Buying new laptop? Need RECOMMENDATION?, PLEASE POST IT HERE !!! V3

1piece
post Mar 22 2008, 09:18 AM

I'm newbie here... I would like ask all members here for my intention to buy new laptop.

This week I did survey in Lowyat to buy laptop. According to my budget around RM2700+ I'm really prefer this laptop:

Fujitsu Esprimo U9200
- Intel Centrino core 2 duo T5250 (1.5GHz, 800FSB/4MB L-2 Cache)
- Intel Pro/wireless 4965AGN network connection
- IGB DDR2, 120GB SATA HDD
- 12" superfine WXGA TFT
- 384MB Intel Graphics media accelerator X3100
- V.92 Modem
- Bluetooth
- SD/PC card/Hard Drive Shock Sensor
- DOS

I want use this laptop mostly to connect the internet and do my assignment. I don't need for games of design graphic jobs. Hence, I need small screen and not very heavy to bring it anywhere.

So, Is this laptop worth and reliable one??? anybody have this kind laptop... please advice and share your experience.
and also is there any other laptop recommended for my budget above????

thank a lot.

1piece
post Mar 22 2008, 05:05 PM

QUOTE(eclectice @ Mar 22 2008, 11:45 AM)
You can buy this model for your purposes. Anyway, you only choose FreeDOS OS. Are you going to install Linux or Windows XP later on? You should upgrade the memory >= 2 GB RAM because the GPU (graphics card) already steals some of the memory. Go for a better 4GB RAM to run the memory-hungry Vista OS with a few hiccups if you decide to install Vista.

If you don't want to be a loser so soon, maybe you can go for...

Dell Inspiron 1420 at basic setup offer with RM2599 (online price includes delivery as at 22 March 2008):
Pre-installed MS Works 9.0 OEM
Pre-installed McAfee anti-virus solution OEM
Intel(R) Centrino(R) Processor Technology - Intel(R) Core(tm)2 Duo Processor T5450 (1.66 GHz, 2MB Cache, 667 MHz FSB)
Genuine Windows Vista(R) Home Basic
2GB (2 X 1024MB) 667MHz Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM
14.1" WXGA Display with Integrated 2.0 mega pixel web cam
120GB SATA 5400 RPM Hard Drive (free upgrade to 160GB currently if you choose this option)
DVD Burner (8x DVDRW with dual layer support)
Intel(R) Integrated Graphics Media Accelerator X3100
Intel(R) 3945 802.11a/g Mini-card
8-in-1 media card reader
Integrated 10/100 Fast Ethernet
Integrated Bluetooth
Internal 56K Modem
Integrated Stereo Sound
One year limited standard warranty NBD + POW

If you want to buy a Dell product, it is better to buy online because you can decide from a lot of choices (with individual item price difference indications) and you get online promotions. Well, I sound like a sales agent (I am not)...hahaha..but, I give my advice based on my current experience with Dell. Go for it!
Thank a lot for your advice. I will look for more information regarding Dell Inspiron 1420. Btw, buying dell product through online, is it better and cheaper than through shop? or when PC fair? please advice. thanks
1piece
post Mar 23 2008, 08:59 PM

QUOTE(eclectice @ Mar 23 2008, 12:54 AM)

So far, I have let my Vostro 1400 active all night long (sometimes when I fall asleep, the movie which I set it in repeat mode, will watch over me...heheh), and it does not have any issue with heat.
I saw a promotion from Dell online sales, Vostro 1400. I am interesting with the spec and price but the design is not very attractive as I saw from the net lah. Could you share the pros and cons for this lappy as you have this one. thanks

1piece
post Apr 8 2008, 05:23 PM

QUOTE(wlp9185 @ Apr 7 2008, 11:41 PM)
ftec n msi sound is not powerful enough. last time i got 1 always pecah la the sound..............
Dell Vostro 1200 will be good alternative or Fujitsu Esprimo U9200. Both lappy with 12" screen and below 2Kg weight.
Price wise also below RM2,7K

I'm also interesting to buy either these two laptop.. hope this coming PC fair, it's price lower... thumbup.gif

0.0173sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:19 AM