8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Chubby Hamsters V6, Sleeping furballs of Fun!

sangels
post Mar 19 2008, 11:15 PM

Too cute not to fall in love with
829 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 19 2008, 11:13 PM)
Sigh... one of my banded dove escaped.... still no sign of her. Then Jumpers is sick, not eating and drinking.... now forcing more veggie and also vitamin water. Fur loss too... poor boy.
How did the banded dove escaped?
sangels
post Mar 19 2008, 11:30 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 19 2008, 11:19 PM)
Climbed up the water bottle. I use storage box to keep my hamsters, this box I use the unused mesh ladders from a bird cage to cover. Didn't realize the banded so smart.... use the water bottle as ladder to climb and squeeze through the bars.... sigh....
Hmmm... don't under estimate hamsters, they are very smart. I get to know this from JackJack. Saw the way he climb up to bite my tank lid and the way he escape from the playpen, I know how smart they can be. shocking.gif shocking.gif shocking.gif

Hope you can find your banded dove back. I like that color very much wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif
sangels
post Mar 20 2008, 11:43 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(d100200 @ Mar 20 2008, 11:35 PM)
as far as I know any animals coming in to the country need 2 weeks quarentine. So, you have to hide it  if driving in.  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif

By the way, my 5 days old baby hamster can see the color. 4 following the daddy which is Agouti and 1 following mommy which is Agente.  wub.gif  wub.gif
Aijo!! No one say can bring in animals through custom la, they don't have passport mah... kakakaka.... We call it 'bring' but actually is 'smuggle'. tongue.gif tongue.gif tongue.gif Plan to do that, but need to drive in, need a GPS first... sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif
sangels
post Mar 22 2008, 12:00 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(mlinda @ Mar 21 2008, 10:53 PM)
Ada sape2 nak jaga aku nyer Female WW (pearl)ni takk? bg pree jer.maleh nak jaga sbb takleh nak campor ngan yg lain. so kena jaga dia single..aku ingat nak beli yg lain la.. lgpun ade 1 lg hamster aku tgh bunting, nak sediakan dia cage lain. umah aku dah takde cage kosong dah.that y nak bg pree jer WW ni,nak kosongkan cage..

Anyone interested ..pls PM me..TQ
Please post this in adoption thread.

Just wonder why are you selling your cage when you said not enough cages for the rest? Just wonder, if me, tak sampai hati wanna give the hamster away. Maybe you can keep her still..... unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif
sangels
post Mar 22 2008, 06:44 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(Travies @ Mar 22 2008, 01:41 AM)
hey guys, what is the best brand of bedding for hamster? personally i dun really like the wood type coz it does have a kind of smell, is there any other bedding for hamster? pls tell me where selling?
i notice there is one of of bedding in the market which is the natural corn type and it is much more expensive, but i heard the corn type bedding will hurt the leg of hamster... anyone have idea on this? pls advice me... thanks

Nos, what kind of bedding are u using? i notice ur last pic of bedding is nice... does it have smell like the normall wood bedding?
Maybe you can read the first page of the thread for more bedding review.

I'm currently using Breeder Celect (cat liter), Aspen wood shaving, Corn cobs, healthy pets and also timothy hay for bedding. We'll mixed a few types in. Breeder Celect and healthy pets are made from recycled papers. Going to try woody pets soon when we finish out current corn cobs. If your hamster smell very fast, then you can try on timothy hay as it can cover the smell better with the strong tea smell. Our hamsters don't smell so fast now. Still like the Breeder Celect very much. You can get all these from all the big pet shops like Pet Safari, Pet Lover Center in Sunway Pyramid, and also Pets More. Pet Shack do sell all this as well. Hope can help you in this. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
sangels
post Mar 27 2008, 04:24 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(jayniel @ Mar 27 2008, 03:19 PM)
hooverbell's one of our forumers that have 3 long-haired syrians.. apparently she bought them from jonker walk, melaka smile.gif
Currently I also got 3 long haired Syrians. wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif 2 of them are super long haired, like carpet kind of fur. I got 1 from Petshack and the other 2 from Penang. Actually there are 3 from Penang, unfortunately 1 of them died from wet tail cry.gif Petshack still have some long haired syrians, brought my cousin there 2 weeks ago. Cute, chubby and tame long haired syrian they got. Do check it out. biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
sangels
post Mar 27 2008, 07:45 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(abang brother @ Mar 27 2008, 04:33 PM)
Nah I don't think so. I think they will grow fatter and will abit slow when fighting.

But you just answer your own question.

Added on March 27, 2008, 4:34 pm
Make sure you groom them regularly.
I think they can groom themselves very well, I just need to make sure they are clean and healthy.

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Mar 27 2008, 05:13 PM)
is not good for them to bite the wire i guess? wire consider as metal rite?
For hamster to bite wire (it's metal) is bad for their health especially you have a syrian, the metal also will get rust and it's worse when they bite it. On top of that, they may also injured themselves when they bite the metal mesh with their nose stuck in between the holes on the mesh.

This post has been edited by sangels: Mar 27 2008, 07:57 PM
sangels
post Mar 27 2008, 11:56 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Mar 27 2008, 11:40 PM)
haha really?btw wan to ask robos can drink yogurt?i bought some yogurt and feel like give them a try
Why you wanna feed the small animal with all kind of funny food which is not suitable for them? Just feed them with hamster food and fresh veges and fruits. If you wanna your hamster go to heaven within a short time then you can feed them with whatever you are eating. They are just rodents, not human la. Hamster eat hamster food, human eat human food. You never see human eat hamster food right? So, just leave them with hamster food and fresh veges and fruits. They will be healthy and nice with that. Good luck to your hamsters.
sangels
post Mar 28 2008, 12:08 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Mar 27 2008, 11:58 PM)
rotijohn is a bit funny eh, at 1st honey star, now yogurt..  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Yeap, I agreed with you nod.gif nod.gif nod.gif I think he is a funny person too. He is so imaginative that he wanna give his hamster with all kind of food. He also dunno hamsters are nocturnal animals as he think his hamsters are very weired. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif Hahaha... very funny person instead. laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by sangels: Mar 28 2008, 12:09 AM
sangels
post Mar 28 2008, 12:17 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(ROTiJOHN @ Mar 28 2008, 12:08 AM)
because i was thinking they surely will boring if keep eat those hamster food sold by pet shop..Well i will stick back to hamster food then..
You know they really like honey star, i put in like 5 biji, after few minutes it all gone.. XD
Well, animal is animals, no human's emotions like 'boring', 'loving', 'lonely' and etc. Thats all human's emotions thinks that they are having the same feelings like us, but they don't. That's why you don't need to feed them with other food because you think they'll get boring or give them a partner because they are lonely and they need a partner for sexual activity. They live on their own cause they are solitary and they just have their instinct to breed instead of enjoy themselves with sex. So, don't put your feelings on them.

They like sweet food, that's why they will finished all the sweet thing first. But it doesn't mean its good for them. Just like alcohol, maybe it's taste good for some people but it's not good for health. Same theory. Don't feed what they like without knowing the basic, oily, sweet and salty food are bad for them. With that as your guidelines, you'll be able to be a good and responsible hamster owner.

If you are bored just feeding with hamster food, try on fresh veges and fruits. They'll love that as well.
sangels
post Mar 28 2008, 12:21 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Mar 28 2008, 12:20 AM)
@sangels

rotijohn kena bang... pity him la..  icon_idea.gif  icon_idea.gif
Kena bang?? What do you mean?

sangels
post Mar 28 2008, 12:31 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Mar 28 2008, 12:23 AM)
we 2 is like banging him... rclxm9.gif
Hmm... hmm.gif I don't consider it as 'bang', he just didn't do research and just ask in here. We are answering and sharing, don't mean to shot. I still have lots to learn though. Hope he can be a good and responsible hamster owner as he is handling a life. Hope he understand that.
sangels
post Mar 28 2008, 12:35 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(-Nos- @ Mar 28 2008, 12:32 AM)
its time for thm for diet. if nt later diabetes.
No need to get on diet, just need to stop those sweet food and high sugar contain food. High cholesterol food as well. Eg: Corn, honey stars, kuaci, ...etc
sangels
post Mar 29 2008, 11:12 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 29 2008, 10:44 PM)
Your adult is changing winter coat  tongue.gif
Your hamster is sick. It is not caused by ants.... sickness can come about from bacteria, poor immune system, infection, allergies.... is she ok now? Bring to a vet, I would suggest Hands and Paws that is at Aman Suria. Look at the vet list thread. Got contact there. Anyway, you should feed her with some Gatorade diluted 1:1 to water, or glucose water helps too.
She just look like my DigDig when he suffer from wet tail. Weak and sick. cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif Hope she id doing fine. Bring her to vet asap, don't be like me, too late to be in vet's hands.
sangels
post Mar 30 2008, 01:10 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Mar 30 2008, 01:07 AM)
Go to Pet Expo Malaysia tomorrow, it's the last day. Prestige is like RM14.90 only! Normal price RM18.90
doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif Totally forgot about it.... Gosh!!!! Dunno whether can go tomorrow or not? Sigh! unsure.gif unsure.gif unsure.gif
sangels
post Mar 31 2008, 01:17 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Mar 30 2008, 04:25 PM)
my hamster died last nite cry.gif
So sorry and sad to hear that sad.gif sad.gif sad.gif What's the caused?
sangels
post Apr 2 2008, 09:16 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(sqwerk2 @ Apr 2 2008, 09:04 PM)
i havent seen Back2Nature yet, can't find them. currently using chipsi, anyways, any pet shops in subang or pj where i can get them?
Seen it before in Pet Lovers (Sunway Pyramid) and Pet Safari (Ikano). Wanna to try this and woody pets for my hammies too, but gotta finish the Breeder Celect first cos we bought the biggest pack from Pet Shack tongue.gif
sangels
post Apr 2 2008, 10:00 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(crazymouse_yyh @ Apr 2 2008, 09:48 PM)
Yes, tumours are common. A few of my pet mice had lumps on their bodies, 2 gerbils died from tumour (1 face tumour, 1 scent gland tumour), my friend's hamster had a tumour on it's chin....
Wah.... you dun wanna travel meh? LOL, I stay at Setapak, I also buy Prestige and I take public transport summore to buy them. How many bags you want? I can help you get.

Breeder Celect is of course WAYYYY better than Chipsy lah.... Read the 1st page for bedding review.
So small and you say the claws sharp? Hahaha.... you haven't felt glider and rat claws yet heheheh.
Breeder's Celect and Back2Nature is the same. I won't use Woody Pet coz it becomes dusty after it gets wet. It caused allergy reactions to my gerbils, causing bloody noses. It also causes dry skin to my hedgehogs. Only wise to use Woody Pet for the litter box or toilet, not the whole tank. I still think it is better for you to stick with Breeder Celect.
Really? Ok Ok... Cos I read the first page review says its good, so think of trying it out sweat.gif luckily haven't buy yet sweat.gif sweat.gif Thanks ya! My stock for BC half gone already, gotta get from Joan again, it's so heavy to carry, thank god we have transport laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
sangels
post Apr 4 2008, 12:33 AM

829 posts

QUOTE(IcedNyior @ Apr 3 2008, 11:49 PM)
I just got my hamster yesterday. Seems pretty scared tho, keeps running away when I want to pick it up and squeals. Im not so sure what species it is tho, can u guys help?
user posted image user posted image
how do i make it more tame?
Let the hamster get used to the new environment first as you only got it yesterday. Leave it there with it's own house and stuffs for 1 or 2 days. Then try to put your hand in and let it get used to your smell. This you gotta do for maybe few days. Then you think if it's not scared when you put your hand in, next you can touch it slowly and gently. If it don't run away for it's life, then you can try to pick it up and hold it gently. After you play with it then give a treat. Do this everyday! It just need time to adapt itself to the new environment. Just imagine yourself being place in a new home, then maybe you can understand how the hamster feel. Don't keep disturb the hamster if it is not ready and still scared of you, doing this you'll stress it up and it take longer time to tame it. Just be patience for a better outcome. All the best.
sangels
post Apr 4 2008, 05:11 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(xSnail @ Apr 4 2008, 04:39 PM)
Hey guys! wave.gif

Just out of curiosity eh, has anyone house two syrians before and they are doing well even they are adult? I had read up the first page and did google around. Just curious that did anyone do this before? Don't flame har... doh.gif
You can see from those pet shop who keep few adults Syrians together, ended up all injured here and there. It's a good example. You can really see them fight and biting each other. I don't think if you already know the fact that they are solitary and yet still wanna take the risk of harming the hamsters by putting them together. Hope you can understand why we never put them together especially for those who do research before keeping them. If you wanna know and 'experince' more, you can go visit those big pet shops which they put adult Syrians together.

8 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0447sec    0.81    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:29 PM