Q&A, General question on stock market

htt
post Nov 25 2008, 05:02 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 25 2008, 04:58 PM)
So a minority shareholder usually has no major say and is there mainly for food and wine/orange juice only yes?.....

Xuzen
You can raise tough questions for them to answer, then they will give you extra umbrella or pen holder or radio to keep your mouth shut. rclxms.gif
htt
post Nov 25 2008, 05:13 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 25 2008, 05:12 PM)
Hmmm... if I raise enough tough question at the next GAB AGM, maybe they will give me a ctn of Guiness Draft. He he he

Xuzen
Remember to pass some to me tongue.gif
htt
post Nov 25 2008, 06:36 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Nov 25 2008, 05:35 PM)
OT.

You bought a lot of Citi shares yesterday.

You have been eyeing on Citi for quite some time  hmm.gif
Throw out like hot potatoes before it reach peak... sien... blush.gif
htt
post Nov 28 2008, 04:23 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Nov 28 2008, 04:18 PM)
Hello fellow investors,

Another newbie question:

Does one need to declare to the IRB our profit generated from Equities trading?

Xuzen
No. That's capital gain.
Some of the dividend yes. That's revenue gain.

This post has been edited by htt: Nov 28 2008, 04:24 PM
htt
post Dec 3 2008, 11:33 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Yithoe @ Dec 3 2008, 11:22 AM)
Any Sifu can roughly teach me how function in the culculation of  EPS,PE,DY to know whether the stock is good or bad?

Thank.
I am no sifu, but only judge stocks base on the 3 ratios is dangerous, you should looking into the prospect of the company, long term stability (viable or not), share price pattern, board of directors etc.
EPS = earning per share, higher better, that's how much the company earn per share. But not all the earning will convert to cash to shareholders. EPS = Profit/No. of share
PE = years take for the company to recover its market value aka Market Share Price/ EPS. The lower the better. Subject to manipulation, same case like EPS because that's derive from EPS basically.
DY = Dividend yield. Similar to interest rate, that's cash flow shareholder can receive from their share of company profit. Prefer to be read together with company cash flow, cash position, profit, prospect for clearer picture. DY = Dividend per share/ Market price per share.
Just my 2 cents.

I think that will be good if you name your target for sifus to comment tongue.gif Ride on their experiences while learning in the process cool2.gif

This post has been edited by htt: Dec 3 2008, 11:39 AM
htt
post Dec 3 2008, 06:57 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Yithoe @ Dec 3 2008, 06:45 PM)
Lol.actually im just a newbie and student who want to know more about stock trading and market before im really get involve in it.
How about short term stock trading work?
And is there any technique beside this 3 ratio to culculate and do homework in the company background?

Thank htt =D
Buy low sell high earn the difference. But there must be someone who do the opposite way also tongue.gif That's cruel but that's how the market works. shocking.gif

There are chartist who study and come out with all type of theories but I know none of it. Fundamentalist will go dig inside their account to determine what's their real value, that will require a lot of works with all kind of assumptions (they have their own model also, DCF, DVM, NRV etc....).

Most of the investors goes by gut feeling + observation of trend over years + rumors + news published. To start always good to start reading finance section in news paper, or get some reference books from library (I never go there, don't know have or not tongue.gif ).
htt
post Dec 9 2008, 05:53 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(illidanleong @ Dec 9 2008, 05:11 PM)
exactly, if i know then i wouldnt be here asking questions also...
Actually people with all the knowledge from the book might loss all when they come to reality world.
Prudent investor try locate underestimate company and grow with them.
Aggressive investor try to trade and earn the difference.
Moderate one do both.
I just a bit curious about you now, because you just look like myself during my u days.
Mind me to offer you some advice, though that might not be useful at all tongue.gif
Keep the money and do some paper trading instead, you might not earn anything but experience, but the bottom line is: you won't loss anything except your own time.
Trading is similar to gambling sometime, and that's highly addictive, too.
Always trade with cool head, if what you want is to get very rich very fast, I can tell you only a few on the earth can do it (perhaps you are one of them, I reserve my opinion on that).
Good luck on your trade and may god bless you. rclxms.gif
htt
post Dec 10 2008, 09:22 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(illidanleong @ Dec 10 2008, 09:00 AM)
hahaha. thanks for the comment.

btw, u have any warren buffett books to recommend?

i want the best art of his. any idea which 1?

i am willing to read. haha

thanks...
I read some of his book but can't recall the name anymore, loan from library one... biggrin.gif
Maybe you want to read the rich dad poor dad series, also quite good, but please don't believe in him unreservedly, he can be wrong too tongue.gif
htt
post Dec 10 2008, 01:08 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Dec 10 2008, 12:54 PM)
I have a newbie question:

In the Star newspaper under the Stock listing Div Yield.

I am intrigue to know whether it the DY is quoted as per annum or per rolling 4Q?

I mean if it is stated DIGI 10.1%, does it mean that the DY is for the period 1 Jan 2007 - 31 Dec 2007 or is it for rolling 4 quarters?

Xuzen
Normally annual term. Rolling 4Q not so consistent. My 2 cents only.
htt
post Dec 11 2008, 08:42 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(mo_meng @ Dec 11 2008, 01:48 PM)
Interim Tax Exempt Dividend of 6 Sen per share of RM0.20 each
can anyone explain wat this mean
That's dividend company pay in the middle of their financial year (1Q, 2Q or 3Q, can be anytime during the year also). No approval from shareholder required. Tax exempted mean they exercised some of their balance on Section 44, dividend will not be tax on the hand of receiver. tongue.gif 6 sen per share mean 1000 share get RM60.
htt
post Dec 15 2008, 06:49 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(YuNGSeNG @ Dec 15 2008, 06:22 AM)
May I know what is "called up share capital" in financial statement ?
I think that's equal to paid up share capital.
htt
post Dec 15 2008, 12:18 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(lklatmy @ Dec 15 2008, 12:08 PM)
When a company issues new share ,it can be fully paid in one go or it may be in instalments.For example,a company may decides to issue ordinary shares on RM 1 by way of first call 60 sen now , second call 20sen in six months time and third call of 20 sen at a later date to be determined.

In your question abv,the called up capital would be the 60sen.

But this rarely happen in public listed companies.
I think you will further confusing him tongue.gif We have to start bottom up tongue.gif

Added on December 15, 2008, 12:20 pm
QUOTE(YuNGSeNG @ Dec 15 2008, 11:29 AM)
Can explain what is it ? thanks
Generally that's useless, that's the capital when the company started its operation. Mainly use to count the number of shares only.

This post has been edited by htt: Dec 15 2008, 12:20 PM
htt
post Dec 17 2008, 05:02 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(simplesmile @ Dec 17 2008, 04:26 PM)
What is "Odd Lot"?
Number of share which was less than minimal trading lot.
Eg you have 102 shares, 2 share are odd lot.
htt
post Dec 29 2008, 10:50 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(J'Daniel @ Dec 29 2008, 09:53 AM)
Im quite new to this stock market thingy. If let say I have RM1k, should I invest into stock market ?

Any idea where should I approach for more information and advises ?

As I know, the way we read the market is like RM1.00 = RM1000 , RM0.50 = RM500

Correct me if I wrong rclxub.gif
It depends on whether you might need the money in near future. If you won't need the money in long period of time e.g. 5~10 years, then no harm buying some yield stocks.

That's true if you trade in 1,000 share. Malaysian market trading lot is 100 share. Means you can buy 100 shares of company x at RM10 or 1,000 shares of company y at RM1 (commission, stamp duty and clearing fee excluded).
htt
post Jan 7 2009, 08:23 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(PKGreat @ Jan 7 2009, 08:03 AM)
another noob question

1) do we need to paid tax for the earning we get from stock market ? how many %

2) i'm using maybank2u, do i still can get the dividend paid out by the company ? example : AXREIT paid 7 sen and i got 1000 share.

3) again, what is the intraday commision charge by maybank ?

thank you
1. No need.
2. Yes, if you entitled.
3. Dunno tongue.gif
htt
post Jan 9 2009, 06:47 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Jan 8 2009, 11:54 PM)
one time for buy and one time for sell if I contra before T3 also kena brokerage?
Yes, normally.
htt
post Jan 10 2009, 07:12 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(Irzani @ Jan 10 2009, 05:31 PM)
Wuu .. I'm open an account to use CIMB ITrade, that means I'm in nominee account? According to iklatmy blog, they are going to charge for the dividends ..  sweat.gif
Now, there's a third party behind and the payment will be delay and got hidden charge?  hmm.gif
Is like that one, maybank charge long long ago liao, cimb going to charge for atm card also cry.gif
htt
post Jan 14 2009, 09:27 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(T_flash @ Jan 14 2009, 09:03 PM)
Charge for dividend??what do you mean?? I asked my remiser if there is commission taken out of the maybank trading account, she said no
Eg. Dividend = RM10
Handling fee = (RM2)
Misc. fee = (RM3)
Net amount to you = RM5
For nominee account only.
htt
post Jan 30 2009, 08:28 AM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(eric84cool @ Jan 30 2009, 01:05 AM)
I'm not sure about P/E ratio thing....the formula is current market price divided by earnings per stock...how to know what's the earning per stock??and normally investor looking at it for what purpose ??to determine is there any potential gain from the company??how u guyz make use of this P/E ratio??
That's current market price/ past year earning, used to judge how long it needs to return the money you have invested. But not very accurate as the figure can be manipulate easily, normal investor only look at PE & jump; advance one look at other information e.g. cash flow statement, balance sheet, notes etc and jump; expert look at even more. But chartist might look at chart instead. Just my 2 cents.
htt
post Feb 4 2009, 07:47 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(~~5ive~~ @ Feb 4 2009, 05:47 PM)
Then for a student who no income, how to claim back the tax that had been deducted from dividend, since a student didnt pay tax.
You still can claim, the money will remain there until you ask for refund or use to offset you tax payable in future.

8 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0196sec    0.34    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:07 AM