QUOTE(TheVoIP @ Jan 17 2008, 11:38 AM)
Hi brother darthbaboon,
I have to disagree with you that non-SLR can do what the SLR advantages. Here are few points that I can think of... which advantages go to SLR, and in most likely non-SLR like prosumer cannot do;
+ BIG camera attract attention of models in events. The bigger is always better. If they do not look at you, there is no eyes contact in your pictures. Same thing happen if there are a few photographers in a any event, let say wedding group pictures. People will tends to look at those BIG camera as they are the official one.
+ BIG camera feel more pro and will also drive you to better compose, play with setting like compensation and white balance. End Results -> Much better pictures. I see lots of prosumer camera people simply point and shoot. Even got nice scenery, it senget...
+ SLR can go very wide or very tele. All SLR can easily go way below 24mm equivalent. On full frame + sigmal 12-24 zoom, you can reach 12mm ultra-wide!!! Try doing that with any non-SLR camera.
+ BIG sensor on SLR with large aperture primes can lead to beautiful background blur. This is a no-no to any non-SLR camera. Refer to the picture on
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/612019 + Prosumer camera might offer high zoom range, but thier tele range image quality always sucks. I had seen from my ex-S2 IS and ex-S3 IS, there tele performance are suck compare to EF70-200 f2.8 or EF100-400 L. So in a way, prosumer paper spec might be good, but actual performance is another story.
+ Bigger sensor tends to have much better signal-to-noise ratio, which mean cleaner higher quality image. On my new 40D, I can easy shoot at ISO1600 and enjoy very low noise picture. Refer to
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/612019 on most of the ISO1600. Can you re-produce that clean result with your prosumer?
+ BIG camera plus some L lenses also make you happy and proud for some stupid reasons.
Hope my words make a sense or two...

LOL. Indeed, I like the way you put it.

To me, DSLRs have one major advantage, that is the Bad @ss factor.
+ Spending more on SLR also boosting our economy, which will help everyone in a chain re-action.
Boost our economy? Not boost Japan's economy and make our ringgit value worse if we buy Canon or Nikon?

+ Sometime with BIG camera, you are allowed to enter media section for some events. Without the right spot, it will be worthless on how good your camera is.
Hmm. I've never tried this before. You tried before? And will they give you a media pass just by looking at the DSLR?
This post has been edited by shockk: Jan 17 2008, 01:16 PM