using wifi with iphone, why did i charged by EGDE(hotlink)
TScyt
Jan 29 2008, 12:03 AM, updated 18y ago
the credit of my line(hotlink) has dropped tremendously since i used iphone. it seems that it is using the EDGE service although i am using wifi access point of my house and oso the college's wifi....are there anyways to turn off the EDGE service?? i checked the Edge network data and it seems like its increasing without me noticing it....very strange....anyway i could off or unsubscribe the EDGE for hotlink?? thank you
This post has been edited by cyt: Jan 29 2008, 12:05 AM
aRRrgghh
Jan 29 2008, 12:07 AM
Install the Wifi EDGE toggle on / off from Installer or just put dummy APN in the EEDGE setting. Yes it scuk-up ur credit very fast.
TScyt
Jan 29 2008, 12:13 AM
no wonder that day i got more than 30 ringgit...one or 2 days gone oredi....just done 2 phone calls not more than 2 minutes....my god...it consume my credit sooooo much man.......
i have just installed the "services" application top turn it off...but it requires VPN...what is it??
thank you
This post has been edited by cyt: Jan 29 2008, 12:26 AM
tarpaucase
Jan 29 2008, 06:33 AM
There's a lot of applications out there that can allow you to turn off the EDGE.. one simple way people do is to put in anything but the correct settings for EDGE for your maxis hotlink - make it the wrong settings so you can't connect.
If you have services or BossPrefs, you can just slide it to turn it off.. no need to touch any other settings and it shouldn't need VPN at all.
Samanoske Akechi
Jan 29 2008, 06:06 PM
I don't suppose you're on 1.1.3, mate? Coz there aren't as many EDGE-disabling tools for 1.1.3 just yet, just in case it applies
TScyt
Jan 30 2008, 08:16 AM
hi, thanx for the replies guys....i did follow ur advices and input the username and password for the edge as 123.....and then it showed that the edge has been disabled....thnx a lot....
Samanoske Akechi
Jan 30 2008, 02:44 PM
QUOTE(cyt @ Jan 30 2008, 08:16 AM) hi, thanx for the replies guys....i did follow ur advices and input the username and password for the edge as 123.....and then it showed that the edge has been disabled....thnx a lot.... Welcome, mate. Now go ahead and enjoy your EDGE-free = worry-free iPhone usage  Mods, thread can be closed now. This post has been edited by Samanoske Akechi: Jan 30 2008, 02:44 PM