need comment from xbox gamer!, decide to buy xbox 360

TSsimonking
post Jan 4 2008, 11:26 PM, updated 18y ago

28 posts

guy, i am really new in console.. previously i focuses in PC games... so today i go research and ask around the price..
The package is value pack including new model xbox 360 plus HDMI port too.. and comes with 2 wireless controller.. free game is forza2 and vita pinata.... price is 1550.. is it worthy?? but another question is i din play online game... so do i need go this full set or juz normal edition? i really need help from those xbox gamer and moderator help!!
thank a lots... hope u all have a nice day smile.gif
slickz
post Jan 4 2008, 11:32 PM

Exalted Senior Elite Member
2,149 posts

QUOTE(simonking @ Jan 4 2008, 11:26 PM)
guy, i am really new in console.. previously i focuses in PC games... so today i go research and ask around the price..
The package is value pack including new model xbox 360 plus HDMI port too.. and comes with 2 wireless controller.. free game is forza2 and vita pinata.... price is 1550.. is it worthy?? but another question is i din play online game... so do i need go this full set or juz normal edition? i really need help from those xbox gamer and moderator help!!
well at least here is someone who managed to decide on a console. With the number of people asking which console should they take, this is pretty fresh! laugh.gif good for you.

IMHO, the 2 "free" games aren't exactly free as I think they are already included in the 1500 ringgit.
TSsimonking
post Jan 4 2008, 11:38 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(slickz @ Jan 4 2008, 11:32 PM)
well at least here is someone who managed to decide on a console. With the number of people asking which console should they take, this is pretty fresh! laugh.gif good for you.

IMHO, the 2 "free" games aren't exactly free as I think they are already included in the 1500 ringgit.
thanks for reply dude.. yes the package is including 2 original games as i stated above... is it the new version have better cooler system and avoid the 3rod problem? the shopkeeper told me is falcon chipset for this xbox premium set.
pooh88
post Jan 5 2008, 12:29 AM

Malaysia Tennis Enthusiast
2,367 posts

QUOTE(simonking @ Jan 4 2008, 11:38 PM)
thanks for reply dude.. yes the package is including 2 original games as i stated above... is it the new version have better cooler system and avoid the 3rod problem? the shopkeeper told me is falcon chipset for this xbox premium set.
Is this the modded Xbox 360 u r talking about? hmm.gif
best_haiyod
post Jan 5 2008, 12:53 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(simonking @ Jan 4 2008, 11:26 PM)
u need to worry more about 3ROD more than money .
ron4
post Jan 5 2008, 01:19 AM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(best_haiyod @ Jan 5 2008, 12:53 AM)
u need to worry more about 3ROD more than money .
He already mention it is Falcon, wa lau wei tongue.gif

mypetridish
post Jan 5 2008, 08:14 AM

1,313 posts

Falcon set does not guarantee free of 3ROD, but it is definitely a safe choice, who go for something so hot like a Zephyr when you can get a Falcon?

TS, the shop keeper could be lying, why dont you inspect if it really is a falcon, just in case... do it after you buy form him so that you can "give him in the face" should he lie to you. according to dJinn, Malaysia/Singapore hasnt been getting any Falcons... but that was 2 weeks ago, things might have changed.

TSsimonking
post Jan 5 2008, 08:58 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(mypetridish @ Jan 5 2008, 08:14 AM)
Falcon set does not guarantee free of 3ROD, but it is definitely a safe choice, who go for something so hot like a Zephyr when you can get a Falcon?

TS, the shop keeper could be lying, why dont you inspect if it really is a falcon, just in case... do it after you buy form him so that you can "give him in the face" should he lie to you. according to dJinn, Malaysia/Singapore hasnt been getting any Falcons... but that was 2 weeks ago, things might have changed.
actually i has\ve been check the Lot# TEAM and manucfactured date and 175w from box.. they said if matched probably will be the falcon set.. is it truth? thanks for more information.. i will grab it asap smile.gif
tot31
post Jan 5 2008, 10:24 AM

I DON'T GIVE A DAMN
2,451 posts

Falcon sets have reached here in Malaysia since early December 07. I know because I've modded a lot of them. All x360s with the manufacturing date Oct and above are Falcon sets.

This post has been edited by tot31: Jan 5 2008, 10:27 AM
rx330
post Jan 5 2008, 10:33 AM

11,811 posts

tot, falcon set, wat are the benefits?
Edi8888
post Jan 5 2008, 10:41 AM

MyViVa Owner
1,242 posts

sigh..i buy 2 week ago, rm1680 concolse and 1 controller only...
TSsimonking
post Jan 5 2008, 08:03 PM

28 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 5 2008, 10:33 AM)
tot, falcon set, wat are the benefits?
yup, i juz know the falcon set upgrade to 65nm chipset and reduce the overheat problem... and 3rod problem getting less.. thats all i know... all in my 1st console safe play without occur any critical problem...
aegis`-
post Jan 5 2008, 08:17 PM

1,480 posts

but please do remember the cause of the 3r0d is mainly focus on the gpu not cpu
they only downsize the cpu to 65nm not the gpu which still remains at 90nm smile.gif
cheers
correct me if imm so wrong tongue.gif
but anyway the new heatsink and heatpipes are doing a great job to kill the heat off the gpu asap
ron4
post Jan 5 2008, 09:13 PM

1,123 posts

QUOTE(aegis`- @ Jan 5 2008, 08:17 PM)
they only downsize the cpu to 65nm not the gpu which still remains at 90nm smile.gif
cheers
but anyway the new heatsink and heatpipes are doing a great job to kill the heat off the gpu asap
Helo, it not remains 90nm meh, it reduced to 80nm for GPU, whereas CPU 65nm

This post has been edited by ron4: Jan 5 2008, 09:13 PM
Onso
post Jan 6 2008, 07:53 PM

693 posts

TS? where did you get that price quote?
alifbata_abc
post Jan 8 2008, 04:36 PM

75 posts

I think it is safe for everyone to buy a 360 now whether its zephyr or falcon, because m'soft has probally solved the 3rod syndrom.
mypetridish
post Jan 11 2008, 04:40 AM

1,313 posts

QUOTE(aegis`- @ Jan 5 2008, 07:17 AM)
cheers
smaller manufacturing tech, smaller die sizes, less power consumed, less heat released.. all this will help reducing 3ROD which is caused by excessive heat and lame positioning of 360 (vertical).

QUOTE(ron4 @ Jan 5 2008, 08:13 AM)
Helo, it not remains 90nm meh, it reduced to 80nm for GPU, whereas CPU 65nm
http://www.anandtech.com/gadgets/showdoc.aspx?i=3152&p=5

probably u are right. smaller die sizes could be led by smaller manufacturing tech. id say falcon is thed way to go, it'd be stupid to go for anything less. i scourged around multiple gamestop stores to get a falcon, until the store clerk asked me if my intent was to actually find a moddable 360. had to explain to her what falcon was all about smile.gif it was during thanksgiving last year and falcon was few and far inbetween

edit fro anandtech: It's possible that all three chips are now 65nm, or a mixture of 65nm and 80nm (TSMC's 80nm half-node process was used in ATI's R600 GPU). Needless to say, the chips are all smaller, which should yield some nice power savings

This post has been edited by mypetridish: Jan 11 2008, 04:50 AM
vince_teh
post Jan 14 2008, 05:14 PM

70 posts

benQ drive and hitachi drive??got such thing??which one better??
hmm.gif hmm.gif

0.0173sec    0.49    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 02:38 PM