Penryn-based MBP is OUT,finally..With Multi-touch!, UPDATE: New MBP has just arrived!!!

allvin
post Feb 27 2008, 12:57 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Feb 27 2008, 12:35 AM)
wow

bye2 mba..bwahaha..i thought the m touch only for air,

now mbp is awsome again..yeah
won't 1 la. Later on, i bet mb also hav multitouch trackpad rolleyes.gif
allvin
post Feb 27 2008, 02:24 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(laszlo @ Feb 27 2008, 01:47 AM)
the cheapest macbook still have combo drive doh.gif

as well as the lame graphic chipset yawn.gif
btw, x3100 is not "lame" sweat.gif cool2.gif
allvin
post Feb 27 2008, 12:39 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Feb 27 2008, 09:32 AM)
@ChristWolves,
It's possible, for students perhaps since it's through RMIT.

Speaking of which, can't Apple do something like a software update to the current/old batches so we get the multi touch track pad function too? *grins*
nope. it is not just software or firmware issue, but hardware. macrumors already clarify this. One of the component (from multi-touch trackpad) is similar like iPod touch or iPhone
allvin
post Feb 27 2008, 02:09 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(IvanKang @ Feb 27 2008, 01:10 PM)
I think there will be a driver for the macbook to have the multitouch feature in the near future, because the old powerbook g4 didn't have 2 finger right click and once you have installed leopard it seems to have. So for all macbook users, its just the processor and ram that have been upgraded, and well, it sure keeps your battery and your lap happy too!
Not in this case. You need the hardware in order to have pinch and rotate to work. It is not about driver or firmware. You can go macrumors or google. They already clarify it. wink.gif

and larger hdd also for macbook, no more 80GB. starting from 120GB/160GB/250GB(for the black 1)

QUOTE(lil twist @ Feb 27 2008, 02:01 PM)
btw, the L2 cache is lower lor... got differences between the 3MB L2 cache with 4MB L2 cache?? sweat.gif
according to macrumors speculation, penryn got two version. High end Penryn is 6MB L2 cache, whereas low end Penryn is 3MB L2 cache. Although merom (older version macbook processor) is 4MB L2 cache, Penryn got SSE4 that can speed up the instruction application (that's mean it improves the performance as well). In conclusion, Penryn will be faster compare to merom

This post has been edited by allvin: Feb 27 2008, 02:11 PM
allvin
post Feb 28 2008, 12:31 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(ChristWolves @ Feb 27 2008, 11:56 PM)
Technology keeps going, on and on... So, buy whenever you need it.

P/S: I'm still waiting despite I need it not so urgently now.  tongue.gif
bro, you got read macrumors?

"Intel is planning to replace the Santa Rosa mobile platform with Montevina this June" quote from there. Santa Rosa going to end pretty soon brows.gif That's technology laugh.gif
allvin
post Mar 2 2008, 01:51 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(Mike3300 @ Mar 2 2008, 02:43 AM)
All thanks to the iPod cause that's where we start.
hmm.gif i don't think so. More like since Apple "shift" to Intel. Ntg to do with "iPod".

Btw, till now i don't own any iPod wink.gif But I own macbook
allvin
post Mar 7 2008, 04:54 PM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(NSkyline @ Mar 7 2008, 09:00 AM)
guess what I might be the first person to know today that our macbook cannot upgrade processor wan.....cause it is solder to the logic board!!!! man....i understand the reason behind it though.......
you did it for the lulz? laugh.gif doh.gif doh.gif

PS: I tot everyone knows that, i mean every mobile platform. whistling.gif Second tishaban post
allvin
post Mar 10 2008, 03:01 PM

4,506 posts

bro, if like that. I think you better wait till PC fair to buy, cos normally got good freebies during PC fair season. :hehe"
allvin
post Mar 12 2008, 11:28 PM

4,506 posts

Guess just wait for pc fair. tongue.gif
allvin
post Mar 20 2008, 09:01 PM

4,506 posts

this afternoon just play my frie's penryn mbp biggrin.gif Sweet. Too bad not enuf time to test crysis out. biggrin.gif
allvin
post Apr 17 2008, 12:47 AM

4,506 posts

QUOTE(kazasho @ Apr 16 2008, 11:21 PM)
I see u r very happy wif ur new mbp, congrats

nway, y u said vista burns ur laptop? fine with my xps..even cooler than my last ibook
dude, yours is dell punya. Do you try macbook/mbp in vista? sweat.gif doh.gif

Just that Apple don't really like M$ product to get along "too well". Like the double tap/single tap on trackpad feature. It won't work in vista/xp wink.gif

0.0158sec    0.64    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:20 AM