University Studying in Hong Kong, Tips and experience

Joshua836
post May 10 2009, 01:23 AM

36 posts

Interesting thread I must say, for all I've heard from my Hongkonger friends the current scenario of individual university's main expertise is as follows:

1) HKU- Law & Medicine (in particular after SARS), others are average, somehow HK ppl told me that if you have a choice, HKU's business isn't the one you should aim for)

2) CUHK- Business (certain programs) & Medicine, others are average, some are even up and coming (like their new Law faculty)

3) HKUST- Engineering and Business (up and coming as well, especially the Global Business program)

These are the top 3 unis in HK (these are also supported by the THES ranking) which Hong Kong employers generally view highly of.

And then CityU, PolyU, HKBU etc come along. I have heard that there's a big gap between the top three and the rest in terms of teaching quality wise and academic research wise. (as probably some of you might have seen the news about the protest going on at CityU)

English is the main medium used in most courses, however outside classes Cantonese are more popular and widely used.

Anyways, these are just my 2 cents about HK Unis current situation.

Chen9Wei, I was utterly shocked and surprised to find a Sabahan in this forum studying in Hong Kong (not in an offensive way, its just that its rare), I am a Sabahan too, going there myself this fall to further my studies, what are the odds? LoL....

How long have you been there? Let me guess, you're an IS Almuni?

Joshua836
post May 10 2009, 03:26 PM

36 posts

Hey, Ryan. Yes, there are quite a number of mainlanders in HK doing either their 1st degree or postgrad courses.

Hey, are you the TTSS guy who got the scholarship to do Civil at HKUST or something? (I read it from the papers couple of months ago)

Have you got everything sorted? Have you firmed your uni choice, or are you still contemplating ?

Added on May 10, 2009, 3:31 pmI think we should do some occasional meet ups when we're in HK ... LOL...

This post has been edited by Joshua836: May 10 2009, 03:31 PM
Joshua836
post May 10 2009, 05:15 PM

36 posts

Yea, I have seen the HKU's EMBA commercials that they have in the airport (HKIA). Anyways, I am not disregarding HKU's reputation, by all means, HKU is a great school. I am just sharing what I've heard. smile.gif

Just my 2 cents:
I used to think that uni rankings are everything, not that I don't have it now but it's become a smaller role nowadays. Plus, I believe the ranking doesn't reflect the entire true picture since they often change their methodology in their computation. LOL... anyways I reckon that the most important thing is Employers view on it? At the end of the day, they are the ones who assess where a uni grad stands .....
(could be found in http://www.topuniversities.com/worlduniversityrankings/ Employers Review section. )

I am well impressed with UST, I have heard a lot of good things about them as well.

I'll be heading to CU for Law (J.D.) that makes us 3 sabahans representing 3 HK unis...LOL...

Chen9wei, are there anymore Sabahans over there at HKU?
Joshua836
post May 10 2009, 09:07 PM

36 posts

LOL... No idea how much it costs.. I have absolutely no idea where it is situated.

Yea comparatively, HKU campus is much more accessible than CU and UST. Thank god , my department is in BofA Tower, Admiralty and not in Shatin, at least for now. LOL.. actually I prefer being in central, probably it's because I am used to places where things are more reachable and nearby.

So how do you find the quality of teaching over there? Intense or is more like chilled-out for a first year? Has it met your expectation? I mean I would assume 1st year kids are more or less like honey moon year~ LOL... at least thats what I reminisce. I am very much looking forward to a whole new Asian teaching approach.

Joshua836
post May 11 2009, 12:14 AM

36 posts

Thanks for the info.... Yeap.. CU's Graduate Law Centre is in Bank of America Tower, Admiralty. So, just 20 mins of tube ride from my place.

Most of my Core textbooks will be a mixture of Local's and UK's ,If I am not mistaken... LOL... Pure Math classes are dull.. lol.. tell me about it .... thank god I lived through it.... I am more of a statistics and applied maths person.... smile.gif

Added on May 11, 2009, 12:24 amQuote-C, I am kinda in the same situation as you. Yes, you will be considered as local, I was classified as local when I applied CityU ...

This post has been edited by Joshua836: May 11 2009, 12:24 AM
Joshua836
post May 13 2009, 12:20 AM

36 posts

C-Note, I have no idea about the chinese requirement, as I applied law postgraduate course. Sorry, can't help you on that ...

Actually if you could score 3As , you could pretty much get into any university (Europe, Asia and Australia)

0.0135sec    0.44    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 05:38 PM