Stock Market In Malaysia V9

cky80
post Jan 22 2008, 05:24 PM

DOMO DOMO DOMO DOMO
761 posts

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Jan 22 2008, 05:09 PM)
5.8% dividend for EPF

KUALA LUMPUR: The Government announced a dividend of 5.8% for the Employees Provident Fund (EPF) for last year, up from 5.15% in 2006.

"Investment in foreign assets achieved good returns and I hope EPF will continue to take new initiatives for the country's development," said Finance Minister II Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop.

The EPF, the sixth biggest public fund manager in Asia, has RM312bil in assets and has been able to play an important role in the country's development, he added.

EPF has in its portfolio US$1.8bil (RM5.76bil) worth of assets in other countries as a result of its recent diversification effort, he noted.
i always wondered why EPF interest is so damn low. is there any external audits on their investments...

to me EPF is used to bail out bad investments or support side projects. they probably make more than 10% returns on investments, but give us 5%+. the rest are swindled. laugh.gif
TSpanasonic88
post Jan 22 2008, 05:31 PM

37,028 posts

oh well, euro market is in red again

i wonder how many points DJIA gonna drop tonight

thaipussam save us! hoping for a technical rebound on wednesday night
WoodStock
post Jan 22 2008, 05:34 PM

543 posts

great to see it drop so much.. time to get into share market.. i have 20k free money..
sinclairZX81
post Jan 22 2008, 05:34 PM

Change for the better
2,013 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 22 2008, 05:31 PM)
oh well, euro market is in red again

i wonder how many points DJIA gonna drop tonight

thaipussam save us! hoping for a technical rebound on wednesday night
You have to go to Batu Caves tomorrow with your kavadi and pecah kelapa, then got hope. tongue.gif
WoodStock
post Jan 22 2008, 05:35 PM

543 posts

i am targeting

IOIcorp
KNM
Muhibah
mrcb
gamuda

but only have 20k, could only choose one from them..
any recommendation?
cherroy
post Jan 22 2008, 05:38 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(WoodStock @ Jan 22 2008, 05:35 PM)
i am targeting

IOIcorp
KNM
Muhibah
mrcb
gamuda

any recommendation?
Others don't have comment, are you serious about MRCB?
SKY 1809
post Jan 22 2008, 05:39 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(cky80 @ Jan 22 2008, 06:24 PM)
i always wondered why EPF interest is so damn low. is there any external audits on their investments...

to me EPF is used to bail out bad investments or support side projects. they probably make more than 10% returns on investments, but give us 5%+. the rest are swindled. laugh.gif
EPF is unlike other investments, they still give a flat % of 5 to 6% per year, even though they could earn ton of money. The 6% is not the actual profit of the year, more should be going into the reserves , probably for future year distributions. Unit trust , whether profit or loss will be reflected on the unit price call NAV ot NTA. You can lock in the profit without having to wait for ex dividend distribution, cos the price will be adjusted lower after the dividend.

We call EPF as wealth conservation fund , money ready for future retirement. The problem is some people saying the inflation is at 8%.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 22 2008, 05:44 PM
cherroy
post Jan 22 2008, 05:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(cky80 @ Jan 22 2008, 05:24 PM)

Large portion in EPF investment still in government bonds, but equities part should perform very well for last year. But if research further ahead, some of the large holding in GLCs shares are not performing that well compared to market average or indices.
WoodStock
post Jan 22 2008, 05:41 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 22 2008, 05:38 PM)
Others don't have comment, are you serious about MRCB?
why?
sorry i am very new, just finally saved a 20k, and found this DROP opportunity and first time get into sharemarket
cherroy
post Jan 22 2008, 05:44 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(WoodStock @ Jan 22 2008, 05:41 PM)
why?
sorry i am very new, just finally saved a 20k, and found this DROP opportunity and first time get into sharemarket
MRCB is a highly political stocks, some said 'goreng' stock.

It share price 10+ years ago is almost as same as current level. So judge your own, don't mean to discredit MRCB.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 22 2008, 05:44 PM
WoodStock
post Jan 22 2008, 05:45 PM

543 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 22 2008, 05:44 PM)
MRCB is a highly political stocks, some said 'goreng' stock.

It share price 10+ years ago is almost as same as current level. So judge your own, don't mean to discredit MRCB.
so, you mean, current MRCB price is quite high already?
cherroy
post Jan 22 2008, 05:47 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(WoodStock @ Jan 22 2008, 05:45 PM)
so, you mean, current MRCB price is quite high already?
Aiyo, still don't get it. If you kept MRCB 10+ years ago, until now you gain nothing from it. So judge your own.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 22 2008, 05:47 PM
Parrot
post Jan 22 2008, 05:55 PM

422 posts

-54.12 drop in the KLSE. Must be a record in recent times.
Relish
post Jan 22 2008, 05:55 PM

215 posts

hey guys
new to it also
looking into MAHSING
been slow but sure
any other comments on that?

SKY 1809
post Jan 22 2008, 06:04 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 22 2008, 01:51 PM)
Be realistic lah. Everything got its value one, won't fall into too low or zero. Just like properties, it can be falling in price, but can it become zero? not possible. Once it fall enough to rally bargain and cheap value, then investors will slowly picking it up again.

Tan Teng Boo predicted a 'long boom' for stock market, now become 'long bomb' already. biggrin.gif  Not to discredit anything or him, market and economy is unpredictable sometimes. No one can forsee the future correctly each time, just need to be aware risk associated with it.
But recent market trend is pretty ugly, market seldom react in this way, even I had been in the market for almost 15 years, this only the third time seeing this kind of sharp drop.

We had enjoyed 3 years of magnificent bull run, now bear rules at least for near term.

Better watch closely how well corporate earning will be in the next few months/Q, if corporate earning does show poor result then market plunging is right. If corporate earning is staying relatively strong, then it is short term pyschological effect. Actually market is 90% price in the US recession now.

Citigroup and Merrill Lynch losses of near 10 billions in 4Q really wake up the bear.

Added on January 22, 2008, 12:54 pm

I don't know it is right or responsible to do it. As I only posted on my thought and buying sometimes. I am not always necessary right each time, bare in mind.

I had bought some Reit counters recently.
But yet to buy any stocks since last year.  icon_rolleyes.gif
Reit counters are good counters at this time. It is safe ( time to protect your money rather than losing your money } and still distributing good dividends. It is a good to do switching into REIT. Later, market drop a lot, you see more opportunity for your money. You can buy lot more than if you buy now.

Sorry, i think you know more than me, just to explain to the new comers.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 22 2008, 06:05 PM
SUSDavid83
post Jan 22 2008, 06:05 PM

52,874 posts

Some of the European stocks are in GREEN now - FTSE100 and CAC40.
Relish
post Jan 22 2008, 06:08 PM

215 posts

some frens intro me to unit trusts
also need to know how bout those investment this kind of times?
SKY 1809
post Jan 22 2008, 06:14 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(okk @ Jan 22 2008, 05:12 PM)
I mean where do the people check from?
Why I check from Yahoo, it's +284? Dow Jones Industrial March 2008 Futures.
Hi OKK,

Most future traders using charts like what you are doing. Suggest you to observe the future, but not to play play, highly risky.

Added on January 22, 2008, 6:27 pm
QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 22 2008, 06:07 PM)
If everyone rebound sharply tomorrow while KLSE enjoy a 'sudden' holiday on tomorrow, haha punters will be cursing then.
If you cancel the holiday tomorrow ( I heard early last week from "I" freind } , then you should see many people shouting in the street, then Market will drop another 100 pts.

For this reason , i asked PM to go ahead with the holiday, also good for the election, one stone killing 2 birds rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Added on January 22, 2008, 6:54 pm
QUOTE(David83 @ Jan 22 2008, 07:05 PM)
Some of the European stocks are in GREEN now - FTSE100 and CAC40.
Be prepared for a fed rate cut of 0.75% or 1% in order to calm the markets, in view of deadlock bet Bush & democrats.

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Jan 22 2008, 06:56 PM
feralee
post Jan 22 2008, 07:19 PM

Enthusiastic (R)(C)(tm)
4,897 posts

QUOTE(WoodStock @ Jan 22 2008, 05:35 PM)
i am targeting

IOIcorp
KNM
Muhibah
mrcb
gamuda

any recommendation?
KNM

MRCB - can buy
but throw when or during election
after election sure drop
tongue.gif
howszat
post Jan 22 2008, 07:20 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(SKY 1809 @ Jan 22 2008, 06:14 PM)
Be prepared for a fed rate cut of 0.75% or 1% in order  to calm the markets, in view of deadlock bet Bush & democrats.
I hope so about the Fed rate, because the market plunge happening now is probably because when people heard about a rescue plan that requires Bush and the democrats to agree, there is not much hope..., at least not quickly.

127 Pages « < 52 53 54 55 56 > » Top

0.1318sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 12:47 PM