3,160 posts

Everyday last 10 min like that one.
alivecmh
post Feb 22 2008, 05:17 PM

1,404 posts

Ya lo, I wondering how those ppl knows that buying 100 shares can push up the stock price by 1 bit at last min.

Wil not buy anymore hsi-c2 from now on cause i used up all my budget that allocate for this counter biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by alivecmh: Feb 22 2008, 05:21 PM
TScherroy
post Feb 22 2008, 05:22 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(alivecmh @ Feb 22 2008, 05:17 PM)
Ya lo, I wondering how those ppl can know that buying 100 shares can push up the stock price by 1 bit at last min.

Wil not buy anymore hsi-c2 from now on cost i used up all my budget that allocate for this counter biggrin.gif
Contract note is accumulated one for the whole day, the fella bough 1 lot (x100) doesn't necessary only buy 1 lot only, may be already bought some for today, then last minute take 1 lot to make it close 'higher'.

It is quite a norm now in KLSE to make last minute transaction to make it closed a little bit higher.

alivecmh
post Feb 22 2008, 05:25 PM

1,404 posts

Silly Question here, How tat fella knows that 1 lot can make it higher ? Is there a way to estimate ?
kinwawa
post Feb 22 2008, 05:33 PM

2,181 posts

QUOTE(chinkw1 @ Feb 22 2008, 05:13 PM)
Everyday last 10 min like that one.
Oh...i mean volume of post in our forum in last 10 min so much......till now V10 liao! hehehehe rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
Njoy ur weekends ppl!
alivecmh
post Feb 22 2008, 06:09 PM

1,404 posts

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Feb 22 2008, 05:33 PM)
Oh...i mean volume of post in our forum in last 10 min so much......till now V10 liao! hehehehe  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
Njoy ur weekends ppl!
Today many many post especially when the market about to close rclxms.gif
sinclairZX81
post Feb 22 2008, 07:50 PM

Change for the better
2,013 posts

Wah, I'm like so late for V10. Congrats!
SKY 1809
post Feb 22 2008, 08:04 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(sinclairZX81 @ Feb 22 2008, 08:50 PM)
Wah, I'm like so late for V10. Congrats!
Do Not worry. There are no free gifts for early birds.

lklatmy
post Feb 22 2008, 10:09 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 22 2008, 05:22 PM)

It is quite a norm now in KLSE to make last minute transaction to make it closed a little bit higher.
Hi,everyone here,just to inform you before hand,this practice of making last minute one lot transaction thing to influence the closing price will soon be thing of the past.

Bursa is now in the final stage of testing a new trading system known as Bursa Trade.One of the salient point of the system is that there will be a pre-opening and pre-closing price determination process based on supply and demand. The pre-closing price determined will be the closing price for the day and all tradings done after that (for a duration of about 10 minutes)will be based on that price.So,it will be very difficult and costly to influence the closing price since the supply and demand will be transparent to all market participants.If one try to push up the closing price by putting in a large buying order,there is a possibility that a lot of sellers will take advantage and sell to the buyer.The whole mechanism is more complex than what I explained here and if you would like to know more,the details are available in the Bursa website under "Bursa Trades".

The new trading system is expected to go live in April.
SKY 1809
post Feb 22 2008, 10:41 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(lklatmy @ Feb 22 2008, 11:09 PM)
Hi,everyone here,just to inform you before hand,this practice of making last minute one lot transaction thing to influence the closing price will soon be thing of the past.

Bursa is now in the final stage of testing a new trading system known as Bursa Trade.One of the salient point of the system is that there will be a pre-opening and pre-closing price  determination process based on supply and demand. The pre-closing price determined will be the closing price for the day and all tradings done after that (for a duration of about 10 minutes)will be based on that price.So,it will be very difficult and costly to influence the closing price since the supply and demand will be transparent to all market participants.If one try to push up the closing price by putting in a large buying order,there is a possibility that a lot of sellers will take advantage and sell to the buyer.The whole mechanism is more complex than what I explained here and if you would like to know more,the details are available in the Bursa website under "Bursa Trades".

Thank you for sharing the info.

Just a bit of curious, is the practice in line with other parts of the world, or sound like another "currency control " to me.

Is it in line with free market forces or buy low and sell high ?

How the investors know what are the pre determined prices of let say 1000 counters during the last 10 minutes ?

SUSDavid83
post Feb 22 2008, 11:01 PM

52,874 posts

DJIA starts the day with:

12,279.99 -4.31 -0.04%
lklatmy
post Feb 22 2008, 11:07 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 22 2008, 10:41 PM)

Just a bit of curious, is the practice in line with other parts of the world, or sound like another "currency control " to me.

How the investors know what are the pre determined prices of let say 1000 counters during the last 10 minutes ?

This is already practised in many advanced countries,The new trading system is supplied by a company known as Euronet which is owned by many world reknown bourses in Europe.

In my opinion,the new system is superior to the existing system as the true supply and demand forces will determine the pre-opening and pre-closing prices.

The buyer and seller queing during the price determination process is shown in our(remisier)computer.I presume the same information will also be available to all those clients who access their broker's website for online prices.

My reply is based on Briefings and notes given by Bursa.Do correct me if I got it wrong especially our forumer who knows the new system better,DeVils,where are you? tongue.gif tongue.gif

The new system is not new to those who currently trades FKLI and FCPO,it's already in use there.

This post has been edited by lklatmy: Feb 22 2008, 11:16 PM
TScherroy
post Feb 22 2008, 11:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 22 2008, 10:41 PM)

It is as same as the FKLI currently. The last 5 minutes of trade, all are being done in one price which is determined by supply and demand aka the system will do automatical matching for it. You can see the quantity of the queue, but you don't get the price done, only after the market close then all are being revealed and matched.

It is a good way to avoid price manipulation for higher closing price at last minute, which is widely being 'abused' now especially when you see 1 lot being done pruposely to make it close higher.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Feb 22 2008, 11:11 PM
SKY 1809
post Feb 22 2008, 11:24 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 23 2008, 12:09 AM)
It is as same as the FKLI currently. The last 5 minutes of trade, all are being done in one price which is determined by supply and demand aka the system will do automatical matching for it. You can see the quantity of the queue, but you don't get the price done, only after the market close then all are being revealed and matched.

It is a good way to avoid price manipulation for higher closing price at last minute, which is widely being 'abused' now especially when you see 1 lot being done pruposely to make it close higher.
Thank you.

I believe it is based on weighted average of " last 10 minutes " transactions. correct me if i am wrong ?

sharesa
post Feb 22 2008, 11:33 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(lklatmy @ Feb 22 2008, 10:09 PM)

Bursa is now in the final stage of testing a new trading system known as Bursa Trade.One of the salient point of the system is that there will be a pre-opening and pre-closing price  determination process based on supply and demand. The pre-closing price determined will be the closing price for the day and all tradings done after that (for a duration of about 10 minutes)will be based on that price.So,it will be very difficult and costly to influence the closing price since the supply and demand will be transparent to all market participants.If one try to push up the closing price by putting in a large buying order,there is a possibility that a lot of sellers will take advantage and sell to the buyer.The whole mechanism is more complex than what I explained here and if you would like to know more,the details are available in the Bursa website under "Bursa Trades".

after reading this " Bursa Trade", I find it quite complicating.
I guess after implementation of this system, people are unable to make one lot transaction to influence the closing price? So, no more way to make our portfolio looking good.

Added on February 22, 2008, 11:38 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Feb 22 2008, 11:09 PM)

But though being 'abused' , isn't it better this way as price is closed higher?

This post has been edited by sharesa: Feb 22 2008, 11:38 PM
SKY 1809
post Feb 22 2008, 11:42 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Feb 23 2008, 12:33 AM)
after reading this " Bursa Trade", I find it quite complicating.
I guess after implementation of this system, people are unable to make one lot transaction to influence the closing price? So, no more way to make our portfolio looking good.

Added on February 22, 2008, 11:38 pm

But though being 'abused' , isn't it better this way as price is closed higher?
"
Bursa present system i think is more than 10 years old . They are coming out something like the windows "Vista."

Whether user friendly or not , it is a big question. The system is copied " from other parts of the world "

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Feb 22 2008, 11:43 PM
sharesa
post Feb 22 2008, 11:44 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 22 2008, 11:42 PM)
"
Bursa present system i think is more than 10 years old . They are coming something like the windows  "Vista."

Whether user friendly or not , it is a big question. The system is copied " from other parts of the world "
hmmm.. so, you mean you also prefer the present system?
SKY 1809
post Feb 22 2008, 11:49 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Feb 23 2008, 12:44 AM)
hmmm.. so, you mean you also prefer the present system?
Not exactly.

But I do not want to use Vista unless XP is totally obselete. why wasting so much resources and money , and Bill Gate treat us like "a tool " for him to test or do trial run.

lklatmy
post Feb 22 2008, 11:56 PM

1,470 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 22 2008, 11:24 PM)
Thank you.

I believe it is based on weighted average of " last 10 minutes " transactions. correct me if i am wrong ?
No,it's not the weighted average.

The new system goes briefly this way,At 4.45pm,determination of pre-closing phase will begin,all matchings will halt but buying and selling orders can continue to be input into the system and will queue at various prices.The system will at 4.50pm,determine the price where maximum buyers and sellers could match and that will be the closing prices for the day.All orders input during this phase and can be matched will be done at the determined price.

From4.50to 5 pm,this phase is known as "trading at close".During this period,all new orders can only be keyed in at the determined price and if there is a counter party available,orders will be filled.Orders input at price other than that determined will automatically be rejected by the system.

This post has been edited by lklatmy: Feb 23 2008, 12:05 AM
sharesa
post Feb 22 2008, 11:57 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Feb 22 2008, 11:49 PM)
Not exactly.

But I do not want to use Vista unless XP is totally obselete. why wasting so much resources and money , and Bill Gate treat us like "a tool "  for him to test or do trial run.
IC.....i'm using vista but many of my equipments incompatible with it, still 'd 'ol XP much better. Sorry, off topic liao. tongue.gif

Added on February 23, 2008, 12:02 am
QUOTE(lklatmy @ Feb 22 2008, 11:56 PM)
No,it's not the weighted average.

The new system goes briefly this way,At 4.45pm,determination of pre-closing phase will begin,all matchings will halt but buyers and sellers can continue to be input into the system and will queue at various prices.The system will at 4.50pm,determine the price where maximum buyers and sellers will match and that will be the closing prices for the day.All orders input during this phase and can be matched will be done at the determined price.

From4.50to 5 pm,this phase is known as "trading at close".During this period,all new orders can only be keyed in at the determined price and if there is a counter party available,orders will be filled.Orders input at price other than that determined will automatically rejected by the system.
so, what is the benefit for retail investors? Looks like none...

This post has been edited by sharesa: Feb 23 2008, 12:02 AM

126 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0241sec    1.25    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 11:39 AM