4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Photography Canon EOS 300D/350D/400D/450D, Go Rebellionz - V2!, DigitalRebel XT/XTi/XSi/KISS Territory!

davidmak
post Mar 10 2008, 05:19 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Mar 10 2008, 04:59 PM)
I noticed with my built-in flash, when shooting continuous in Manual mode, it can't really do a continuous shoot, I guess this is when the external flash comes in handy too...
poison!!!
Its normal because it has a safely mechanism to protect the built-in flash head. Continuous flashing will usually increase the temperature of the element. So the system will not let you flash continuously indefinitely due to these reasons. The same applies for external flash too. But external flashes will have a larger tolerances for such torture. If you shoot in the hot afternoon with direct sunlight, the external flash will cease to fire also.

Added on March 10, 2008, 5:23 pm
QUOTE(valho @ Mar 10 2008, 05:15 PM)
of course all lens can use wide open or smaller aperture, 50mm f/1.8 works best a f/2 above and shaperness peak at f/5.6 and above. so depending on what  you are shooting and the distance between you and the subject, you can choose the appropritae aperture smile.gif. the best way to do this is just like what you did, shoot at different aperture and see the result

yup built-in flash doesn't recycle fast enough for continous shooting, and it also use up your battery faster. An external flash will always be better than the built-in flash, join us on our next outing for flash poison hehe biggrin.gif
Yup! The EF50mm F1.8 when stopped down slightly is the best and goes all the way to F5.6. But of course you loose a little bit of DOF by going 2-5.6. Also notice that if you do 1.8 and you stand close to the subject and focus onto the eyes. At some point, the eyes would be in focus but the rest of it will be in DOF. Hahaha! Very funny one. So the point is, you need to stand further a bit so that the effective DOF is usable. But standing away effectively makes framing with the 50mm less tight. Unless you reduce aperture and go closer to prevent the DOF problem.

That is why those 85L and 135L is useful here. Hahahaha! Finally I understand why TheVOIP and D-SKY prefers such primes focal lengths. Do correct me if I was wrong though. This is strictly personal observation.

This post has been edited by davidmak: Mar 10 2008, 05:23 PM
davidmak
post Mar 11 2008, 07:39 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(DjKenji @ Mar 11 2008, 06:05 AM)
hmm..
mostly bought it outside shop are selling japan version rite?
how to get know is jp version?
What do you mean? Most Canon cameras are made in Japan anyway. Unless you're talking in terms of warranty policy. We have local warranty ones and gray imports with international warranty.
davidmak
post Mar 11 2008, 09:53 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(TaQ @ Mar 11 2008, 09:17 AM)
been reading all posts ... and i m really interested to purchase a canon dslr ....  just a question .... why upgrade 400d to 40d ??? any "real" reason for it??
Well 40D introduces a lot of new features and improved performance. Most importantly they are from different categories, one on the entry level while the other is semi-professional. If you have been reading all the posts over here, even going from 400D to 30D (40D's predecessor) is a well worth upgrade already. Your expectations might not require the 40D's features though thats why you popped up this question.

My expectations that encourages me to go from 400D to 40D was as follows:

- better metering
- better AF (40D has all 9 point cross sensors with the middle one enhanced for F2.8 and below)
- better sensor characteristics
- DIGIC III and all its additional benefits
- bigger body for better handling
- additional external LCD for parameters and settings
- better ergonomics and placement of buttons
- pentaprism for brighter and larger viewfinder
- better focusing screen
- semi-weather proof sealings (not sure if this helps)
- higher flash sync
- higher maximum shutter speed
- more intelligent exposure (don't really need it though)
- spot metering (400D doesn't have one)
- larger batteries
- live view
- motorized and damped mirror flipping motion (up and down, better vibration characteristics)
- etc etc

Some of the things that attracted me lar. But picture taking wise, I don't see a big jump. Some feels this is an important point and don't see the need for an upgrade. But for me, the handling was more important. The platform to begin your lens collection is an important start.

davidmak
post Mar 11 2008, 10:08 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(peacezxp @ Mar 11 2008, 10:02 AM)
Hi all, got my 2nd hand 400D last month. Eager to learn from all the sifus here.  notworthy.gif

My equipment so far:
- 400D+Kit Lens
- Canon 50mm F1.8
- Canon 55-250mm F4-5.6

bro vikingw2k, pls add me to the list also. notworthy.gif
Welcome bro. rclxms.gif
davidmak
post Mar 11 2008, 02:36 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Mar 11 2008, 01:29 PM)
Eh... you sure about this? 17-40L f4 lose to tammy 17-50 f2.8? in sharpness? You gotta be kidding... how bout the focusing speed? i tried 17-40L, it's damn sharp.. focus also very fast.... but never tried the 17-50 f2.8...
No need to contest. Hehehee! The Tamron 17-50 F2.8 loses flat to ring USM and its noisy too. Like robots. However, for certain people focusing speed is not important if you're into general portraits. AF remains accurate in low light at F2.8 and marginally slower at F4. I've owned the lens before and that is what I have to say. Actually the performance does not differ by much. Because the AF operation is noisy, it gives the user an impression of slower AF. But I still say the ring USM is superior in many situations (depending on individual lens and model of course).
davidmak
post Mar 11 2008, 09:12 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(TaQ @ Mar 11 2008, 04:28 PM)
thanks for the very quick reply david biggrin.gif ...i am actually more curious about what are the limitations on 400d during picture taking ... compared to the 40d .... saying ... would it be possible for 40d to take some pics that 400d cant given that they have the same lense which is "average" at best and not exactly "perfect" for the conditions at hand .... cause i know that even a sony erricson k800i can take reasonabily good pics at the right conditions(of course they r NOT comparable to a dslr) ... so the whole idea of going to dslr is to take out those limitations .... where normal cams wil not suffice ... and thus from that ... whats are the limitations of 400d and 40d on lets say ... a all around lense such as 18mm-200mm sigma dc os .... ( favoring this lense over the kit - may just get body )
It is not really apple-to-apple comparison but if you want a comparison, I'm afraid you will be encouraged to upgrade! tongue.gif

Well, first the 400D is not as fast when it comes to frames per second and the number of pictures it can sustain in the buffer to begin with. The 400D has 3fps while the 40D has 6.5fps. This is quite normal because both are from different product positioning. A higher fps and larger buffers mean you can take more and risk a lower lost of opportunity when taking fast objects like birding, motorsports and etc where you can shoot in burst in hope that at least one will turn out right. The AF mechanism of the 40D is a much improved one too because it now has all 9 AF points cross-sensors with more concentration for the center point. The 400D only has a pair of cross at the center point. AF tracking will be of course better and low-light performance will be swift when couple with one of the ring-USM. The mirror flipping action is now motorized on up and down motions making the operation more damped and silent. Most importantly the mirror flipping emits lesser vibration than before which translates to sharper pictures during long exposures. You can counter this by utilizing mirror lockup and timer mode on the 400D actually.

The 400D does not have spot metering so you will need to use partial metering and zoom to a subject to take a sample. Then the metering on the 40D is more advanced and generally more intelligent. Both cameras expose whites to 18% gray so it will need the user to be experienced enough to detect this and dial in compensations. The 40D can do 1/8000 while the 400D can only do 1/4000 but I am not sure if this is useful hehehehe! One of the most important feature the 400D does not have is the sensor output. The 40D has a generally more advanced cmos sensor than the 400D and this can be translated to better exposures, color rendition and noise characteristics. ISO1600 is marginally better than 400D. If you do RAW, then you will love 40D because its sensor can now output full 14bit of information compared to 400D's 12bit. You will only get this if you do RAW, not JPEG because it is only 8bit file compression. So obviously the 40D has better dynamic range and can record more levels of information. How important is the extra 2bit is of course debatable though.

Also the 40D has better focusing screen and a brighter viewfinder - a pentaprism to be exact as opposed to the 400D's penta mirror. With a larger viewfinder, you can frame better and do manual focusing better. Doing this on the 400D is quite a challenge especially checking DOF preview. You won't notice any difference on 400D other than decrease in brightness unless you look very hard. Lastly, the handling is a lot better on the 40D because of the larger grip and heavier platform.

You see, most of my explanations above revolve around the usage and handling of 40D when compared to 400D. Personally speaking, 400D can take as good pictures as 40D when coupled with a very good lens. All 40D can help you is to give you better options and handling to help you achieve better results. Actually if you ask me, it is better to invest on better lenses than to upgrade to 40D. But at some point, you will need a 40D because of the handling limitations discussed above.
davidmak
post Mar 11 2008, 09:57 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Mar 11 2008, 09:52 PM)
400D is RM1900. 40D is ranging about RM3800 to RM4400 depending on shop. Some lousy shop outside KL even say RM5000. Canon's promotion price is RM6200 with 18-85mm IS kit lens, last weekend. 450D is expected to be RM2600 to RM2900.
Yeah very lousy price indeed. Hehehe! I think better opt for the 450D lar since it has better features and cheaper than 40D. Oh ya.. do consider the new sensor though because it now has a 12.5MP which could changed the noise characteristics. Better wait for the reviews and picture sampling before jumping the decision. Of course if you get a 40D, it would be a good choice. But the 400D is good enough.
davidmak
post Mar 12 2008, 07:31 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(jolipoli81 @ Mar 12 2008, 03:28 AM)
yeah, Canon actually made a re-statement saying its a replacement for the 350D and its publish in the star in-tech on 21st February
Very weird product positioning. xxxD should be on the same product line. So does that means all x00D is of one product line and all x50D is on another? But the 400D's features look to be an improvement over 350D while the 450D is an improvement over the 400 to me.

I guess that is a way to keep 400D on the shelves while they obsolete the 350D. So guys... the 400D will be the new low price DSLR. Lets hope they come out with some twin lens package for it.
davidmak
post Mar 12 2008, 07:49 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(dazzle @ Mar 12 2008, 07:35 AM)
Bro,

Go and try it lah.
I cross my finger.
Is true.

Added on March 12, 2008, 7:38 am
c the warranty card lah and the lens body.
Yes, the lens body will indicate where its origin. The Japan version will have a marking 'Made In Japan', while the China one will have a marking 'Assembled in China'. All materials are designed and manufactured in Japan. Thats not so important. The most important is the assembly part and calibration of lens. Cause during assembly, you wanna make sure all the lens are properly drop in and without any dust. I do think they have a calibration jig to perform tuning and stuff to the Japanese counterpart's standards. But the problem is inconsistencies all happen for the lenses assembled in China. So you may want to avoid those. But thats old news and long time ago, so I don't about today's though.

The Tamron 17-50 F2.8 is indeed a good lens, hands down. Some even go to the extend of comparing with Canon EF-S 17-55mm F2.8 IS USM! But any difference between them will be very fine and debatable. But Canon is better here because of the IS and sharp wide open. The Tamron can be slightly soft at the edges but goes very sharp when stopped down a little to F4.
davidmak
post Mar 12 2008, 01:13 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 12 2008, 12:09 PM)
Just add a note, when the lights go down.... the Canon 17-55 f2.8 IS beat all equivalents lenses.

I had used it a number of times at ISO1600 @ f2.8~f3.5 , 1/8 and consistencely good result as long as the subjects do not move around. Just tell them dun simply move la... thumbup.gif 

But of course, when the sun rise back again, Tammy shine again with its higher value for money la...
I have to agree that IS is the only deciding factor for one to aim for the better one. But do remember Sigma and Tamron already has OS/VC capability. Do you think they are not looking at the EF17-55mm F2.8 IS USM? I can tell its already in the works. I just hope there is a replacement for Sigma in the form of 17/18-50mm F2.8 OS HSM EX built.. kekeke! icon_idea.gif Priced at RM1800-2000. Its gonna have tremendous value and the scale will change significantly. rclxms.gif

Sigma and Tamron is look at a general 18-200 zoom range as a launching and test platform. Pretty soon, they will implement into 17/18-50 and 70-200/300 range. Its only natural they would do that.
davidmak
post Mar 12 2008, 02:03 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(valho @ Mar 12 2008, 01:33 PM)
I am looking forward for that to happen, so that I can replace my 17-50 with an IS version hehe, and also a cheaper alternative to canon 70200 f/2.8 IS  rclxms.gif
Yeah! I'm sure that is going to happen sooner or later. I remember Sigma releasing a lens somewhere around that 70-300 range but with OS. Forgot the model. Anyone?
davidmak
post Mar 12 2008, 02:11 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Mar 12 2008, 02:09 PM)
But Optically, might not be equivalent.....
As in?
davidmak
post Mar 12 2008, 05:16 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(julchin_09 @ Mar 12 2008, 05:13 PM)
I meant in terms of quality and compatibility......  sweat.gif

Your ARE competiting against an L Lens..... flex.gif And one of the best to be exact.....
Hehehe I hope Tamron and Sigma can at least match in by the inclusion of OS/VC with the focal ranges. At least come near 17-55 2.8 IS and at an affordable price. I'm sure a lot of people is waiting for this solution.
davidmak
post Mar 14 2008, 07:24 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Mar 14 2008, 01:52 AM)
Anyone have good links to flash photography? My friend always say that my flashgun the flash too powerful till her eyes @_@ lol
One of those links recommended here and this one --> http://planetneil.com/tangents/flash-photography-techniques/

Step by step tutorials. If you're serious, then get this month's Practical Photography (Imported) Magazine. Its around RM30. This month they have flash tutorials in five projects for you to follow. Good luck.
davidmak
post Mar 14 2008, 10:51 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(Shoot@M3 @ Mar 14 2008, 06:22 PM)
For our Canon 350D and 400D, we have Partial metering only.. too bad we do not have spot metering
Partial works like spot but more larger area. Spot is much more accurate
Someone explained to me before on this
Ya, no spot metering. But spot metering can be tricky to use at times. If you want to use it, you can duplicate the same results with partial metering. You can zoom into the spot you want to meter and then take a reading. Then you zoom out, reframe and shoot.

QUOTE(hornetEJ @ Mar 14 2008, 06:53 PM)
Let's see... today I learned about 3rd party batteries, using wireless transmitter to help with AF, bouncing flash off white shirt, and keep away pricing info from the "Finance Minister" tongue.gif biggrin.gif thumbup.gif
Always use a lower price or state a higher discount. Or better, say you sold off your old lens and got major savings for the new item you bought. Hahahaha!

QUOTE(vincent_audio @ Mar 14 2008, 09:42 PM)
normal hoya UV for kitlens and budget lens
Pro1 for expensive & luxury lens (L)
hoya HMC, in the middle

if u see no difference, stick to cheapo
Yes you are right. The only time we use a better quality one is where we don't want the new filter to create new flaring and reflection issues. Thats why the normal Hoya multi-coated is ok for use liao. If you worried that your usage might scratch the filter, then you can opt for a high resistance coating that is scratch resistant. Or just throw and buy a new one because it is so cheap.
davidmak
post Mar 15 2008, 02:06 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(arshad @ Mar 15 2008, 12:26 PM)
Haha good lor. If too far not worth it plus traffic jam. tongue.gif
Price not that much difference lar. Sometimes if price so close and competitive I would look for convenience of buying one. Why go so far to get a saving of RM10?
davidmak
post Mar 18 2008, 08:51 AM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 17 2008, 12:33 PM)
I used to have the Canon 10-22 and I love it... Main thing I love about it is that... it is so light!

Correct me if I am wrong. I think Canon 10-22 is the lightest super wide... and some more 400D is also a light weight camera... So both of them combine make sense la...  icon_rolleyes.gif 

light weight + light weight = still light weight!  tongue.gif
Bro be careful there when stating 'the lightest', 'the best', etc hahahahaha! You know.. you know... tongue.gif

But I completely agree with you. Canon's 10-22 is really not bad. But I'm very excited about Sigma's 10-20 too.

QUOTE(R a D ! c 4 L @ Mar 17 2008, 12:23 PM)
Yeah, the sigma 10-20mm, or Tokina 12-24mm

Or,

You can wait for tamron's 10-24mm, or get the more expensive tokina 11-16mm smile.gif

my suggestion? tamron's 10-24mm tongue.gif because i just wanna know its performance laugh.gif
When is Tamron's 10-24 releasing? But I generally prefers Sigma now because of the distance meters and built. I wonder the 10-24 has similar construction too and not a moving focusing ring?

QUOTE(derek87 @ Mar 17 2008, 02:53 PM)
Bros.. anyone want my flash? selling it!!! fast fast come grab..
Bro! Good flash there. A lot of people in dpreview recommends it.
davidmak
post Mar 18 2008, 01:02 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Mar 18 2008, 12:06 PM)
I dun care if the 40D still can survice.... really dun care....  sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
Yo whats your problem till have to do that? tongue.gif You cannot jump now, must wait till you get the 1D Mark III and 5D replacement. Then only your wish is fulfilled mah. cool2.gif
davidmak
post Mar 18 2008, 01:09 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Mar 18 2008, 01:03 PM)
you want to jump, jump from 40D to 5D or 1D or something. or jump brands. just don't jump tall buildings. no good.
Ya no good. Bad for the building owners. But do remember to tell me where you store your personal lens collection. Would like to get my hands all over them. icon_rolleyes.gif
davidmak
post Mar 19 2008, 01:33 PM

~ di di Android di di ~
3,749 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Mar 19 2008, 12:58 PM)
yeah...now i wanna know if i should get body only or with EFS 17-85IS...and then sell the lens for better price...
Get the full kit with EFS17-85mm F4-5.6 IS USM. Its a good walkaround lens. Keep it. Unless you already got it or something similar.

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0490sec    0.57    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 04:18 AM