University Studying in Hong Kong, Tips and experience

farisq
post Sep 2 2009, 02:01 PM

535 posts

hi chen9wei and all,

glad to have someone studying in HK here in this thread. for ur info, I will be accompanying my wife to pursue master in dental surgery at HKU. Got the offer letter a bit late and she is supposed to start by mid of this month so we are a bit rushing to make the necessary preparation. Just applied the visa today.

anyway, hope u can give some advise on:-

1- Accommodation, where's the best place to stay/rent outside campus with reasonable (if not cheap) rental for a small family like us (with 1 kid)
2- am i allowed to work? i heard it's quite difficult to get working permit.
3- What's the most convenient bank to use there?
4- more questions will come...

thanks in advance

p/s i better get cantonese pocket dictionary fast

QUOTE(chen9wei @ May 10 2009, 11:32 PM)
As far as I know, dentistry in hku is different with the medicine, cause medicine has their own campus which is nearby and supported by queen mary hospital. I can't provide you with much details about dentistry, but you can expect the qualification is recognized throughout the world. And I know one Malaysian from penang studying medicine here, perhaps i can ask him to give u some info.

0.0192sec    0.28    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 08:02 AM