QUOTE(chen9wei @ Jan 5 2009, 10:21 PM)
they are very generous at providing scholarship. Most of my international friends got either their full or partial scholarship but not me. I get admitted with A-level AAB . They are more strict in choosing the students in Faculty of business, since most of the best mind opt to study for that course.
Added on January 5, 2009, 10:45 pmActually, Hkust is good in science related subjects. For the ranking, I think it is based on the MBA program, which is of little influence with the BBA. As far as i know, most of the top scorer of HKALE (HK A-level) will opt for either medicine or Business. There is one program in the Faculty of business called International Business And Global Management, where they only recruit around 20 - 25 students each year, and each of the students will spend one year in asia (Hk) , one year in Americe , and one year in Europe. This will make them become the best of the best, since they will have the experience in the world's 3 largest financial hub. And for your info, this program is designed for the best of the best, the vacancies are even less than the medicine, and only those top scorer will dare to apply.
http://www.fbe.hku.hk/programme/undergraduate/ibgm/Thanks a lot for the info, Chen Wei. Glad that someone studying in HK is writing here.
When I wrote about HKUST, I am in no way saying that HKU is not good. As an outsider, I can only rely on some facts I gather to suggest HKUST as a good uni for biz. To fully understand the situation, we need insider information. And thanks to you, we have one. I highly appreciate your information. I believe both our views should give readers a more balanced* idea of education in HK. I was just hoping my limited outside information could help.
Comparing HKU to HKUST is maybe similar to comparing NUS to NTU:
1. HKU has higher overall ranking than HKUST; NUS has much higher overall ranking than NTU.
2. HKU seems to be more prestigious and older than HKUST; NUS is more glamourous and older too, than NTU in Singapore (I disagree tho, but that's the general perception).
3. HKUST is good in engineering/science-related programmes; So is NTU (T stands for Technological).
4. HKUST's MBA is ranked higher than HKU's; NTU's MBA is ranked higher than NUS's. Both (science/tech unis HKUST and NTU) have good biz schools.
5. HKU, CUHK, HKUST in HK, and NUS, NTU, SMU in Sg all have strong biz schools. Both HK and Sg are financial centres of the world.
When you look back at the similarities, they're very striking. So forgive me, if I try to equate them (HKUST vs HKU = NTU vs NUS).
And yes, I mentioned b4 in my other post (but fail to mention here), that anyone can argue (and probably should) that MBA ranking is not equal to biz school's strength. But I quoted it because it is very convenient.
Thanks again for your info. And from your posts, I admit that HK's biz schools are stronger than Sg's. The IB & GM programme you mention sounds very pro. Little wonder that finance is so strong in HK. And looks like my lecturer is correct: getting into actuarial science is as tough (if not tougher) than medic in HK. And if I may add, top students from China wanna get into HK (besides Shanghai) universities too (if they are interested in finance). I know it's ultra-competitive. With your quality of students, Sg unis have lots to learn from HK unis still.
*I say balanced because as ambassador of HKU, you will naturally promote HKU. Someone from HKUST care to comment?
PS: The IBGM programme looks very impressive to say the least. Looks like they want to cultivate global business leaders with this programme. How I wish Sg have similar programmes at undergraduate level. Too late for me to apply anyway. Even if apply, I guess I have near-zero chance of getting it. lol
PPS: HKU is one of the best universities in Asia (as I am fully aware when I wrote before this).
Check this ranking to confirm.This post has been edited by Tangiers: Jan 6 2009, 02:14 AM