[WTA] Any online broker can do stop loss order?

Si|enCer
post Jan 26 2008, 08:38 AM

132 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Jan 25 2008, 12:35 PM)
The only way I can see it working is an at-or-below 2.30 price order, because you can't really do a fixed 2.30 order.

So, at 2.30 or below, the trigger to sell happens. But what is below? Some shares can drop 50% or more if there is a rumour or analysts don't like the earnings. So do you still sell at 1.15?

For this to work, I think you need the trigger, plus a person (broker) to review and action it.
I understand your second part, but what you mean by "I can see it working is an at-or-below 2.30 price order, because you can't really do a fixed 2.30 order." Mind to elaborate more?

howszat
post Jan 26 2008, 04:04 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(Si|enCer @ Jan 26 2008, 08:38 AM)
I understand your second part, but what you mean by "I can see it working is an at-or-below 2.30 price order, because you can't really do a fixed 2.30 order." Mind to elaborate more?
I mean you cannot say sell at 2.30 exactly, can you? Because there is very little chance the price is going to stay at 2.30 exactly long enough for anyone to do anything.

So it can only be 2.30 or below.
wodenus
post Jan 26 2008, 04:37 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(okk @ Jan 14 2008, 10:33 PM)
I think our online broker is still not matured like other countries yet..in countries like US, their online broker even provide charting and technical analysis tool and their brokerage is far far more lower than us...
LOL have you even used an online brokerage ? most of them have charts, and tons of info for fundamentals traders smile.gif
TSokk
post Jan 26 2008, 04:44 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 26 2008, 04:37 PM)
LOL have you even used an online brokerage ? most of them have charts, and tons of info for fundamentals traders smile.gif
I always use online trading.
The so called charts are basic charts.
You know what are technical charts?
Those with indicators like moving average, bollinger bands, OBV, RSI, etc..
I don't think there is any online broker which provide that...

This post has been edited by okk: Jan 26 2008, 04:45 PM
wodenus
post Jan 26 2008, 07:00 PM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(okk @ Jan 26 2008, 04:44 PM)
Um.. there's RHB Invest. I think they've got everything.
Si|enCer
post Jan 27 2008, 09:43 AM

132 posts

I mean you cannot say sell at 2.30 exactly, can you? Because there is very little chance the price is going to stay at 2.30 exactly long enough for anyone to do anything.

So it can only be 2.30 or below.

Okok, it is much clearer now. rclxms.gif

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jan 26 2008, 07:00 PM)
Um.. there's RHB Invest. I think they've got everything.
Even RHB has, you can't think of many stock broker which have the same features, don't you? They are still improving slowly. okk argument is still valid. Our online broker is still not matured like other countries yet. Slowly lar, Malaysia Boleh punya. What to do? Just wait for another 2-3 years, haha!

This post has been edited by Si|enCer: Jan 27 2008, 09:47 AM
SKY 1809
post Jan 27 2008, 01:37 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(okk @ Jan 26 2008, 05:44 PM)
Hi OKK, i find some info which might be helpful to you, though not complete.

http://www.shareinvestor.com.my/
TSokk
post Jan 27 2008, 02:01 PM

689 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 27 2008, 01:37 PM)
Hi OKK, i find some info which might be helpful to you, though not complete.

http://www.shareinvestor.com.my/
Thanks smile.gif
Actually what I need now is the stop loss order thingy coz for technical charts, I am using Businessweek website to get it, which is quite comprehensive already.
cherroy
post Jan 27 2008, 09:41 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Si|enCer @ Jan 27 2008, 09:43 AM)
Okok, it is much clearer now.  rclxms.gif
Even RHB has, you can't think of many stock broker which have the same features, don't you? They are still improving slowly. okk argument is still valid. Our online broker is still not matured like other countries yet. Slowly lar, Malaysia Boleh punya. What to do? Just wait for another 2-3 years, haha!
Online trade still in infancy period for local investment house. Although it will improve overtimes, personally think the progress is still relatively slow.
dEviLs
post Jan 28 2008, 10:45 AM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

http://www.bursamalaysia.com/website/bm/tr...sentationPO.pdf
(refer to slide number27) well in fact when the new trading engine is launch..which in the near future i suppose..there will be stop order available biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by dEviLs: Jan 28 2008, 10:45 AM
SKY 1809
post Jan 29 2008, 08:31 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Jan 28 2008, 11:45 AM)
http://www.bursamalaysia.com/website/bm/tr...sentationPO.pdf
(refer to slide number27) well in fact when the new trading engine is launch..which in the near future i suppose..there will be stop order available biggrin.gif
Thank you for sharing the interesting site.

I doubt Bursa is going to introduce the new system sooner than expected because for years the stock brokers are restructuring and i do not think they have the capacity financially to invest heavily into new computer systems. They just manage to make back some money a few years ago. They also have to raise funds to buy other smaller co and setting up branches. In future , they have to fight hard for businesses. In fact, some sold off their buildings and rent back.

A good new system also has to depend on telecom fast lines ( if slow like the internet lines) , everything will be choked up. Bursa cannot afford down time like the banks do ( cimb, hong leong ). Even STI suffered some set backs a few months ago. The new system has to be re tested and trial runs for a long time before the actual implementation. It can be out dated too if taking too long to test. Remember, online trading is an internet based system. How to implement such a new system if our internet is so slow and number of people using online is not that many.

When CIMB merged with SBB, in fact there were many off line days because computer people have to know each other computer system well before doing the actual talking.

Bursa is good at preparing the blueprints ( copy, cut and paste ), but slow on actual implementations.

Just my 2 sen opinion. Do not hope too much.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 30 2008, 03:35 PM
Hamano
post Mar 4 2008, 03:33 AM

118 posts

hehee..click my siggie to get usd5 on marketiva.com

0.0159sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 07:33 PM