University Studying in Hong Kong, Tips and experience

C-Note
post Jan 1 2009, 10:16 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

hey just realised there isnt a thread about education in Hong Kong and decided to start one. Anyone studying/studied/plan to study der? for easy reference, lets take HKU as our main subject. According to their entrance prerequisites, http://www.hku.hk/admission/nonjupas-uer.htm#malaysia, dey state dat STPM is required for entrance. Then wat abt Alvls? THx

P.S. anything regarding the topic is open for discussion
C-Note
post Jan 5 2009, 06:20 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

is HKU renowned for medical/engineering courses?
C-Note
post May 8 2009, 10:47 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

if compared to studying in Aus, HK should be cheaper in terms of accomodation and fees?
C-Note
post May 9 2009, 01:43 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

lets say, do i get any benefits if I, as a malaysian-born PR holder, enter HKU? do i get any discounts?
C-Note
post May 10 2009, 11:06 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(chen9wei @ May 10 2009, 05:46 PM)
I know someone who is doing law in CUHK , but she is graduating this year. For sabahan, In hku only me and a girl who is doing dentistry. But for Malaysian, there are like 10-20 of us. Most of them do business related course particularly Econ and Finance and Acc and Finance. For CUHK, it is situated in northern part of New territory, near to Shenzhen. But in terms of environment, UST and CUHK are better compare to HKU because of the campus is bigger and further away from the city. HKU is just too near to central, and hence Lan Kwai Fong. smile.gif and make the land there expensive.

Can you guest, how much is the price of apartment on the top floor of this building cost ?
http://www.belcher.com.hk/

And this is not the most expensive one.
thx for replying my ques in ur previous post. what i meant was,for e.g. , i have a Hongkong NRIC but malaysian passport holder. will i be considered as a local student in the admission procedures? apparently the fees are very different between foreign and local admission.

Anyway, is HKU renowned for their dentistry course? izit accreditated by LAN? any idea on how much will it cost for the entire course? did she do Alvls here? Im interested in this particular course.

thx nod.gif
C-Note
post May 11 2009, 05:12 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(chen9wei @ May 10 2009, 11:32 PM)
BOFA tower = Bank of America tower ? I thought that was the place for working ?

For the teaching, the medium is all in English, except linguistic course for sure. When I first came to HK, I thought they will either apply the Western or australia style, which is honeymoon for the 1st year, if not first sem. I tend to expect things to be extremely relax at least for the 1st week of teaching, as we have encounter in most of the Malaysia style teaching. But to my surprise, the lesson start instantly after several brief introduction, and I found difficulties even for the 1st lecture, due to the fact that hk students spend 7 years in high school whereas we only spend 6. There is no honeymoon for engineering students, especially for me who do double degree. All the text book here are from US, and cost around 250 - 300 per book. I am not sure for your case since you are doing law, maybe UK textbook. 

For engineering courses, especially those related to math (particularly pure math), you can expect a bored and tiring class, but for business class, there are always in class participation, looking at the stock market inside class, analyzing the market trend, and lots and lots of presentation that will require you to wear in formal. Make sure you bring enough suit for the presentation and high table if you reside in hall.
As far as I know, dentistry in hku is different with the medicine, cause medicine has their own campus which is nearby and supported by queen mary hospital. I can't provide you with much details about dentistry, but you can expect the qualification is recognized throughout the world. And I know one Malaysian from penang studying medicine here, perhaps i can ask him to give u some info.
if it doesnt trouble u too much smile.gif cant thank u more. now im able to c a flicker of light at the end of the road sweat.gif

QUOTE(Joshua836 @ May 11 2009, 12:14 AM)
Thanks for the info.... Yeap.. CU's Graduate Law Centre is in Bank of America Tower, Admiralty. So, just 20 mins of tube ride from my place.

Most of my Core textbooks will be a mixture of Local's and UK's ,If I am not mistaken... LOL... Pure Math classes are dull.. lol.. tell me about it .... thank god I lived through it.... I am more of a statistics and applied maths person.... smile.gif

Added on May 11, 2009, 12:24 amQuote-C, I am kinda in the same situation as you. Yes, you will be considered as local, I was classified as local when I applied  CityU ...
ohhh i see. were u required to show some sort of a qualification of ur chinese foundation? coz i heard chinese is a required subj if ur 'local'?

what course did u take? approx how much do the fees differ between local/foreign?

thx icon_rolleyes.gif
C-Note
post May 12 2009, 11:16 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

@pinknotebook

may i knw wat course he chose? wat results did he get?
C-Note
post May 13 2009, 05:01 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

actualy i planned to do dentistry in HKU. iz this course in HKU comparable to those in Aus in terms of credibility? i cant seem to find much info abt this course on the hku website.
C-Note
post Sep 19 2009, 10:43 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Panda12 @ Sep 19 2009, 09:26 PM)
anyone heard of Hong Kong University? Top U in Asia.
Duh. I have long wished to get in there but doubt i can. We r no match for the mainlanders
C-Note
post Sep 20 2009, 11:37 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(XterNalz @ Sep 20 2009, 10:27 AM)
Depends on the course, HKU isn't really great for every courses. NUS and NTU are better than HKU in terms of technology (engineering/IT) aspect.
True. HKU is renowned for its medicine,business/finance(no question about this) and law courses. And by the way, Im pretty sure the cost of living there is not as high as that of UK/Aus. Once you do the conversion of the currency rates its pretty much the same. Transport there is really cheap(provided that u live in Hongkong and not Kowloon since theres no trams in Kowloon). Food- depends on where you are. There are cheap food around less central areas.

This post has been edited by C-Note: Sep 20 2009, 11:39 AM
C-Note
post Dec 14 2009, 03:32 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

Are the engineering courses in HKUST/HKU recognised here and internationally? I gather that all accredited engineering courses in the world have a span of at least 4years (be it masters or degree). But from HKUST website, I found out that they offer only 3 years BEng. So that does mean its not recognised?
C-Note
post Jan 19 2010, 05:36 PM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(imitation @ Dec 16 2009, 10:52 AM)
The malaysian government recognises both universities for a start. As for engineering, I have enquired with the Board of Engineers of Malaysia and they said that they will recognise the courses if they are also recognised by the local board of engineers in Hong Kong. I also asked about the four year engineering requirement and i was told that it was a requirement for local engineering programs but not all overseas ones.
I see. How about HKU? HKU vs HKUST, which is better for engineering? HKU 3 years also? I plan to do 3years BEng and 1 year MSc somewhere else. But i'm still a little doubtful about the 3yr course offered as most renowned universities and even Malaysia offer 4yrs. Will I lose out in the competition with other 4yrs graduate?

QUOTE(noobkia @ Jan 19 2010, 02:24 PM)
the cantonese spoken there is different. that's what i heard. i'm not really versed in chinese languaged but my friend said shouldnt say 'ta pao' to take away food ><

on a different note, what is the cheapest logding option over there?
Also take note not to say 'mai sui' (buy water). Ta Pao and Mai Sui is generally related to funeral processions and stuff..

Just avoid using localised terms like 'pasar', 'kaki'(ownself) etc etc. you'll make yourself sound like a cinapet
C-Note
post Oct 7 2010, 12:10 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

Will my chances of entering be higher if I apply as local or international student? I'm doing GCE Alevels (Non-JUPAS for my case because I'm a Malaysian-born Hongkie)
C-Note
post Jul 1 2011, 10:15 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(yuktsi14 @ Jun 26 2011, 03:58 PM)
Just got the offer form HKU recently
Bachelor of Engineering  =D
Congratz! May i know what the conditions are?
C-Note
post Jan 9 2012, 12:46 AM

starry starry night
3,037 posts

QUOTE(Tina92 @ Jan 8 2012, 06:06 PM)
Its great to find ppl frm HKU writing here. Im currently doing my Alevels and I intend to apply HKU for either engineering or Medicine. Can someone tell me how competitive the entry is for this two fields? And also how about the tuition fees is it standard for all courses for international students? If not how much are the tuition fees for Engineering and Medicine?
Well, I applied for dentistry(Sept 2011 intake) under local entry. I got the interview, flew all the way to Prince Phillip Dental Hospital where the interview was conducted. However, didn't get the offer because basically I said something I shouldn't have. It was a great experience nonetheless smile.gif Medicine and Law are extremely competitive. I heard the number of students is really small for medicine..for dentistry it's just a total of 50 students.

Anyway, don't be intimidated. Give it your best shot so you can look back with no regrets. All the best to you smile.gif

0.1051sec    1.06    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 09:10 PM