Your eXPerience on ACPP, is it worth or not?

TSBalok
post Feb 25 2008, 08:03 PM, updated 18y ago

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

I think to buy ACPP for my mac but 2 ACPP cost more than RM1k.

I never buy an ACPP before and I heard that I need to buy ACPP before 1 year warranty is over.

so ACPP user, is it worth investing RM1k++ for ACPP? do you encounter any problems after 1 year warranty ended? icon_question.gif
cutekid
post Feb 25 2008, 08:12 PM

109 posts

would like to know which machine you using....
TSBalok
post Feb 25 2008, 08:23 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

iMac and Macbook smile.gif
tinkerbel
post Feb 25 2008, 09:31 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@Balok,
It's hard to tell when it comes to these technical stuff; I would spend the $ to get peace of mind. Besides, it's RM1k++ for 2 ACPPs - I had to fork out RM1k++ for mine (and that's just for 1 unit!)
1zR4eL
post Feb 25 2008, 09:36 PM

1,852 posts

for me its worth it to get peace of mind. u never know when shit happen
cutekid
post Feb 25 2008, 09:44 PM

109 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Feb 25 2008, 08:23 PM)
iMac and Macbook smile.gif
highly advise mac book to get ACPP......
you can spend few thousand to buy the machine,
why not spend a few hundred more to get ACPP
and nothing to worry in another 2 years time..... rclxms.gif
suiryuu
post Feb 25 2008, 09:51 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Feb 25 2008, 08:03 PM)
I think to buy ACPP for my mac but 2 ACPP cost more than RM1k.

I never buy an ACPP before and I heard that I need to buy ACPP before 1 year warranty is over.

so ACPP user, is it worth investing RM1k++ for ACPP? do you encounter any problems after 1 year warranty ended?  icon_question.gif
hey macbook pro ACPP cost me RM1299. kill me u know ? well if u wanna buy at Ebay sure cheaper lo. haha but i get mine at machines
MacDaNife
post Feb 25 2008, 10:10 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

I've bought ACPP for all my macs except my newest two.

My MBP which is almost a year old is without ACPP. Actually, I think I won't bother as I've probably voided the warranty with the harddrive upgrade anyways. I'm unsure if I'll spring for ACPP for the Air...

In the end, not having ACPP is living dangerously. Apple repairs are often more expensive than the second-hand value of the machine. Makes replacing the faulty Mac with a new one very tempting...
BegRedBarr
post Feb 25 2008, 10:22 PM

299 posts

First off, the ACPP is plain old vanilla "insurance", its called piece of mind in that anything happens to your Mac (but please read what is covered and what is not) you can scream, shout and b**** to Apple to get it fixed.

You might wanna skip purchasing an ACPP for your iMac but if you lug your MB around, I think it is a good idea to at least spend your hard earned cash on getting one for it, since as a portbale unit it will get a lot of wear, carry and tear.

Lastly, SHOP AROUND for your ACPP. Basicly, what you are buying is a bunch of NUMBERS. Let me repeat this: SHOP AROUND.

Inside the ACPP box is some bunch of papers and a CD (some sort of diagnostics application I never bother installing). THATS ALL. The important part of the mostly empty box is the ACPP number which is required to tie your Mac's serial number to the ACPP you bought. So buy from a reliable source, and shop around for the best price.

A general rule is, if you machine (Mac+PC or anything electrical) works great for 6 months, it will work great until something major happens (lighting, drop from the sky, you poke it with a knife, etc). My 1st Mac Mini died within a month (bad mutha-board), and I got it replaced with a new one (its still working after 2 years plus and yes I did bought an ACPP for it).

Hope this helps...
TSBalok
post Feb 25 2008, 10:35 PM

Truly Malaysian
1,666 posts

QUOTE(BegRedBarr @ Feb 25 2008, 10:22 PM)
First off, the ACPP is plain old vanilla "insurance", its called piece of mind in that anything happens to your Mac (but please read what is covered and what is not) you can scream, shout and b**** to Apple to get it fixed.

You might wanna skip purchasing an ACPP for your iMac but if you lug your MB around, I think it is a good idea to at least spend your hard earned cash on getting one for it, since as a portbale unit it will get a lot of wear, carry and tear.

Lastly, SHOP AROUND for your ACPP. Basicly, what you are buying is a bunch of NUMBERS. Let me repeat this: SHOP AROUND.

Inside the ACPP box is some bunch of papers and a CD (some sort of diagnostics application I never bother installing). THATS ALL. The important part of the mostly empty box is the ACPP number which is required to tie your Mac's serial number to the ACPP you bought. So buy from a reliable source, and shop around for the best price.

A general rule is, if you machine (Mac+PC or anything electrical) works great for 6 months, it will work great until something major happens (lighting, drop from the sky, you poke it with a knife, etc). My 1st Mac Mini died within a month (bad mutha-board), and I got it replaced with a new one (its still working after 2 years plus and yes I did bought an ACPP for it).

Hope this helps...
so if my Macbook works great for the first 6 month, it is recommended to buy ACPP because if something happen like spilled water or drop to lake. Is this why ACPP for Macbook is more important than iMac? hmm.gif
suiryuu
post Feb 25 2008, 10:37 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(Balok @ Feb 25 2008, 10:35 PM)
so if my Macbook works great for the first 6 month, it is recommended to buy ACPP because if something happen like spilled water or drop to lake. Is this why ACPP for Macbook is more important than iMac?  hmm.gif
well self mistake also got cover meh ? if drop to lake or water go inside also cover de ah ?
tishaban
post Feb 25 2008, 10:44 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(suiryuu @ Feb 25 2008, 10:37 PM)
well self mistake also got cover meh ? if drop to lake or water go inside also cover de ah ?
They don't cover user stupidity biggrin.gif Of course if you get to con the tech support person that your Mac died because of a manufacturing defect instead of a stupid move then all the more power to you but don't expect the Apple tech support person to be dumb lah biggrin.gif

I buy ACPP for all my previous Apple laptops. My iBook had a line in the LCD about 2 years 10 months into its life (back in December 2007). ACPP saved the day. As BegRedBarr said, shop around for ACPP. You can buy it on ebay and still use the numbers.

suiryuu
post Feb 25 2008, 11:10 PM

333 posts

QUOTE(tishaban @ Feb 25 2008, 10:44 PM)
They don't cover user stupidity biggrin.gif Of course if you get to con the tech support person that your Mac died because of a manufacturing defect instead of a stupid move then all the more power to you but don't expect the Apple tech support person to be dumb lah biggrin.gif

I buy ACPP for all my previous Apple laptops. My iBook had a line in the LCD about 2 years 10 months into its life (back in December 2007). ACPP saved the day. As BegRedBarr said, shop around for ACPP. You can buy it on ebay and still use the numbers.
haha yeah that's y i'm asking those stupidity also included meh. HAHA.
sonnettech-asia
post Feb 25 2008, 11:14 PM

602 posts

look at it as an investment. when you want to sell it after 1-2 year. your mac will cost more because of the Apple care.
darkimp
post Feb 26 2008, 12:27 AM

363 posts

QUOTE(sonnettech-asia @ Feb 25 2008, 11:14 PM)
look at it as an investment. when you want to sell it after 1-2 year. your mac will cost more because of the Apple care.
true. i think it is just one dollar per day investment. You can have a peace of mind and no need worry when the mac having any problem. It is important too if you want to resell you mac, you will got higher price if under warranty. smile.gif
yawhong
post Feb 26 2008, 05:31 AM

ordentlichen Kerl
976 posts

ya definitely worth it... i think ebay is quite cheap.. just get it from ebay...
lil twist
post Feb 26 2008, 12:17 PM

You'll Never Walk Alone
1,695 posts

QUOTE(BegRedBarr @ Feb 25 2008, 10:22 PM)

Hope this helps...
mind elaborate more why should not invest on ACPP for iMac??? unsure.gif
vetkin_gray
post Feb 26 2008, 12:28 PM

766 posts

acpp does not cover accidental damage.. so if u dropped, spilled milk on ur macbook, ur not covered.

i don't think its worth the price (1k++).. btw i nvr bought the ACPP before
cutekid
post Feb 26 2008, 03:26 PM

109 posts

iMac ACPP is only RM609 is worth to get......
warranty cover for mouse & keyboard as well......
one key of your keyboard not function just claim a new one....
cannot scroll down for your mighty mouse just claim a new one.....
advantage of ACPP...... biggrin.gif
tishaban
post Feb 26 2008, 03:47 PM

3,615 posts

QUOTE(vetkin_gray @ Feb 26 2008, 12:28 PM)
acpp does not cover accidental damage.. so if u dropped, spilled milk on ur macbook, ur not covered.

i don't think its worth the price (1k++).. btw i nvr bought the ACPP before
vetkin_gray, different people have different tolerances. It would help to explain your decision if you actually tell us how many Macs you've had before and how long you've kept them.

Here's my list

2001 iBook G3. Power supply died before the 3-year period was up, reed switch died within year 2. Both fixed myself but ACPP would've covered it easier, cheaper and faster.
2003 iBook G3. Reed switch died in year 2. Also should've bought ACPP but forgot biggrin.gif
2005 Powermac G5. So far going strong. Didn't buy ACPP.
2005 iBook G4. LCD developed a line. ACPP paid for itself.
2006 Mac Mini. Internal combo drive died. I can reinstall OSX but can't install Windows/Linux from external CDROM. ACPP would've paid for itself but didn't buy it.
2007 Macbook. So far still going strong. Bought ACPP.
2008 MBA, will buy ACPP.

I've been owning Macs since 1991. I would buy ACPP for laptops, probably won't for desktops. I have never bought ACPP at a retail store unless there was a huge discount. I usually buy used or through ebay.

0.0466sec    0.46    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:32 AM