This post has been edited by camillenoir: Feb 21 2008, 06:55 PM
Turtles, Terrapins and Tortoises V3, Shell reptiles please enter here...
Jan 28 2008, 09:39 PM
373 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
my contribution to version 3. too bad cannot post all pics in 1 single post
This post has been edited by camillenoir: Feb 21 2008, 06:55 PM |
Jan 28 2008, 09:43 PM
This post has been edited by camillenoir: Feb 21 2008, 06:56 PM |
Jan 28 2008, 09:44 PM
This post has been edited by camillenoir: Feb 21 2008, 06:56 PM |
Jan 28 2008, 09:51 PM
the one u usually met is my proxy.. of course i wouldn't waste my precious time just to meet some shrimp-size you-know-what like you.
This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jan 28 2008, 09:51 PM |
Jan 28 2008, 10:25 PM
QUOTE(dzi921 @ Jan 28 2008, 10:09 PM) Finally Sam is eating i'm gonna have some good laugh here... of all the names in the world, you opted to call him that... |
Jan 29 2008, 06:33 AM
QUOTE(ekiddie @ Jan 28 2008, 10:49 PM) neway, camillenoir... what turtle is the most last bottom right pic u posted... very nice... a snakeneck family? which species is tat?? that's a Parker's Snake-necked.QUOTE(Jamien @ Jan 29 2008, 12:25 AM) Also has a peculiar habit. The small one, when you touch its head it will open its mouth in defense. The big one that I bought, when you touch its head it will make its butt stand higher than its head (like made its legs straight up). An odd lil snapper. But very cute. Hehe... Both mouth wide open and butts-up are normal defense mechanism in alligator snappers.Be careful when the snapper do the 'butts-up', because it can jump, turn and snap quite fast from that pose. Added on January 29, 2008, 6:35 am QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Jan 28 2008, 10:57 PM) nice contribution camillenoir!! finally get to see almost all of the species that you have..(but im pretty sure thats not even 50% of the type of species that you have, and not even 20% of the total number that you have LOL) still got a few suprises This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jan 29 2008, 06:37 AM |
Jan 29 2008, 11:35 PM
QUOTE(sayasebuk @ Jan 29 2008, 02:34 PM) very fortunate those are with uzairi, otherwise don't know what happened to them already. no animals stay with leslie more than a month, no matter what he says all get sold off. lazy fatso LOL! QUOTE(mamba @ Jan 29 2008, 06:48 PM) aiyah... this guy always ask people to show their things in a very 'happy' tone. (you know what i mean by 'happy' LMAO)This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jan 29 2008, 11:38 PM |
Jan 30 2008, 05:07 PM
Jan 30 2008, 05:56 PM
QUOTE Mine is quite big already, and because they dont hunt their food i put Rm5-10 worth of feeding fish so that more fishes leads to more food. tongue.gif mine are given ikan belanak and kembung... those monsters are eating machines, if i give feeder fish i'll bankrupt fast LOL! This post has been edited by camillenoir: Jan 30 2008, 06:27 PM |
Jan 30 2008, 10:36 PM
the second specimen is not 2 years old. duh, another seller who know nuts.
Jan 31 2008, 04:52 PM
yeah, although snappers are garbage cans, wriggling pinkies are indeed appetizing in their own way! currently, all my turtles are served feeding fish only once weekly as i'm trying to avoid copper buildup. might not be critical to most keepers, but i just to avoid problem. |
Feb 1 2008, 02:53 PM
leopard tortoise can die fast if the humidity is too high. it is more sensitive to humidity than stars, even in specimens 10" and up. i experienced that before.
Feb 1 2008, 04:58 PM
QUOTE(SAMPERTH @ Feb 1 2008, 03:37 PM) You sure about chelonia.net as they are up for sale now LOL dai: i checked on the net, there is indeed a caresheet on chelonia.org (not chelonia.net lol) that mentioned about leopard easily adapting to their environments in AfricaAnyway most of those website are western country or northern based ( almost non are tropical based ) thus their recomanded species are mostly low humidity tolerance one ie Sulcata , Leopard , Herman , Russian ...etc as their country has a lower average humidity than ours ( Malayisa) Better to hear from ex-keeper speaking from experience who are locally based ( kept that species here in Malaysia ) !!! QUOTE Natural history: This is the most widely distributed tortoise in southern Africa. Found throughout the savannas of Africa, from Sudan to the southern Cape. They are commonly kept as pets and adapt well to captivity in most areas barring coastal Natal where the humidity affects them adversely. malaysia is literally surrounded by coasts.. dzi: i think you could use the spoiler tag to post those articles, looks neater that way. This post has been edited by camillenoir: Feb 1 2008, 05:00 PM |
Feb 2 2008, 08:36 AM
uzairi: take lots of pictures from today's gathering. i'll be watching, from somewhere
and all you guys are welcomed to drop by. the more, the merrier. venue : Ikano McD time : 5pm |
Feb 2 2008, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(dai86 @ Feb 2 2008, 09:13 AM) hehe... sorry about the webpage name. yup, is chelonia.org. haha... mmm... if like that then i will just end up buy another star lah... haha... but even star are hard to find now a days. i went to 6 pet shop around my house here, only one who still have few stars. other one also dun have anymore...... should say happy or sad? aiya bro... you can buy the leopard and sulcata what.. just make sure the husbandry requirement is fulfilled, especially on the humidity. many people had successfully raised leopard tortoise here in malaysia.stars.. expect sellers to hide stocks and raise the price come march. QUOTE(dzi921 @ Feb 2 2008, 09:21 AM) many animal lovers (and posers) would be there but please don't bring furkids, the venue is a restaurant. i think mamba and rafiqos will bring their human pet This post has been edited by camillenoir: Feb 2 2008, 10:14 AM |
Feb 2 2008, 10:53 AM
non-lyn endorsed. organized by another forum. most attendees already known each other.
end of story. |
Feb 3 2008, 02:15 AM
i got a message today that M. Auliya just launched a new book, something like identification guide to the tortoise and freshwater turtles of brunei, indonesia, malaysia, papua, philippines, singapore and timor leste. the book is to be used with the new law, so now you can expect wildlife officers to be more knowledgeable, to a certain limited extent.
license? that would be impossible to obtain unless your animals have all the legal documentations. you can try to apply and get your animals confiscated. FYI, radiated is in CITES 1 so no license could be rightfully issued This post has been edited by camillenoir: Feb 3 2008, 06:28 AM |
Feb 4 2008, 02:59 PM
QUOTE(killdavid @ Feb 3 2008, 08:29 PM) My stars bought from Malacca. Kindly give comments and advise substrate: those pine/cedar/whatever odorous shavings should be changed ASAP. at the mean time, you could just use newspaper. and next time you use substrate, make it thicker.Here is my humble rig ![]() ![]() ![]() lighting: those aquarium lighting provides neither suitable heat nor UVB. use a combination of normal osram bulbs and uvb bulb. in this rainy season, those tortoises are going to have some serious problem without proper heating. please make changes ASAP (aka TODAY), don't wait after CNY. |
Feb 4 2008, 05:28 PM
wood shavings that are odorous (pine, cedars) could cause respiratory toxicity. you could try chips from non-odorous woods, bark chips or paper cat litter
what i mean by thicker is put more substrates, from your pictures many parts of the aquarium floor are uncovered. tortoises should have at least inch-thick substrate (unless you use newspaper that get changed every single day) yup.. tungsten bulb for heat. This post has been edited by camillenoir: Feb 4 2008, 05:30 PM |
Feb 4 2008, 09:40 PM
| Change to: | 0.0404sec