Intel Penryn Overclocking Thread, Toasting next gen 45nm babes ~

a1098113
post Jan 28 2008, 10:43 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

anyone here knows why memtest gives errors whilst orthos for 3 hours(blend) does not give errors?
a1098113
post Jan 28 2008, 10:51 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

eh, hmm orthos blend and OCCT doesnt give an error liao. ONly Memtest.. can give advice how i can reduce the error chances besides buying Crucial ram lol. Now its OCed to ddr2 900 @ cl4. this secret rams brows.gif
a1098113
post Jan 28 2008, 10:55 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@kmarc
i wish i can cheat lor.. brows.gif but fuiyo this ram can fly laugh.gif ill try what u say lor.
a1098113
post Jan 30 2008, 08:49 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@clawy
interesting concept, equating processor to girls. True2. I would rather say its like a wife instead.

@aoi
hows the performance of the current batch of 45nm procx?
a1098113
post Jan 30 2008, 07:03 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@icstkl
i am thinking about getting the corsair fan coolers too. Looks nice and neat.. and its good u dont have to put heatsinks that dont actually cool the ram.
a1098113
post Jan 30 2008, 09:41 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@cstkl
thanks bro. Will look into it.
a1098113
post Feb 2 2008, 10:50 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@all
well lets just keep the emotions and egos out of this place guys. Not trying to be good and all, but lets just stick to the point of discussion. I am not going to point fingers at anyone, since everyone here has a better rig than me jk jk, i mean all of you have rights of your own for expressing rite? lets just keep it at that.

@clawy
bro, u of all ppl, u should have the experience to handle this situation, not spark more. I am sure you can do better bro. youre a great guy, so i believe u can sort things out here

@cstkl1
well, what should i say, i dont know u well enough to say much, but i can tell that you have a lot of passion and the resources to test all the hardwares i only dream of getting. I guess sometimes, bro(if i can you that), its nice to listen and give an opportunity for someone to speak up, and try to help. I do hold high regards for you, becaus i believe that u do have a lot of substance in your words. But dont let it backfire on you. It would be a big loss.
a1098113
post Feb 2 2008, 11:56 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@cstkl1
if only i could try the settings.. laugh.gif but at the moment i am working on the ram u suggested the cl2 ddr2 800's.. see whther it can improve my 1M timings.. its a sad thing though, my board doesnt have a lot of features... but will work with it though.
a1098113
post Feb 3 2008, 12:23 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

mine are not d9gmh, i wish it was.. its just value(brainpower pcb, with promos, i think) ram maybe.. but it can do some decent clocks for value rams.
a1098113
post Feb 3 2008, 01:08 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

not sure what the highest clock is, well i am sure there are ways to play with settings for my value rams. just have to research and find out more. well, e2140 is a nice low end proc. u should try it sometime. smile.gif
a1098113
post Feb 3 2008, 01:19 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

my brains too slow to process that at this time of the day. laugh.gif so looks like i need damn nice rams, but not expensive aye. Coz technology keeps changing, and depreciation is rapid.
a1098113
post Feb 3 2008, 01:33 AM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

so should i wait or get some rams now? by the way, how is the overall performance of the penryn, yorksfield from your perspective>
a1098113
post Feb 3 2008, 03:36 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

guys
i know this is off topic but i wanted to know yeah, where do i get memset, most websites have the link but i cant download it. Also what are the timings should i put, since my motherboard as stated in the sig, doesnt have trd rating.
a1098113
post Feb 3 2008, 05:36 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@flat and Coolio
thanks bro's. now i can play with some tight timings.
a1098113
post Feb 3 2008, 08:37 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

i wish i could do 500*8 but it seems rather impossible.
a1098113
post Feb 3 2008, 11:37 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

i tried playing around with it but hmm this rams do have big limitations. I will try again playing around this settings, but i believe at the end of the day, the quality of the rams do count.

This post has been edited by a1098113: Feb 3 2008, 11:38 PM
a1098113
post Feb 3 2008, 11:49 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

trd stays only at 7 i cant go any lower, it was initially at 8. When i go lower, it reboots. Has it to do with voltage since i cant set it in memset. I initially did 1:1 and at 4-4-4-10. for the basic subtimings and tried adjusting it tighter, tomorrow i will play more with it. It does improve the bandwidth, especially read. I use everest benchie to check the change.
a1098113
post Feb 7 2008, 01:24 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@cstkl
I believe that OCCT does a lot of stressing aye. priority 7 is qiuite high i mean for me, and to run memtest at 256MB, i do the 512Mb test * 2 for 3 hours normally, for stability.

Good guide there cstkl1.
a1098113
post Feb 7 2008, 06:33 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

@cstkl1
dont bother about the e2140s now bro, most ppl are having problems posting after 410, 420Mhz. I dont know why, even with M0 stepping. I know one user who got 4.3Ghz on an e2140 with LN2, thats crazy.
a1098113
post Feb 7 2008, 08:35 PM

~Retired~
3,119 posts

nice clocks at 4.2Ghz, maybe i should try the wolfsdale too. I wonder why wolfsdale is in penryn thread. Is wolfsdale under the penryn family? noob here.

This post has been edited by a1098113: Feb 7 2008, 08:36 PM

0.0360sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:02 PM