Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.
verz84
Jul 8 2008, 10:51 PM
wow..i juz found out this tread even though i've registered for this forum for quite a while already..and now im in my final year doing part 2.Should have know this earlier and share a lot of stuff here.
For me, after my 6 years studying architecture from my first year, all u have to do is do ur work smart. If u start early and you know what ur doing..there should be no problem at all. Time management is the most important thing which also require a lot of discipline. Don't get too carried out with what people complaining about their miserable life because they study architecture. It depends on how u look into every task ur doing. If u don't like what ur doing, then better make up ur mind fast. Architecture is something continuous and even u have spent a year and doing various tasks, u will realize u will learn a lot in the process. Experience u gained will help u a lot and thats why architecture is not the same as other profession when u can only sit on ur comfortable chair, open up u books and get straight A's in exams. To be successful, u need to go out there, open up ur mind and gain as much experience u can get as this is a hands on course. It may be hard for the earilier part of ur study but it tends to get more easier when u have got the experience which are handy in the process of solving everything that is related with architecture.
Btw..congrats to azarimy...i may get inspiration from this tread as i go along with my study or even with my profession later..thanx again
This post has been edited by verz84: Jul 8 2008, 10:52 PM
verz84
Jul 13 2008, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(europology @ Jul 13 2008, 02:51 AM) Ah we have the boss of USM architecture here! Welcome... (Yes, I know who you are...  ) europology..how come i don't know u..hait..  hahaha..ur senior here summore..so ur better than me..ur d boss!!  bro azarimy , thanx for ur advice that day.Now im coming up with something that i think more complex than what im trying to look for that day. Ur rite.The complexity doesn't mean all those complex gadgets or engineering added stuff, but on the issues itself may give its own complexity and its even meaningful when we merge all those issues into sulotions in which are our job.. : to solve and even control any issues regarding human and its habitat. am i rite? or still missing some points there? This post has been edited by verz84: Jul 13 2008, 11:25 PM
verz84
Jul 14 2008, 05:51 PM
not enough complexity..now i really don't know what Complexity means.. really fed up  Hope that TS or anybody who are related with this field can give some input on my issue here ..thanx http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/742210This post has been edited by verz84: Jul 14 2008, 06:17 PM
verz84
Jul 15 2008, 09:59 PM
it's a hard time for me yesterday when presenting my notion to the lecturers..especially about my issues..all they want me to do is juz cut all the social issues, the current scenarios and talking crap. "Juz go straight to the point.What are u going to build actually.What are u going to have in ur building?Izzit juz a huge space with LCD-TV and and food stalls?Thats all?Then its not complex enough and not much architectural qualities there..go change ur title.." boom..i got frustrated..i don't even have enough time yet to think about what im going to put in my building cuz im still in the process of searching for more info regarding FOOTBALL..then still "kena tembak" for not having a fancy brief.. This post has been edited by verz84: Jul 15 2008, 10:01 PM
verz84
Jul 15 2008, 10:41 PM
all they want is all about gadgets..even maya stuff that i think can juz build a huge space then put all that "designed-by-others" gadgets been accepted yesterday.. its still just a huge space.not much architectural qualities. "just lot of shop houses..labs..class rooms..waa..thats too common.." yes i know that. thats why im trying to create something new.not shops lots..not labs.. what im really frustrated is that..my proposal is still overshadowed by my senior's work, what the lecturers so-called a much more complex than my proposal..-> adidas soccer science and academy..when i went through the work..still are just football fields, lots of class rooms..auditorium..hostel for students.. i still think thats common..more boring class rooms..
verz84
Jul 18 2008, 08:30 PM
wah..europology..i got a clue d..going to hunt who u r... if u got that budget..i advice u get urself a desktop as well..maybe bulky but then..peformance compared..desktop far more better than lappy in that range of price..but again it depends on u again..if u move alot..then laptop may be a good choice for u..but if spend most of ur time in studio, like me..then no trouble for having a desktop..