for the entry level's. IF you're needing it urgently, can go to our nearest kiasu neighbour and get it there. My Penryn is received from there by MacStudio.

Happy waiting, guyS~ *Using it now to reply* tongue.gif rclxms.gif

Added on March 22, 2008, 12:00 am
QUOTE(ifer @ Mar 20 2008, 08:57 AM)

Errr.. no. Machines stock has not arrived yet! Might have to wait till nearly end of the month. I think our "helpful" SIRIM is doing their job right now eh...

I don't know why, but my Mac hanged upon installing upgrades for safari n aiport! Twice dy...

This post has been edited by ChristWolves: Mar 22 2008, 12:00 AM
Chronolisme
post Mar 22 2008, 10:37 PM

OSX Preferred
544 posts

Wow, nowonder, I ordered the entry level so I guess that's why it's taking so long. It's going to be my first lappy too btw. Man, I just can't wait any longer... Makes me wanna cry out for it haha...
post Mar 24 2008, 12:22 PM

137 posts

QUOTE(ifer @ Mar 20 2008, 08:57 AM)

Hi Guys,

Supposed to be the New MBP Penryn 's lowest spec is 2.4ghz. and price range is Rm6999 at Mac retail rite? Understand is it with the multi-touch like MBA? How to different the new MBP? sorrie.. new to mac. blush.gif
Chronolisme
post Mar 25 2008, 06:59 PM

OSX Preferred
544 posts

Yes it comes with Multi Touch, what else u wanna know?
TSChristWolves
post Mar 25 2008, 09:07 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(Chronolisme @ Mar 25 2008, 06:59 PM)
Yes it comes with Multi Touch, what else u wanna know?
Hello guys!

I've just finished installing Windows Vista Ultimate *ahem version* on this Penryn MBP! Scoring an astonishing Windows Experience Index of 5.1! Gosh.. Gonna love this machine. EpiCentre @ Pavilion just called me this afternoon, saying that the model I want (medium-ranged) MBP has been in stock. BUT, I told them I got from MacStudio since last week dy! They're slow.

Good luck, enjoy your first mac!

rclxms.gif drool.gif
post Apr 3 2008, 09:32 AM

137 posts

Congratz on your new mbp. Went to Sunway Machine but was told no stock for new MBP~ Told me Limited units~Just bought the MB 2.4ghz. Should have waited and visit EPIcentre instead.
pmsoo
post Apr 3 2008, 10:41 AM

374 posts

i am an early adopter of the MBP. got the 2.0Ghz Core Duo version.

Sometimes the cs3 and iphoto's loading time drives me crazy. it is as if it getting slower (but i think my patience is getting shorter only. laugh.gif )

Do you guys think its worth the upgrate to the latest mbp? Will there be a significant upgrade, i tried googling but because of the difference in generation, i cant find any direct comparison. the new leopard seems cool but the RM509 pricetag is not. sad.gif
TSChristWolves
post Apr 6 2008, 11:39 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(pmsoo @ Apr 3 2008, 10:41 AM)

Sometimes the cs3 and iphoto's loading time drives me crazy. it is as if it getting slower (but i think my patience is getting shorter only. laugh.gif )

Do you guys think its worth the upgrate to the latest mbp? Will there be a significant upgrade, i tried googling but because of the difference in generation, i cant find any direct comparison. the new leopard seems cool but the RM509 pricetag is not. sad.gif
Maybe you can consider maxing out the RAM of ur MBP? With a whooping 4GB of RAM, I don't think it will be slow again... HAHA! Btw, have you actually went to Google for something like "iPhoto alternatives"? I did and found out that the software (iPhoto) tends to lag a lot when handling large amount of photos. A few alternatives I've found are Abode Lightroom and iView. There are more, go and have a look. It might *maybe* stretch ur patience, who knows? biggrin.gif

Leopard can be *ahem* down-lo-a-d-ed eh, I think? =X hmm.gif

112006:
Omg, this will be your long-term investment! How can you just simply pick a laptop... For me, I will wait no matter what, to get what I want. Anyway, hope you are having fun with it!
P/S: Apple is NOT CHEAP! And I'm a patient guy... icon_rolleyes.gif

Ammendment for Windows Vista:
I've finally uninstalled it and got XP instead. I found that Vista burns my laptop, so prefer not to risk it. Feeling burning hot at palm rest area as well.
verced
post Apr 7 2008, 12:20 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(pmsoo @ Apr 3 2008, 10:41 AM)

Visit the following websites for some benchmarking number. http://www.primatelabs.ca/blog/2008/04/mac...nce-april-2008/
Keep in mind that they only measure the processor and memory performance but I guess you can deduce a conclusion from it.

ajul
post Apr 7 2008, 02:17 AM

100% ONLINE DEALER
1,258 posts

wow, so impressed visit this thread..:-)
TSChristWolves
post Apr 8 2008, 11:24 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(ajul @ Apr 7 2008, 02:17 AM)
wow, so impressed visit this thread..:-)
Wah, so easily impressed! tongue.gif *joking*

verced:
I've visited but quite shocked that PPC's G5 is still on par with current Intel's Core 2 Duo processor! - Simply impressive...
post Apr 14 2008, 11:14 AM

137 posts

112006:
Omg, this will be your long-term investment! How can you just simply pick a laptop... For me, I will wait no matter what, to get what I want. Anyway, hope you are having fun with it!
P/S: Apple is NOT CHEAP! And I'm a patient guy...  icon_rolleyes.gif

Yeah, it's a long-term using product.I m quite a impatient person. blush.gif Hafta agree Apple is NOT cheap~
Now I m wondering whether I want to sell off my currently 1 week old Macbook and get Penryn MBP. Not sure how much the resale value. sad.gif wub.gif

TSChristWolves
post Apr 16 2008, 09:52 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(112006 @ Apr 14 2008, 11:14 AM)
Yeah, it's a long-term using product.I m quite a impatient person.  blush.gif Hafta agree Apple is NOT cheap~
Now I m wondering whether I want to sell off my currently 1 week old Macbook and get Penryn MBP. Not sure how much the resale value.  sad.gif  wub.gif
LoL! Impatient will turn u into a monster when u see a new one comes ouT! Likewise my friend who bought it last december. She then sees me having multi-touching my mac! Wakakkaa... blush.gif

For the resale value, sorry as I'm not familiar with the issue.
GOod luck then!

kazasho
post Apr 16 2008, 11:21 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(ChristWolves @ Apr 6 2008, 11:39 PM)
Maybe you can consider maxing out the RAM of ur MBP? With a whooping 4GB of RAM, I don't think it will be slow again... HAHA! Btw, have you actually went to Google for something like "iPhoto alternatives"? I did and found out that the software (iPhoto) tends to lag a lot when handling large amount of photos. A few alternatives I've found are Abode Lightroom and iView. There are more, go and have a look. It might *maybe* stretch ur patience, who knows?  biggrin.gif

Leopard can be *ahem* down-lo-a-d-ed eh, I think? =X  hmm.gif

112006:
P/S: Apple is NOT CHEAP! And I'm a patient guy...  icon_rolleyes.gif

Ammendment for Windows Vista:
I've finally uninstalled it and got XP instead. I found that Vista burns my laptop, so prefer not to risk it. Feeling burning hot at palm rest area as well.
I see u r very happy wif ur new mbp, congrats

nway, y u said vista burns ur laptop? fine with my xps..even cooler than my last ibook

allvin
post Apr 17 2008, 12:47 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Apr 16 2008, 11:21 PM)
I see u r very happy wif ur new mbp, congrats

nway, y u said vista burns ur laptop? fine with my xps..even cooler than my last ibook
dude, yours is dell punya. Do you try macbook/mbp in vista? sweat.gif doh.gif

Just that Apple don't really like M$ product to get along "too well". Like the double tap/single tap on trackpad feature. It won't work in vista/xp wink.gif
kazasho
post Apr 17 2008, 07:22 PM

カザショ!
1,964 posts

QUOTE(allvin @ Apr 17 2008, 12:47 AM)
dude, yours is dell punya. Do you try macbook/mbp in vista?  sweat.gif  doh.gif

Just that Apple don't really like M$ product to get along "too well". Like the double tap/single tap on trackpad feature. It won't work in vista/xp wink.gif
hoho..it really does burn in apple? Im surprise.hehe tongue.gif
nway, wasted hdd space lo to install windows, maximize ur mac osx notworthy.gif whistling.gif
TSChristWolves
post Apr 20 2008, 01:48 PM

148 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Apr 17 2008, 07:22 PM)
hoho..it really does burn in apple? Im surprise.hehe tongue.gif
nway, wasted hdd space lo to install windows, maximize ur mac osx notworthy.gif  whistling.gif
Not to say waste hdd space (I've 250GB to spend rclxm9.gif ), but some software is only available on Windows platform, we've no choice... Most engineering softwares are not available on Mac, but music and photography softwares are.

It burns because it has aluminum everywhere and as you know, aluminum is rather hot. mad.gif

@kazasho: You'll have to compliment to use either Windows or Mac. BUT, your Dell (Don't Ever Last Long brows.gif *joking*) cannot run Mac, unless a hackintosh. *oops*

Anyway, choose the one you like.

Have a nice day!

0.0797sec    0.22    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:02 AM