11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

open casing not good?, true or false

ejoylovers
post Feb 24 2008, 04:28 AM

337 posts

i like to open my side panel...looking good so far..i open 4 last 6month..
nothing nesting in my pc...
overclockalbert
post Feb 24 2008, 07:13 AM

1,058 posts

i have to open my side panel in this moment so that i can using a blower fan to cool down my north bridge. still waiting the TR chipset cooler to
arrived.

Aquariusdenz
post Feb 26 2008, 12:14 AM

1,533 posts

my processor ever once rise to 56C.. but ever since i add in VIZO cooling fan in my casing then the highest temperature is only 46C... haha
ocz
post Feb 26 2008, 12:50 AM

Cinematographer
2,827 posts

Open or close case depends on the user.If your using WC in a air-conditioned room,use a casing.
If you use a air-cooling in a hot temperature room,open the case. smile.gif
hengmy
post Feb 26 2008, 09:24 PM

1,991 posts

ya.. if dont have air con, open case does decrease the temp quite alots..
emilz
post Feb 27 2008, 01:57 AM

1,377 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Feb 26 2008, 09:24 PM)
and u can add up table fan face the rig brows.gif

it also help decrease the temp nod.gif
FuiLo
post Feb 27 2008, 02:36 AM

252 posts

QUOTE(hengmy @ Feb 26 2008, 09:24 PM)
Agree wif bro hengmy nod.gif ..in a non-air conditioned room..opened case might lower the temp..
tcchuin
post Feb 27 2008, 06:59 PM

511 posts

well...i think it helps reducing teh temp if teh casing dont havegood intake fan..and...erm...opening saide panel of casing like Cm COSMOS S...will only affect its airflow....
goldfries
post Feb 27 2008, 09:24 PM

40K Club
Forum Admin
44,415 posts

put it like this la.

casing best closed. but if casing airflow really suck, then you really no choice but have to open la. smile.gif
Enigma_Angel
post Mar 7 2008, 03:58 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(goldfries @ Feb 27 2008, 09:24 PM)
put it like this la.

casing best closed. but if casing airflow really suck, then you really no choice but have to open la. smile.gif
Agree with this too. If ur worried bout casing, chances are that ur not one to go for cheapo vanilla cases, right? Decent cases are usually pretty well designed for ventilation (except for some). If ur having problems with heat, then maybe u can manage ur wires a bit (with cable ties or tape for cheap fixes), add some fans (need some ventilation planning) and a better thermal solution for ur proc (heatsnk, fan, wcool, etc). That shouldnt pose a problem thumbup.gif
jerangkungliar
post Mar 11 2008, 01:15 AM

50 posts

i totally disagree
Vervain
post Mar 11 2008, 02:13 AM

Scathach
5,464 posts

Why? good ventilation means better heat dissipation out of the case. open case means better moderation of heat. but that doesn't mean heat will go out due to no exchange flow or wind to swap difference in atmospheric temperature. Unless you blow with a table fan.
mamba
post Mar 12 2008, 07:40 AM

338 posts

if open always make sure no spider web la tongue.gif
HughieRmX
post Mar 12 2008, 08:20 AM

::.. ♬|♪ HaRdC0Re TrAnCE AddiCT ♬|♪..::
3,394 posts

Hmm.. based on your question stated for TS ..
I would prefer to use other sorts of cooling method instead of opening the CPU side cover to expose to the air ... smile.gif
Avoiding it from being exposed to risk .. and there isn't much difference with the temp. unless you turn on the aircon or maybe a few fans blowing on it ... sweat.gif

Cheers ~
Enigma_Angel
post Mar 12 2008, 11:11 AM

55 posts

On thermal performance, as usual, google for ur target case's reviews first before getting anything. If u already have a case and wanna make do with it, then ur choices other than an open case is thru modding, adding cooling components, and or rearranging ur stuff inside. Thats all i can think of anyway hmm.gif
justin78
post Mar 12 2008, 05:01 PM

179 posts

I always believe opening the casing (opening the side panel) while it's operating is the best cooling method but this will produce 2 disadvantages:

1. Fan noise generated from your cpu and power supply.
2. Collecting dust.

So to overcome these 2 problem, u can always change the cpu or power supply fan to a after market low rpm fan, and then while the PC is not operating u can temporary close the side panel to avoid dust.
ronho
post Mar 12 2008, 11:14 PM

1,356 posts

prefer to close the case---looks better mah...seriously, if you have some fans blowing in air can close the case as airflow should be enough..what I have is a 120mm fan blowing in and when I close the case can fel air coming out from front and back so means hot air should be coming out...good enoughfor me I guess..tx
rexoxo
post Mar 13 2008, 10:09 AM

426 posts

it depends on the owner and how long u are using the pc..
if u on pc 24/7 then better open for good air flow..
but if u already have good fan inside the casing no need open lar..
victor_hoh
post Mar 14 2008, 05:27 PM

pump my muscles
1,191 posts

QUOTE(rexoxo @ Mar 13 2008, 10:09 AM)
it depends on the owner and how long u are using the pc..
if u on pc 24/7 then better open for good air flow..
but if u already have good fan inside the casing no need open lar..
not true. If that is the case, then you should see servers running naked in the datacenter lor
nimrod2
post Mar 14 2008, 07:02 PM

the imba one
2,521 posts

well they are open because the ambient room temperature is so low with their powerful air conditioning.

not because of air flow.

even then they have good fans pulling in cool air to cool their server racks.

them high end racks are designed to dissipate heat efficiently.

wink.gif

11 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0426sec    0.80    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 02:34 AM