Rabbit Corner V5, Binkies all the way~

11Jan
post Jul 4 2008, 02:48 PM

584 posts

sorry to hear that vincent sad.gif i was hoping he will be ok

for rabbits, they always always have to eat and poo and pee! very important to keep the gut moving.. the minute they stop eating or pooing, we have to step in. if they stop eating for 12 hours, that is critical already.. we just need to keep this in mind

11Jan
post Jul 7 2008, 01:33 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ Jul 7 2008, 01:19 PM)
Guys, please answer this.. Do u have male rabbit more than 1 year old? How many water intake it takes daily?

My previous male Nino drank 250ml a day... But daddy (1and half years old bunny) drinking habit rly makes me wori.. sad.gif He drinks 500-700ml daily. I check from the internet about renal dissease symptom, but he didnt show any sign of getting renal disease (or any disease), except drink alot. Dr Pillai said ok.. but i'm going to send him to other vet soon.

Owh, btw... i'm now preparing him for neutering process.. And hope this drinking problem wont give any bad effect to the neutering..

I only found 3 vets (from yellow pages) who do neutering.

1) Dr Pillai (Chai Leng Park) - RM60 (male only). He's using local anaesthetic (bcoz he said the other anaesthetic are stong for rabbit), the rabbit is concious during the surgery.. I'll not send Daddy here.

2) Pusat Haiwan Pulau Pinang - RM80 (male only). He said he's using mix anaesthetic, but he said safe for rabbit. But my bf and frens said goverment selalunya tak ok.. What do u guys think?

3) Dr. Pava & Dr. Shohna Vet Surgeon (Bukit Gelugor) - RM280 for male. I didnt ask the spaying cost, sori.. Should i send Daddy here?
u need to ask them more questions.. with such little info, impossible to decide who to go for.

what anaesthetic? isofluorane is safe. sevoflourane is even better.

how many neuters have they done?

what is the success rate?? it should be 99.99%

do they recommend fasting the rabbit before surgery? if they tell you yes, then forget it. look for another vet. the most basic difference between a rabbit and other animals is that rabbits cannot vomit, so they don't need to fast before surgery. fasting rabbits is very bad as it will disrupt the digestive system
11Jan
post Jul 7 2008, 01:42 PM

584 posts

Nicoty_yne, if Daddy is peeing normally, as opposed to straining to pee, then it shouldn't have any urinary problems.

is he drinking from a water bottle or bowl? if its water bottle, could it be that its leaking?

if he is otherwise normal, was not recently in a fight/suffered any injuries, then it ok..

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 7 2008, 01:42 PM
11Jan
post Jul 7 2008, 06:51 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(nicoty_yne @ Jul 7 2008, 05:46 PM)
He starts drink alot since he recover from the 2 lumps removal (around1-2months ago). He eats and poops normally. So, is it consider normal for a buck?

maybe you can check with the vet when you bring Daddy for his pre-neuter checkup.. in humans, drinking a lot of water in certain circumstances (post-accident, etc) is a sign of internal bleeding, the body is losing a lot of fluid and thus drives the person to drink more. but since its already been 2 months from Daddy's surgery, maybe that is not the case.. hehe sorry hope i didn't alarm you blush.gif it just kind of rang a bell when you tied the excessive water consumption to a surgery.. i doubt its related to the surgery as that was so long ago, but since ur going to the vet, just see what they have to say about him drinking a lot

i just found this: http://www.marvistavet.com/html/overview_o...s_mellitus.html which says excessive eating/drinking/urinating/weightloss could be a sign of diabetes. i have no idea if our vets here are able to test for that.. again, not to alarm you.. i'm just as curious as you are about his drinking habits.. lets see what the vet says

it could very well be nothing haha some rabbits just drink more than others .. i guess as rabbit slaves, we tend to get paranoid sometimes

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 7 2008, 07:00 PM
11Jan
post Jul 7 2008, 08:16 PM

584 posts

haha so cute!! very different from what i saw at chatuchak tho.. when i was there it was just tons of baby bunnies in very small cages sad.gif
11Jan
post Jul 8 2008, 03:00 PM

584 posts

yea play pen or harness would be better as opposed to a collar & leash..

but with rabbits, we can't really leave them on their own. any random dog or cat could cause them harm, and these things happen in a flash.. best to stay near your rabbits
11Jan
post Jul 8 2008, 04:29 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(adriel_heresy @ Jul 8 2008, 04:00 PM)

i saw some rabbits collar at the pet safari.
so i was wondering is it a good idea to get it.
if its just a collar, like what dogs and cats wear, then IMHO better not get it.. rabbits' neck are very fragile, if the collar gets snagged on something, and the rabbit tries to pull away, it can break its neck.. better err on the side of caution, in my opinion

better to get a harness which does not go around the rabbit's neck, but instead, uses the chest as support. something like these:

http://www.amazon.com/Northwest-Deluxe-Rab.../ref=pd_sbs_k_2

http://www.westcoastpetsupply.com/2/Super-...etchy-Stroller/

11Jan
post Jul 8 2008, 04:34 PM

584 posts

my bunnies do the F1 around the living room too.. and because the floor is tiled, they skid when they take corners haha bumping into the wall sometimes, but nothing serious.. just minor bumps..

parks, i dunno.. i just imagine it to be crawling with parasites, waiting to jump on the next furry host that walks/hops by.. tongue.gif tongue.gif

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 8 2008, 04:36 PM
11Jan
post Jul 8 2008, 05:12 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(adriel_heresy @ Jul 8 2008, 04:41 PM)
hahaha, i was thinking about the same things.
yeah, they have a very fragile bones.
my sis say we make a shirt for them.
then tie a rope to the shirt intead of using the collar.

err, 11Jan, do you have any idea where i can get the thing that you posted?
i've seen some at pet safari.. or maybe you can check with JTL to see if she has any at Pet Shack..
11Jan
post Jul 9 2008, 09:11 AM

584 posts

you mean one of your baby rabbits, bebee?
11Jan
post Jul 9 2008, 09:56 AM

584 posts

don't be sad, if the baby is going to a good home then he/she will have a good life there.. and since the guy is your friend, he will keep you updated on the bunny.. smile.gif

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 9 2008, 09:56 AM
11Jan
post Jul 9 2008, 01:48 PM

584 posts

hmm.. long post.. good post..

but i'm afraid its just wasted on certain ppl..

a lot of them come in here already with their minds set on breeding.. and 100% of the time, they have very little or zero knowledge about breeding, except for the fact of putting male and female together. even the very basic knowledge on proper rabbit care, they don't have.. and yet they want to jump right in to procreation

disappointing, but true

they're not gonna listen to what anyone else has to say..

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 9 2008, 01:55 PM
11Jan
post Jul 9 2008, 03:32 PM

584 posts

on the contrary, rabbits DO mourn their lost partners. they are very capable of forming strong bonds with another rabbit, or with their human owners. they are sociable animals and do enjoy company.

spend more time with your rabbit, give it as much attention as you can afford to. don't rush into getting another bunny, if your rabbit is still mourning, it will not accept a new companion so easily

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 9 2008, 03:33 PM
11Jan
post Jul 9 2008, 04:01 PM

584 posts

almost there.. 25 more posts.. lets just get this over and done with haha keep posting ppl!

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 9 2008, 04:02 PM
11Jan
post Jul 9 2008, 04:15 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(::MaghuL:: @ Jul 9 2008, 04:09 PM)
this one also hv gud info..
Care of a Pair
Maghul, what happened to Lebot actually?

How is Lebit taking it?

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 9 2008, 04:17 PM
11Jan
post Jul 9 2008, 04:21 PM

584 posts

hahaha looks like we have a sifu for threads & posts & such tongue.gif
11Jan
post Jul 9 2008, 04:23 PM

584 posts

oh, you mean you were not around and your friend was watching them for you when Lebot passed away? did you get to see the body, was he hurt or injured in any way??

i travelled with my rabbits before, 4hour car-ride.. i noticed a slight change in their appetite when they arrived at the destination, they were less eager to eat but other than that they took the travelling quite well..

This post has been edited by 11Jan: Jul 9 2008, 04:25 PM
11Jan
post Jul 9 2008, 04:27 PM

584 posts

if thats the case we might as well just migrate to V6 now..

11Jan
post Jul 9 2008, 04:28 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(::MaghuL:: @ Jul 9 2008, 04:26 PM)
i dun hv the detail story.. but when she come back from work.. the lebot alreday pass away.

bengkak mata teruk!!

pity her..
that sucks... death is bad enough, not knowing why makes it even worse
11Jan
post Jul 9 2008, 04:36 PM

584 posts

QUOTE(::MaghuL:: @ Jul 9 2008, 04:32 PM)
now she quite worry about lebit.. seem like depress..

she dun wan to buy another rabbit..
poor her.. tell her to give lebit extra hugs each nite smile.gif

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0464sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:13 AM