15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

The ZERO DAC + Headamp (NO 56K), OWNERS!!! REPORT IN!!!!

GodLuvSxS
post Jan 30 2008, 09:26 PM

1,359 posts

Guys, I have found some source for opa627, USD11 ~ 16/piece for new one (shipping not included), some used one for serious value of just around RM20/piece, interested? brows.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Jan 30 2008, 10:37 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Jan 30 2008, 10:01 PM)
Interested on it but I have no idea on how to swap them sad.gif
QUOTE(kwekeugene @ Jan 30 2008, 10:08 PM)
So for the Zero I would need 2 OPA627 and a Browndog adapter right?

Do you think can get the OPA627 already soldered on the browndog adapter, I lack the tools and probably the skill to assemble it myself sad.gif
To swap opa627 into ZERO, you guys need 2 opa627 and soldered on browndog adapter, I found some soldered 627 on browndog, will research more before update you guys with the price smile.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Jan 31 2008, 12:44 AM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(LittleGhost @ Jan 30 2008, 11:54 PM)
OPA627BP? or AP?
USD11 for BP & USD16 for AP smile.gif

QUOTE(ccschua @ Jan 31 2008, 12:16 AM)
Test Seven:  Burr Brown OPA 627 BP on Browndog adaptor  Price: £28 each (Total £56 for 2 singles) Browndog adaptor £5    Total: £61

Two words sum this chip up........ "absolute class" This is the only single chip in the test (the rest all being duals) and it was necessary to fit two single channel 627's onto a single to dual Browndog adaptor which Adapts two single-channel DIP-8 op-amps to a dual DIP-8 pinout.  These 2 single channel op amps absolutely trounced anything that had gone before them in this test..... the width of the soundstage, the clarity and the sheer presence make this my choice of op amp for use in the Chiarra without a shadow of a doubt. The sound is just so "clean", so "natural", so "musical" and so "detailed" with the 627's on board. I said the AD 823 was "as close to headphone heaven I have yet been" The Burr Brown 627 "is" headphone heaven....... absolute class act. 10 / 10
wow look at this review, it is BP. must do the browndog lah. his price too high, who can get cheper..

Is this the browndog adapter you guys mentioning about? Normally how much does this thing cost? I need some reference to nego with the seller if that thing is browndog adapter smile.gif Seriously if those who are really serious about getting the best out of ZERO dac, should consider swap in OPA627 for the DAC section, 2 x OPA627 BP = USD22 plus another small fees for browndog adapter and perhaps some fees for DIY sifu to help u guys solder in, i think the cost should be just around RM100 and you get one of the best sound biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Jan 31 2008, 11:55 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(GodLuvSxS @ Jan 31 2008, 12:44 AM)
USD11 for BP & USD16 for AP smile.gif

Is this the browndog adapter you guys mentioning about? Normally how much does this thing cost? I need some reference to nego with the seller if that thing is browndog adapter smile.gif Seriously if those who are really serious about getting the best out of ZERO dac, should consider swap in OPA627 for the DAC section, 2 x OPA627 BP = USD22 plus another small fees for browndog adapter and perhaps some fees for DIY sifu to help u guys solder in, i  think the cost should be just around RM100 and you get one of the best sound biggrin.gif
LOL still no ppl confirm with me that the thingie inside the picture is browndog adapter?
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 1 2008, 12:50 AM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Feb 1 2008, 12:48 AM)
yes..it is a browndog adapter..But need to take note izzit socket or solder on...
For opamp rolling, end user will prefer socket type...smile.gif
That one is DIP brows.gif Mike, how much you spent on this? Seriously i think i got a nice price biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 2 2008, 06:55 PM

1,359 posts

LOL dual opa627 assembled on browndog for less than RM100 is tempting, i might consider to get one unit for my self LOL Mike, I will let you know my decision by 2moro tongue.gif poison poison
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 5 2008, 06:08 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Feb 4 2008, 02:11 PM)
All had paid up!!..Nice nice rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Buyer list for Browndow Adapter (10 units only):
1. mikelanding - 3 units
2. nicholas_1213  - 3 units (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid]
3. Kyl3 - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid]
4. kwekeugene - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid]
5. ccschua - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid]
6. stormspider - 1 unit (+2 OPA627AP) [Paid]

Left 0 units..pls dun feel sorry!!

For those who want OPA627AP (USD14 per pcs) or OPA637BP (USD15) excluding poslaju to your doorstep, still can order coz I will final confirm with my oversea friend around 11.pm tonite. HUrry or be sorry later..tongue.gif
Wow so many ppl getting the opa627, hype of the month tongue.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 6 2008, 03:30 PM

1,359 posts

Guess what arrived today! LME49720, all eight pieces inside the tube biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 7 2008, 09:50 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(dark_evilz @ Feb 7 2008, 09:18 PM)
is this dac can be plug to other source, say mp3 player or dvd player...
if can, how?? coz i juz saw only spdif input at the dac..
Normally DAC just accept signal then connect to the amplifier, the DAC only got RCA out, if your mp3 player or DVD player accepts RCA in, then you need a RCA to RCA cable. If accept mini stereo, then you need RCA to mini cable smile.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 10 2008, 08:03 PM

1,359 posts

Emm .... I'm wondering did mADmAN send his unit for mod these few days? CNY is near to the end, any late comers wanna join us? tongue.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 12 2008, 01:32 AM

1,359 posts

Wow, poison is here! Too bad the DAC still got 5 more days to start shipping sad.gif This is a freaking long CNY!

EDIT: 12th Feb, I just received a call from LT's Malaysia representative, emm .... those LT sample opamp unit is able to reach me by next week time tongue.gif Anyone else getting the LT sample unit?

This post has been edited by GodLuvSxS: Feb 12 2008, 11:36 AM
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 12 2008, 01:02 PM

1,359 posts

mADmAN: I think the LT guy would contact you within these few days, cos if i'm not wrong we order roughly about the same day. He ask me about the usage of opamp, i said for Project, my college year-end project! a DAC project! LOL! Gosh, please forgive me for cheating a few FREE opamp tongue.gif

Anyway, looking forward to your hard-modded ZERO DAC brows.gif

This post has been edited by GodLuvSxS: Feb 12 2008, 01:03 PM
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 13 2008, 01:57 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 13 2008, 12:40 PM)
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

im currently ZERO-less til friday cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif

ZERO-less till friday but HAPPY-ness till forever! abit over here! tongue.gif

Any guys here receive phone call from LT? Once my unit is here, will update u guys with the sound signature, hope that it's warm and smooth as OPA627, detail as LM4562 yet punchy as AD opamp! tongue.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 13 2008, 07:02 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(mikelanding @ Feb 13 2008, 06:51 PM)
Good new!!!
The OPA627AP had arrived safely!!
Picture time!!!

I asked my friend to sent me more OPA627AP. So any1 who need can pst me. USD14 per piece + Rm6 poslaju fee.

I also got myself 4X OPA602AP. Just want to test out, compare to OPA627AP later...tongue.gif
Wow, U got totally 24 pieces out there!!!! I thought u guys ordering only 10 pieces! I might need four OPA627AP, getting for my friend! Will come back to you very soon tongue.gif

This post has been edited by GodLuvSxS: Feb 13 2008, 07:05 PM
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 15 2008, 03:02 AM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(utellme @ Feb 14 2008, 05:49 PM)
I only hope zero DAC sound qlty suit my hearing.  Top up another 3 sockets (RM300) into zero DAC, slightly expensive to me.  sad.gif
I think the ZERO dac quality would satisfy you well, you can slowly play with it smile.gif

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 14 2008, 06:11 PM)
shocking.gif crap....thats friggin expensive.

spend money on DAC + spending money for empires mod + the OPA627 = moneyflies.gif

forget it....id rather use the money and buy more DAC's laugh.gif
LOL i think a OPA627 upgrade at the DAC section would be more than enough, should try the LM4562 at the headamp section since it's capable of driving high ohm headphone like your DT990 smile.gif

QUOTE(ccschua @ Feb 14 2008, 09:52 PM)
oooppps  I never know we need 3 sets. Now can u tell me, do I need this OPA627 for the Preamp stage, i mean just output to amplifier and speakers (no head fi)

is it easy to swap the browndog? u need a crocodile clip right.
Well, you only need 1 set if you connect the DAC to amplifier and speaker smile.gif Ok, let me explain about this, inside the ZERO dac there are 3 set of opamp, one at the DAC section then another two at the headamp section. I guess change the DAC section's opamp to OPA627 is more than enough cos IMHO OPA627 at the headamp is abit overkill since I believe the headamp not quite state of the art design smile.gif

I think browndog is kinda plug and play thing, i'm not quite sure about the crocodile clip, let expert explain about this biggrin.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 15 2008, 03:43 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 15 2008, 02:41 PM)
wheeeeeeeeeeee
got my DAC back from empy!!! time to test it a lil biggrin.gif

empy....post the mods u did pls

people ask me i wont know oso laugh.gif
Wow, serious poison!!!!! An internal pic would be great! biggrin.gif

GodLuvSxS
post Feb 17 2008, 05:20 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(ccschua @ Feb 17 2008, 01:43 PM)
got picture and review or not? how is the burn in?

is the delivery news of Zero available. is the browndog ready to deliver to us ?
Delivery news of ZERO should be updated within next two days smile.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 20 2008, 12:26 AM

1,359 posts

Sorry for late announcement! As promised I'm here to let you guys know about the latest status:

As what I mentioned last time, too bad the stock unable to reach my supplier's hand by 3rd of February and the whole China is having mostly 2 weeks holiday since that day, and the logistic service my supplier used just back to normal activity on this Monday, so the stock is now on the way to the supplier, and it would reach by this Friday.

The supplier promised to send it out on Monday, I know you guys have been waiting long but hope that you guys understand the situation, all these China people have been in dilemma due to sudden snow bizarre and they nearly unable to balik kampung for CNY dude to transportation owned by the snow bizarre sad.gif

Anyway, that's all I could let you guys be updated, any latest update I will post it up ASAP smile.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 21 2008, 01:02 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(dark_evilz @ Feb 21 2008, 10:36 AM)
no problem man, we all be patient.... its worth the wait...  thumbup.gif
Thanks thumbup.gif
QUOTE(Kyl3 @ Feb 21 2008, 11:51 AM)
willing to wait but i'm going back to hometown for 2 months starting march
don think will bring back sad.gif
Emm ... anyway I will contact you once the stock arrive smile.gif
GodLuvSxS
post Feb 21 2008, 02:15 PM

1,359 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Feb 21 2008, 02:09 PM)
patience guys....itll be worth it.

trust me biggrin.gif
thumbup.gif How's your modded ZERO sounds so far? Any improvement after few days of burning-in?

15 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0387sec    0.41    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 04:38 AM