Intel Penryn Overclocking Thread, Toasting next gen 45nm babes ~

TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 28 2008, 09:39 AM, updated 18y ago

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

So, anyone got these babes yet? Id say these chips has a huge oc potential, this is my currently result after owning this babe for 1 day, rough overclocking with no optimizing done yet, didn't have the time. Man.. i can get to get everything done drool.gif

3.8Ghz at stock voltage shocking.gif
orthos passed 8 hours, i was still able to boot at 3.9Ghz, but failed at 2nd hour orthos.

C2D 45nm users, come in and share your thoughts thumbup.gif

Just to spice this thread up a little, ever wondered what exactly is Penryn? no, not the codename, the real PENRYN.

Penryn granite is noted for its beauty and strength. Mottled in more-or-less equally sized specks of black and white, it appears a medium-to-dark gray in color, at first glance, but takes on an almost bluish-gray hue when viewed in a subdued light or, when wet or polished. This unique stone can be seen in the foundations and walls of a number of California landmarks including The State Capital and the old U.S. Mint in San Francisco.
Taken from http://blogs.intel.com/technology/2007/04/penryn.php

A Little interesting fact on Intel's Codenames laugh.gif

This post has been edited by AoiNatsume: Jan 29 2008, 12:25 AM
TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 28 2008, 09:49 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

the dark side is tempting indeed laugh.gif
Switch from am2 to Wolfdale, is indeed a huge performance leap rclxms.gif
TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 28 2008, 10:18 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(-pWs- @ Jan 28 2008, 09:51 AM)
Ya lor sad.gif
Especially the power consumption. That the part attracts me  wink.gif

-pWs-
Yeah, i figure, if its going to be an upgrade, it better be significant laugh.gif

QUOTE(Strik3 @ Jan 28 2008, 10:02 AM)
Why Hallo Thar Aoi,

I see what you did thar.

Told you that the flesh is weak *evil laugh*

Let us see mOar of the Penryn...quick!  flex.gif
haha, chill bro. Ill be seeing ya tonight or tomorrow.

QUOTE(seeseng @ Jan 28 2008, 10:03 AM)
Interesting read indeed, will add your link to first post thumbup.gif
TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 28 2008, 12:18 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jan 28 2008, 11:44 AM)
nice result there with a little voltage bump and adequate cooling 4.5ghz should not be a problem i guess......

Aoi i tot u still continue with CF after goin to Dark side ??
well.. due to budget limitation, id rather save up and get a better X38/X48 board later on rather than getting a midrange x38. And by then, im sure the price of 3870x2 is cheaper as well. So.. meanwhile, im giving the 8800GTS G92 a test run.

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Jan 28 2008, 11:48 AM)
post ure orthos priority 8 blend test or small fft ... min pass 1hour..
me suspect u did priority 1.. which is easy to pass...

wheres the screenies for the 8hours or two hours...??.. sorry with the no of BS that goes around LYN.. need to ask..
till then the claims is BS... in XS way..kekek

or just OCCT 30 minutes.. which runs at priority 8 blend also.

Added on January 28, 2008, 11:53 am

and a better mobo.. too
no prob, will post it up at home later thumbup.gif
TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 28 2008, 04:41 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

man... cant wait to get home and rape my wolfdale laugh.gif
screenies here n there, tempting the crap outta me xD

anyways, no other users at the moment? sweat.gif
come come report in, dont be shy icon_rolleyes.gif
TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 28 2008, 09:47 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

hmm.. 3870x2, id assume the performance is where around the 3870Xfire, tried that already, now giving a chance to 8800GTS G92 and see how it fares against 3870 CF. Will only get Ati cards when i plan to go CF, which after after my next mobo upgrade brows.gif
TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 29 2008, 12:22 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

alrighty, ran orthos on priority 8 small fft test more than 2 hours as requested my cstkl1 to prove that i was able to do 3.8Ghz in stock vcore =)

TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 29 2008, 02:24 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

hey guys, any other 8400 users here? apparently im having some issues with my temps. The temperatures are flying sky high !!!, even on stock voltage, my load temp goes all the way up to 52c, now testing 1.3v @ 4.0Ghz, its climbing up to 63c. Im sure the TR 120eX(lapped) performs way better than this, tried reseating it many times, and checked the TIM, it is indeed evenly spreaded. Contact is definately not an issue here.

Now, the interesting part, upon touching the hsf directly while on load, reported temp on core temp / Everest is 63c, but.. the bloody hsf is freezing cold !!!

this really is disappointing and is crippling my overclocking.
TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 29 2008, 11:49 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

another thing about the temps that i noticed this morning. Im idling at 49, full load 53? i even tested with both OCCT and Orthos running, same temps, oh well... i think its an issue with the DTS. Another amd brisbane flaw doh.gif
TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 29 2008, 02:37 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

hmm.. is there anywhere else that i can get a foxconn mars now? apparently lowyat plaza doesnt have any stocks at all.
TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 30 2008, 08:02 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Jan 30 2008, 01:57 AM)
CPU are like girls, they are always different. Some likes it hot, some likes it cold smile.gif

You don't have to apologize or ask forgiveness. Don't feel so upset about it - small issue.
man i have to agree with your theory, and don't forget, sometimes picky and loves to give u a hard time laugh.gif
TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 30 2008, 09:13 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

currently running stable 4Ghz daily basis @ 1.3v. Im pretty satisfied with the performance based on the price i pay for this babe, but the temperature errors are rather disappointing id say... thus leaving me unable to push the proc any further than 4.5Ghz at the moment.
TSAoiNatsume
post Jan 30 2008, 09:39 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

i think 4ghz is extremely easy to hit on this chip. Just bump a little voltage and there ya go.
TSAoiNatsume
post Feb 1 2008, 09:59 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Feb 1 2008, 04:53 PM)
Btw, I tried on both ABIT IP35-Pro and Foxconn Mars with no luck getting it stable. Perhaps my E8400 is just not a super overclock but Aoi's one looks promising.

I can't afford Yorkfield but hopefully Intel comes out with better overclockable Wolfdale smile.gif I'd be happy to get another one.

Added on February 1, 2008, 4:54 pmYes, some guys at Xtreme manage to go beyond 5Ghz w/o Dry Ice too. It's not stable, just for the fun of CPU-Z and Super PI screenies biggrin.gif

Added on February 1, 2008, 4:59 pmHere are some good stuffs. A fellow Swedish overclocker with E8400 on the Foxconn Mars:

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=305556

http://bandwidth.se/imgs/nouser/spi9625523a781a.jpg

He did this on air cooling smile.gif
as promising at it looks initially, well.. perhaps its just my board isn't that good, but i've hit the wall i think. Or perhaps the proc needs more burn in before further overclock can be done.

Yesterday night brian was with me in my hse playing with it, it was able to boot up at even 580fsb, but unstable, managed to run 1M superPI @ 560x8. The max stable clock im able to find now is only at 4.5Ghz at 1.45v, i didnt dare to pump up too much voltage because im not very confident with the temperatures with my current cooling and the problem with the temp sensor.

Then again, to think again, i usually categorize processors in 3 category.

1. Able to run high overclocks with low voltage but not very responsive with voltage increment thus make it a good choice for long run.
2. Very responsive to voltage increment and can go very far when overclocked, usually the record breaking type of procs.
3. Wont budge at all sweat.gif

I think mine would be the first type here laugh.gif

QUOTE(clawhammer @ Feb 1 2008, 06:30 PM)
Idle at stock voltage is around 40C+ and load can go up to 70C+
However when I touch the heatsink, it's not hot and I can leave my fingers there as long as I want. Other people reported temp reading problems on their boards too so we just have to wait for a BIOS fix or maybe Core Temp itself.
yea... same case is occuring to me too, im idling at 52c and loads up at 57c. But when i touch the heatsink, its not even hot at all, as the matter in fact, its rather cold. Only the base of the heatsink is slightly warm.
TSAoiNatsume
post Feb 2 2008, 05:12 AM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

QUOTE(flatfinger @ Feb 2 2008, 04:57 AM)
@Aoi
for 4.0Ghz and 4.5Ghz setting stable...
I just wanna know what is ur vcore in bios setting?? vcore drop in windows (cpu-z reading)?? and vdroop when prime orthos???...can u provide me this info...i know that DS3 has high vdrop...

example...
4.0Ghz setting
in bios u set it 1.375v...
loading into windows n cpu-z will detect 1.32v
vdroop priming orthos will make it 1.29v
stable

so what ur voltage setting for vbios, vdrop n vdroop???
yes exactly, Ds3 has a rather bad vdrop/droop.

For 4.0Ghz, it would take 1.3v in bios, reads 1.25-1.27 in windows, drops to 1.23 on load.

For 4.5, i'd need to set 1.51xx in bios, windows read 1.48 and drops to 1.45 on load.

temps taken from my G15 lcd via Everest.
TSAoiNatsume
post Feb 2 2008, 12:01 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

dude... this is no XS man, im not asking you to believe me nor do i gain anything from bragging. My results are nothing to brag over and its definately aint world record breaking as well, im just sharing my results since this is a discussion thread, question directed was very simply and i dont see any need to upload a screenie here. Since my first post on this thread the only thing ive ever heard outta ya was SC!! SC!! where is SC?!!!

well, if you insist, here u go.

now, do u want me to snap a pic from bios as well? perhaps you might wanna see what colours are my underwear today? oh wait.. im not wearing one now sweat.gif
TSAoiNatsume
post Feb 19 2008, 04:31 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

just a little curious, did u got ur 8400 from a shop in ss15?
TSAoiNatsume
post Feb 19 2008, 08:22 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

haha!! bingo thumbup.gif
i suspected it coz i saw ur siggy too. And the timing was perfect laugh.gif

Ill drop you a call when ur proc arrives bro icon_rolleyes.gif
TSAoiNatsume
post Feb 19 2008, 09:03 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

ill hope with you as well laugh.gif
been seeing u around here, mana tau its you haha.

Nice meeting ya anyways, lets stay in topic before the mods comes in sweat.gif

Added on February 19, 2008, 9:03 pmall +1 only. Just to be on the safe side, its stable enough =)

This post has been edited by AoiNatsume: Feb 19 2008, 09:04 PM
TSAoiNatsume
post Feb 19 2008, 09:11 PM

Certified Noob
1,051 posts

i didnt really push it far yet, so far i was only able to do 4.5Ghz, im sure it can do better, but due to the DTS issue, inaccurate temps is bothering me, so i dare not go any higher at the moment sweat.gif

0.0333sec    0.65    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:45 PM