Intel Penryn Overclocking Thread, Toasting next gen 45nm babes ~

mikelanding
post Feb 27 2008, 09:26 PM

2,865 posts

New E8400 user reporting here.
I manage to OC my proc to 4GHz @ 1.38vcore (bios) ..vdrop to 1.352 (cpu-z)

Will try harder on higher speed. Had to wait for my long waited Silverstone PSU (more than 2 months+ RMA rclxub.gif rclxub.gif )

Spec as my signature below. All OC done on Acbel 390watt sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif . Really scary..hahaha

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Feb 27 2008, 09:53 PM
mikelanding
post Feb 28 2008, 12:00 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 27 2008, 10:58 PM)
nice stuff..  eh .. advise to call distro directly...
Ya. Already called a guy named Jack. He said will be arrive early next month. Hope it not another blank promise that I received since day 1 of RMA.
Lesson learned from this Silverstone hoo-haa RMA, never buy any unpopular stuff from them again...They will give 1 damn good reason for their long RMA delay...."NO STOCK!!"
Sorry out of topic here...

Once I got back the psu, Will try to put for FSB500. Will also install 3rd party NB cooler. Hope it can help to push more.

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Feb 28 2008, 12:01 PM
mikelanding
post Feb 28 2008, 04:06 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 28 2008, 12:34 PM)
ST56??.. they should be having tons of them.
ZT56ZF...Zues series...sad.gif
mikelanding
post Mar 1 2008, 02:45 PM

2,865 posts

QUOTE(lichyetan @ Feb 29 2008, 07:11 PM)
some noob question here, i get my e8400 oc to 4.05ghz stable with 8 hours prime, small in place FFT, large fft and blend test... and memtest as well, but still getting random BSOD after playing heavy 3D applications games such as crysis... problem solve when using my 2gb Crucial 10th Anniversary RAM but i couldnt get the TEAM Elite 4gb kit stable even on stock settings, 3ghz, DDR2 800. what made the matter worst is the ram are passed all memtest... but keep crashing on certain level of crysis but not for 2gb of ram... main point is do i need to increase NB volt to get 4gb stable on my system, its impossible the ram passed all test but random restart playing heavy 3d Games... i am using ASUS Blitz Formula Mobo... and also what's the safe 24/7 voltage for NB?
Same thing happen to me also.
Crucial 10th Anni 2Gb +1GB KVR budget ram = 4GHz stable for 10+ hours.
OCZ Sli version DDR800 (4Gb kits) = cant even reach 4GHz now.

I dun even stress the ram yet...all OC done on 1:1 divider

Any1 got any idea? is definately VGA problem.

This post has been edited by mikelanding: Mar 2 2008, 03:24 PM

0.0270sec    0.24    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:38 AM