Penang Property Talk, Property talk on Penang

Petre
post Feb 22 2011, 10:26 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

hi there guys. i plan to go to penang to work. would like to as kabout how is the property market in penang at the moment? anything coming up in sungai dua to bayan baru area worth looking into?

plan to invest in a property...
Petre
post Jul 16 2012, 05:24 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

anyone has any idea when will the bayan mutiara project starts selling?

and is there anything i can do as a first time buyer to speed up bank loan approval? is there anything as pre-approval or should i get a bank to evaluate? am a nood in this thing so hope you all sifus can guide me

Petre
post Jul 18 2012, 02:21 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(Neoh1979 @ Jul 16 2012, 07:00 PM)
Bro, can called up ivory n ask.
Launching this year but month not sure.
Make sure u got enough deposit n ensure
that your net income is 50% more than
your monthly debt...
monthly debt including credit card debt?
Petre
post Aug 10 2012, 04:05 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

dear guys...
i kind of overheard a conversation that sounds like this:

people buying newly launched property, no need to pay bank loan until the property is completed. so these people can make money by selling off their unit.

what i heard is that bank wont approve loan for sub sale, or something like that

anyone has any advice or anything to share?

thanks very much
Petre
post Aug 14 2012, 11:34 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Aug 12 2012, 04:38 AM)
yes cause developer absorb interest ....
bank won't approve loan cause the person not qualify for ...

means there will usually be a lock in period? normally how long is it?

or could you elaborate a bit deeper on this "bank won't approve loan cause the person not qualify for ..."

Petre
post Aug 14 2012, 02:35 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(SonnyCooL @ Aug 14 2012, 02:15 PM)
lock period is all abt the deal u sign with bank smile.gif
bank approve loan base on purchase income proof ...
then i just got more confuse lol
Petre
post Aug 28 2012, 02:56 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(moment900 @ Aug 28 2012, 12:00 PM)
Actually the increase is due to many factors, for PG is party due to land scarcity, look at all those new project launches, if it's landed it's either at reclaim land, hilly areas or ex grave yard location. So it's not surprising that prices are increasing like mad. But if look at Kulim, Sungai Petani, or even Nibong Tebal, these places the price is still very much affordable. It's a matter of demand versus supply. PG just couldn't keep up with the demand for landed property.
well i think otherwise. first of all developers are at fault for the increase of prices. secondary market took advantage of the high price of the new projects. even i saw sellers before this put a reasonable price but upon contacting seller said agent already took over and price gone up by the agent. they just keep the price below new projects. so who can buy? those rich people. my friend place also price like crazy but the unit beside his is empty. people are still buying and selling but many unit still vacant. i dont get this. high demand? high demand for ghost to stay more likely. it also affect rental market. even old LMC can rent for 7-800. crazy? you get it in penang.

landed properties in mainland also not cheap either.

who's fault? the rich becoming super rich

This post has been edited by Petre: Aug 28 2012, 02:57 PM
Petre
post Oct 4 2012, 10:41 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(Steven83 @ Sep 16 2012, 02:14 PM)
House price are too high, normal working class for me is a pain in ass. I not sure how can I repay the debut. But some interesting founding....when I was haunting for house.....too many investor(ghost house) if compare to real ppl who really stay...I'm a penang island guy, originally stay in penang, now I'm consider to spent more time to travel as a lot of my friends are buying house far away...and traveling cost is lower if compare with the price needs to pay for the housing loan or the rental at the island. Not too sure what will happen to penang island in next few years...

Added on September 16, 2012, 2:22 pm

yes, but I think its worth. I plan to buy Sungai Petani house. can save up interest rate + 400k for a good wide land. Who cares about travel, the time and petrol and tot is cheaper if you use 400k for it.
one thing you can never buy - time

more time on the road means less time for other usefull stuff, example - time for family
more time on the road also means more risk to accidents

i'd rather pay a bit more and have more time to do what matters.

life is short

Added on October 4, 2012, 10:42 am
QUOTE(kevyeoh @ Sep 16 2012, 06:21 PM)
it is already happening now dude...
if you are travelling to work every morning from mainland to island....you will notice the jam...that shows that a lot of people now staying at mainland and travel to island to work...

in future...penang island will be dominated by the locals who already got existing house from their ancestors or parents... + foreigners who bought the properties at 'cheap cheap' price...

no more penang kia but a mixture of local penang and foreigners...
you in penang? more and more cars nowadays. i cant imagine how jelutong area is going to look line in 10 years. many projects are coming up soon

This post has been edited by Petre: Oct 4 2012, 10:42 AM
Petre
post Nov 28 2012, 05:54 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

property prices are too insane at the moment. have a little patience smile.gif
Petre
post Dec 27 2012, 09:26 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

Penang world city. anyone mind share some info?
Petre
post Jan 11 2013, 12:13 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

how is the current to 12 month market for island area? are any property owners particularly the speculators/investors start to be affected? looks like they are still strong upping up prices or does this indicated anything? lots of property in the market now but how many are transacted?
Petre
post Jan 15 2013, 04:15 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(Pokupie @ Jan 15 2013, 11:14 AM)
The 5% is based on the original purchase price for a year, the 2nd year start will be based on current market value. However I am not sure about the per annum by then.

My actual plan is to rent it out in a long term basis, and then flip it when the time is right.  wink.gif
what do you mean by that?

""The 5% is based on the original purchase price for a year, the 2nd year start will be based on current market value. However I am not sure about the per annum by then.""

Petre
post Jan 29 2013, 02:18 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

hello guys need some advice here
am eyeing on one property in penang priced around 650k, and was quoted this by the property agent:

Legal Fees around Rm 6500
Stamping Fees Rm13500
Other Fees Around Rm 5000
Total (Around) Rm25000

Downpayment 10% Rm65000
My Commission Rm 6500

Rm25000 + Rm71500 = Rm96500 (Around)

normal ke?

the agent says in Penang buyer pay 1% fee to agent (other than seller 's 1%), while what i know is supposedly is seller pay 2% to agent and buyer pay 0%.

of course i dont want to question this (yet) as i know sometimes there are local practises in effect... but the legal fees surprise me. pls advice whether the agent is correct or just trying to suck the blood of a newbie like me. thanks

This post has been edited by Petre: Jan 29 2013, 02:19 PM
Petre
post Jan 29 2013, 02:43 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(pptalk @ Jan 29 2013, 02:36 PM)
If this is only the SPA, RM11,500 legal fees for a RM650K unit is a bit high. That's excluding stamping fees. I wonder what is the "Other Fees"?

For commission, yes, some agents do it slightly different in Penang. But it is still subjective. You can always negotiate. smile.gif
thanks for clarifying.

using this link:
http://www.elawyer.com.my/legal_calculator_info.php

i found that SPA fee should be about 5k only, but i was quoted 11.5k? rclxub.gif hmm.gif

stamping fees are correct right?

add up with agent fee and donwpayment.. easily need to pay up front close to 100k rclxub.gif

think i may just pass...
Petre
post Mar 11 2013, 08:51 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 7 2013, 12:14 AM)
hi penangites/investors,

i am looking for the places below to invest in..i expect to rent it out at a rate that will at least cover my monthly loan repayment..also i want a place which has better rate of occupancy and better value appreciation rate...to have a better judgement below are the details:

Desa University (mostly rented to students):
1. Average asking price = RM 380k - RM 485k
2. Average size = 900 - 1100 sqft

University Heights (mostly rented to students):
1. Average asking price = RM 340k - RM 450k
2. Average size = 800 - 1000 sqft

Sri Saujana (mostly rented to students):
1. Average asking price = RM 380k - RM 500k
2. Average size = 1000 - 1200 sqft

Taman Pekaka (mixture of students and working class, has most units for sale comparing to the rest which concerns me abit):
1. Average asking price = RM 250k - RM 400k
2. Average size = 700 - 850 sqft

prices are subjected to the unit condition in terms of furnishing and renovation..

1. may i know wat is the average market value per sqft surrounding usm area?

2. i know there are some techniques to buy a unit at below market price..this do not involve negotiating for more discounts or price slash...instead it is carried out by doing some barter trading/internal agreement but i have yet to find out or learn...can anyone kindly share with me?
any suggestions and advices on investing in one of those places are very welcome  biggrin.gif
how much loan repayment per month if property is 400k?
Petre
post Mar 11 2013, 10:34 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(C.P.U @ Mar 11 2013, 09:05 AM)
Guys,

Penang got any upcoming project for around RM150k? No LMC please as I not entitle anymore
no lmc, 150k? i think somewhere in the jungle in no man's land

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 11 2013, 10:14 AM)
i can onli take 70% loan since this is considered as 3rd property if i wan to buy...so im guessing the repayment should b around 1400
i also planning to buy my first property for own stay with one eye on renting out, but from my research so far, its impossible to get a property that pays itself in the areas you mentioned. but we can work together biggrin.gif
Petre
post Mar 11 2013, 11:30 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 11 2013, 10:49 AM)
actually the rental around tat area is about 1200...but the repayment is based on 400k value...there are still those below 400k...one of my friends got a property in desa uni and been renting out at 1200 and manage to cover his repayment although recently he has refinanced to bank valuation amount...
i like desa U, especially the units facing USM biggrin.gif, only downside is facing evening sun as well sweat.gif
Petre
post Mar 11 2013, 02:28 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(yamasce @ Mar 11 2013, 11:34 AM)
i would like 2 get a unit in desa uni as well but now onli 4-5 units on sale for above 400k...nobody willing to let go below 400k...there is 1 offering 380k but not sure how is the condition..
you havent seen the area? the access road behind the row of shops is somehow in bad condition. other than occasional reports of people committing suicide, i still think its a good place despite only visited it once during my lifetime. i dont know whether the place is also full of middle eastern people, sorry to be specific, but i really dislike them for being inconsiderate, noisy and bully
Petre
post Mar 18 2013, 07:04 PM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(foolc @ Mar 17 2013, 09:30 PM)
you dont know the story?

usm is now an apex university

the students are now very less (drop like 80%)

this is the reason many ppl are selling off condos surrounding usm. very hard to rent out already

you can also go survey for your self. even the coffee shop (corner one) closed down n replaced by a kopitiam which is also very empty. Apart from all this, many shops also closed down. recently, the fuji photo also closed down. s n j closed down too some time back

i was an ex usm student... so pretty familiar with this area.

not a good investment area anymore.
yup, i also hear this story first hand from shopowners. they say no longer its a good place to invest. businesses suffer, yet owners still trying to sell to unsuspecting buyers. once they kena, regret also too late... now experiencing it first hand too... it does feel not so meriah like once before...
Petre
post Apr 1 2013, 11:41 AM

Default Member Title
4,332 posts

QUOTE(LKS LZC @ Mar 30 2013, 11:39 PM)
Hi newbie here. Anyone have any good/bad comments regarding Mansion One at gurney drive by developer magna putih??
great location but hellish traffic to get there, my 2 cents. what is the package on offer?

0.0246sec    0.61    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 05:35 PM