Penryn-based MBP is OUT,finally..With Multi-touch!, UPDATE: New MBP has just arrived!!!
tinkerbel
Feb 27 2008, 05:28 PM
Fanaddict!
@ChristWolves, Shouldn't the Multi Touch Function be the same as the MBA - u could check that one out without waiting @Balok, The MBPs are definitely gonna be priced higher than the MBs; my guess is that it'll probably be about the same as the current range with maybe a difference of a few hundred.
Balok
Feb 27 2008, 05:34 PM
suddenly Macbook Air left behind on performance. If Macbook Air got abit better spec or cheaper i buy it.
BTW will you buy Macbook Air if 5 years later the Macbook Air spec is better than Macbook Pro?
zealless
Feb 27 2008, 05:37 PM
for me 2.5Ghz, 2Gb RAM, 8600M GT 512mb, 6mb cache is sufficient for my work ...
can play occasion WOW and some stupids game ... can dy .. hehe ...
kazasho
Feb 27 2008, 06:06 PM
QUOTE(Balok @ Feb 27 2008, 05:34 PM) suddenly Macbook Air left behind on performance. If Macbook Air got abit better spec or cheaper i buy it. BTW will you buy Macbook Air if 5 years later the Macbook Air spec is better than Macbook Pro? naah..cannot cramped all super power graphic card and others..plus will be super hot i think price will go down
Moonflown
Feb 27 2008, 06:51 PM
QUOTE(Balok @ Feb 27 2008, 05:34 PM) suddenly Macbook Air left behind on performance. If Macbook Air got abit better spec or cheaper i buy it. BTW will you buy Macbook Air if 5 years later the Macbook Air spec is better than Macbook Pro? You cant expect an ultraportables to have higher specs than Macbook Pro dont. MBA currently is the fastest notebook under 1.5kg because of the redesigned processor. I've owned a Macbook Pro before for music composing but I sold it because its quite heavy to bring it around. Different users have different needs.
BridgestoneRE711
Feb 27 2008, 06:53 PM
u wont be going for macbook air spec five years later when it is better than macbook pro . sure .
this is something like today u got celeron and C2D ... will u buy celeron next 5 years if it is better than the C2D of TODAY ?
hmm ..
one thing for sure , macbook air wont have so much keng stuff as macbook pro. they aren't finding trouble for that . even if they have found the key to design a slimmer laptop to make macbook pro slimmer , probabaly the next step they are going to do is to make the macbook air more portable .
Added on February 27, 2008, 7:02 pmANOTHER good thing of buying macbook is that u always buy it with the latest technology . think of the 2.0 GHz C2D i bought during 6 months ago . i know it is outdated now . i bought the 2.0GHz when they released the 2.1Ghz macbook . i was thinking to skip it and get the latest one . but during that time, i compared it with mother brand like sony toshiba or even dell , yes , they do offer ower price by thousand something . but it was still some 1.8 or 1.6 Ghz processor . get wad i mean. even 2.0Ghz by today is not so called super outdated as u can still see some brand selling the 2.0 C2D laptop at 3K range .
This post has been edited by BridgestoneRE711: Feb 27 2008, 07:02 PM
laszlo
Feb 27 2008, 07:46 PM
QUOTE(BridgestoneRE711 @ Feb 27 2008, 06:53 PM) Added on February 27, 2008, 7:02 pmANOTHER good thing of buying macbook is that u always buy it with the latest technology . think of the 2.0 GHz C2D i bought during 6 months ago . i know it is outdated now . i bought the 2.0GHz when they released the 2.1Ghz macbook . i was thinking to skip it and get the latest one . but during that time, i compared it with mother brand like sony toshiba or even dell , yes , they do offer ower price by thousand something . but it was still some 1.8 or 1.6 Ghz processor . get wad i mean. even 2.0Ghz by today is not so called super outdated as u can still see some brand selling the 2.0 C2D laptop at 3K range . yup i agree  macbook offers attractive price for the performance they offer... so its best to get it while its new
gozila84
Feb 27 2008, 08:33 PM

so the newest Macbook got the multi-touch function??
Balok
Feb 27 2008, 08:40 PM
QUOTE(gozila84 @ Feb 27 2008, 08:33 PM) so the newest Macbook got the multi-touch function?? sadly, no. only Macbook Pro and Macbook Air have it.
yawhong
Feb 27 2008, 08:43 PM
QUOTE(Balok @ Feb 27 2008, 08:40 PM) sadly, no. only Macbook Pro and Macbook Air have it. well that is good news for me since i just purchase my macbook 2-3weeks ago haha Added on February 27, 2008, 8:46 pmQUOTE(zealless @ Feb 27 2008, 05:37 PM) for me 2.5Ghz, 2Gb RAM, 8600M GT 512mb, 6mb cache is sufficient for my work ... can play occasion WOW and some stupids game ... can dy .. hehe ... so when u plan to get it? i just about to key in my credit card no for order the macbook pro but still not dare to click the complete payment button.. i guess i will stay with my toshiba laptop even i got the money... feel bad to get a new laptop since mine is still functioning! curse it! This post has been edited by yawhong: Feb 27 2008, 08:46 PM
3ric
Feb 27 2008, 09:01 PM
I just got back from Apple in Melb City, 2 more weeks to go to reach AUS shore, and the Promotion for student price is till April 18 08, i'm swaying bout 2.4ghz or 2.5 ghz on 15" ...
They Confirmed with me that The promotion its free with 4gb Nano...
Now i just need to wait for them to come.. hehe
vetkin_gray
Feb 27 2008, 09:54 PM
i wish i have the money so whenever apple releases a batch, i'll replace them immediately.. haizz
please fast forward 3-4 years so i can get a new MBP...
TSChristWolves
Feb 27 2008, 11:56 PM

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Feb 27 2008, 09:54 PM) i wish i have the money so whenever apple releases a batch, i'll replace them immediately.. haizz please fast forward 3-4 years so i can get a new MBP... Technology keeps going, on and on... So, buy whenever you need it. P/S: I'm still waiting despite I need it not so urgently now.
allvin
Feb 28 2008, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(ChristWolves @ Feb 27 2008, 11:56 PM) Technology keeps going, on and on... So, buy whenever you need it. P/S: I'm still waiting despite I need it not so urgently now.  bro, you got read macrumors? "Intel is planning to replace the Santa Rosa mobile platform with Montevina this June" quote from there. Santa Rosa going to end pretty soon  That's technology
TSChristWolves
Feb 28 2008, 08:04 AM

QUOTE(allvin @ Feb 28 2008, 12:31 AM) bro, you got read macrumors? "Intel is planning to replace the Santa Rosa mobile platform with Montevina this June" quote from there. Santa Rosa going to end pretty soon  That's technology  I've no choice, dude! This will be my last-wait.. No more, please... It was very hectic! I don't care - getting Penryn as it hits the shore.. *bugging Mac Studio everyday*
BridgestoneRE711
Feb 28 2008, 10:32 AM
update ur macbook everyitme they upgrade their product . hmm ... prepare to lose RM6000 per year as everytime a new one comes out , the older version price will drop , then ure 2nd hand resale value will drop too . i bought my BlackBook last 7 months ago , and i ahve to say that it has been updated 4 times . 2.1Ghz , SantaRosa Platform and now the latest one . so consider mine is 4 generations older than the current one .
tinkerbel
Feb 28 2008, 11:24 AM
Fanaddict!
@BridgestoneRE711, If ur MB is insured, U could try losing it and getting a brand new one [am sure the shops no longer stock the MB u bought 4 generations ago *grins*] I don't think mine's insured at the right price cause it didn't take into account the additional ACPP I purchased
BridgestoneRE711
Feb 28 2008, 12:12 PM
i think they will still produce the spare part for it. anyway , i am buying the ACCP soon ... not sure when whitin this month , march time lor .
zealless
Feb 28 2008, 01:04 PM
QUOTE(ChristWolves @ Feb 28 2008, 08:04 AM) I've no choice, dude! This will be my last-wait.. No more, please... It was very hectic! I don't care - getting Penryn as it hits the shore.. *bugging Mac Studio everyday*  me too, waiting for the MPB update for a long time, not going to wait til june release of new platform, when it release i think next year or 4th Q only they going to update the MBP. i am using a lousy P4 3.0ghz @ home, need a laptop for work (travel alot) and my office coms are lousy ... takes forever to load and render ...
wilson88
Feb 28 2008, 01:35 PM
I just got the update on the MB and MBP's price. Price DROPPPED  MB 2.1GHz Rm3899 MB 2.4GHz SP-DV Rm4599 MB(B) 2.4GHz SP-DV Rm5299 MBP 2.4GHz Rm6999 MBP 2.5GHz Rm8699 MBP 2.5GHz Rm9699