Trading Card Games [TCG] The Spoils TCG, The Spoils League @ Toybox (Sunday, 2pm)

nishoba
post Feb 23 2008, 01:11 PM

23 posts

Hi, been checking out various sites regarding Spoils and it seems really interesting. However there are few things I would need to know before deciding whether to invest in this game or not.

1. How is the support in Malaysia?(in terms of number of events, player base, access to the latest expansion)

2. Is it a very expensive hobby?(do they have cards that is a "must have" or highly influential that warp the metagame hence those without those cards would start at a disadvantage)

3. How is the community here,friendly or a cutthroat environment? (are the players/shops helpful in bringing up new players as I have come across cases in some games where players think they are an elite few and hardly help the newbie causing games to fail)

4. Is the game maker in for a long run in South East Asia or would they be like UDE?(I played games by UDE and after investing so many time n effort into their game, they juz pull out of SEA, totally cutting the support, it pisses me off and I am wondering would The Spoils make the same mistake)

I guess that is all of the question I have for now tongue.gif
nishoba
post Feb 23 2008, 10:51 PM

23 posts

hmmm,probably can give this game a try. Try to influence my friends to come along. Btw I am a working adult so I won't be able to visit Toybox on weekdays, if weekends...are there any events?Oh yea how much money required to start the game?how much is a pre-con?boosters?tournament pack?
nishoba
post Feb 24 2008, 12:00 AM

23 posts

sleep.gif" out of stock?I was like so hangat to try the game then no stock mad.gif

What are the comp packs with 2 free boosters?From what i know the 2 free boosters is a promotion until end of this month or while stock last right? Comp packs includes?

I think i will be interested in sealed to build up my collection...im too noob to draft. Later i read the cards too long then everyone will scold me tongue.gif

Anyway i haven't visited toybox in like ages....since 1 year ago at least
nishoba
post Feb 24 2008, 11:04 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Feb 24 2008, 01:20 AM)
3. This will be an awesome community. No offense to MTG players, but the reason we hated the game so much so that we don't carry the game in our store is because of the unfriendly community that comes along with the game. Therefore, we try to make sure our community remains as friendly as possible.

Yea, when I said a certain community which is not newbie friendly, Im actually referring to MTG. I am not generalising the MTG community but there is a selected few players who I feel have that "elitism" attitude in them, thinking that they are much better than everyone and putting winning before everything. Thats why I seldom see new players, often time they are the same players or if there is any new faces, they will be gone before long unless the new players is under the wings of one of the "pros"

To me the community is far more important than anything else. I for one would definitely not intro a game which operates in a cutthroat environment to my friends who are new to TCG/CCG. Being competitive is fine, but being a rules lawyer is not.

Anyway I would be influencing my friends to join me in starting the game of The Spoils but will probably come next week or so as Toybox is not open today. Plus next week is payday biggrin.gif so got some money to burn

nishoba
post Feb 26 2008, 10:05 AM

23 posts

Please update me if there are any demos/launch event. I got friends who are interested as well as me biggrin.gif
nishoba
post Feb 27 2008, 11:42 AM

23 posts

2 free boosters promo end this friday??!!!! But no stock how am I supposed to buy? blink.gif
nishoba
post Feb 27 2008, 11:42 PM

23 posts

Hey guys,let me know if u are doing demo. I wanna join,hehe. Hope its weekend though coz im working on weekdays.
nishoba
post Feb 29 2008, 04:55 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Feb 29 2008, 04:47 PM)
Hope to hear a favourable reply from you guys smile.gif

Oh, stock sudah sampai kat toybox.
whoopedo! i will be dropping at toybox 2morrow. Don't know bout my friends though. I informed Ong already, he know Im coming
nishoba
post Mar 3 2008, 12:09 PM

23 posts

guys,i just bought a tournament pack and free 2 boosters. Obviously I can't make a constructed deck wif that so what is the cheapest constructed deck I can make?Minimum requirement, at least don't get thrash tongue.gif of coz if its reasonably strong, that would be better
nishoba
post Mar 3 2008, 02:42 PM

23 posts

i kinda like Rogue and Banker. Erotic assassin seems good as well as scrag. Beatdown decks like Warlord is not really my type
nishoba
post Mar 3 2008, 03:45 PM

23 posts

aiya,then how?I dun really like beatdown decks, prefer a bit of control. Gearsmith cheap?Arcanist?
nishoba
post Mar 3 2008, 08:04 PM

23 posts

Yea,i always prefer control decks. Prefer decks with options. So what is purple haze?a deck's name or a card?

Which combination cards are easier to get? banker/arcanist or gearsmith/arcanist?

I wanna get a constructed deck up and running asap, wanna join league biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by nishoba: Mar 3 2008, 08:05 PM
nishoba
post Mar 14 2008, 04:41 PM

23 posts

no updates regarding Spoils?
nishoba
post Mar 18 2008, 04:16 PM

23 posts

Yea,no one posted here. Toybox themselves are not updating us on the upcoming events or plans as well. I mean if they really want to expand the player base for The Spoils here, they really gotta be doing something bigger or else even the current players will lose faith.
nishoba
post Mar 18 2008, 05:17 PM

23 posts

QUOTE(zio @ Mar 18 2008, 04:50 PM)
Eh? What updates? SEED will be coming in April.

Thats all I know. I myself haven't been to Toybox in ages tongue.gif

As for upcoming events and plans, we are still awaiting the response from land in recession, US of A smile.gif
Updates such as ongoing events in Toybox, like the weekly Spoils league. Example, what kind of decks are played, any memorable moves/strategy?At least it gives people a rough figure on what is the environment like.

Updates such as how is the expansion plan going on?A month back or so you were saying you are going to do demo in other game shops or at least discuss with them on the idea of having Spoils in their shop. So what happen?

Its impossible to keep asking to current players to talk bout the same thing week in week out. If there is no hype then I think TB shud create some hype on the game to get ppl interested.

0.2878sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 06:19 PM