5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The ZERO DAC + Headamp (NO 56K), OWNERS!!! REPORT IN!!!!

RAV4
post Jul 17 2008, 03:00 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(foongchinboon @ Jul 16 2008, 11:22 PM)
GodLuvSxS..
wen u going start d 4th bulk? smile.gif
Yes, GodLuv! Last night my friend scolded me for not telling him about this bulk and asked me if still can get 1 unit so another order here if you're gonna do another bulk. rclxms.gif
RAV4
post Jul 18 2008, 08:16 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 17 2008, 07:48 PM)
statement 1 : Yeah. Your fren scolded u for not recommending.
Statement 2 : After u recomended, he also scold you bcos u cause him to SPEND $$$$.
Statement 3 : So when he listened to ZERO and found the ZERO no good, he will scold you also.
Statement 4 : But if the ZERO is damn good, refer to statement 1.

In anyway u do, u are scolded. That's what frens are FOR.
Obviously spoken from experience! BTW, now I have to help him find the OPA627 or else he don't want the Zero coz "if Marantz uses Burr Brown on their CDP, it can't go wrong". doh.gif

So mikelanding, any chance of getting another set? ANYBODY out there who wants to sell your OPA627??? Thanks.

RAV4
post Jul 22 2008, 02:43 PM

859 posts

ccschua sold his Zero to focus on a better DAC? I just came across DIY Paradise's Monica DAC, which got RAVE reviews from lots of people. Another relatively cheap DAC that can compete with the likes of Naim, Musical Fidelity and even Chord! They will be at the AV Show and perhaps ccschua will be on a shopping spree? biggrin.gif
RAV4
post Jul 22 2008, 05:32 PM

859 posts

mikelanding, thanks bro! Can't wait till our Zero land!!! Arrghhh... 12 days seem so far away now...
RAV4
post Jul 22 2008, 06:13 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 22 2008, 04:18 PM)
Yes. That was a promise to gatevalve that I sold my DAC. I have in fact bought 2 more ZERO DAC from GodluvsXs, refer to the bulk thread. 1 ZERO DAC is for a nice guy who has a >RM 30k setup in his possession. (not nice to disclose who lah, he just want to use it for headphone)

Dont forget, ZERO dac still has room for improvement. component upgrade/output stage bypass as well as HDAM, and a mysterious opamp someone is working on, headphone like Grado reference, etc

zero fan is growing to ZERO clan.

I believe in value for money, Zero is proof. and they are many other things that can be value for money, such as Asylum power cord.
Opps... and I thought ccschua was going to abandon ship and move to more expensive DAC. Thanks for sharing all these precious info on moddings. notworthy.gif I hope to start upgrading soon after burning in my unit.

BTW, i found Asylum from www.diycable.com. Are they available locally with UK plug?
RAV4
post Jul 23 2008, 12:00 PM

859 posts

mikelanding, 2 x OPA627AP on double socket received via POS Laju. Thanks again for organizing the bulk!!! Let me know if got any spare. Friend of mine wants 1 set too.
RAV4
post Jul 23 2008, 11:29 PM

859 posts

I've been researching on the HDAM at Head-Fi since ccschua mentioned it a few days earlier. Everyone who has tried it seems to be very happy with the SQ. But ccschua also mentioned that a new opamp that can be even better will be out in a few months....

So... ccschua, we wait for the new opamp or we start a bulk on the HDAM? sweat.gif
RAV4
post Jul 25 2008, 10:05 AM

859 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jul 25 2008, 09:47 AM)
Hi Abel,

Anywhere to get an used zero dac ?

Thinking of bulk order, but taking  too long to wait.
SKY, why don't you PM GodLuv? He might be able to help you source a unit. Cheers.
RAV4
post Jul 25 2008, 09:53 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 25 2008, 06:07 PM)
Just got the power cord (so called Asylum). From external, I know this power cord make my stock cable to dust. going to try soon.
Eh? Where did you get it from? I saw QED power cord going for 300 from 420. Was quite tempted but remember reading on What HiFi review so-so only. Then saw Merlin Tarantula and the quote was 420. Also saw Transparent cheapest power cord at 368 but with US plug. At the end, I was lazy to go back all the way up so didn't get any power cord. I was hoping to be able to audition Sennheiser HD280 Pro but nobody selling. Tried a Beyer that's about 480 but sound was so harsh.
RAV4
post Jul 26 2008, 11:03 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Jul 25 2008, 09:58 PM)
Do they have any QED Silver Anniversary XT Speaker cables or Chord Rumor 2 ?
Not too sure but CMY had a huge range of QED cables. Don't remember seeing Chord.

Added on July 26, 2008, 11:07 pm
QUOTE(ccschua @ Jul 26 2008, 12:41 PM)
These are the power cord I ordered Volex 17604 --

First, I'll state that I do not consider these industrial, mass produced, low margin 14gaX3 shielded powercords to be an 'upgrade', but rather, they are the minimally acceptable powercords for audio use (which is why I'm posting this in the General Asylum). For whatever reasons, vendors generally provide generic 18 or 16ga PCs, and I've never encountered a situation where the Volex 17604 or 17605 (2 and 3 meters) have not produced a major improvement in all areas, soundstaging, resolution, dynamics, extension, emotion.....Simply put, everything is 'mo betta'.
These powercords are ideal for anyone who wants to judge whether powercords actually make a difference or for judging what value a more 'bespoke' and expensive cord is providing.
Comparisons - In comparison to the 'Asylum' cord, the latter provides higher resolution, which may be attributable to the removal of the plummyness imparted to the bass (in comparison to most OEM cords, the Volex bass is tighter and more resolving). But realize that a premade 'Asylum' cord will cost about 10x as much, or if you DIY, each major component, the cable, plug, IEC, will cost as much as a complete Volex cord. My own DIY starquad powercords (IMO) and many other aftermarket cords are substantially better, but whaddaya expect for <$1/ft for the whole dang cord?

If you're unsure as to whether powercords make a difference, want maximum bang for the buck, or want a cheap baseline for evaluating audio specific cords, do yourself a favor and buy the Volexs. Many electronic distributors cary them - Allied, Newark, etc...

---

However, I am disappointed it is not Belden cable as used in the Asymlum power cord. As to how much improvement, I think it does not sound clear to me, but I will just leave this power cord to the ZERO DAC. For less than RM 50, I think it barely meets value for money. Alternative is to replace the stock plug and connector.
For that price, I can replace the cord for my Audiolab and also the Zero! Thanks for sharing as always ccschua! BTW, don't these electronic distributors carry the Belden used in Asylum power cord? If not, I'm sure they can be found in Singapore...

This post has been edited by RAV4: Jul 26 2008, 11:07 PM
RAV4
post Jul 30 2008, 01:04 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jul 30 2008, 11:31 AM)

How much a coaxial cable costs ? A value for money one. Where to buy ?

I saw someone trying to sell a used one for more than RM 600, costs more than zero dac.

Mind to share.
I think CMY was selling the cheapest QED coax around 200+ at the AV show. Maybe you should go to Sungei Wang to check out the few audio stores there on what's available. Stay away from Monster tho. Most have shared that their product in general colours the sound.
RAV4
post Jul 31 2008, 11:46 AM

859 posts

abel, how much do u wanna sell your 827 for?

Added on July 31, 2008, 12:55 pm
QUOTE(abel @ Jul 30 2008, 01:52 PM)
hifi is very expensive hobbies .... dont get poison .... smile.gif
once poison u get addicted

my cap just arrived who want to mod
i have Elna Silmic II 47uf 50v interested pls let me know

Hi Abel, which cap would these be suitable for on the Zero?

This post has been edited by RAV4: Jul 31 2008, 12:55 PM
RAV4
post Aug 5 2008, 11:29 AM

859 posts

QUOTE(DEz012 @ Aug 5 2008, 10:28 AM)
Anyone here has receive the DAC from 3rd bulk?
I have been Pm GodLoveSxS but he seems to be missing from 2 august.
Huh? Most of us collected our units on Sunday at KL Sentral as per his PM. Didn't you check-in here for updates?

Added on August 5, 2008, 11:33 am
QUOTE(ccschua @ Aug 4 2008, 08:20 PM)
Price:
        OPA-EARTH  Dual OPA   USD22.5/1 unit   (24*24*40)
        OPA-EARTH  Single OPA  USD12/1 unit   (24*11*40)

OPA-SUN  Dual OPA   USD30/1 unit   (24*24*40)
        OPA-SUN  Single OPA  USD16/1 unit   (24*11*40)
                        (Without Postage)

Extension lead of the OPA, price only  add  USD3/unit,
Wah... ccschua bringing more poison to the thread! USD30 is a lot more reasonable than what those fellas are paying in the US (Head-Fi), which is USD50. Another bulk on the horizon?

Added on August 5, 2008, 11:40 am
QUOTE(InF.anime @ Aug 4 2008, 07:32 PM)
Zero DAC pair with normal cdp can produce nice sound quality like a RM2k player?
Zero will improve the SQ, yes, but don't expect miracles. Hoping to pair it with a RM300 DVD player to achieve the SQ of a RM2k is frankly quite tough. Gatevalve have recently tested the Marantz CD5001 + Zero and found it to be almost on par with CD6002 which cost about 1.4k. He then tested CD6002 + Zero and found that it's almost on par with the 2.5k KI Sig. Further testing on KI Sig with and without Zero, cannot hear much difference so he bought CD6002. Hope this helps.

This post has been edited by RAV4: Aug 5 2008, 11:46 AM
RAV4
post Aug 6 2008, 05:15 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(abel @ Aug 5 2008, 05:22 PM)
wut i found 63-KI is different character compare to current KI smile.gif

how the opa827
Have not even powered up the Zero yet. Not much time to do it at home, that's why I wanted the USB converter so I can do the burn-in at the office and cart it home after burn-in... now will take a lot longer at home. Will only try the 827 after burn-in so can do another round of checking. I also have the 627 to compare with. Now waiting for ccschua to burn-in his Earth & Sun and give us the review so can have another upgrade.

Added on August 6, 2008, 8:53 pm
QUOTE(abel @ Aug 5 2008, 05:22 PM)
wut i found 63-KI is different character compare to current KI smile.gif

how the opa827
Have not even powered up the Zero yet. Not much time to do it at home, that's why I wanted the USB converter so I can do the burn-in at the office and cart it home after burn-in... now will take a lot longer at home. Will only try the 827 after burn-in so can do another round of checking. I also have the 627 to compare with. Now waiting for ccschua to burn-in his Earth & Sun and give us the review so can have another upgrade.

This post has been edited by RAV4: Aug 6 2008, 08:53 PM
RAV4
post Aug 7 2008, 10:28 AM

859 posts

GodLuv, I'm OK with the top up. Will update on my friend when he confirms. When can this unit arrive? Zero now sitting at home coz no time to burn-in. My plan was to leave in office running 24hours via notebook. Thanks.

Added on August 7, 2008, 11:32 amOK, my friend confirm top up RM15. I'll do the RM30 transfer later today. Please let me know when the unit can be shipped. Thanks.

This post has been edited by RAV4: Aug 7 2008, 11:32 AM
RAV4
post Aug 11 2008, 09:32 PM

859 posts

OK, I'm gonna do a quick review since I don't have much time to listen to the Zero. Managed to hook it up just after lunch today since I was off. My initial impression:

Off the bat, there was an overall improvement to the sound quality. I heard better details, instrument separation was more distinct and the voice, was like a veil has been lifted. Cleaner, clearer and more vibrant. Man... I didn't realize my DVD player was that bad... and the Zero have not even been burn-in yet.

My setup:

Toshiba DVD (7yrs old) -> Zero toslink cable -> Zero DAC -> XLO interconnect -> Audiolab 8000A -> Audioquest Indigo -> Bose AM5-II Bass Module -> VdH CS122 -> Bose AM5-II Satellites

This post has been edited by RAV4: Aug 12 2008, 10:29 PM
RAV4
post Aug 13 2008, 12:23 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(yehlai @ Aug 12 2008, 05:40 PM)
Hi RAV4, it should be 8000A happy.gif
you are not using NAD 320BEE meh?
How is Audiolab 8000A compare with your 320BEE?
Yup, fixed.
My Audiolab is like 17 years old it still sounds good. Friend of mine has the "original" Made in England NAD which has a nice warm sound but since it's only 30W per channel, needs proper pairing with more efficient speaker. The 8000A even though is rated at 60W, have been tested to push more than 80W so it has no problem driving more difficult speakers. 8000A is known to be neutral and transparent so having the Zero is very useful for tuning the sound as the 8000A will just amplify whatever that is sent to it.

I tried some R&B last night and found the treble a little harsh, as what ccschua mentioned when the Zero is not properly burned in. Otherwise, the sound is like I have upgraded to a nice CDP. 2 hours+ of burn-in and I'm already enjoying the improvement! rclxms.gif
RAV4
post Aug 13 2008, 04:24 PM

859 posts

*double post*

This post has been edited by RAV4: Aug 13 2008, 04:43 PM
RAV4
post Aug 14 2008, 06:56 PM

859 posts

QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Aug 14 2008, 11:53 AM)
They mentioned 100uF 25v OS-CON

Anyway, waiting for Chua's Earth and Sun impression soon since he's playing with them ATM biggrin.gif So far his initial impression for "Earth" are "natural, smooth, neutral and transparent, it's like one step better from his OPA627ed ZERO, kinda like from a Proton jump to a Honda biggrin.gif

Added on August 14, 2008, 2:39 pmHi guys .... I'm here to announce start of Sun and Earth discrete opamp bulk because the factory is offering buy 1 Sun free 1 Earth promotion before 31st this month ... you paid for 1 and you get 2!!!!

Pricing  :
RM99 (USD30 x 3.3) for 1 "Sun" FREE 1 "Earth"

shipping and tax :
RM99 (USD30 x 3.3) DHL (7-10days arrival) shipping for 10 pairs. If getting taxed, fees will be divided between buyer smile.gif You guys pay me the discrete opamp's money first, once the stock arrived and settled, then only I will calculate the shipping fees smile.gif
Wah... ccschua have not even posted his review and you've started your bulk? But buy 1 free 1 is very tempting indeed. This discrete opamp is similar with the HDAM right? Meaning the cover can't be closed after installing it? Maybe ccschua can share on that?
RAV4
post Aug 14 2008, 11:08 PM

859 posts

GodLuv, count me in for 2 sets please!

ccschua, THANKS for sharing good stuffs and making us poorer! tongue.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0406sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 02:27 AM