I experimented on my cheapo PC sub and i think the cone facing inwards seems more powerful than the standard setup...not too sure tho..
Sub mounting: cone facing outward or inward?, Whats the diff?
Jan 3 2008, 07:02 AM, updated 18y ago
Show posts by this member only | Post
889 posts Joined: Aug 2007 |
Hope some sifus here can clarify the difference between mounting the subwoofer with the cone facing outwards (like how we normally see) or the cone facing inwards (facing the inside of the box).Whats the difference in the sound and whats the effect, better power handling,more BOOM etc.
I experimented on my cheapo PC sub and i think the cone facing inwards seems more powerful than the standard setup...not too sure tho.. |
Jan 3 2008, 03:26 PM
1,701 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Malaysia |
from my personal experiance, i inverted both my my pc subwoofers..altec lansing and edifier...after i inverted it, the bass more 'solid' can make my whole ceiling vibrate
Jan 3 2008, 06:40 PM
3,251 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Kuala Rompin, Pahang |
Jan 3 2008, 06:58 PM
1,701 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: Malaysia |
Jan 3 2008, 08:49 PM
4,721 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
my personal experience...in car audio, if you invert it...sometimes if you cannot get upfront bass...then you invert lor...
it's the same for some HU...if you have the option to invert the sub...then you don't have to change the position of ur sub...just change it from the HU...same wan... |
Jan 4 2008, 01:25 AM
oh..wats upfront bass? cuz after i inverted my pc speakers it really does seem more power den b4..tinkin of doing the same wit my car sub but have to mod the box a little cuz the weight distribution will lari..but whats the logic behind it?
and my HU 3750 pioneer got no sub volume contrl aso..haihs This post has been edited by ryan_hustler: Jan 4 2008, 01:26 AM |
Jan 4 2008, 09:40 AM
1,084 posts Joined: May 2007 From: Kiss me when you are pretty ONLY |
SWT if got sub buy as well the equaliser. For me is a must as certain song only need soft bass and some hard.
Jan 4 2008, 10:15 AM
3,251 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Kuala Rompin, Pahang |
How about using built-in equalizer in the HU (Rock, Jazz, Pop)? Is is the same?
Jan 4 2008, 12:07 PM
if using built in eq,then if you adjust the low and mid will affect ur 2-way,mid-bass and woofer. If seperate eq,preamp or electronic x-over can adjust the gains of each component seperately..tweeters,midbass,subs etc..
i think it has something to do with the volume of the box.cuz if you mount the cone facing inwards,the air volume of the box increases. (because the magnet of the sub displaces a certain amount of air if its in the box) but im not very sure about it..Any1 got ideas? Added on January 29, 2008, 5:26 amne1 got other ideas? This post has been edited by ryan_hustler: Jan 29 2008, 05:26 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0150sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 06:14 AM |