Feedback Youtube Embedding in Signature, Possibility?

TSfiredauz
post Feb 16 2008, 06:57 PM, updated 18y ago

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

Of course, it is a small space compare to the usual Youtube videos size we see around LYN.
But then again, from the embedding code itself, Admins are able to set a size to the limit of the current sig area.

Its been done in a few big forums (I only know of 1), so just asking for possibility from Admins and support from LYN avid YouTube fans biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Feb 16 2008, 07:06 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

why do you need youtube embeds on signature?
TSfiredauz
post Feb 16 2008, 07:06 PM

876 posts

For example, check out the GunZfactor forum.
The YouTube sig is on the right-hand side, resized accordingly small so that it won't look too much of taking space nod.gif

--> http://www.gunzfactor.com/forums/f16/99936...tml#post1497707

Added on February 16, 2008, 7:11 pm
QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 16 2008, 07:06 PM)
why do you need youtube embeds on signature?
Practically the same reason as 'why do we need signatures'.
Simple as an answer - to make the signature looks much better @ awesome/fantastic/woooah/cool/etc.

On another note, I might later expect a post saying 'it would lag the site' or 'there are no codes existing for IPB'.
But yeah, I assume there are no problem with those; simple reason again - we have been having alot of YouTube videos on LYN, and its been tested over more than a year.
So a resize smaller in a sig, with almost just the same code would just be a quick editing (of course, with testing).

No biggie, just a suggestion rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by firedauz: Feb 16 2008, 07:11 PM
TSfiredauz
post Feb 16 2008, 07:51 PM

876 posts

^ just a visual on how awesome it might look rclxms.gif

My current sig is at the most limit of allowed size.
This youtube examples are quite smaller than the limit, so a line or two text is still possible below the videos (just to write something).
goldfries
post Feb 16 2008, 08:06 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Feb 16 2008, 07:06 PM)
Simple as an answer - to make the signature looks much better @ awesome/fantastic/woooah/cool/etc.
thought so. smile.gif just wanna check if there's anything i missed.

QUOTE(firedauz @ Feb 16 2008, 07:06 PM)
On another note, I might later expect a post saying 'it would lag the site' or 'there are no codes existing for IPB'.
But yeah, I assume there are no problem with those; simple reason again - we have been having alot of YouTube videos on LYN, and its been tested over more than a year.
So a resize smaller in a sig, with almost just the same code would just be a quick editing (of course, with testing).

No biggie, just a suggestion rclxms.gif
actually youtube embeds don't lag the server. simply because the LYN server only serves you the code. your browser reads the code and calls whatever else from youtube without going through LYN server.

my concern (as the person who's self-proclaimed to have nuked the most siggy on LYN) is that it's subjected to abuse, considering the maturity of the people at LYN, particularly those that spam Kopitiam like nobody's business.

it's harder to monitor signatures too, just in case they contain unsuitable material. so it's like one has to load the vids just to check out what's on the signature.

put it this way la, even the SERIOUS TALK tag is not treated seriously. that also among 1 of the many R&Rs that are frequently broken. what more a youtube on signature? smile.gif

anyway, let's see what the admins have to say. I'm not a decision maker but I'm just expressing my thoughts. it's an interesting idea but to me i wouldn't dream of implementing it on LYN. abuse is common here.

Added on February 16, 2008, 8:07 pm
QUOTE(firedauz @ Feb 16 2008, 07:51 PM)
My current sig is at the most limit of allowed size.
This youtube examples are quite smaller than the limit, so a line or two text is still possible below the videos (just to write something).

dimensions are not an issue. smile.gif look at facebook, youtube loads in a much smaller box.

This post has been edited by goldfries: Feb 16 2008, 08:07 PM
TSfiredauz
post Feb 16 2008, 08:33 PM

876 posts

Thanks for the response, goldfries. Your feedback is a good support for this suggestion, as you had derived on the pros and cons.
(don't mind me for only highlighting the pros; it was intentional to promote my suggestion) biggrin.gif

The most *discriminating* solution that I can give to the abuse issue, is that this function should only be allowed for posters with 15-20k posts biggrin.gif
No, I did not mention that it would be only for Admins, Staff, Moderators, VIPs and Elites - that would be *extremely discriminating* laugh.gif

It is quite a plan with future development, as only a few people with well over 15k posts, countable by fingers (just 4 people so far, not including you yet tongue.gif) since it will encourage users to posts in post-counted section as well (of course, with a tolerance of spams).
It would not be a good idea for the limit to be set at 10k posts, since even right now, there are alot of people on the range of 8k and 9k posts.

Looking at the solution, if it is limited to minimum 15k posts, it would've seems like "so what is the point of this function? as if the 15k posts people will use them or not, it is still their decision". And that is where the 10k+ posts limit idea comes up --- by right, whoever is approaching 10k posts limit, *should* have been familiar with the rules and be responsible with their posting ethics. One way or another, if these handful of 10k posts users disregard the rule and abuse the youtube function in their sig, that is where the sig nuking starts again (in inclusion with reports on sig rule violation by users). Disregarding the rules on more than several occasions, ban kicks in on their beloved 10k+ posts account. Forever. No biggie, it is the forum rules, all in all in any forum nod.gif

Pretty discriminating idea eh? biggrin.gif
goldfries
post Feb 16 2008, 08:40 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

if you set post count as requirement, it may trigger a spam festival. smile.gif

while waiting for admin feedback, no harm having more ideas on how to implement.

to have it individually enabled would be a great feature but i'm not sure about the amount of work involved. smile.gif

don't worry about discrimination. when we choose, we're already practising discrimination. biggrin.gif
chicaman
post Feb 16 2008, 08:50 PM

( ;゚Д゚) t(-.-t)
9,706 posts

lol gunzfactor.... didnt know firedauz play gunz
linkinstreet
post Feb 16 2008, 09:00 PM

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

I don't really agree. For one I never liked youtube, and another some might abuse the function. For me if the person is creative enough they can make an awesome sig just using gif.
But this is just my opinion. In the end I'm not the one that makes the rule. XD
sciencefiesta
post Feb 16 2008, 10:41 PM

31 posts

having YouTube embed option on the LY Forum is good.

but, i believe its not easy 2 have 100% total control on the substance being embed on any thread.

too many video genres are available at YouTube for public embed. (including offensive social behaviours, mild to medium pornography, extreme cultures and etc.....)

I always wonder how do you control the 'offensive substance' being embed at LY thread - if any. Do you think a moderator will spend 15 minutes to 30 minutes to view da whole vid clips?

This post has been edited by sciencefiesta: Feb 16 2008, 11:40 PM
mcchin
post Feb 16 2008, 11:43 PM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(sciencefiesta @ Feb 16 2008, 10:41 PM)
having YouTube embed option on the LY Forum is good.

but, i believe its not easy 2 have 100% total control on the substance being embed on any thread.

too many video genres are available at YouTube for public embed. (including offensive social behaviours, mild to medium pornography, extreme cultures and the etc.....)

I always wonder how do you control the 'offensive substance' being embed at LY thread - if any. Do you think a moderator will spend 15 minutes to 30 minutes to view da whole vid clips?
with that there are not much problem
cause indeed the content is inappropriate
then there will be ppl that sound the alarm
so the mod can focus to the reported ones

as for siggy
teh jury is still out
David900924
post Feb 18 2008, 10:44 PM

Crypto Master
1,269 posts

but nude 1, youtube will ban the user. but about racist or discriminate tats the big problems.
sniper69
post Feb 18 2008, 10:53 PM

.: One Shot One Kill :. .+|Level 9 Type Shit|+.
7,173 posts

YouTube embeded? hmm.gif, will it make other user/forummer suffer for slower load?
mcchin
post Feb 19 2008, 01:01 AM

SLAVA UKRAINI !
3,902 posts

QUOTE(sniper69 @ Feb 18 2008, 10:53 PM)
YouTube embeded? hmm.gif, will it make other user/forummer suffer for slower load?
apparently no..
as what goldfries explained

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 16 2008, 08:06 PM)
thought so. smile.gif just wanna check if there's anything i missed.
actually youtube embeds don't lag the server. simply because the LYN server only serves you the code. your browser reads the code and calls whatever else from youtube without going through LYN server.

my concern (as the person who's self-proclaimed to have nuked the most siggy on LYN) is that it's subjected to abuse, considering the maturity of the people at LYN, particularly those that spam Kopitiam like nobody's business.

it's harder to monitor signatures too, just in case they contain unsuitable material. so it's like one has to load the vids just to check out what's on the signature.

put it this way la, even the SERIOUS TALK tag is not treated seriously. that also among 1 of the many R&Rs that are frequently broken. what more a youtube on signature? smile.gif

anyway, let's see what the admins have to say. I'm not a decision maker but I'm just expressing my thoughts. it's an interesting idea but to me i wouldn't dream of implementing it on LYN. abuse is common here.

Added on February 16, 2008, 8:07 pm

dimensions are not an issue. smile.gif look at facebook, youtube loads in a much smaller box.
TSfiredauz
post Feb 19 2008, 01:30 PM

876 posts

Here's my take on some of the highlighted questions:

Issues of nudity content:
As David had explained, YouTube themselves banned them.
If somehow it escapes them, then whoever watches them in LYN should report them.
And have them banned off the forum -- purely on abusing the privilege.

Issues of racism:
Same solution as the issue on nudity, practically following by the rule book.

Issues of politics:
Now here we have a little thingy on our hands, and its happening even now (even by me, I admit).
There had been many threads, signatures, avatars, and of course, content of threads that reeks of politics, especially in the valley of Kopitiam.
Same goes with the multiple YouTube videos posted in Kopitiam that is of political contents.

^ and I will not elaborate any further than that, if you get what I mean.
In other words -- yes, that same situation that we have now is again to be expected if this suggestion gets a green light.

Issue of forum getting slow:
Nah, as goldfries had mentioned, YouTube is YouTube, LYN is LYN.
LYN will just be linking the videos off YouTube; users play the videos as if they are watching it from YouTube website.

p.s. chicaman: I was an GunZ moderator of their official forum before it was closed down biggrin.gif
ed0gawa
post Feb 19 2008, 01:35 PM

coconut
4,398 posts

Hmmm..... i guess it will be abused and gets so annoying to the extent where many people will turn off 'view signature'
wKkaY
post Feb 19 2008, 05:06 PM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

I don't think abuse is a strong reason to reject this proposal, given that we've already been allowing images in signatures, and youtube embedding in topics. However, I would rank this feature request lower in my list of priorities..
TSfiredauz
post Feb 19 2008, 05:18 PM

876 posts

Thanks alot, wKkaY thumbup.gif
We will wait till its ready nod.gif
goldfries
post Feb 19 2008, 06:13 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

QUOTE(wKkaY @ Feb 19 2008, 05:06 PM)
....I don't think abuse is a strong reason to reject this proposal...

guys, i'd like to point out that though it's not a STRONG reason - it could still be a valid reason. smile.gif

btw have any of you embed link a video that requires AGE CONFIRMATION before? what will happen?

i think some stuff might be offensive in Malaysian culture but not something that's against YouTube's policies. that one we'll just have to rely on forummers with lotsa free time to report la. smile.gif
natakaasd
post Feb 19 2008, 06:24 PM

2,188 posts

I disagree with the 10K Post Policy. First off, those who manage to hit that mark, either have been avid Forumers with good suggestions that followed the forum all these years OR Somehow managed to kick Spam in a Tin Can. (Pun intended)

Considering now there are members who are so desperate enough to Spam for some unknown reason, Putting this "Benefit" would encourage them to Spam like nobody's business.

My 2 cents.

~Cheers!

0.0213sec    0.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 03:36 AM