teehk_tee
post Jan 11 2011, 05:20 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(Polaris @ Jan 10 2011, 08:58 PM)
This is a bit confusing,

Sold 3m, 0 left, then the lates figure shows they have 138m on hand?
according to my platform, it's quite a weird case
when they sold 3+ mil, (and ceased to be substatial shareholder), they didn't report how much shares were left after (maybe because after the sale they weren't substantial shareholders and not required to report shareholding). so that might explain your zeros.

but when they bought the 600k, they reported their shareholding interests post-buying, around 5.01%, then when they sold the 800k they ceased to be substantial shareholder again.. so again not reporting their shareholdings.

so its a case of going in and out of being a substantial (above 5%) shareholder.

Added on January 11, 2011, 5:36 am
QUOTE(Novice76 @ Jan 11 2011, 02:11 AM)
Hi. I am new to share market and would appreciate some advice on the following :-

(a) after selling my shares, how long does it take before I can use that money from the sale in order to buy other shares or to set off against a recent buy?

(b) if i sell shares within 3 days after buying them, i do not have to pay as it is considered "contra", right?

© are the profits made in the share market taxable? If they are, how serious are the IRB in checking?

Thanks!
(a) and (b) based on T+3 principle. if not mistaken T+3 is settlement on noon of the 3rd day after your trade is done.
( c) no capital-gains tax here.

This post has been edited by teehk_tee: Jan 11 2011, 05:36 AM
teehk_tee
post Jan 14 2011, 08:11 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(Diehard1798 @ Jan 14 2011, 04:25 PM)
yayaya ...

Example :

XYZ company share at RM 2.00 , if you have RM 20,000 , you can buy 100 lots ( 10,000 units )
Correct  ???

if not afterward "POK KAI" due to wrong computation
in our trading platforms 1 lot = 100 units , so yeah 100 lots = 10000 units.

but, in conversation, most (older) ppl still refer to 1 lot as 1000 units, because the change was recent .. i think it was in 07.
teehk_tee
post Jan 15 2011, 10:32 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 15 2011, 10:55 AM)
Investing is not like other professional sports , where young ages tend to have more energy to sustain.

Investing is more like  in a state of the mind, while lot and lot  of data are being kept , bigger capacity than a super computer.

And then comes the interpretation process whether to invest or not to invest.

And at of the end of it, there is no guarantee for success.
(older) people are more seasoned.
nothing beats that. notworthy.gif
teehk_tee
post Jan 24 2011, 06:15 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(Diehard1798 @ Jan 23 2011, 05:10 PM)
hi can anyone recommend where to learn all this TECHNICAL ANALYSIS I think lot of people will be interested in this topic ..

financial fundamentals and key ratios (sales growth rates, profit margins, market prices of assets, capital expenditure requirements, EPS, P/E, P/B, current ratio,  and operating ratios - inventory turnover, accounts receivable turnover, and accounts payable turnover.);
FA is easy to pick up.
read the balance sheet, cash flow statements, and P&L statements. as long as you understand every single term in there, incl. topline/btmline growth, margins, operating ratios, cash flow, gearing, financial ratios you'll be good.

i learnt TA by myself first by downloading chartnexus (n occasionally attending talks by benny @ nextview) , then googling/investopediaing every single indicator, learning how its used and backtesting it to see its suitability in msia. my personal preference is trends and momentum.

From how frequently I use them (most -> least). SMAs, Fibo Retracements, Bollinger Bands, MACD, Stochastic, ATR, Parabolic SAR, ADX, OBV and CCI, if u ask other ppl they might say candlesticks are important also, but my experience was they give a lot of false signals. how you use TA (to speculate/predict, or complement FA, or timing, etc) is very important also.

anyway, just sharing my experience.. peace be with you. icon_rolleyes.gif
teehk_tee
post Feb 1 2011, 01:27 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(myasiahobby @ Feb 1 2011, 01:16 PM)
Would like to ask something about warrant, is

1) trading warrant same as trading stock
2) can we do intraday trading for warrant
3) is the brokerage fees same as trading stock

yes for all the above. smile.gif
teehk_tee
post Mar 17 2011, 01:22 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(emmm @ Mar 17 2011, 12:15 AM)
transferring of shares?
Can shares be transferred from Security Firm A to Security Firm B?

ie: I have 5 lots of share in Security Firm A, can I transfer these 5 lots of share to Security Firm B?
as far as i recall u need to initiate a inter-CDS share transfer. like the question above, contact A to ask to transfer your shares out to B. B will most likely credit u back the rm10 fee that you paid.
teehk_tee
post Mar 18 2011, 05:48 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 17 2011, 04:59 PM)
Rm10 gone as service charge as far as I know and experienced.
oh, for hong leong, they say they were more than willing to credit back the RM10 fee into my account. maybe different banks different policies.

QUOTE(bleachzrockz @ Mar 17 2011, 06:23 PM)
"Faber to cancel 75c from each RM1 share, credit arising to offset losses"
what does this mean??does it mean i am going to lost 75% of my share value if i m holding faber??or will the price go up in accordance to the reduction of number of shares?
they're converting their non-distributable reserves such as share premium account and share capital account into distributable reserves to shore up their retained earnings, and improve shareholder capital repayability through dividends.

it's a good corporate move, but it suggests that their accounts are in a bad shape.
teehk_tee
post Apr 5 2011, 12:12 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

Hi guys, want to ask about reclaiming income tax paid on dividends. it's possible to declare and reclaim them right?
teehk_tee
post Apr 5 2011, 08:58 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Apr 5 2011, 03:51 AM)
Yes, Just file in the income tax return and fill in the column for the dividend and the refund will be automatically calculated. You will get the refund if there are excess monies after deducting your tax for the year.
If you are like me that is not in the taxable bracket than you will get full refund.
If you had not claim the previous year you can also include that claim... i am not sure on how many years back that you can include in the return
regards
warmest regards, thanks very much.!
teehk_tee
post Apr 13 2011, 09:39 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(bleachzrockz @ Apr 12 2011, 11:53 AM)
nono..i mean i am using my own online trading account..lets say if i queue at 1.50, but the price is at 2.00 and never dropped to 1.50 level, can others buy my share at 1.50 EVEN if the price is 2.00??are they allowed?
if u offer to sell your share at 1.50 even when the best buy price is 2.00, yes, the system will accept it.
teehk_tee
post Apr 13 2011, 08:54 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(bleachzrockz @ Apr 13 2011, 08:35 PM)
oic..just started using online account..thx ya..got another ques here..is there a difference between -WA and -CA/-CB etc???all are warrants right??
hmm,
perhaps we should sticky a basic FAQ about WA, CA, LA, JA. or is there already a sticky..

yes all are underlying warrants but different traits/properties. WA is company warrant, CA is call warrant issued by IBs. different expiry dates, different risk/volatility appetites.

WA needs to be converted at expiry if not = burn
CW is cash-settled at expiry

CW trades more aggressively than WA. Moreover if the market is bad, CWs will be the first to burn.
teehk_tee
post Apr 15 2011, 06:43 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(bleachzrockz @ Apr 14 2011, 01:20 AM)
thx dude..any idea where can i get more information on this?and any recommendation on books to read in trading warrants?
hm, no.
their are some basics in the forum here. but it's scattered elsewhere, not sure whether the search function will bring it up or not.

anyway, i don't believe in reading books. never read a single book teaching me about investment. always a believer of if 'they're so good, why're they writing a book?'

tongue.gif

Added on April 15, 2011, 6:44 am
QUOTE(clsiluf @ Apr 14 2011, 02:31 PM)
and the stock latest price should be 1.50 right ?
hum.. as far as i understand i think the system will accept it, price it with the best buy, and price transacted will be at best buy. - so rm2.

This post has been edited by teehk_tee: Apr 15 2011, 06:44 AM
teehk_tee
post May 11 2011, 10:58 PM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ May 11 2011, 10:26 PM)
I think NABis the equivalent to NTA.. Net Tangible Asset
may be NAB= Net Asset Backing
Sorry if I am wrong.
Where do you get those data?  look very cool
could be from excelforce's platform. hlebroking uses this one also, if i recall jupiter also.
teehk_tee
post Jul 30 2011, 10:31 AM

ไม่เป็นไร
5,363 posts

QUOTE(DannySia @ Jul 27 2011, 10:18 AM)
I've been eyeing on playin share long time ago.
im 17. can anyone guide me through on how to start?
Is my age a problem?  sweat.gif

how much is the minimun cash to start?
because of the ways commissions are designed, it's advised you prepare at the very least 3k per stock (this one is what i think). too little and you'll be limited to low-value stocks because of the leverage effect (it's easier to move up 1 sen in a 10 sen stock vs a 20 sen move in a 10 ringgit stock), plus the commission will eat quite a bit into your profits. (what is 16 ringgit buy & sell commission in RM 50 profit vs 16 ringgit in 2k profit.)

age .. is a problem. you'll need to be 18 above before you can create your own CDS and brokerage account.

0.0499sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:55 AM