6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Photography Canon EOS 300D/350D/400D/450D, Go Rebellionz - V2!, DigitalRebel XT/XTi/XSi/KISS Territory!

valho
post Feb 28 2008, 09:30 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Feb 28 2008, 12:49 AM)
Wow. Valho, you really raking in a lot of moolah ah? What company you working for? I also want to join.

I spent more than that but most of this is from my allowance from being in the US. Now only left my 77mm UV/Polariser filter.

Some ppl advise no need to get a UV filter cos there's the hood already protecting the front end, and somemore-at 77mm, the filter is expensive lah
uhhh quite ok loh, just eat maggi for the next few months loh haha. actually just budget here and there a bit after all I am single mah less commitement tongue.gif

QUOTE(vikingw2k @ Feb 28 2008, 04:35 AM)
I mean I'm the one being kiam siap for buying cheapo CPL filters instead of getting those Hoya ones. tongue.gif

Frankly, is the difference that significant?  I got a couple of Hoya , kenko, keep, and so. I don't see much difference in them(or maybe to me). sad.gif
apparently there is but never really go and try and find out what's the different, so don't really care if it's a cheapo one hehe

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 28 2008, 04:54 AM)
hehe. i just buy whatever is available la.

so now i have Hoya, Toko, Cozo UV and Raydawn CPL. i'm using 2x Toko UV for snapping paintball. tongue.gif cheap mah.

i was told that for my 10-20, i should get the thinner CPL (that one cost more) because the thicker ones would cause vignetting. hrm..........
yup wide angle need to use thinner one, hmm but those are more expensive also lo

QUOTE(davidmak @ Feb 28 2008, 07:49 AM)
Great buy mate! Have you got the diffuser too? Very good flash there... I'm sure you gonna love it.
I am loving it, but need to really learn how to use it, still noob in flash haha. didn't manage to get a diffuser, the shops all don't have the stofen for 580 so I had to go order from Shashinki

valho
post Feb 28 2008, 10:47 AM

4,967 posts

wow thanks David, very good guide there, gonna try it later when I get home. Yeah I heard of that Noise Ninja before, but haven't try it out yet
valho
post Feb 28 2008, 04:25 PM

4,967 posts

Canon cheaper lens always doesn't come with lens hood, hmm actually some of the expensive one also doesn't haha
valho
post Feb 28 2008, 09:25 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(Xannava @ Feb 28 2008, 06:16 PM)
Lolz ,currently S5 still surviving (only if I go indoor then die la). And I thought the 450D is going to inherit the 40D focusing?
450D still using 400D AF if i not mistaken which was from 30D smile.gif
cheapest way to weather seal is use plastic bag, cut one hole for the lens and lock the plastic bag using ur lens hood, another hole for the viewfinder and lock it using the viewfinder rubber frame, saw this in DCM biggrin.gif
valho
post Feb 29 2008, 09:35 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(yikyeou @ Feb 29 2008, 06:34 AM)
yeah yeah. my school photography club all using kit lens. with built in flash. =D since long ago. my friends' dad too who uses a kit lens on his 350d till now.

but no one answers my question yet.

SPEEDLITE with KIT LENS (RM1k) or TAMRON f/2.8 17-50 (RM1.3k)?

hehe.
depends whether you need the f/2.8 or not, Speedlite will bring some life to your kitlens especially indoor, but the quality and sharpness won't be anywhere near the Tamron 17-50 f/2.8
If you find that you kitlens is limiting your photography and want to replace it then go for Tamron 17-50 f/2.8
If you find the kitlens still acceptable and since you also have the 50mm, thn go for the Speedlite first
valho
post Mar 5 2008, 09:16 AM

4,967 posts

viking nice bokeh man, next time must lend me your lens and play play smile.gif
valho
post Mar 5 2008, 02:10 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 5 2008, 12:10 PM)
just nice. the cheque for my blog just arrived, RM 465! tongue.gif so i get RM 1 change.

now question is whether should i splurge on it now. rhmm.........

Added on March 5, 2008, 12:11 pmbtw how do i get to Eng Tong?
you know lobster man at SS2, Eng Tong is on the same row smile.gif
valho
post Mar 5 2008, 03:09 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 5 2008, 03:02 PM)
SS2 got lobster man? this is chau yang side or what?
i view using the extension on my browser lor.
SS2 side, behind the shop lots opposite Mobil
valho
post Mar 5 2008, 03:14 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 5 2008, 03:11 PM)
AFAIK there's only 1 mobil and it's at the corner and it's closed. around mobil are housing areas. *thinks*

sure is mobil? not BHP?
there's actually another Mobil inside, i know coz its near where i stay smile.gif

found a map to lobster man here
valho
post Mar 6 2008, 01:45 PM

4,967 posts

since so many ppl getting flashgun lately, so just to let you guys know, latest issue of Practical Photography have a section on How to use Flash, should provide some pretty good info and guide there
valho
post Mar 6 2008, 01:58 PM

4,967 posts

Nope not local Practical Photography doesn't have local version. I usually just buy when they have tutorial or articles I am interested in.
valho
post Mar 6 2008, 02:21 PM

4,967 posts

yup if can wait just save up for 580exII smile.gif
valho
post Mar 9 2008, 11:37 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Mar 9 2008, 11:34 PM)
Well, my card is CF 2GB, I really dunno what happen, and this is not the first time for me
Really bad lah. arghhhhhhhhhhhhh
I did noticed during the problematic ones... after snap, it says "busy"... for quite some time, next thing I know I lost 1hour and half of my picturesss!!!!
might be something wrong with ur CF card already, or reader got problem. I been using my 2GB since i got my cam till now nvr have this problem.
valho
post Mar 10 2008, 12:04 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Mar 10 2008, 12:02 AM)
haihh really terrible, first event shoot for me turned out like this
Really wan to understand the problem so can prevent this from happening in the future.
The last time I got my first card reader... it turned out to be defect! Went back and exchanged... dunno if it is the card reader prob
My card is still new but not sure about compatibility prob? Really sux when you prepared so long and took so many pictures (so far this is my most pic taken in a session) and just to find out.. gone!
try your fren reader, or transfer direct from camera using canon software see how it goes, that can help u isolate the problem
btw can u view all the photos in the camera ?

This post has been edited by valho: Mar 10 2008, 12:05 AM
valho
post Mar 10 2008, 09:34 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Mar 10 2008, 12:26 AM)
@valho
seems like I can't view those pic that I can't retrieve from my card. I searched for the drivers.. i think canon site dun have the original files.. only updates for download..  sweat.gif

arghhhhhhhhhhh (yeah im frustrated cos I lost my pic!!!) vmad.gif
since you can't view the photos from the camera as well, most probably the CF card is faulty, if it's new just go back to the shop to claim warranty for it. or get another card to test out.

you can get the canon zoombrowser ex here, but I am not sure which version is that though, but should be good enough. coz the software comes together with the cam in a CD, i think that's why cannot download from the website, only have the updates.
valho
post Mar 10 2008, 05:15 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Mar 10 2008, 04:59 PM)
Ok thx for the link, downloaded and i will give it a try again tonite. Last resort...
I may take back my card and change with another see how first, really a waste of my shots! What to do lah

I was really playing with the 50mm f1.8 first time yesterday, liked it very much. The DOF is really nicely done, of course after few times shot and review on my pc, now i understand when to use the big opening f1.8 together with the background object distances.. and set the blurriness to the right DOF
I hope what i just said makes sense... lol .. still beginner here and hope if I made mistake, pls do correct me so i can learn more

Btw, something silly but new for me..
even if the lens says f1.8 you can adjust to smaller aperture ie.. higher value so it will fit nicely for your DOF effects
Yep, will give it a try and try change the card.. arghh all the fusses... hope it will fix the prob
I noticed with my built-in flash, when shooting continuous in Manual mode, it can't really do a continuous shoot, I guess this is when the external flash comes in handy too...
poison!!!
of course all lens can use wide open or smaller aperture, 50mm f/1.8 works best a f/2 above and shaperness peak at f/5.6 and above. so depending on what you are shooting and the distance between you and the subject, you can choose the appropritae aperture smile.gif. the best way to do this is just like what you did, shoot at different aperture and see the result

yup built-in flash doesn't recycle fast enough for continous shooting, and it also use up your battery faster. An external flash will always be better than the built-in flash, join us on our next outing for flash poison hehe biggrin.gif
valho
post Mar 10 2008, 05:25 PM

4,967 posts

for cheaper alternative to the 85mm f/1.2 and 135 f/2 get a 85mm f/1.8 hehe not bad also or like me use a 100mm f/2.8 macro lens can macro and portrait lol

aiseh so far, form your own photogs group there loh, thn can test each other gears
valho
post Mar 11 2008, 10:19 AM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(peacezxp @ Mar 11 2008, 10:02 AM)
Hi all, got my 2nd hand 400D last month. Eager to learn from all the sifus here.  notworthy.gif

My equipment so far:
- 400D+Kit Lens
- Canon 50mm F1.8
- Canon 55-250mm F4-5.6

bro vikingw2k, pls add me to the list also. notworthy.gif
welcome, do join us for our outing for poison session biggrin.gif
valho
post Mar 12 2008, 01:33 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(davidmak @ Mar 12 2008, 01:13 PM)
I have to agree that IS is the only deciding factor for one to aim for the better one. But do remember Sigma and Tamron already has OS/VC capability. Do you think they are not looking at the EF17-55mm F2.8 IS USM? I can tell its already in the works. I just hope there is a replacement for Sigma in the form of 17/18-50mm F2.8 OS HSM EX built.. kekeke!  icon_idea.gif Priced at RM1800-2000. Its gonna have tremendous value and the scale will change significantly.  rclxms.gif

Sigma and Tamron is look at a general 18-200 zoom range as a launching and test platform. Pretty soon, they will implement into 17/18-50 and 70-200/300 range. Its only natural they would do that.
I am looking forward for that to happen, so that I can replace my 17-50 with an IS version hehe, and also a cheaper alternative to canon 70200 f/2.8 IS rclxms.gif
valho
post Mar 14 2008, 01:29 PM

4,967 posts

QUOTE(Xannava @ Mar 14 2008, 12:15 PM)
How much does a original battery cost?
cost Rm200++ forgot the exact price already

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0438sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled