TSpanasonic88
post Jan 11 2008, 07:36 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(alivecmh @ Jan 11 2008, 07:29 PM)
I mean, ppl take turn to goreng stock of different sector, sooner or later will come to foreign CW.
ahh i see...but i prefer to stay out & wait for the signal to enter
are you buying & keeping APPLE & EXMOBIL these few days? rolleyes.gif
sinclairZX81
post Jan 11 2008, 07:44 PM

Change for the better
2,013 posts

Market really crazy today. Everybody make money, ya? whistling.gif
alivecmh
post Jan 11 2008, 08:21 PM

1,404 posts

haven;t reach my target price to buy. Today book at 0.07, didn't manage to get it. Now lower my target price to apple-c1 0.07, exmobil 0.06

Added on January 11, 2008, 8:22 pmonce i got it, i will keep it for few month so that i can concentrate on my work biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by alivecmh: Jan 11 2008, 08:22 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 12 2008, 06:23 AM

52,874 posts

DJIA closed the week with:

12,606.30 -246.79 -1.92%
SUSKinitos
post Jan 12 2008, 10:02 AM

572 posts

So how true was it "not to take up position" last dec?
Jan is the time or better still Feb?

cherroy
post Jan 12 2008, 10:10 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(alivecmh @ Jan 11 2008, 07:29 PM)
I mean, ppl take turn to goreng stock of different sector, sooner or later will come to foreign CW.
Those CWs fundamental are tight to their respective mothershare, if mothershares tumble (like yesterday DJ plunge 250 points and Apple dropped 3%), there is no way they can 'goreng' it or they won't choose it to 'goreng' either. If mothershare tumble and you try to 'goreng' its CWs, basically you are looking for trouble or generous enough to give 'free' money to others.

You need market condition to be right to have a 'goreng', no one can 'fight' against the market force or direction.

Just like recent, they have good excuse to 'goreng' some political stocks like MRCB because of GE, so there are people chasing after which make their 'goreng' much easier.

Overseas market most have some hard time recently, until the bearish sentiment clear up, foreign CWs need to wait more time. (But time is one of the biggest enemy of CWs).

Just my 2 cents. Don't mean CWs or foreign CWs won't be 'goreng'.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 12 2008, 10:12 AM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 12 2008, 11:18 AM

52,874 posts

KLCI shoots past 1,500 points

PETALING JAYA: The KL Composite Index (KLCI) marched to a fresh high of 1,521.6 points yesterday as talk of impending general elections gained momentum and foreign funds flowed strongly into the local bourse.

The rising tide of foreign funds also propelled the benchmark to break the critical psychological resistance at 1,500 points after five consecutive record-breaking days.

The sharp appreciation of the ringgit against the US dollar pointed to the return of foreign funds to the local bourse. The local currency strengthened to a 10-year high of 3.259 to the dollar yesterday.

Profit taking, however, caused the KLCI to pull back from its intra-day peak and finish at 1,516, up 24.6 points, or 1.6%, compared with Wednesday.

The bullish sentiment stemmed mainly from domestic factors, given the lingering external uncertainties such as a possible slowdown in the US and world economies.

The regional bourses were mostly down yesterday.

Hong Kong's Hang Seng Index dipped 364 points, or 1.3%, to 26,867, Singapore's Straits Times Index dropped 23.7 points, or 0.72%, to 3,287, while South Korea's Kospi Index shed 42.5 points, or 2.3%, to 1,1782.

"The current buoyant stock market is largely driven by momentum trades on the back of expectation of an early election,'' Citi Investment Research said in its strategy report yesterday. "The biggest risk is an election that is too early, which may bring an early end to that buoyancy."

The research unit has raised its 12-month target for the KLCI to 1,570 points from 1,542. The new target is only 3.6% off the current level after yesterday's sharp gains.

Citi Investment suggests investors sell cyclical stocks such as construction and property on strength, given that the expected moderation in domestic consumption growth would be the key risks to earnings.

JP Morgan executive director and head of broking, Clement Chew, said Bursa Malaysia looked appealing to foreign investors because the country's relatively more diversified and broad-based economy would help mitigate any adverse impact of external shocks.

"The market is also under-owned by foreigners," he said.

The strengthening ringgit was also a draw for foreign interest. "Investors are always more comfortable with a strengthening currency,'' Chew said.

He said the local bourse consolidated in the second half last year and that made Malaysian stocks attractive in terms of growth, dividend yield, price/earnings ratio and return on equity, compared with regional counters.

Yesterday's buying interest was not confined to plantation stocks, which had been the star performers in recent weeks.

Banking stocks also led yesterday's rally after Citi said it anticipated banks and stockbrokers to be the next area of focus after a strong run in the plantation and telecommunications sectors.

"We also expect the oil and gas sector to draw interest," it said.

Heavyweights Malayan Banking Bhd gained 30 sen to RM12.80, Bumiputra-Commerce Holdings Bhd surged 70 sen to RM11.70 while AMMB Holdings Bhd was up 36 sen at RM4.04.

Sime Darby Bhd and DiGi.Com Bhd also lent support to the KLCI, with Sime Darby putting on 50 sen to RM13.30 and DiGi.Com jumping RM1.40 to RM26.

Kurnia Insurans Bhd chief investment officer Pankaj Kumar said that earnings visibility and their growth in the mid-teens were the magnets for investors' money.

He does not foresee any drastic correction in the near term.

"The market may need to take breather, but the momentum is strong enough to sustain the rally, at least until the Chinese New Year," Pankaj said.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...87&sec=business
SUSDavid83
post Jan 12 2008, 11:21 AM

52,874 posts

KLCI uptrend constructive

ALLOW me to recapitulate what was written on April 10, last year. When Bursa Malaysia's principal indicator, the KL Composite Index (KLCI) surged to a 13-year high and marched steadily towards the pervious "super bull" rally intra-day peak of 1,332.04, established on Jan 5, 1994, StarBiz published a commentary titled Within striking distance, with the sub-head KLCI looks poised to beat the all-time high set in 1994.

The article was supported by analyses of the historical daily bar chart, including mathematical calculations of the previous cycle of major run-ups, concluding that the key index had an upside of at least 1,520 points, going forward. Apparently, we were the earliest, if not the first to come out with such a forecast and the feedback from our regular readers then was very much divided.

Nonetheless, exactly nine months and one day later, we finally saw the benchmark CI breaching the "magical" 1,500-point psychological level with ease to achieve a high of 1,521.56 during intra-day session, also the best ever in Bursa's history before trimming advances to finish at 1,516.22 in the wake of mild profit-taking activity in the afternoon session yesterday.

It has been a long road not without a couple of obvious heart-pumping moments, brought about by yen-carry-trade worries and subprime mortgage woes in the US last year, where the market was nearly beaten to a pulp amid waning investor confidence.

Fortunately, the local bourse was able to absorb the selling pressure and come out nicely to be where it is today.

On record, Bursa had surpassed our estimate upside objective yesterday and it is appropriate we chart the next pathway, as many eager investors certainly want to know where the market is heading before pouring in more of their hard-earned monies into equities.

Truly, this is a different species of bull. Unlike the "super bull" and "tech fever" runs in 1993 and 1998 respectively, where the market surged across the board, the rally this time around appears highly selective and rotational, driven by the blue chips initially, followed by thematic plays in the construction and property sectors, then spilt over to oil and gas-related issues and thereafter, the plantation companies. Elsewhere, most of the second and third liners, darling among retail players, are however, still stuck or under-performed but they are improving lately.

As we can see, the trend is certainly a friend of the big boys with ample liquidity, snapping up quality stocks before others, perhaps betting Malaysia is in the midst of a long-term structural uptrend following the implementation of a string of economic reforms under the leadership of Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi.

Besides the economic reforms, they too see other powerful catalysts at work, such as the setting up of various economic corridors across the country that would subsequently pave the way for a more sustained growth in the future.

Needless to say, they are proven right, as all the measures undertaken by the Government so far helped the stock market. In fact, we believe there may be more restructuring in the pipeline. Whether it is economic or social measures to be implemented by the authorities in the future to face the rapid globalisation, it will surely bode well for equities, going forward.

Turning to the chart topic, the landscape on the screen is equally promising. Bursa basically received a massive boost from the huge inflow of foreign funds, supported further by the local institutional buying interest, thus driving the principal index deeper into the uncharted zones.

Other than the unexpected sharp drop on the two previous occasions mentioned earlier, any pullbacks along the way due to short-term overbought reason were well absorbed, thanks to smart hands.

In other words, the prevailing mid- and long-term trends of the KLCI are constructive. Together with the strong technical signal, particularly from the daily, weekly and monthly moving average convergence/divergence histograms, they suggest that the window for more upswing is wide open but of greater volatility due to persistent worries about the health of the US economy.

To the upside, the clearest probable target that we can identify is the 1,760-point level, which is the extended resistance line of the upward channel prior to the "super bull" rally in 1993. If the energetic bulls are able to find their way, they will arrive safely at their next destination, earlier than our forecast of last quarter of this year or first half of 2009.

However, investors should take note that technical analysis is about possibility and not certainty, although it is a valuable tool and widely used in stock investing.

As for the downside support, while the key index moves higher and higher into the unknown area, it is always best investors apply a trailing exit to avoid being caught in the event of a sudden reversal.

For now, it is safe, as everything looks well and rosy.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...68&sec=business
skiddtrader
post Jan 12 2008, 01:43 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

That article is just so opposite of what I think of KLCI at the moment. tongue.gif
cherroy
post Jan 12 2008, 02:06 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 12 2008, 11:21 AM)
For now, it is safe, as everything looks well and rosy.

URL: http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...68&sec=business
I qouted the last sentence, the word sounds a bit interesting. hmm.gif

Normally analysts and when people commenting the word should be like, for near future or future, it is looks rosy/bullish. See the difference of this article or the editor word.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 12 2008, 02:08 PM
kingkong81
post Jan 12 2008, 09:11 PM

1,351 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 12 2008, 02:06 PM)
I qouted the last sentence, the word sounds a bit interesting.  hmm.gif

Normally analysts and when people commenting the word should be like, for near future or future, it is looks rosy/bullish. See the difference of this article or the editor word.
This seems to tell us.."Grab anything you can & leave before it crushes you!!" laugh.gif

But it does kind of warn investor to be a bit careful and not to chase the bull too much hmm.gif My 2 cents
TSpanasonic88
post Jan 13 2008, 06:16 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 12 2008, 10:10 AM)
Those CWs fundamental are tight to their respective mothershare, if mothershares tumble (like yesterday DJ plunge 250 points and Apple dropped 3%), there is no way they can 'goreng' it or they won't choose it to 'goreng' either. If mothershare tumble and you try to 'goreng' its CWs, basically you are looking for trouble or generous enough to give 'free' money to others.

You need market condition to be right to have a 'goreng', no one can 'fight' against the market force or direction.

Just like recent, they have good excuse to 'goreng' some political stocks like MRCB because of GE, so there are people chasing after which make their 'goreng' much easier.

Overseas market most have some hard time recently, until the bearish sentiment clear up, foreign CWs need to wait more time. (But time is one of the biggest enemy of CWs).

Just my 2 cents. Don't mean CWs or foreign CWs won't be 'goreng'.
well said, i am so agree.

sometimes we just have to follow the market trend,
current trend is pre-GE rally (however market has been rally for 5 days, so, be a little caution) smile.gif

p/s: ohyah, did anybody noticed a huge volume in RESORTS on last friday?
i wonder what is it up to... time to grab some? hmm.gif
sinclairZX81
post Jan 14 2008, 12:54 AM

Change for the better
2,013 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 13 2008, 06:16 PM)
p/s: ohyah, did anybody noticed a huge volume in RESORTS on last friday?
i wonder what is it up to... time to grab some?  hmm.gif
Yep, something going on ... hmm.gif
ante5k
post Jan 14 2008, 09:17 AM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

Airasia quick fall to 1.51, now coming back up.
jojoe
post Jan 14 2008, 09:51 AM

340 posts

QUOTE(ante5k @ Jan 14 2008, 09:17 AM)
Airasia quick fall to 1.51, now coming back up.
i brought airasia@1.58 last friday cry.gif cry.gif

last weekend he admit that he make a wrong decision on fuel price where he predict will go down instate of going up.
rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
pooh88
post Jan 14 2008, 09:53 AM

Malaysia Tennis Enthusiast
2,367 posts

Jus out of the topics !!
My fren told me Airasia plane crashed before,but is been covered up!!
Not sure is related to the down turn or not!
kinwawa
post Jan 14 2008, 09:56 AM

2,181 posts

QUOTE(pooh88 @ Jan 14 2008, 09:53 AM)
Jus out of the topics !!
My fren told me Airasia plane crashed before,but is been covered up!!
Not sure is related to the down turn or not!
wah...yest i just came back fr Kuching thru Air Asia wor......hehehhehehe

in the verge of selling all my stocks lo...broker fees really RM40 for OSK! Too much a burden for small player like me....waiting for corrections after CNY to jump in on dividen counters....

ante5k
post Jan 14 2008, 10:32 AM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

QUOTE(jojoe @ Jan 14 2008, 09:51 AM)
i brought airasia@1.58 last friday cry.gif  cry.gif

last weekend he admit that he make a wrong decision on fuel price where he predict will go down instate of going up.
rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
found the reason they selling d... foreign funds moving out they are expecting profits will be lowered.
dreams_achiever
post Jan 14 2008, 10:33 AM

1,120 posts

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Jan 14 2008, 09:56 AM)
wah...yest i just came back fr Kuching thru Air Asia wor......hehehhehehe

in the verge of selling all my stocks lo...broker fees really RM40 for OSK! Too much a burden for small player like me....waiting for corrections after CNY to jump in on dividen counters....
is it applicable to oncall trading or online trading?
so far, most of trading company apply RM28 for online trading. Well, for my case RHBInvest.
kinwawa
post Jan 14 2008, 10:51 AM

2,181 posts

QUOTE(dreams_achiever @ Jan 14 2008, 10:33 AM)
is it applicable to oncall trading or online trading?
so far, most of trading company apply RM28 for online trading. Well, for my case RHBInvest.
errr... mine is oncall gua..i call my remisier one.... RM40...just got my bill fr OSK! cry.gif

127 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:41 PM