4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Its BRAKE not BREAK, people, get this straight...........

TSsakaic
post Feb 21 2008, 12:23 PM, updated 18y ago

936 posts

Look, I might sound harsh and all, and I know there is already a topic that is pinned and stuff but I can't help but get annoyed when people get confused between break and brake. I don't mean to berate your lack of command of English and stuff but ever bother to check the meaning of what you type ?

And don't give me that thing about your mechanic uses that term so i should also use it. We are adaptive. I bet some of you are Chinese ed and are still typing here in english so it means that you can keep a separate set of vocabulary in case you are speaking to your mechanic.

Break means pecah or 'lan'

Brake are the things you use to stop the car.

Also its camber not chamber

Chamber is a type of room or small space. like a pressurized chamber where people do testing.

Camber is the inclination of your wheel.

Mods, if you think this should be closed then do so. But at least I feel contented I have let this out.
cheeann
post Feb 21 2008, 12:31 PM

I love my suggie~
9,799 posts

QUOTE(sakaic @ Feb 21 2008, 01:23 PM)
Look, I might sound harsh and all, and I know there is already a topic that is pinned and stuff but I can't help but get annoyed when people get confused between break and brake. I don't mean to berate your lack of command of English and stuff but ever bother to check the meaning of what you type ?

And don't give me that thing about your mechanic uses that term so i should also use it. We are adaptive. I bet some of you are Chinese ed and are still typing here in english so it means that you can keep a separate set of vocabulary in case you are speaking to your mechanic.

Chamber is a type of room or small space. like a pressurized chamber where people do testing.

Mods, if you think this should be closed then do so. But at least I feel contented I have let this out.
i love u bro~ rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
nice explaination~
leetplayer
post Feb 21 2008, 12:34 PM

O'le
984 posts

Gostan = Go as turn or reverse.
goserto
post Feb 21 2008, 12:35 PM

448 posts

Let's 'post-phone' this thread and 'sea' what happens... smile.gif
TSsakaic
post Feb 21 2008, 12:38 PM

936 posts

gostan actually has a meaning.

it is actually short for 'Go a-stern' which means go backwards as stern is the rear part of the ship.
Aeon_Clock
post Feb 21 2008, 01:25 PM

Caped Crusader
4,261 posts

lol...break/brake is not the only common mistakes around. Last I remember...a guy was posting 'between' while what he really meant was 'before' laugh.gif

Grammar correction shouldn't be limited to vehicle terms because you need to explain the problem or issue in proper for other members here to help you...
Joshua_0718
post Feb 21 2008, 01:27 PM

**Keep Walking 不停地走**
8,913 posts

I having my lunch break now tongue.gif
WaCKy-Angel
post Feb 21 2008, 01:29 PM

PeACe~~
21,963 posts

wow....now i knew sweat.gif
rcracer
post Feb 21 2008, 02:07 PM

?????
3,772 posts

Yes english is not like 'han yi pin yin' in mandarin, different spelling but pronounced the same doesn't mean the same at all.
the_catacombs
post Feb 21 2008, 02:33 PM

8 stars wooo....
10,975 posts

QUOTE(sakaic @ Feb 21 2008, 12:23 PM)

muahahaha... at last someone voice it out... all the while i also close one eye only lah... brake become break... lolz... thanks for ur effort... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
jinkl
post Feb 21 2008, 04:11 PM

95 posts

got so many more one

rpm - revolutions per minute , not rounds per minute

mudguard - not magat

its conrod - not clorok

emechelmi
post Feb 21 2008, 05:10 PM

367 posts

open pod filter - open 'port' filter

grind valve - grenbal

axle - axel, excel, exle etc.
SUSN's
post Feb 21 2008, 05:24 PM

1,091 posts

Please dont open englsih class at The Fast & The Furious. TQ.
ston3r
post Feb 21 2008, 05:45 PM

high in the sky
986 posts

haaha... i totally agree... it should be brake.. not break... i get irritated when reading it laugh.gif
ae101rulez
post Feb 21 2008, 08:04 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(N's @ Feb 21 2008, 05:24 PM)
Please dont open englsih class at  The Fast & The Furious. TQ.
what to do..some ppl fail PMR england paper mah....haha..
-gemini-
post Feb 21 2008, 08:14 PM

B& OF /B/LOCKAIDS
615 posts

im amaze that nobody posted

Boompa/Boomba = bumper
gkl83
post Feb 21 2008, 08:26 PM

8,377 posts

how about TIRE and TYRE?

which 1 is the correct words for the black rubber on rim?
dokidoki
post Feb 21 2008, 08:45 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(gkl83 @ Feb 21 2008, 08:26 PM)
how about TIRE and TYRE?

which 1 is the correct words for the black rubber on rim?
TAYA is your answer wink.gif

bonnet is it mean the front top cover of the car?
gkl83
post Feb 21 2008, 08:49 PM

8,377 posts

QUOTE(dokidoki @ Feb 21 2008, 08:45 PM)
TAYA is your answer wink.gif
bonnet is it mean the front top cover of the car?

i no means the pronouns, i means around "The Fast & The Furious" forum, seem like every1 thinking TIRE = TYRE or TYRE = TIRE...

i can find quite number of TYRE words although the title is TIRE words... sweat.gif
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/377857

This post has been edited by gkl83: Feb 21 2008, 08:50 PM
sleepwalker
post Feb 21 2008, 09:54 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

Guys, if you refer to a pinned topic on the main FnF thread, we've already brought up the issue of using proper English in the forum mainly because we are typing in English.

As for Tire and Tyre, they are the same but one's in American English and the other in British. The same cannot be said for Break and Brake. However, Malaysian English originates from the British English, therefore we should be using tyre instead of tire.

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Feb 21 2008, 09:56 PM

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0180sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 10:29 AM