QUOTE(Joshua836 @ May 10 2009, 01:23 AM)
Interesting thread I must say, for all I've heard from my Hongkonger friends the current scenario of individual university's main expertise is as follows:
1) HKU- Law & Medicine (in particular after SARS), others are average, somehow HK ppl told me that if you have a choice, HKU's business isn't the one you should aim for)
2) CUHK- Business (certain programs) & Medicine, others are average, some are even up and coming (like their new Law faculty)
3) HKUST- Engineering and Business (up and coming as well, especially the Global Business program)
These are the top 3 unis in HK (these are also supported by the THES ranking) which Hong Kong employers generally view highly of.
And then CityU, PolyU, HKBU etc come along. I have heard that there's a big gap between the top three and the rest in terms of teaching quality wise and academic research wise. (as probably some of you might have seen the news about the protest going on at CityU)
English is the main medium used in most courses, however outside classes Cantonese are more popular and widely used.
Anyways, these are just my 2 cents about HK Unis current situation.
Chen9Wei, I was utterly shocked and surprised to find a Sabahan in this forum studying in Hong Kong (not in an offensive way, its just that its rare), I am a Sabahan too, going there myself this fall to further my studies, what are the odds? LoL....
How long have you been there? Let me guess, you're an IS Almuni?
Hai, I am Sabahan too, and I will be going to have my further studies in HKUST this september. Well, I just want to ask more about the education in hong kong. Is it true that there are lots of mainland students?1) HKU- Law & Medicine (in particular after SARS), others are average, somehow HK ppl told me that if you have a choice, HKU's business isn't the one you should aim for)
2) CUHK- Business (certain programs) & Medicine, others are average, some are even up and coming (like their new Law faculty)
3) HKUST- Engineering and Business (up and coming as well, especially the Global Business program)
These are the top 3 unis in HK (these are also supported by the THES ranking) which Hong Kong employers generally view highly of.
And then CityU, PolyU, HKBU etc come along. I have heard that there's a big gap between the top three and the rest in terms of teaching quality wise and academic research wise. (as probably some of you might have seen the news about the protest going on at CityU)
English is the main medium used in most courses, however outside classes Cantonese are more popular and widely used.
Anyways, these are just my 2 cents about HK Unis current situation.
Chen9Wei, I was utterly shocked and surprised to find a Sabahan in this forum studying in Hong Kong (not in an offensive way, its just that its rare), I am a Sabahan too, going there myself this fall to further my studies, what are the odds? LoL....
How long have you been there? Let me guess, you're an IS Almuni?
May 10 2009, 03:19 PM

0.0183sec