Help on setup ICE, ...?

TSzhangxin
post Jan 12 2008, 07:30 PM, updated 18y ago

Hi guys.

I need someone to help me to setup an ICE and give some suggestions on it. I'm prefer in SQ setup and my budget is around RM4000, still can top up a bit if needed. Below is my choice for the setup.

Amplifier : Mohawk ME 3000.1
Subwoofers : Soundstream XPRO-12 ( 2 units )
Speakers :
(Front) - Alpine SPS-10C2
(Rear) - Alpine SPS-600C or Alpine SPS-17C2

Please recommended me a Head Unit for the items above. Do i need a capacitor and extra battery for the items above? Please tell me the price for the items above too. Your help is much appreciate. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by zhangxin: Jan 12 2008, 07:49 PM
bafukie
post Jan 12 2008, 07:43 PM

1,406 posts

brother, please dun go for mohawk or soundstream or rear speakers if ur going into sq.
TSzhangxin
post Jan 12 2008, 07:45 PM

so can you recommend me others?
jceh83
post Jan 12 2008, 07:47 PM

two stepping all the way..
1,235 posts

yup dont go for mohawk or soundstream if you going for SQ...

try alpine or dls
TSzhangxin
post Jan 12 2008, 07:48 PM

what model?
lonewolf
post Jan 12 2008, 07:49 PM

3,945 posts

the item listed looks more like a SPL to me...errm how come the component is running on the rear while the coaxial is running on the front?

This post has been edited by lonewolf: Jan 12 2008, 07:50 PM
TSzhangxin
post Jan 12 2008, 07:51 PM

the item listed looks more like a SPL to me.

thats why i asked for help .. doh.gif
lonewolf
post Jan 12 2008, 07:55 PM

3,945 posts

QUOTE(zhangxin @ Jan 12 2008, 07:51 PM)
thats why i asked for help ..  doh.gif
haha..sorry ar.

The front you can use Alpine Type-X components(dun take below x), Alpine DDliner, Alpine F1 status, or DLS, or DiamondAudio, Boston, VIFA, or SEAS or PHD for the front.
While for th rear, coaxial any brand will do la as this is not that important IMHO. IF can dun bother getting. As for Subs, Type-X sub, DiamondAudio Sub, Seas Sub, PHD sub and JBL subs
Then amp need 2, one 4 channel and (monoblock or 2 channel amp). You need good and clean amps for SQ...BRAX, HAMMER, TRUTECH and so on...then kau tim. and fun forget your cabling as well.

This post has been edited by lonewolf: Jan 12 2008, 07:59 PM
bafukie
post Jan 12 2008, 07:58 PM

1,406 posts

alo uncle... f#1? ada gila ga for 4k budget?
lonewolf
post Jan 12 2008, 08:00 PM

3,945 posts

QUOTE(bafukie @ Jan 12 2008, 07:58 PM)
alo uncle... f#1? ada gila ga for 4k budget?
haha..kasih idea saja mar.. sweat.gif ..cari 2nd hand punya lor..or 3rd... laugh.gif
TSzhangxin
post Jan 12 2008, 08:00 PM

My car only allow me to install 4" speakers for the front part. And for the amplifier, which brand is better?
bafukie
post Jan 12 2008, 08:04 PM

1,406 posts

I send u a pm regarding budget 4k.
jceh83
post Jan 12 2008, 08:06 PM

two stepping all the way..
1,235 posts

bro most cars can be modded to 6" for the front so don't worry..

they might add wood or do some metal cutting but not much harm to your car no worries..

like for my kancil, it has no speaker grill for the front whatsoever (1st gen kancil) so they actually sliced off some metal and added wood to make do for my 6.5" components at the front...
TSzhangxin
post Jan 12 2008, 08:11 PM

bro most cars can be modded to 6" for the front so don't worry..

they might add wood or do some metal cutting but not much harm to your car no worries..

like for my kancil, it has no speaker grill for the front whatsoever (1st gen kancil) so they actually sliced off some metal and added wood to make do for my 6.5" components at the front...

My car is Proton Perdana, not v6. I've asked many accessories shop before and they told me that it can't be modded. If really need to do so, need to change whole parts for the front.
DerekKuah
post Jan 13 2008, 10:35 PM

519 posts

QUOTE(zhangxin @ Jan 12 2008, 08:11 PM)
My car is Proton Perdana, not v6. I've asked many accessories shop before and they told me that it can't be modded. If really need to do so, need to change whole parts for the front.
SQ expectation (warm, detail, clean, clear & etccc)...Ppl here recommend here wouldnt know what is ur taste & alwis ur own ear is alwis the rite choice for yourself....

Second,actually with ur budget u can consider a decent setup.(4k)

First, go & listen & audit all the ice system setup. Know what it mean entry level, intermediate, expert SQ setup. what is ur SQ expectation. Btw how abt ur HU? To me for sq,a clean & good signal is from HU(very important), no matter how good ur comp & amp, it still a waste. But SQ is alwis combination of all HU,comps,amp & sub.

3rd, it is alwis very big impact before & after ur audit other ppl system for your wise decision for your ICE.

4th, make sure ur cost for all components is equally level. It means if u get a 600 comps, dun get an amp of 3k....make sure all is onpar....(like, 1.5k for HU, 1.2k for comps, 2-2.5k for amp)

5th...if the scenario is me(with 4k), i will get a used pure deck of HU(target abt 1.2k-1.5k) + a new 6.5comps (target max1.5k) + (1.25-1,5K for amp)...let finish the front stage first....then save more for the downstream setup(sub + amp)...

6th....for sq, 40% equipment + 55% tuning & installation + 5% aothers(cables, soundproof & etc)

7th...Ice is all abt our passion. Passion will only brings u to your ice expectation. Dun just simply bang & go with ppl words only....

Overall its just my opinion & my personal ice experince for myride....wellcome to ice world....
Btw, pls visits car audio forum (www.mycarhifi,www.icehifi.com & www.gr8tunes.net) & for car audio knowledge(www.bcae1.com)

This post has been edited by DerekKuah: Jan 13 2008, 10:38 PM
craziechild
post Jan 14 2008, 11:28 AM

ICE HiFi Fanatic!
721 posts

actually SPL stuff could also yield a good SQ if you know how to tune it... well... once i heard a famous SQ rockford setup somewhere... haha... now Rockford never associatted with SQ...

and i had to agree with derek... SQ doesnt mean brand... it means quality... and my any means it doesnt mean quantity at all... level matching is very very important to achive aa overall great SQ setup but commonly except the HU... but not always...

anyway... do some audition on cars... not on audio room... sound room acoustics are no where near a car acoustics... car sucks...

thats all for now...

cheers...

This post has been edited by craziechild: Jan 14 2008, 11:32 AM
loon1031
post Jan 14 2008, 11:59 AM

Photography, ICE, Die Cast & Gundam Crazy
1,105 posts

Agree too...
Sometime SQ quite personality..each people have difference point of view n SQ....
Brand deosn't mean everything, what SQ sub la & SPL sub la...If sub can't SPL I think that is not sub anymore...hehe. Who will make a sub which only for SQ?
Listen to Kicker SQ car and Lightning Audio SQ car before....sound very SQ...just because of the tuning skill of installer only...

0.0181sec    1.35    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:53 PM