OS Windows BootUp FAILED, HELP ~ Severe Windows OS Problems!

TSvearn27
post Feb 20 2008, 05:34 AM, updated 18y ago

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

Just a week before CNY and I bought a Seagate 500GB 7200.11 32MB NCQ SATAII HDD and installed it in my rig as my primary HDD. I splitted the HDD into 5 partitions of 2x 82GB and 3x 100GB. I used one of the 82GB as system partition, installed Windows XP Pro SP2 on it. I set my previous Samsung 120GB Spinpoint SATA HDD as secondary HDD which only used for backup purpose.

Initially everything seems to be alright from normal word usage into surfing and gaming. Problem started to occur when at one day (if I'm not mistaken the 6th day) the Windows failed to bootup and then having this message:

Disk Read Error

Further restart then having another message:

<Windows root>\system32\ntoskrnl.exe is missing

Surprisingly the next restart successfully load Windows. I'm suspecting it could be a faulty HDD and thus I did a CheckDisk. However, the ScanDisk failed and the next forced reset of the system goes hang whenever tried to load Windows. So I bootup using Windows XP BootDisk and did a Windows Installation Recovery and everything seems to be fine after that. I even did a ScanDisk on my HDD and it's successful, except being the fact that scanning D: requires longer time than C:.

I downloaded the Seagate's SeaTools for Windows to diagnose the newly bought HDD. It successfully passed all the test:

Short Drive Self Test
Long Drive Self Test
Short Generic
Long Generic

So I continue using my rig as usual until just now the Windows failed to bootup again doh.gif. Then the next message <Windows root>\system32\ntoskrnl.exe file missing appear again, another restart into Disk Read Error and next restart into Windows with this:

Here I backed up all my data in system partition (C:) into my backup HDD. I fall asleep while waiting and when I awake, the files successfully copied but my system was extremely slow and nearly unresponsive. I restarted the system and it failed to load Windows anyhow. So, I entered the Windows XP BootDisk trying to do system recovery. No matter how, the system hang whenever trying to "detecing previous Windows installation" doh.gif. I fedup and switch off my rig. Watch TV for about 45 minutes and then I switch on my rig and this time I successfully load Windows with the Windows Recovery message again where now I am here to post this problem.

Any solution or possible culprit to my problem? I couldn't afford to lose my PC at this time as I have major assignments due very soon sweat.gif shakehead.gif doh.gif. Please help out this poor soul notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Thanks in advance nod.gif
hondy_wave
post Feb 20 2008, 05:44 AM

Lalalalala..
1,091 posts

i thinks u may reformat back ur window becos from the pic said.. u've got missing registry.. try to reformat back n see the result..
alfie
post Feb 20 2008, 05:49 AM

177 posts

Issue:

NTOSKRNL.EXE is missing or corrupt.

Related errors:

Below is a listing of the full error message that may be related to this error.

Windows could not start because the below file is missing or corrupt:

C:\Windows\System32\Ntoskrnl.exe

Cause:

1. Keyboard issue
2. Miscellaneous corruption
3. Corrupt boot.ini file.
4. Missing boot.ini file.
5. Missing or corrupt ntoskrnl.exe file.
6. Windows installed on a partition bigger then 7.8GB
7. Corrupted hard disk drive or severely corrupted Windows.

Solution:
Keyboard issue

This issue has also been known to be caused by a short in the ground wire in the keyboard cable. Make sure this is not the cause of your error by replacing the keyboard with a different keyboard or simply just disconnecting the keyboard from the computer.

Miscellaneous corruption

Before trying any of the below recommendations it's recommend that you attempt to load the last known good configuration. Additional information about doing this can be found on document CH000626.

Corrupt boot.ini file

This issue is often caused when the boot.ini is missing or improperly configured. This issue often arises after a user has recently added or removed an operating system on the computer or added or removed hard disk drives in the computer.

Make sure the line pointing to the operating system and it's drive and partition is properly configured in the [boot loader] and [operating systems] section. Additional information about boot.ini can be found on document CH000492.

Missing boot.ini file

Microsoft Windows XP users:

If the boot.ini is severely corrupted or missing a user running Microsoft Windows XP can rebuild the boot.ini to resolve this issue. Additional information about rebuilding the boot.ini can be found on document CH000648.

Missing or corrupt ntoskrnl.exe file

If the ntoskrnl.exe file is corrupt or missing this can also generate the error. To restore this file follow the below steps.

1. Insert the Microsoft Windows XP CD. Note: If you have a recovery CD or a restore CD and not a Microsoft Windows XP CD it is likely the below steps will not resolve your issue.
2. Reboot the computer, as the computer is starting you should see a message to press any key to boot from the CD. When you see this message press any key.
3. In the Microsoft Windows XP setup menu press the R key to enter the recovery console.
4. Select the operating system you wish to fix, and then enter the administrator password.
5. Type expand d:\i386\ntoskrnl.ex_ c:\windows\system32
6. You will then be prompted if you wish to overwrite the file type Y and press enter to overwrite the file.
7. Type exit to reboot the computer.

Corrupted hard disk drive or severely corrupted Windows

Attempt to check the hard disk drive for any errors by running the chkdsk error. To do this follow the below steps.

1. Insert the Microsoft Windows XP CD. Note: If you have a recovery CD or a restore CD and not a Microsoft Windows XP CD it is likely the below steps will not resolve your issue.
2. Reboot the computer, as the computer is starting you should see a message to press any key to boot from the CD. When you see this message press any key.
3. In the Microsoft Windows XP setup menu press the R key to enter the recovery console.
4. Select the operating system you wish to fix, and then enter the administrator password.
5. Once at the recovery console type chkdsk /r
6. Once completed type exit and see if issue is resolved.

If after trying all of the above steps you are still encountering the same issue it's likely that Windows is severely corrupted and it is recommended you attempt to reinstall Windows. Additional information about erasing the computer and starting over can be found on document CH000186.

Finally, if during the Windows installation you encounter errors it's likely that your hard disk drive is bad.
TSvearn27
post Feb 20 2008, 05:51 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(hondy_wave @ Feb 20 2008, 05:44 AM)
i thinks u may reformat back ur window becos from the pic said.. u've got missing registry.. try to reformat back n see the result..
I did a Windows Installation Recovery during the first time this problem appeared. Hmmm... isn't Windows Installation Recovery will just repair on the system files and doesn't occur anything with the registry? unsure.gif

I wanted to do a reformat just now but the system hang whenever the Windows Installation Setup tried to detect my previous Windows installation sweat.gif.
TSvearn27
post Feb 20 2008, 05:53 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(alfie @ Feb 20 2008, 05:49 AM)
Issue:

NTOSKRNL.EXE is missing or corrupt.

Related errors:

Below is a listing of the full error message that may be related to this error.

Windows could not start because the below file is missing or corrupt:

C:\Windows\System32\Ntoskrnl.exe

Cause:

1. Keyboard issue
      2. Miscellaneous corruption
      3. Corrupt boot.ini file.
      4. Missing boot.ini file.
      5. Missing or corrupt ntoskrnl.exe file.
      6. Windows installed on a partition bigger then 7.8GB
      7. Corrupted hard disk drive or severely corrupted Windows.

Finally, if during the Windows installation you encounter errors it's likely that your hard disk drive is bad.
I already googled and read about this. However when I wanted to try the other method to use the Windows Recovery Console, the recovery console hang whenever I entered the option 1: C:\Windows\

sweat.gif shakehead.gif doh.gif
alfie
post Feb 20 2008, 11:57 AM

177 posts

well, depending on what brand hdd u have, what i wld do is download software to check the condition of the hdd. (which you have already done) i assume you have also done a chkdsk to check the integrity of the file system? if the hdd checks out ok, i wld then run a complete anti virus/spyware scan on the hdd.

This post has been edited by alfie: Feb 20 2008, 11:58 AM
TSvearn27
post Feb 20 2008, 02:41 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(alfie @ Feb 20 2008, 11:57 AM)
well, depending on what brand hdd u have, what i wld do is download software to check the condition of the hdd. (which you have already done) i assume you have also done a chkdsk to check the integrity of the file system? if the hdd checks out ok, i wld then run a complete anti virus/spyware scan on the hdd.
Yeah, I bought the Seagate's 7200.11 500GB 32MB SATAII HDD and used the Seagate's SeaTools for Windows to diagnostic the HDD. It passed all the test as I mentioned. However, ScanDisk or Chkdsk couldn't complete properly. Sometime it success and sometime it failed (hang) sad.gif.

Now the problem have gone even worst. I tried to reformat the system partition this morning and everytime after copying the files from the WinXP BootDisk, the system restarted to proceed to Windows Installation ended up in a "disk read error" doh.gif

Can I conclude that the HDD is faulty? sweat.gif

Now I'm doing backup with another computer and gonna use my 120GB Samsung Spinpoint SATA HDD at the moment sleep.gif
alfie
post Feb 20 2008, 02:57 PM

177 posts

it sounds to me like the drive is def faulty
TSvearn27
post Feb 20 2008, 03:41 PM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(alfie @ Feb 20 2008, 02:57 PM)
it sounds to me like the drive is def faulty
Most probably it is? sad.gif
cschun86
post Feb 21 2008, 12:24 AM

Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

hmm, last time i faced similiar problem with u,

the scenario is like this,

last time mistaken bought a hard modded gc,
and the soldering not good,
sometimes touch and sometimes dun...

and i didnt notice it...
after sometimes using it,
it went crazy and the com restart syok syok he like,
i thought is hdd problem then bought new hdd to test,
and same thing just happened,

change to old gc which is double check healthy and good,
same problem occur also...

then later change mobo to try,
viola, mobo went crazy bcoz of the improper soldering...

RMA the old mobo and resolder back the GC,
and tested the rig for 1 month 24hours not shutting down,
no problem occur till now...

wat is suspect is ur gc make ur mobo went crazy..

TSvearn27
post Feb 21 2008, 12:35 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Feb 21 2008, 12:24 AM)
hmm, last time i faced similiar problem with u,

the scenario is like this,

last time mistaken bought a hard modded gc,
and the soldering not good,
sometimes touch and sometimes dun...

and i didnt notice it...
after sometimes using it,
it went crazy and the com restart syok syok he like,
i thought is hdd problem then bought new hdd to test,
and same thing just happened,

change to old gc which is double check healthy and good,
same problem occur also...

then later change mobo to try,
viola, mobo went crazy bcoz of the improper soldering...

RMA the old mobo and resolder back the GC,
and tested the rig for 1 month 24hours not shutting down,
no problem occur till now...
wat is suspect is ur gc make ur mobo went crazy..
Oh my god, now someone tell me that the graphic card could be the culprit sweat.gif. This is something which is headache and sarcastic in computer thingy, any single thiny till the smallest wrong jumper setting or spoiled capacitor could lead to a problem. It might be fun at times when diagnosing and troubleshooting, but not at times when you needed time and the computer the most shakehead.gif.

BTW, before this... the system was all run doing fine till I installed the new 500GB HDD and then the "disk read error", Windows file missing and BSOD problem starting to occur sweat.gif.
cschun86
post Feb 21 2008, 12:39 AM

Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 21 2008, 12:35 AM)
Oh my god, now someone tell me that the graphic card could be the culprit sweat.gif. This is something which is headache and sarcastic in computer thingy, any single thiny till the smallest wrong jumper setting or spoiled capacitor could lead to a problem. It might be fun at times when diagnosing and troubleshooting, but not at times when you needed time and the computer the most shakehead.gif.

BTW, before this... the system was all run doing fine till I installed the new 500GB HDD and then the "disk read error", Windows file missing and BSOD problem starting to occur sweat.gif.
it is like tis one,
last time mine actually plug in the modded gc all went good too,
but after 1 week or 2,
maybe goyang goyang the casing,
then the capacitor soldering went loose,

and this happened...
i believe ur hdd should be healthy...
either mobo or gc is the killer...
or both of them are...

btw, looks like many his 3870 iceq3 turbo user facing a lot of problem....
TSvearn27
post Feb 21 2008, 12:48 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Feb 21 2008, 12:39 AM)
it is like tis one,
last time mine actually plug in the modded gc all went good too,
but after 1 week or 2,
maybe goyang goyang the casing,
then the capacitor soldering went loose,

and this happened...
i believe ur hdd should be healthy...
either mobo or gc is the killer...
or both of them are...

btw, looks like many his 3870 iceq3 turbo user facing a lot of problem....
Yeah, the sad part is that this time around, the HIS HD3870 IceQ 3 Turbo Edition having a lot of problem. Not only M'sia users experiencing problems, but some other countries as well. Really a big blow from them this time as being one of the top manufacturer for ATI's cards.

Anyway, earlier today I attached my Seagate's HDD into my friend's rig and it did occured problem once. I couldn't install the Windows into the C: partition on the HDD as well. It keeps on failing me. I used the same disc, same SATA cable and same port on my old 120GB Samsung HDD and it all worked till a BSOD just now. Sigh ~ what the hell...
cschun86
post Feb 21 2008, 01:33 AM

Heading towards 2000~
1,972 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 21 2008, 12:48 AM)
Yeah, the sad part is that this time around, the HIS HD3870 IceQ 3 Turbo Edition having a lot of problem. Not only M'sia users experiencing problems, but some other countries as well. Really a big blow from them this time as being one of the top manufacturer for ATI's cards.

Anyway, earlier today I attached my Seagate's HDD into my friend's rig and it did occured problem once. I couldn't install the Windows into the C: partition on the HDD as well. It keeps on failing me. I used the same disc, same SATA cable and same port on my old 120GB Samsung HDD and it all worked till a BSOD just now. Sigh ~ what the hell...
hmm, the new 500gb bring to have a check at healthy computer,
dun make it as primary for installing windows,
check the hdd whether is healthy or not 1st,
btw, make sure u using a working sata cable 1st lar...

unknown problem with ur rig really headache one,
like mine also same last time...
though hdd die mana tau it still serve me until now...
TSvearn27
post Feb 21 2008, 04:34 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(cschun86 @ Feb 21 2008, 01:33 AM)
hmm, the new 500gb bring to have a check at healthy computer,
dun make it as primary for installing windows,
check the hdd whether is healthy or not 1st,
btw, make sure u using a working sata cable 1st lar...

unknown problem with ur rig really headache one,
like mine also same last time...
though hdd die mana tau it still serve me until now...
As mentioned, this morning I attempted thrice for fresh installation of Windows XP on the Seagate 500GB HDD but everytime failed with "disk read error". Couldn't be sure if the SATA cable and port the culprit, but I managed to install Windows on my Samsung 120GB with the same OS disk and same SATA cable on the same port. Everything seems to be fine till I experienced a BSOD just now. Didn't occur any problem after restarted the system from BSOD, but I proceed to another fresh installation of Windows OS. This time I Slipsteamed the SATA RAID driver into the disk and I installed it in AHCI mode. So far everything seems to be fine for the first two hours of running... unsure.gif

When I attached the Seagate 500GB to my friend's rig, it happened to be having error once when the files isn't moving while copying and that "drive windows" halted. Restarted the machine and it goes fine again.
temptation1314
post Feb 21 2008, 08:19 AM

Specials : 1,000,000 Spam Post Attack
2,287 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 21 2008, 04:34 AM)
As mentioned, this morning I attempted thrice for fresh installation of Windows XP on the Seagate 500GB HDD but everytime failed with "disk read error". Couldn't be sure if the SATA cable and port the culprit, but I managed to install Windows on my Samsung 120GB with the same OS disk and same SATA cable on the same port. Everything seems to be fine till I experienced a BSOD just now. Didn't occur any problem after restarted the system from BSOD, but I proceed to another fresh installation of Windows OS. This time I Slipsteamed the SATA RAID driver into the disk and I installed it in AHCI mode. So far everything seems to be fine for the first two hours of running... unsure.gif

When I attached the Seagate 500GB to my friend's rig, it happened to be having error once when the files isn't moving while copying and that "drive windows" halted. Restarted the machine and it goes fine again.
I'll conclude that you have either faulty...which is not yet, since you're able to run those application and bla bla..

It's either bad sector HDD or some mistake, they put the scratchy silver plate(Whatever they call it sweat.gif) in the HD laugh.gif

Ok, supposely there's a jumper on the HDD, did you try both setup? I mean the 1.5GB and 3GB smile.gif Who knows laugh.gif It's still worth a try. And btw, you should go straight change it since it still within a week, still can 1 to 1 or you bought it from forummer??
TSvearn27
post Feb 21 2008, 08:23 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Feb 21 2008, 08:19 AM)
I'll conclude that you have either faulty...which is not yet, since you're able to run those application and bla bla..

It's either bad sector HDD or some mistake, they put the scratchy silver plate(Whatever they call it sweat.gif) in the HD laugh.gif

Ok, supposely there's a jumper on the HDD, did you try both setup? I mean the 1.5GB and 3GB smile.gif Who knows laugh.gif It's still worth a try. And btw, you should go straight change it since it still within a week, still can 1 to 1 or you bought it from forummer??
Honestly, I isn't sure if the Seagate 500GB HDD is faulty. It just ngam ngam a few days after a week sweat.gif shakehead.gif doh.gif. I already removed the jumper since I'm with SATA2 port, I see no reason to have the jumper there to only allow 1.5Gbps transfer (mechanical HDD can't even go beyond that tongue.gif).

Platter you mean? laugh.gif

Now I'm running my Samsung 120GB SATA on AHCI mode on another port and another SATA cable. Will see if any problem persist sweat.gif.
temptation1314
post Feb 21 2008, 08:29 AM

2,287 posts

You bought from forummer?

sweat.gif I don't know, so far, every HDD that I bought haven't fail me once at all.. Only the current 20GB PATA Maxtor which already at the age of 7 and above starting to slow down and I just let it retire laugh.gif
TSvearn27
post Feb 21 2008, 08:30 AM

Doink! Doink! Doink!
7,284 posts

QUOTE(temptation1314 @ Feb 21 2008, 08:29 AM)
You bought from forummer?

sweat.gif I don't know, so far, every HDD that I bought haven't fail me once at all.. Only the current 20GB PATA Maxtor which already at the age of 7 and above starting to slow down and I just let it retire laugh.gif
Nope, bought it from a retail shop. The problem is I'm in Ipoh and I bought it at Low Yat sweat.gif. Thankfully I'm going down town this week for the MTE. Wonder if they would allow me to swap 1 with 1 since it's aged 1week++ sad.gif
temptation1314
post Feb 21 2008, 09:10 AM

2,287 posts

QUOTE(vearn27 @ Feb 21 2008, 08:30 AM)
Nope, bought it from a retail shop. The problem is I'm in Ipoh and I bought it at Low Yat sweat.gif. Thankfully I'm going down town this week for the MTE. Wonder if they would allow me to swap 1 with 1 since it's aged 1week++ sad.gif
MTE??? sweat.gif ATE or MTE?? tongue.gif I never heard MTE before... sorry blush.gif

1 week ++ sure cannot edi lar... wait RMA and buy another one lor, when return you got additional for use tongue.gif

0.0231sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 12:33 PM