Renovations renovation cost

jojozep
post Jan 17 2011, 04:16 AM

119 posts

I am looking for competitive quotations from progressive building contractors with track records to renovate a semi-d. Project will start in 1-2 weeks and duration is be 3-4 months. Please PM/contact me to make appointment to view approved extension,furniture,downlights layout pans, engineering drawings. Approval by MPSJ already given, the debris bin ready to mobilise.

Scope of work(high level)
-Replumbling all 3 toilets and kitchen,laundry area
-Extension of master BR(upstairs)
-Extension of kitchen, guest room,dining room.
-Creation of laundry area, maid room(downstairs)
-Upgrade all 3 toilets(replace WC,shower,basin,re-tiling to ceiling)
-Replace all sliding doors to aluminum powder coating
-Replace all windows to white powder coating aluminium windows.
-Retiling ground floor with 2X2
-Remove parquet and replace with laminate wood for stairs and upstairs 3 rooms
-Replace all timber doors
-Install plaster ceilings and lighting for whole house
-Build pillars for16feet autogate plus brick+grill for front and back of house.

Payment will be 5 progressive payments, contractors/vendors must not have cash flow problems.
Contractors must provide reference and site visits. Sucessful vendor will need to sign contract and penalty for late delivery.Please PM me with mobile for me to setup appointment for site visits.
jojozep
post Feb 20 2011, 03:12 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Laine @ Feb 20 2011, 01:42 PM)
i was quoted rm2k for removing existing parquet wood and laying new titles for 2 rooms. this is not inclusive of the ceramic tiles, only labor n all the materials. rm2.7k if inclusive of tiles. there are 2 rooms. one is about 15 x 12, another one is 12 x 9. my house is a condo at 9th floor. is this reasonable? thanks.
sounds reasonable..

Added on February 20, 2011, 3:22 pm
QUOTE(surf-it @ Feb 18 2011, 01:43 PM)
Have a friend with the same scenario, any contractor can advice?

you need to get council approval to build 3rd floor...so get an architect to draw up the plan.Go to council and ask them if they have any archi to recommend.
Architect will need to draw layout plan and also get engineering drawings done and approved.

Because you are doing structural change, you need some experts to do the 'expert things'. This is better to pay some money. Building the concrete floor second floor is not difficult..lah, the third floor is more ambitious but again, it can be done.

If the area is 'hot' property, and if you got money to do 3 storeys- go for it. Prices of labour, materials and land is going higher very fast. Some more...council is flexible now..in future, only more rules will come in - not less...so if the location is good location and in demand..surely must try to do it.

Don't forget the engineering drawings and council approvals done properly.

Follow my post- I did engineering drawings as well..

here is the link http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1734175

This post has been edited by jojozep: Feb 20 2011, 03:22 PM
jojozep
post Feb 21 2011, 12:55 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(ahter @ Feb 20 2011, 06:41 PM)
how much dost it cost to hack existing refuse chamber & rebuilt new one to widen the gate size. currently is around 11-12ft. would like to widen it to 15-16ft. there's autogate, doorbell & gate light points on existing refuse chamber. lot size 22x75

You are better off walking around your area and see if any major construction is going on and ask thee peopel if they mind coming and do some minor work..most contractors don't do so small job..
jojozep
post Mar 8 2011, 09:35 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(pakhaighina @ Mar 8 2011, 01:56 AM)

I apologize if this question has been asked before but still couldn't find the answer with the search function.

Is there a guide line about how much can we negotiate on the quote once we have confirmed which contractor to choose.

Say for eg., the quote is about 65K. Should we nego from the start or wait until the last payment and ask for discount?

Thanks in advanced!  rclxms.gif
wow...don't be so chow-kah (rotten)..please nego at the start...then hold back maybe 10%....for final payment (not non payment).

jojozep
post Mar 8 2011, 11:31 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Quantum_thinking @ Mar 8 2011, 08:40 PM)
I am not sure if the house i rented's owner pushed the contractor too hard or not. As a result, now there is leaking below the toilet (2nd floor) to the ground floor kitchen.

Now, she is looking for another contractor again. I found out that the total price for renovating a toilet is around RM900 like that. I was like  shocking.gif .

I have no experience at renovation, but it sounds too low for a job in Bandar Sunway with the cost of living is quite high.

Jobs included is to tear up all the floor area in the toilet, change another ducking "jamban" to a sitting 1 and have to be done within 3 days' time.

Is the offer is too low?

Note: Some certain material like cement and sitting toilet bowl are being provided.
MY archi tells me to build totally new toilet is rm7000 and I got the cheapest at rm4000...your quote is killer quote..
haha..leak from toilet to kitchen is to add salt to the cooking??

Added on March 8, 2011, 11:33 pm
QUOTE(pakhaighina @ Mar 8 2011, 03:27 PM)
Thanks for the advise. notworthy.gif

Reason being is I heard someone did this before due to dissatisfaction between him and the contractor.

Also read in other forum that some contractor will mark up the price because they expect you to ask for discount. So if I don't ask ma kena higher price lo.

I don't intend to squeeze ppl because ppl need to cari makan also but not till the extend of water fish la.  rclxub.gif
best is to ask around for some quotes..some people expenses low can offer you lower price..sometimes same job...
once you have a few quotes, you know you are water fish or not.

This post has been edited by jojozep: Mar 8 2011, 11:33 PM
jojozep
post Mar 10 2011, 04:37 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(Jo_da48 @ Mar 9 2011, 04:23 PM)
Question:
I asking my contractor what the cost of hacking the existing tiles and replacing it, but he indicated why should old tiles been hack, it can be just lay on top of it.
What the drewback on build new tiles on top of old tile?
It depends on

1) are you the fussy type, you want it done right
2)are you going to live there long long time?
3) contractor will hack for you cheap or not...

some contractor count everything...actually it is not a difficult job..seriously..with the right tool...

My contractor uses a 'monster drill' , did my living room and dining room and kitchen in about 1-2 days.. it is not a big job..

but if area is small, I guess it is ok to lay tiles over it..
jojozep
post Apr 7 2011, 10:23 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(b16a @ Apr 7 2011, 02:47 PM)
renovation cost is one thing that cant never be accurately estimated. i learnt it the hard way. shakehead.gif

estimated at rm20k,
now going for rm25k

the more i went to the showroom, the more it tempts  on buying a lil bit more  pricier "quality than originally quoted"  stuff. eg.rm120 sink-->rm400 sink. etc.
sweat.gif

not to mention the home appliances and furniture!
We forgot how expensive things are today--ate har-mee in PJ at rm5..was rm3.00 not too long ago..

jojozep
post Apr 18 2011, 11:59 PM

119 posts

QUOTE(skng03 @ Apr 18 2011, 10:19 PM)
1 bag of sika top seal 107 + 4L liquid polymer cost only 90++ @ hardware shop, more than enough for 2 coats to normal size bath room floor and shower area wall.

so, u know how much more u need to pay your contractor brows.gif  brows.gif
skng03,

you are really helpful...can you read and reply your PM? I need to manage my risks with my current contractor..thanks

0.0174sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 11:39 PM