any one else facing an error when they try this? but srsly my lat is always over 1k for the past 2 weeks a drop in that would be a gift frm the gods
Gamepath for World of Warcraft
Jan 22 2008, 02:52 AM
461 posts Joined: Oct 2007 From: Kuala Mud |
any one else facing an error when they try this? but srsly my lat is always over 1k for the past 2 weeks a drop in that would be a gift frm the gods
Jan 22 2008, 09:39 AM
5,367 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
Jan 22 2008, 11:00 AM
8 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
Nah VMware is quite light. With 2gb ram, you can easily run vmware and your wow from the same computer.
however, i do run vmware (installed debian) on a separate lowbie pc (p4 ftw!), hooked on my network. my wow routes through this pc. in theory, i dont have to use vmware at all, since its a standalone pc, but the pc got win xp installed, so i cbf removing that first. you can find a good guide to set up the linux fix here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/588237/+160# |
Jan 22 2008, 11:15 AM
basically, the reason why our latency is high for wow is because the routing of the data packets from our PC to the wow servers is done in an INEFFICIENT manner. all these years, we've been blaming shitmyx for the problem, in actuality, its a routing flaw that has failed us (though sometimes streamyx is still the cause of lag, even with the linux fix, if streamyx lines are down, then you will still lag).
the linux fix takes care of this problem, by improving the routing process, reducing the latency between each data packet sent from our pc to our wow servers. e.g. Without linux fix, you send and receive 1 packet of data every 1 second. With linux fix, you send and receive 1 packet every 0.25 seconds. ^ thats just an illustration, and not exactly what happens, but you get the general idea. The "linux fix" is basically setting up linux OS to do the above. I'm not sure why we cant program Windows to do it. So, 1. Setup Linux (either on a separate computer, or on the same computer using VMware). 2. Program Linux to reduce the latency between data packets sent and received. 3. Route all your WoW traffic through this Linux installation. 4. PROFIT! Added on January 22, 2008, 11:23 amThere are two other solutions that can reduce latency. 1. Lowerping method (or Gamepath) -- basically you route your WoW data through their servers using a shell connection. 2. VPN -- you route your WoW data over a virtual private network, bypassing all other unnecessary data hops. Both methods above basically do the same thing, however they are done using slightly different methods. Since a lot of latency is caused by the routing of data packets taking a round-a-bout manner between your PC to the destination (WoW servers), the methods above basically give you a direct route (cutting all the fat, so to speak) from your PC to the WoW servers. Quite a bit different from the Linux fix. The difference is that, with the Lowerping or Gamepath method, you are reliant on the Lowerping or Gamepath servers being up and stable. If they go down, your connection to WoW will drop (this happens very frequently nowadays with LP thats one reason why many of my guildies have stopped using LP). With the Linux fix method, your only dependency is your Streamyx connection. As long as that is active, then you should reap the benefits (i know depending on Streamyx is a oxymoron, but 8 days out of 10, they are actually quite reliable -- as long as streamyx is generally not down for maintenance or "upgrade", i get 200-300ms constant, using any available IP). With the LP method, you need to have LP up AND streamyx up. Either one down, and you're toast. 1 dependency >>> 2 dependencies as far as reliable service is concerned. This post has been edited by Tentris: Jan 22 2008, 11:23 AM |
Jan 22 2008, 12:17 PM
Yes they did, and it really does nothing. Because as i mentioned above, your PC still has to deal with the inherently large Windows resource overheads.
By routing your traffic via Linux, you let Linux do all the routing for you, thereby not relying on any windows resources. I'm not 100% sure, but i suspect this is the reason why controlling your routing with linux gets better results than with just relying on windows to do it. |
Jan 23 2008, 04:25 PM
0 posts Joined: Aug 2006 |
Good explaination Tentris, I used to use Lowerping and their server lags because they do not restrict access. You can use their server to download stuff through bittorrent and internet explorer by tunneling through their SSH therefore it lags.
Give Gamepath a try, I can assure you more stability and besides, we got msn or a forum support QUOTE(Tentris @ Jan 22 2008, 11:15 AM) basically, the reason why our latency is high for wow is because the routing of the data packets from our PC to the wow servers is done in an INEFFICIENT manner. all these years, we've been blaming shitmyx for the problem, in actuality, its a routing flaw that has failed us (though sometimes streamyx is still the cause of lag, even with the linux fix, if streamyx lines are down, then you will still lag). the linux fix takes care of this problem, by improving the routing process, reducing the latency between each data packet sent from our pc to our wow servers. e.g. Without linux fix, you send and receive 1 packet of data every 1 second. With linux fix, you send and receive 1 packet every 0.25 seconds. ^ thats just an illustration, and not exactly what happens, but you get the general idea. The "linux fix" is basically setting up linux OS to do the above. I'm not sure why we cant program Windows to do it. So, 1. Setup Linux (either on a separate computer, or on the same computer using VMware). 2. Program Linux to reduce the latency between data packets sent and received. 3. Route all your WoW traffic through this Linux installation. 4. PROFIT! Added on January 22, 2008, 11:23 amThere are two other solutions that can reduce latency. 1. Lowerping method (or Gamepath) -- basically you route your WoW data through their servers using a shell connection. 2. VPN -- you route your WoW data over a virtual private network, bypassing all other unnecessary data hops. Both methods above basically do the same thing, however they are done using slightly different methods. Since a lot of latency is caused by the routing of data packets taking a round-a-bout manner between your PC to the destination (WoW servers), the methods above basically give you a direct route (cutting all the fat, so to speak) from your PC to the WoW servers. Quite a bit different from the Linux fix. The difference is that, with the Lowerping or Gamepath method, you are reliant on the Lowerping or Gamepath servers being up and stable. If they go down, your connection to WoW will drop (this happens very frequently nowadays with LP thats one reason why many of my guildies have stopped using LP). With the Linux fix method, your only dependency is your Streamyx connection. As long as that is active, then you should reap the benefits (i know depending on Streamyx is a oxymoron, but 8 days out of 10, they are actually quite reliable -- as long as streamyx is generally not down for maintenance or "upgrade", i get 200-300ms constant, using any available IP). With the LP method, you need to have LP up AND streamyx up. Either one down, and you're toast. 1 dependency >>> 2 dependencies as far as reliable service is concerned. |
Jan 24 2008, 01:28 AM
0 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
This thread sounds suspiciously like a sales pitch...
That aside I'd like to add that the registry hack method works great for me, especially when I'm logged onto a good server (218.208.XXX.XXX). Been running around Altarec Valley at 300-350ms. |
Jan 26 2008, 03:50 AM
seen so many people testing the trial accounts lately and a few signed up. hope you guys can help post your results here so people know how good it is.
Jan 30 2008, 09:38 AM
79 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
QUOTE(Midnight @ Jan 24 2008, 01:28 AM) This thread sounds suspiciously like a sales pitch... Dude..i try the registry hack..but it didnt work..got 651~700ms..without hacking got 450~560ms..That aside I'd like to add that the registry hack method works great for me, especially when I'm logged onto a good server (218.208.XXX.XXX). Been running around Altarec Valley at 300-350ms. weird huh??..anyway im using Vista and wireless connection..do this have anything to do with it.. can advise?. |
Jan 30 2008, 10:01 AM
1,846 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Kuching, Sarawak |
Think there's a mention somewhere in this post that the registry hack doesn't work on Vista.
Jan 30 2008, 12:17 PM
1,982 posts Joined: Aug 2005 From: TTDI |
vista is gay anyway
Jan 30 2008, 01:58 PM
53 posts Joined: Feb 2005 |
i'm using register hack in xp home , my latency never > 400ms.
but u do need a good ip from shitty streamyx. This post has been edited by arrow: Jan 30 2008, 02:03 PM |
Jan 30 2008, 03:15 PM
QUOTE(myremi @ Jan 30 2008, 10:01 AM) like that ka..hey, i thought Vista only need to apply hotfixed and do the hack thingy..then it should be OK..never heard that Vista is totally cannot..but im already apply the hotfix and that registry hack and still cannot.. Is there anyone with VISTA successful doing this registry hack??...Pls advise me how to do it... |
Jan 31 2008, 04:25 PM
Why not you give my service Gamepath a try? It works for Windows Vista as well. Download Sockscap from my site.
QUOTE(e2bitz @ Jan 30 2008, 03:15 PM) like that ka..hey, i thought Vista only need to apply hotfixed and do the hack thingy.. then it should be OK..never heard that Vista is totally cannot..but im already apply the hotfix and that registry hack and still cannot.. Is there anyone with VISTA successful doing this registry hack??...Pls advise me how to do it... |
Feb 1 2008, 08:51 AM
Feb 1 2008, 09:32 AM
Np la. Anyway got free accounts on the site can use freely. If you're lucky to get into the server
Next time got money then support me lor. QUOTE(e2bitz @ Feb 1 2008, 08:51 AM) Thanks for the suggestion dude..but no budget for another subscribession lol...need to do moderm restart la to get better ip..so sad.. Added on February 25, 2008, 12:49 amHi guys, Thanks to go the good response, I am opening more trial slot because I got a lot of emails that some of you guys were not able to trial due to server being always full. Also I revamped my website! Here's a new screenshot too ![]() Feel free to msn me also if any enquiries, help@gamepath.net Added on February 25, 2008, 12:52 amThis is because the server is able to regulate the ping due to Nagle Algorithm. The WOW patch does not completely fix it. Also the server is in a better location than the actual wow server for your ISP so both method will lower the ping. QUOTE(CandleJack @ Jan 22 2008, 11:01 AM) This post has been edited by ekwk: Feb 25 2008, 12:52 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0210sec
5 queries
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 03:16 AM |