Q&A, General question on stock market

Icehart
post Nov 9 2010, 10:25 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(kllau3 @ Nov 9 2010, 09:40 AM)
Can anyone advise if 1 have any of MUIIND loan stock (MUIIND-LA, MUIIND-LB or MUIIND-LC), i will be albe to convert it to the mother share right (1:1)?

How come the loan stock share price is much lower than the mother share. if i buy in the loan stock share at RM0.18 i can immediately make profit (assume MUIIND at 0.22 currently)? correct me if i'm wrong. Thanks hmm.gif
You have to check the conversion ratio and the exercise price.
Icehart
post Apr 23 2011, 11:34 PM

14,897 posts

Can I ask is it possible for a broker system to hang?

I was conducted a trade and I have the screen "order verifying" stuck for 20-30 seconds before sending to BMSB to get it executed.

From HLE by the way, anyone facing the same problem?

"All Matched" notification only comes out after 30 seconds.

Here's my experience:

- Was trying to buy Tcubes at 0.43 @ 300 lots. So click send, "order verifying" for 10 seconds before sending and become "order confirmed". Price of Tcubes already at 0.445. So I assume it moves so fast that I didn't manage to buy Tcubes at price I wanted. Anyway so I click on cancelling order - but was told it failed and ask me to refer to helpdesk for more information. This usually happens so I retry cancelling, it writes cancelling...

Price of Tcubes falling fast. Initially at 0.37 only tell me all matched at 0.435. Fuuu vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif vmad.gif

Anyone has any logical explanation to this?

As of now, I plan to change broker to Jupiter, this is not the first time and I cannot afford such a costly mistake. Requested withdrawal of all money on Thursday morning from Hong Leong but broker told me to calm down and told me she trying to figure out what happened. Told her I cannot accept it anymore and requested for everything to be credited to my savings account by Friday. Till now also my savings account still kosong sad.gif

This post has been edited by Icehart: Apr 23 2011, 11:40 PM
Icehart
post Aug 30 2011, 10:59 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(stevenlee1990 @ Aug 30 2011, 04:11 PM)
Hi Guys, newbie here.

i would like to know how to check the number of stock available for sale of a particular company in stock market.

Like for example, CIMB GROUP HOLDINGS BERHAD. Is there any offer in the market? How many?

Just for some "paper-trade" training and knowledge =]
Yes you can but you need to have access to the trading system.
You can always go and register with various broker house and not trading until you're ready to trade.

If you think it is a hassle for you to register you can always rely on websites such as shareinvestor.com.my but do remember there is a 15 minutes delay.
Icehart
post Sep 20 2011, 09:30 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(thenightcrusader @ Sep 18 2011, 03:13 PM)
hello everyone,

i've got another dividend question here. just would like to verify if my understanding is correct based on the made-up info below.

Company A
Par Value: RM0.5
Dividend: RM0.5
Shares owned: 1000

Hence, dividends=1000 x 0.5 x 0.5
                        =RM250

is my calculation correct?
Why would you multiply it by par value? If the announcement says it is 50 cents per share then you just take 0.50 and multiply by 1,000 shares which give you RM 500.
Icehart
post Sep 20 2011, 10:16 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Sep 20 2011, 09:50 AM)
some dividend based on par value, afraid current share price being manipulated.
I see so it is based on the announcement.
Thanks for sharing.
Icehart
post Sep 27 2011, 08:54 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(masterofsea @ Sep 26 2011, 02:34 AM)
*My own question, is anyone know which securities firm hiring assist dealer/stock dealer ? I'm 20y.o, any insider info for this post ?  tongue.gif I was looking for money broket at first, but sigh....
Try OSK, I heard they are hiring.
Icehart
post Sep 28 2011, 08:25 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Sep 28 2011, 06:41 PM)
nextview also got jalan with HwangDBS and CIMB. if qualify, can get free training for few months to get certified but need to bond with the bank for a year but got monthly allowance up to RM2k.
On top of basic?
Or the 2k is the basic?
Icehart
post Oct 13 2011, 08:55 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(nendo_2008 @ Oct 13 2011, 01:51 AM)
haha im young and i dun wanna die so early
Got how much savings in your account?
Better stockpile as much food, medical supplies and oil and gas.
Icehart
post Oct 31 2011, 01:30 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(august.decision @ Oct 28 2011, 11:31 AM)
how about if i buy a share 10 lots in the morning on monday and sell all the 10 lots in the same monday evening....

so all i need to pay on thursday is just the broker changes of the buying and selling of the share?  hmm.gif
Yes, plus contract and stamp duty fees and any losses if applicable.
Icehart
post Nov 2 2011, 09:23 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(Sakai1 @ Nov 2 2011, 08:59 AM)
Can we trade from 8.30am - 9am?
Nope but you can queue.
Icehart
post Nov 2 2011, 09:26 AM

14,897 posts

I am waiting for more convincing futures answer. The opening green is very weak. It can go red anytime.
Icehart
post Nov 4 2011, 09:08 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(helzboyz @ Nov 4 2011, 08:51 AM)
I'm new in this thing, so I want to open an acc, is there any charges to open acc?ofter open an acc, do I need to deposit any ammount?if I want to trade, what is the min ammount?pls..need advice, I'm just a small trader..
CIMB charge RM 10. Hong Leong IB is free. No minimum amount but the minimum brokerage fee is RM 12.
I suggest you to trade more than 3k to make a break-even with the brokerage fee.
Icehart
post Nov 4 2011, 09:35 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(helzboyz @ Nov 4 2011, 09:34 AM)
Brokerage fee is count for 1lot or per transaction or per share??1lot equal to 100 shares right??
Yes. Brokerage fee depends on the IB. Some charges based on per transaction basis some on contract basis (means the total purchases and sales are sum up in the end and only after that brokerage is applied).
Icehart
post Nov 4 2011, 09:46 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(helzboyz @ Nov 4 2011, 09:40 AM)
Brokerage fee is count for 1lot or per transaction or per share??1lot equal to 100 shares right??

Added on November 4, 2011, 9:42 am
1 lot is 100 shares. You are correct.
Icehart
post Nov 4 2011, 10:45 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(helzboyz @ Nov 4 2011, 09:50 AM)
So let say I want to buy 1lot, RM100..then the price increase to RM150, then sell it, so I made RM50 from that lot, minus RM12 brokerage fees, I will get RM38, is that correct?
No it is not.

Uploaded with ImageShack.us

There's still stamp duty and clearance fees.
Icehart
post Nov 4 2011, 08:39 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(helzboyz @ Nov 4 2011, 03:16 PM)
Which IB charge lowest brookerage fees?my friends say that apex and osk is great..
I think for the sake of convenience you should really register for investment account with your preferred bank (if the bank has IB). This is to facilitate the deposit and withdrawing process. Don't be like me, make withdrawal on Monday till now still floating at my savings account. icon_question.gif
Icehart
post Nov 5 2011, 12:50 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Nov 4 2011, 11:48 PM)
Hello guys, im newbie too. May i know what does short selling mean?
Short selling means:

Selling shares that you do not own and buy back later. It is generally useful if you think a particular stock's price is going down. You sell something that you do not own and buy at cheaper price at a later date.

However, it is prohibited in Bursa Malaysia.
Icehart
post Nov 5 2011, 07:51 PM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(twhong_91 @ Nov 5 2011, 07:26 PM)
Thanks, now I have a clearer image.  thumbup.gif
What you mean is when I want to sell the shares, I hv to pay for the brokerage, clearing fee and stamp duty again?
Yes you have to pay again for clearing fees and stamp duty.
Icehart
post Nov 30 2011, 09:31 AM

14,897 posts

For fast trade involving split seconds buying and selling decisions, HLB is not recommended. shakehead.gif
Icehart
post Dec 22 2011, 06:50 AM

14,897 posts

QUOTE(el8155 @ Dec 22 2011, 03:57 AM)
so all the fundamental ratio i have to calculate myself? so i have to find all the balance sheet, income statement in the annual report? no ready website for that? and if i interested in a company, how i want to know all the competitors of the company i interested in the particular sector?
I think it is best for you to calculate the ratios for your own usage if you think these information will influence your investment decision. Sometimes information contained on websites are not accurate. smile.gif

0.0533sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 11:29 PM