Art & Design So you're interested in ARCHITECTURE? Version 2, A guide to becoming an Architect.

miemon
post Nov 25 2008, 12:43 PM

QUOTE(Bishop @ Nov 24 2008, 12:47 PM)
Enjoy. It is very fun. But you can say goodbye to your social life...  thumbup.gif
hehe..not really..i think the social life bubye for a while to finish the work..after submission..
rclxm9.gif yeay..enjoy again with frens and family.. rclxms.gif
and i myself still have a time to join a society,but yes i cant give full participation.
but the main point is, we can do what ever we want 2:P but the important is time management right..
but mayb it is not the same if we r working field..huhu.. hmm.gif

but i have a few prob in terms of design..im in 2nd year now..and i got the same critic during the 1st year..
they say that i have a good idea..the idea is there..but i didnt have the 'umphh' in my design yet..
both r different assessor but both use 'umpphh' (and the assessor is not my lecturer)..i really hope that im not gonna listen the same not-so-umphh-design-yet next sem..fobia with the word umphh already..haha cry.gif

any advice? i do have a lots of archi mag as design reference..d+a,am,space,blueprintasia..huhu..
n i love to consult with lecturers but sometimes i find out that they arent helping much..usually they end up with the design is ok dah..the solution is ok dah..huhu..but during the crit..kene belasah jugak la..huhu.. doh.gif ..how to get the design from 'ok dah' to this is a 'umphh' design?

This post has been edited by miemon: Nov 25 2008, 12:45 PM
miemon
post Nov 25 2008, 01:03 PM

btw is it true if we already have part 1 accredited by LAM..
but if we want to proceed to study in uk we have to repeart part 1 again because we dont have RIBA acceditation?

Added on November 25, 2008, 1:17 pm
QUOTE(Bishop @ Nov 25 2008, 12:58 PM)
Simple. What is so special about your deisgn? Fulfilling the brief is necessary not an option. Fulfilling the design brief does not make it a good design.

Design is about making things better not just fufilling the brief.

Ask yourself these question "what is so good about the design?" "what is so special about the design?" If you can answer that then that is your umpphh!!! If you cannot find the answer then you know why you kena belasah...

Look back at the design you done and critic yourself.

P.S. If you have time to enjoy then you not spending your time designing. that is the other reason kena belasah...  whistling.gif
haha..thank you anyway..haha..
i like to join society a lot coz i can interact more with other courses student..i thing that the only way i can socialize and make my eyes open a liltle bit that there is a lot of other things that i dont know..huhu..
for example listen to human science student talking bout political..economic student talking about boom n bear recent economy ..engine student talking bout construction in detail,mechanicsm..
i gain a lot from it..since im just sit in the studio do my drwng..huhu sweat.gif
and sometimes their idea's are good too.. thumbup.gif
but i guess next sem gonna be harder and tuffer..i need to reduce my social life a bit..haha.. doh.gif

This post has been edited by miemon: Nov 25 2008, 01:17 PM
miemon
post Apr 17 2009, 12:08 PM

QUOTE(azarimy @ Jan 30 2008, 07:36 PM)
Architecture FAQs
1.0. Planning Towards Architecture as a Profession
1.1. Planning your route to architecture

[spoiler
1.7.3. International Islamic University Malaysia
How suitable is UIAM for a non-Muslim student learning architecture?
Do I need to take Arabic Language to study in UIAM?

UIAM is only for Muslims. How true is this statement?

It is actually not true. Contrary to certain beliefs, UIAM is not exclusive for Muslims only. It is a university that focuses on Islam in various aspects: academic approach and context, the way of life, socio-cultural relationships, research, history and philosophy and so on. Studying there does mean you will learn a great deal about Islam, but you don't have to be a Muslim to do so.
.[/spoiler]
Do I need to take Arabic Language to study in UIAM?

there will be 2 test after entering the matric/currently central for foundation studies(cenfos)..arabic and english..if u past arabic then no need to learn arabic anymore, but if u failed..u have to learn it, but for archi student very basic one..almost level sekolah rendah agama..and only need to pass..didn't count in cgpa..but u can apply to learn more.. thumbup.gif

same goes with english..it determine in which level ur english..and the level of english also determine how many years you will stay at the matric/cenfos..usually either one or two years..(so if add up 6/7 years br grad cry.gif )

in addition, at the cenfos, the design subject didn't focus on architecture studies only..u will learn combination of all course such as landscape,applied art,and others..then at the end of the foundation there will be an assessment to determine are u qualify enuf to proceed in architecture at Main campus gombak. if not you may end up in other courses such as quantity survey,urban regional and planning, applied art (which is later on u can major in interior design,conservation or industrial design) and landscape (or maybe other university also tongue.gif ).

*p/s :im not sure if there are any changes in the curriculum due the accreditation recently..this is based on experience and previous system tongue.gif*

This post has been edited by miemon: Apr 17 2009, 12:55 PM

0.0771sec    1.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 08:42 PM