Canon EOS 450D - New Launch Jan-24, 2008, Wow...live view, new processor........

davidmak
post Mar 3 2008, 11:24 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 3 2008, 05:27 PM)
Canon went to my uni today. Only 400D and no sign of 450D. And heck, Canon HQ sells extremely overpriced camera.
My experience is don't buy direct from Canon. Everybody knows it. They sell at recommended retail price and it is usually way off the chart. Try scouting on the local stores. You will likely get a good price. Just make sure that you only buy Canon products with the sticker 'Imported by Canon Marketing Malaysia' and insist upon the green label warranty slip. Don't get the international warranty one...it is considered gray imports by CMM.

Personally speaking, I don't know why they don't honor such a warranty. It the same thing. Probably sales restriction to protect local sales. Maybe CMM's policy.
davidmak
post Mar 7 2008, 05:14 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(bunvirus @ Mar 7 2008, 05:07 PM)
still waiting...

any new news? a date or something?
really want to buy a camera... tangan kaki hidung mata very gatal want to take picture already.. day night afternoon read about camera..
when la, when la can buy.. tongue.gif
Any chance they will debut this new model at Midvalley's Gadget Fair this weekend? I read from newspaper they will be spread throughout the whole mall. Canon has a large booth too. Try checking it out. Maybe you can land yourself on a pre-order or something. I know Nikon is showing its D60 liao.
davidmak
post Mar 8 2008, 12:03 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 7 2008, 11:20 PM)
Isn't this weekend tomorrow?
Yes! Hahaha! In fact I saw the booths on Tuesday. One of the attractions is PDA Expert because they are showcasing the Toshiba PDA phone selling at RM2199 complete with full keyboard almost like the TyTn II but without GPS lar...
davidmak
post Mar 12 2008, 07:26 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Mar 9 2008, 05:52 AM)
I dont believe they wont honor International Warranty. For ppl who study or work in Australia for example, surely they will buy in Australia right? So Canon Malaysia wont honor International Warranty for those who bring back from Australia?  What about expats too? They bring along a European set or sumthin n Canon Msia dare to deny them International Warranty? I wud think a company of such repute will not dare or want to do such things.
Yeah thats why. Its a bit stupid though. International Warranty but you don't get it if you're a Malaysian Citizen who didn't buy Malaysian Warranty. The policy is in the warranty slip though. 'Applicable only in Malaysia' or equivalent. I believe they do honor International Warranty for foreigners but I do not know how do they screen for authenticity. I know that they do require proof of purchase and they do screen serial numbers. I guess all products they imported are recorded in terms of their batch serial numbers. So there's a start.

Its actually a form of market protection they implemented though to tackle the gray importers. Believe it or not, Canon products are cheaper elsewhere than in Malaysia due to some form of import barriers the authorities implemented. So Canon Marketing Malaysia must have some form of protection for their sales.

Look through the thread around here, all of them seem to say the same. So its pretty consistent.
davidmak
post Mar 12 2008, 03:45 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(shinchan^^ @ Mar 12 2008, 03:42 PM)
fishy  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Yeah, indeed. Wonder what is the issue? unsure.gif
davidmak
post Mar 14 2008, 08:19 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 13 2008, 11:54 PM)
A used 5D, of course.
Better buy 40D new one lar. Hehehehe!

Check out ShutterAsia YL Camera section. Sometimes they have very nice used 5D for sale. 100% perfect. But must be fast because they all get gobbled up in lightning speed.
davidmak
post Mar 18 2008, 08:45 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(LordAlbel @ Mar 17 2008, 06:36 PM)
I'm also waiting for it. But the International Warranty does not work in Malaysia? Whats the definition of International Warranty then!?

The Price range is 2.6k-3.2k? Just for the body or comes with the lens?

I think launch in early April or end of April. Or not later hopefully not. Sick of waiting.

If adding up another 1K-2k for 40D, i'd suggest just sticking with 450D if under budget.

450D does have one flaw is the ISO range to 100-800. This is what i saw in reviews.
Yes, as stated by mengsuan it is true. Canon Marketing Malaysia's policy is to see the proof of purchase before providing service to your camera. As long as you have proof of purchase for that camera bought in a foreign country, they have no reasons not to deny you service. Thats the definition of International Warranty. Maybe you need to proof that you're not local or a student there and you're back in Malaysia for holiday or something. But that is easily dealt with.

Grey imports are actually the same product brought in from a foreign market and sold to people here. The proof of purchase (receipt) is usually issued by the local stores here. So that is not legitimate. Not against the law, just not in accordance to CMM's policy. CMM's policy are for items imported in by CMM which is usually denoted by a sticker 'Di import oleh Canon Marketing Malaysia' or equivalent.

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 17 2008, 07:25 PM)
I would say Canon concept store is more like letting people play around with thier product...

Thier price hard to buy la... Siao meh...  sweat.gif
Haha! Yeah I do have the same feeling. But the prices are really too much lar. Maybe they can't be competing with their distributors. Its more like a showroom and playground for you and me. Hehehe!
davidmak
post Apr 17 2008, 10:30 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(ianho @ Apr 17 2008, 09:29 AM)
I tell ur wife u got gf then u know.  tongue.gif
Aiya normal lar. Nowadays very popular. See TV/movie also got people with wives but in working place got gf, every country got one diplomatic officer, and some even got actresses. Some also available in separate pieces. Nothing new lar. Personal friend mah. We even got a handful of role models around.

Its about what do you get from your personal friends. TheVOIP, you should start a new thread about 'What do you wish for if your PERSONAL FRIEND would like to get something for you'. tongue.gif

0.0250sec    1.15    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:46 AM