Q&A, General question on stock market

DanielW
post Jan 13 2010, 10:36 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(simple.ology @ Jan 13 2010, 10:36 AM)
Thanks Daniel...!
What about lodgement date? what does it actually mean....?
Lodgement date is the date the company records who are entitled for the dividends - the one who are holding or bought the shares 1 day before the ex-date. So if you want to be entitled for the dividend, make sure you bought the shares before the ex-date. If you want to sell your shares while still getting the dividends at the same time, sell it on the ex-date or beyond.

Added on January 13, 2010, 10:52 pm
QUOTE(iamsobloodysick @ Jan 13 2010, 12:34 AM)
Does anyone know what it means by Unknown Transaction (the pink indicator in the attached screenie)?

The help page says the transaction price doesn't match either the best buy or best sell. If so how could there be a transaction in the first place?  icon_question.gif
Perhaps someone was buying above the Best Sell price or selling below the Best Buy price tongue.gif

This post has been edited by DanielW: Jan 13 2010, 10:52 PM
DanielW
post Jan 21 2010, 07:41 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(GOHAN @ Jan 20 2010, 07:52 AM)
So sorry for asking a basic question....how/where to get info on the EPS??? notworthy.gif
You can either go to http://biz.thestar.com.my or Company Announcements in www.klse.com.my
DanielW
post Jan 23 2010, 04:56 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(alvincks @ Jan 21 2010, 11:15 PM)
Hey Sifu,

Normally when people mentioned Growth rate, how to we calculate it ? is it based on revenue ?
Revenue or sales growth rate is not so important compared to EPS, dividends and cash flow growth rate. This is because sales growth can be good but bad cost management can cause profit growth to be poor.

EPS growth rate = (Current year EPS - Previous year EPS)/Previous EPS x 100

For comparison between companies of the same industry, I would prefer to take "average annual compounded growth rate" taken in a period of 5 or 10 years instead of just 1 year. This is to overcome the problem of cyclical fluctuations in earnings.

The formula for "average annual compounded growth rate" can be found in my previous post #1291 here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/609001/+1280
Formula similar with the one for Operating Cash Flow growth rate.

This post has been edited by DanielW: Jan 23 2010, 05:05 PM
DanielW
post Feb 1 2010, 09:53 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(jasonkwk @ Jan 27 2010, 11:39 AM)
Anyone who are into value investing, know what is the formula to calculate the intrinsic value of the stock.
It's..ahemm..a secret.. tongue.gif
DanielW
post Feb 24 2010, 08:46 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(motorhead @ Feb 21 2010, 10:31 PM)
wondering if the bonus share is issued this year, will the historical EPS effected?
do i need to edit the historical year eps to make comparison?
Yes, you need to adjust the historical year EPS to make comparison because even though the net profits are still the same, the total outstanding shares have changed. So you need to make the adjustment based on the current total outstanding shares.
DanielW
post Apr 7 2010, 01:46 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(imax80 @ Apr 6 2010, 03:05 PM)
hello,

i am working 8.30 - 6.00 daily except saturday and sunday.

i will open CDS and trading account soon..may be with maybank.
already study TA,FA...using chartnexus for my chart reading.

how to trade without me present in front of my laptop? can i set the bid and buy stocks the night before? anybody working people here trading online while away at work?
Yes, you can bid to buy/sell after 6pm but before 12 am. Your order will be confirmed by Bursa the next morning. This is what I usually do with Maybank as well.

This post has been edited by DanielW: Apr 7 2010, 01:50 AM
DanielW
post Apr 15 2010, 11:04 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(mmusang @ Apr 10 2010, 01:15 AM)
most of share market prices is volatile, even defensive stock is sometimes volatile,
calculate ur risk first, how much money to afford to lost, then invest.

I suggest u buy very small portion of some stock that u think is good and research it properly,
this way u will force ur self to workhard on it.
It is better to do research first before buying any stocks, even at a small portion biggrin.gif
DanielW
post Apr 27 2010, 07:29 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Apr 27 2010, 04:10 PM)
wanna ask if i bought the share at 0.40 and sold it two years later at 1.10; then in between there was two cash dividends of 0.05 and 0.10; how do i calculate the total return of this stock? any idea?

Is it [(1.10-0.40)+0.05+0.10]/ 0.40 x 100 = 212.5%
Yes correct smile.gif
DanielW
post Apr 28 2010, 09:20 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(leongal @ Apr 28 2010, 10:16 AM)
if the company gives out a net stock dividend of 2%, do we also add this 2% into the 212.5%, giving it a return

[(1.10-0.40)+0.05+0.10]/ 0.40 x 100 + 2% = 214.5% ?

Thanks.  smile.gif
If you meant dividend yield of 2% from your initial purchase price, then yes smile.gif
DanielW
post May 28 2010, 01:09 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(Larrylow @ May 26 2010, 10:45 PM)
Would you mind listing down the online trading portal here?

Btw, do you guys know if there is a website or something that list out the EPS, NTA and other useful financial information?

Thanks in advance!
I recommend Dynaquest's Stock Performance Guide http://www.dynaquest.com.my

This post has been edited by DanielW: May 28 2010, 01:10 PM
DanielW
post Jun 20 2010, 01:07 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(myasiahobby @ Jun 16 2010, 12:32 PM)
I though it should be red because yesterday the price close at 6.77 and today the price open at 5.41....

Can a stock open at any price they like?
Thank you.
Supermx exercised a 1:4 Bonus Issue, meaning 1 Bonus Share for every 4 shares held. So the adjusted price for 6.77 will be 5.41 (6.77 x 4/5).
That's why you see green for prices above 5.41 wink.gif

This post has been edited by DanielW: Jun 20 2010, 01:07 AM
DanielW
post Jun 20 2010, 10:14 PM

327 posts

QUOTE(Nidz @ Jun 20 2010, 05:30 PM)
with regards to supermx, i bought 1500 units 2 months ago. since they adjusted the price because of the bonus issue, my portfolio registered massive unrealised loss because of the gap between my buy price at 7.05 and current price at rm5 sumting. but when i open my portfolio in my cds account, it stated that i still own 1500 shares. why is that? i tot im suppose to have more than 1800 shares after the bonus issue...

sifu pls advice, im kinda new in stock market.

thanx
You didn't experience massive lost. Your buy price of 7.05 translate to 5.64 after Bonus Issue. Are you using a nominee CDS account? For nominee CDS account, it could take 7 days for the Bonus shares to show in your account. Same thing happen to me.
DanielW
post Aug 6 2010, 10:57 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(fryguy14us @ Aug 4 2010, 12:13 PM)
where can we go to just sit and watch stock prices? is it in bursa malaysia kl? or in banks? planning to go to just meet investors and get tips etc
Just open a trading account with Jupiter, HLe, or Maybank etc. Just sit at home and watch laugh.gif

0.0496sec    0.74    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 06:43 PM