TSVv.SoViEt.vV
post Jan 1 2008, 02:51 PM, updated 18y ago

ToRMeNted-sOUL
1,359 posts

31-12-2007: New stockbroking commission rate effective Jan 1
by Joseph Chin
Email us your feedback at fd@bizedge.com

KUALA LUMPUR: Commission rates for Internet trading and cash upfront transactions will be fully negotiable with effect from Jan 1, 2008, the Securities Commission said.

"The commission rate for non-Internet and non-cash upfront transactions will remain unchanged but with a minimum brokerage charge of RM40 for these transactions," it said on Dec 31.

The SC said this initiative was under its objective to move towards a more deregulated, competitive and vibrant stockmarket environment.

It said these new measures would allow brokers to provide customers the choice of the cost-efficiencies offered by Internet trading and the personal and customised service offered by dealer representatives.

"This creates an environment which ensures that the pricing of services are appropriate to the level of services rendered.

"Overall, the gradual deregulation of pricing structures is intended to provide industry the flexibility to offer greater choice to a broader range of customers as well as to create a more competitive environment for the provision of intermediation services," it said.

How do the internet trading (investor) negotiate with brokerage house about the brokerage fee? how much will it be? best rate for internet trading?

All stock investors are welcomed to share ideas.
jcvstlys
post Jan 1 2008, 05:21 PM

1,655 posts

If you got a lot of $$ then can negotiate for lower fee. But min will still be RM 40.
12bDreamChaser
post Jan 1 2008, 06:28 PM

44 posts

day trader can easily get charged with lower fee???

This post has been edited by 12bDreamChaser: Jan 1 2008, 06:28 PM
TSVv.SoViEt.vV
post Jan 1 2008, 07:49 PM

ToRMeNted-sOUL
1,359 posts

For OSK Online trader,

ANNOUCEMENT

Revision on Clearing Fee and Brokerage Rate effective 2nd January 2008:

Clearing Fee

Bursa Malaysia Securities Clearing Sdn Bhd has revised the structure of the clearing fee for the sales or purchase of securities as follows:

1.      Novated contracts - 0.03% of the contract value subject to a maximum of RM1,000 per contract.

2.      Direct business contracts - 0.03% of the contract value subject to a minimum of RM10.00 and a maximum of RM1,000.00 per contract.

Brokerage Rate:-

1.      Cash Upfront Trades

Fully Negotiable (for administrative purposes, we have set in our system the brokerage rate at 0.60% for transactions below RM 100,000,    0.3% for transactions above RM 100,000 with a minimum brokerage of RM28)

2.      Online Routed Trades (ECOS)

3.      Trades executed less than a board lot

4.      On any other transaction RM40

http://www.osk188.com/page.jsp?name=RateRevision
12bDreamChaser
post Jan 2 2008, 12:09 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(Vv.SoViEt.vV @ Jan 1 2008, 07:49 PM)
actually brokerage fee of 1,2 n 3 are negotitiable according to the web page... not only cash upfront trade... nod.gif
jz to make it clear.. smile.gif

Added on January 2, 2008, 12:14 amif a osk online trader trades...
let say RM3k,
his brokerage fee is= 3000 * 0.6%= RM18 ??
or hav to pay the minimum fee (RM40) ??? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by 12bDreamChaser: Jan 2 2008, 12:15 AM
kwl2002
post Jan 2 2008, 01:57 PM

QUOTE(12bDreamChaser @ Jan 2 2008, 12:09 AM)
actually brokerage fee of 1,2 n 3 are negotitiable according to the web page... not only cash upfront trade... nod.gif
jz to make it clear.. smile.gif

Added on January 2, 2008, 12:14 amif a osk online trader trades...
let say RM3k,
his brokerage fee is= 3000 * 0.6%= RM18 ??
or hav to pay the minimum fee (RM40) ???  hmm.gif
transaction figure : RM3000
brokerage fee = 3000 * 0.6% = RM18

but min brokerage is RM 28 for online order and cash upfront account,
so brokerage fee is RM 28

clearing fee is 3000 * 0.03%
stamp duty not change.
cherroy
post Jan 2 2008, 02:13 PM

25,802 posts

I had heard majority of the online site impose a RM28 min, mine one also Rm28. Commission rate remains the same at 0.42%.

Anybody got other rate or min amount? Somebody posted Maybank impose a Rm40 even for online trade.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 2 2008, 02:15 PM
bryon
post Jan 2 2008, 02:46 PM

404 posts

jfapex and hlebroking - rm12 min brokerage
cherroy
post Jan 2 2008, 02:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(bryon @ Jan 2 2008, 02:46 PM)
It is confirmed still the same? no adjustment?
kwl2002
post Jan 2 2008, 03:02 PM

QUOTE(bryon @ Jan 2 2008, 02:46 PM)
u comfirm?
i found nothing from their website.
no update, announcement and news.

osk charge is sure RM28 for online and cash upfront account
Rm40 for normal trading.
sochaiapk
post Jan 2 2008, 03:11 PM

240 posts

TA Securities. Online Trading . Minimum brokerage =RM12
cherroy
post Jan 2 2008, 03:13 PM

25,802 posts

Based on lastest input,

RM28 min for online transaction:
OSK
HwangDBS
RHBInvest

I might be wrong, just getting some information through fellow forumers. Thanks for those contribute the information.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 2 2008, 04:53 PM
keith_hjinhoh
post Jan 2 2008, 06:49 PM

Need My Service?
2,656 posts

Cash Upfront Trades here refers to what?
low yat 82
post Jan 2 2008, 07:53 PM

time is nearing to end
4,081 posts

yup.. rhbinvest is rm28

wa... hlebroking - rm12 min brokerage??? confirm ka??? if like that, wanna change broker house d....
KingRichard
post Jan 2 2008, 09:44 PM

1,015 posts

anyone got info on maybank? too busy today at work to make the call...

if change brokerage house, can we transfer the shares, or have to sell off first?
keith_hjinhoh
post Jan 3 2008, 01:08 AM

Need My Service?
2,656 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Jan 2 2008, 06:49 PM)
Cash Upfront Trades here refers to what?
anyone free to reply me? tongue.gif
greddym3
post Jan 3 2008, 02:54 AM

132 posts

mine still rm12 itradecimb rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
kwl2002
post Jan 3 2008, 09:11 AM

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Jan 3 2008, 01:08 AM)
anyone free to reply me?  tongue.gif
Cash upfront account is another type of trading account, the trading limit is base on how much money inside.
i.e. u put in RM1000, then u only have buy limit RM1000.
normal trading account is RM1000 get buy limit RM2000 or RM3000, depend broker firm.
KingRichard
post Jan 3 2008, 03:59 PM

1,015 posts

maybank commission through broker/remisier is min rm 40 per transaction

online is 30% discount - so rm 28 min per transaction

commission rate remains at 0.49% for online transactions
dEviLs
post Jan 3 2008, 04:57 PM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

QUOTE(greddym3 @ Jan 3 2008, 02:54 AM)
mine still rm12 itradecimb rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
i just called them and they told me it's RM28 mad.gif
greddym3
post Jan 3 2008, 06:43 PM

132 posts

QUOTE(dEviLs @ Jan 3 2008, 04:57 PM)
i just called them and they told me it's RM28 mad.gif
you use call broker or online one? mine is online hmm.gif
dEviLs
post Jan 3 2008, 06:54 PM

Three Suns~
2,811 posts

QUOTE(greddym3 @ Jan 3 2008, 06:43 PM)
you use call broker or online one? mine is online  hmm.gif
I been using Itrade all the while, I sent them email for enquiry and their staff called me
greddym3
post Jan 3 2008, 07:45 PM

132 posts

i think rm28 for buy and sell together

if only buy should be around rm14 minimum (brokerage + stamping + clearing)
same for sell

its good what they dont raise it thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by greddym3: Jan 3 2008, 07:46 PM
KingRichard
post Jan 4 2008, 08:56 AM

1,015 posts

QUOTE(greddym3 @ Jan 3 2008, 07:45 PM)
i think rm28 for buy and sell together

if only buy should be around rm14 minimum (brokerage + stamping + clearing)
same for sell

its good what they dont raise it  thumbup.gif
i don't think so...general consensus is rm 28 per transaction minimum, not including stamp duty etc.

but if you've got one that has min rm 14 per transaction - please let us know - we will all migrate beramai-ramai biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by KingRichard: Jan 4 2008, 08:56 AM
greddym3
post Jan 4 2008, 10:46 AM

132 posts

still rm14...im not kidding
cherroy
post Jan 4 2008, 10:53 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(greddym3 @ Jan 4 2008, 10:46 AM)
still rm14...im not kidding
Confirm? which online portal are you using that got Rm14?
greddym3
post Jan 4 2008, 11:02 AM

132 posts

itradecimb
warbamboo
post Jan 9 2008, 12:05 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(greddym3 @ Jan 4 2008, 11:02 AM)
itradecimb
it's upto RM30+/- per transaction for itradecimb, i bought yesterday..it will show brokerage at 13+ when you buy, but you should check the settlement page and see there is a hike in the actual cost you thought you bought it for, it's actually upto RM30 or RM28. vmad.gif mad.gif..

i havent tried selling any but im guessing thats going to be the charge anyway for selling too, so its going to be RM56-60 gone.. vmad.gif

anyone can confirm this, pls?..
Neocable
post Jan 9 2008, 12:10 PM

128 posts

I checked with Maybank

Its Rm 28 for online
Rm 40 for Remisier

So pretty much same with the rest

warbamboo
post Jan 9 2008, 12:15 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Neocable @ Jan 9 2008, 12:10 PM)
I checked with Maybank

Its Rm 28 for online
Rm 40 for Remisier

yup..except for Hong Leong..seems to be RM12, according to another forumer.. shocking.gif
X-Zen
post Jan 9 2008, 12:52 PM

Yatta!
566 posts

QUOTE(Neocable @ Jan 9 2008, 12:10 PM)
I checked with Maybank

Its Rm 28 for online
Rm 40 for Remisier

I called Maybank just now. Same as what you wrote.

Anywhere got cheaper?
skiddtrader
post Jan 9 2008, 01:05 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(xtreme82 @ Jan 9 2008, 11:14 AM)
Ladies and Gentlemen good news for those who trade online. Consider trading in hlebroking online because their brokerage fee is low. Just only receive an email from there. Share it with you guys.  rclxms.gif

I am not sure whether it applies to new member or only for the on-going member

-------------------------------------------

In recognition of your continued support, we are pleased to inform you that our minimum brokerage for online share trading will remain at RM 12. As per our earlier announcement, our intraday rate has been reduced from 0.15% to 0.10% with effect from 2nd January 2008. That means you get lower rates and higher profits when you conduct your online share trading with us..

-------------------------------------------

rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
This is in the stock exchange thread.
smartly
post Jan 9 2008, 02:21 PM

2,148 posts

Yah, this is what i received from HleBroking <Bravo>:-

Dear Valued Customer,

In recognition of your continued support, we are pleased to inform you that our minimum brokerage for online share trading will remain at RM 12. As per our earlier announcement, our intraday rate has been reduced from 0.15% to 0.10% with effect from 2nd January 2008. That means you get lower rates and higher profits when you conduct your online share trading with us.

We would also like to take this opportunity to wish all our valued customers a very Happy New Year. We look forward to serving you better and forging ahead together in this coming year.

Should you require more information do give us a call at 03-2168 1000 or email to helpdesk@hlgs.hongleong.com.my

Regards

HLeBroking

This post has been edited by smartly: Jan 9 2008, 02:22 PM
warbamboo
post Jan 9 2008, 03:03 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(smartly @ Jan 9 2008, 02:21 PM)
Yah, this is what i received from HleBroking <Bravo>:-

Dear Valued Customer,

In recognition of your continued support, we are pleased to inform you that our minimum brokerage for online share trading will remain at RM 12. As per our earlier announcement, our intraday rate has been reduced from 0.15% to 0.10% with effect from 2nd January 2008. That means you get lower rates and higher profits when you conduct your online share trading with us.

We would also like to take this opportunity to wish all our valued customers a very Happy New Year. We look forward to serving you better and forging ahead together in this coming year.

Should you require more information do give us a call at 03-2168 1000 or email to helpdesk@hlgs.hongleong.com.my

Regards

HLeBroking
I spoke to someone from CIMB and they acknowledged Hlebroking's cheaper rate, but they couldnt do much to change theirs for now, as it's a management decision. cry.gif so its fixed at RM28 for now.

As for Hlebroking, maybe we should all move in hordes there.. laugh.gif then all other banks will bring their rates down.. rclxm9.gif

smartly
post Jan 9 2008, 03:54 PM

2,148 posts

i feel a bit slow with HLeBroking's system after the annoucement. Not sure whether thier system have been flooded with greate respond from the audience.
xtreme82
post Jan 9 2008, 04:29 PM

109 posts

I am happy with the hleborking rclxms.gif . Transfer money to the online trade also easy using hlbank online banking. Withdraw fund also the same within 2 days from hlebroking to hlbank. thumbup.gif
ante5k
post Jan 11 2008, 01:04 PM

Antediluvian
1,173 posts

Just called up Apex.. their minimum transaction fee is still at RM12, going up to RM28 probably next week.
jcvstlys
post Jan 11 2008, 01:45 PM

1,655 posts

looks like HL offers lowest brokerage fee.
sharesa
post Jan 11 2008, 01:49 PM

5,587 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Jan 11 2008, 01:45 PM)
hopefully they stay that way. If they switch to minimum $28 after 1-3 months, its like a ploy to attract people to switch to their firm.
cherroy
post Jan 11 2008, 02:19 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Jan 11 2008, 01:49 PM)
hopefully they stay that way. If they switch to minimum $28 after 1-3 months, its like a ploy to attract people to switch to their firm.
I heard that they need to implement the RM28 across (RM40 then internet trade give 30% become Rm28). If HL still giving RM12 then a lot of others investment house will complain to SC. So let wait and see.
theforest
post Jan 12 2008, 12:00 PM

tongue.gif I think Hong Leong Bank is better
panasonic88
post Jan 12 2008, 12:54 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(jcvstlys @ Jan 11 2008, 01:45 PM)
HL advertised a big big RM 12.00 brokerage fees ad in Biz Star sweat.gif

somehow i agree with sharesa & cherroy, it could be a marketing gimmick. it is unfair to other investment house.
brokerage fees should be set at the same rate (maybe can give some incentive if customer buying in a huge lots)
skiddtrader
post Jan 12 2008, 01:04 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Jan 12 2008, 12:54 PM)
brokerage fees should be set at the same rate (maybe can give some incentive if customer buying in a huge lots)
I disagree with this point. Brokerage houses should set whatever rates they want to set. If they want to provide service for almost free, they should be allowed to for healthy competition. I don't understand why there must be a minimum, because minimum only protects big brokerage houses, not the smaller ones who can offer cheaper alternatives like just online trading only and minimum broker calling services.
panasonic88
post Jan 12 2008, 01:31 PM

37,028 posts

most of the investment houses offer "free joining", as part of their marketing to lure more customers

some that i know gives a good interest yield if you were to keep your money in their trust (of course, they can use your money to invest in market & generate more cash to them, it is a win win situation to them)
cherroy
post Jan 12 2008, 01:58 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Jan 12 2008, 01:04 PM)
I disagree with this point. Brokerage houses should set whatever rates they want to set. If they want to provide service for almost free, they should be allowed to for healthy competition. I don't understand why there must be a minimum, because minimum only protects big brokerage houses, not the smaller ones who can offer cheaper alternatives like just online trading only and minimum broker calling services.
Agree & disagree.

I fully agree investment house should be free to charge whatever commission they like, to promote free market and competition which will only benefit both side ie. investment house needs to be competitive to stay on business while consumers get the lower charges.

I disagree on the part HLebroking is charging at RM12 while others Rm28. If really want to have healthy competition around and just like recent abolishment of minimum commission rate (previously 0.42%) why bother to set or push higher the minimum of Rm40 & Rm28, the previous min Rm12 is fair enough and investment houses don't have much complaint about it.
It is the gov move that contradicting itself. If really want to have a mininum of Rm28 then should set across, otherwise, when this is allowed then soon after others will be lowering back to Rm12, then what's the point of previous RM40 & Rm28 set? It become violating the gov & SC rules already (not to say this RM40 and RM28 is good, just it contradicting itself)

So either set across all the same or let them set their own. Currently scenario (HLebroking case) is in between. If it stay like this for HLebroking case without reprimand by the SC/gov, gov become 'no face' already. whistling.gif (some sort like you can set whatever you want, (HLebroking) still can slip through the loop hole)

This post has been edited by cherroy: Jan 12 2008, 02:03 PM
skiddtrader
post Jan 12 2008, 02:53 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

To be honest, when it was announced during the budget the new rates will apply from Jan onwards, there was no further clarification and even the brokerage houses couldn't confirm the actual rate until the last possible moment. doh.gif
cherroy
post Jan 12 2008, 04:09 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Jan 12 2008, 02:53 PM)
To be honest, when it was announced during the budget the new rates will apply from Jan onwards, there was no further clarification and even the brokerage houses couldn't confirm the actual rate until the last possible moment.  doh.gif
Welcome to Bolehland, get use to it already. sweat.gif

SC/gov only come out the statement on 31 Jan (afternoon some more) about the new rules which going to applied on 2008. sweat.gif
greddym3
post Jan 14 2008, 12:36 PM

132 posts

just opened hong leong account..now can register hlebroking!!
mmusang
post Jan 17 2008, 11:32 AM

1,006 posts

im also just opened HL account, but from white paper they gave to me,
it state that brokerage charge is RM12 untill further notice hmm.gif

This post has been edited by mmusang: Jan 17 2008, 11:34 AM
cherroy
post Jan 17 2008, 01:50 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(mmusang @ Jan 17 2008, 11:32 AM)
im also just opened HL account, but from white paper they gave to me,
it state that brokerage charge is RM12  untill further notice hmm.gif
This line doesn't sound good.

Just afraid when all 'fish' are into the net already, then close the 'net'. Just my guess.

panasonic88
post Jan 17 2008, 01:56 PM

37,028 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 17 2008, 01:50 PM)
This line doesn't sound good.

Just afraid when all 'fish' are into the net already, then close the 'net'. Just my guess.
i am thinking about the same thing, too hmm.gif

no free lunch in this world
klsestockreview
post Jan 18 2008, 03:32 PM

33 posts

KLSE Stock Review

Public Bank eBroking also has a minimum service charge of RM12. I've been trading using PBeBroking for many years and they have served me well. I rather go with Public Bank than Hong Leong coz Public Bank is stable already and doesn't need to raise its service charge in future to get more income. Hong Leong is just doing this to get a larger market share so one can never be sure when they will raise prices. Earlier in the tread of discussion i had posted the 15 largest stock broking houses in the country and Hong Leong wasnt on the list.

Calculating Stock Trading Cost 2008
smartly
post Jan 18 2008, 03:58 PM

2,148 posts

To be fair, i have been with Hong Leong's eBroking and OSK for quite a while, so far i think thier service rendered is okay and satisfied. I guess is same thing apply to Public Bank, you will never know when they will raise thier brokerage fee...In this industry the fittest survive, if you can afford to play this game & survive, you win, if you can't then too bad. No one is right or wrong, anyone can do anything to boost sales. I will do the same if i have one, up to individual preference and no siding.
SUSDavid83
post Jan 27 2008, 10:08 AM

52,874 posts

Found this at HLeBroking site:

More details, please surf around at:

http://www.hlebroking.com/v2/
aretla
post Jan 27 2008, 03:54 PM

o\n_n/o
713 posts

QUOTE(klsestockreview @ Jan 18 2008, 03:32 PM)
KLSE Stock Review

Public Bank eBroking also has a minimum service charge of RM12. I've been trading using PBeBroking for many years and they have served me well. I rather go with Public Bank than Hong Leong coz Public Bank is stable already and doesn't need to raise its service charge in future to get more income. Hong Leong is just doing this to get a larger market share so one can never be sure when they will raise prices. Earlier in the tread of discussion i had posted the 15 largest stock broking houses in the country and Hong Leong wasnt on the list.

Calculating Stock Trading Cost 2008
public bank got ebroking??? mind to share more..
i coundnt find the link..

This post has been edited by aretla: Jan 27 2008, 03:57 PM
klsestockreview
post Feb 28 2008, 10:54 PM

33 posts

QUOTE(aretla @ Jan 27 2008, 03:54 PM)
public bank got ebroking??? mind to share more..
i coundnt find the link..
Yeah it does. It operates slightly differently from other companies. Once you open a trading account with Public Investment Bank you will be given access to their share trading page which will be linked with your Public e-banking.

http://klsestockreview.blogspot.com/
sunny86
post Feb 29 2008, 04:13 PM

HongLeong is good. However i wish it can have more feature like CIMB i*itrade, providing the chart analysis
Singh_Kalan
post Mar 5 2008, 01:23 PM

2,033 posts

Doesn't really make much different for min brokerage fee of RM28 or RM14.
What's important for me is the brokerage rate currently at 0.42% for m2u. wink.gif
asiatrader98
post Mar 7 2008, 10:34 PM

1,485 posts

u can ask the remisier to revise the rate for the online trading, since this is fully negatiate now
I just got the 0.1% for daytrading, 0.3% for online trading, with min RM12 from cimb....& the cimb back has offered RM8.88 per click (per session per trade) for upfront (pay before buy) for any amount rclxms.gif
but my vol is very big & active, almost 1 to 2m at least per mth
however, if u r not active trader/investor, no need to ask for this, just make sure the value u want to buy per counter at leat worth RM6667

This post has been edited by asiatrader98: Mar 7 2008, 10:37 PM
nofear0720
post Mar 11 2008, 10:54 PM

128 posts

Today when I browsed through The Star newspaper, I saw an ad where Jupiter offers minimum brokerage fee as RM8
with cash upfront account.

cherroy
post Mar 11 2008, 11:22 PM

25,802 posts

The lower the commission, the better is, but excessively encourage people to do intra-day trading is not a way to promote healthy investment habit in stock market. After all short term gain is peanut compared to long term gain. I had seen plenty of 'dead body' around especially those with margin trade and short term trade one.
The more people do with short term trade like intraday trade, the higher the market volatility is, which investment banks and Bursa are the ultimate winner of it.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 11 2008, 11:24 PM
vaxen
post Mar 12 2008, 05:57 PM

14 posts

nofear0720: Thanks! 0.05% brokerage fees!!!!!

Added on March 12, 2008, 6:18 pmAnyone used jupiter before?

This post has been edited by vaxen: Mar 12 2008, 06:18 PM
kuokyeow
post Mar 20 2008, 10:31 PM

221 posts

ya, anyone used jupiter before? is it new?
Seng_Kiat
post Mar 26 2008, 08:03 AM

5,580 posts

i am interested with jupiter and already registered .. but to sign the aggrement, is it only in KL? i am actually from melaka .. tq .
Babablacksheep
post Mar 29 2008, 02:51 PM

852 posts

Never heard of jupiter, update us how it goes after your frist trade
hehe..
gr44
post Apr 4 2008, 11:14 AM

269 posts

i found out in the star paper...can tell more on it..anyone have join?Jupiter

This post has been edited by gr44: Apr 4 2008, 11:15 AM
aurora97
post Apr 8 2008, 12:41 AM

八方來財
3,790 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 11 2008, 11:22 PM)
The lower the commission, the better is, but excessively encourage people to do intra-day trading is not a way to promote healthy investment habit in stock market. After all short term gain is peanut compared to long term gain. I had seen plenty of 'dead body' around especially those with margin trade and short term trade one.
The more people do with short term trade like intraday trade, the higher the market volatility is, which investment banks and Bursa are the ultimate winner of it.
We need volume to drive the market, speculators create the perfect volaitlity to get teh market moving. Look at the market now 10 mths before and after, bearly anyone wants to trade in the KLSE.

The market is completely directionless and illiquid to begin with, no one is bothered looking at equity market.

This is after all a free market, there is only so much you can control the market and this is the only path to a mature market not guided by greed and emotion but by thinking.

Without volatility you alo expose your market to foreign institutions whom have the money to buy in to local stocks, which in the end the losers are Malaysian investors. They are free to manipulate the market at their whim and fancy.

Look at the FCPO market, BMDB has raised the initial margin rates through the ceiling to control the market at RM 15,000 per contract.

Which sane investor would dump Rm 15,000 into the market?

For locals this maybe the truth, but from what I see on my daily papaer work it seems like foreign hedge funds are having their own party! Rm 15,000 is nothing, so is losing it cause its clients money and their clients r loaded.

cherroy
post Apr 8 2008, 10:50 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(aurora97 @ Apr 8 2008, 12:41 AM)
We need volume to drive the market, speculators create the perfect volaitlity to get teh market moving. Look at the market now 10 mths before and after, bearly anyone wants to trade in the KLSE.

The market is completely directionless and illiquid to begin with, no one is bothered looking at equity market.

This is after all a free market, there is only so much you can control the market and this is the only path to a mature market not guided by greed and emotion but by thinking.

Without volatility you alo expose your market to foreign institutions whom have the money to buy in to local stocks, which in the end the losers are Malaysian investors. They are free to manipulate the market at their whim and fancy.

Look at the FCPO market, BMDB has raised the initial margin rates through the ceiling to control the market at RM 15,000 per contract.

Which sane investor would dump Rm 15,000 into the market?

For locals this maybe the truth, but from what I see on my daily papaer work it seems like foreign hedge funds are having their own party! Rm 15,000 is nothing, so is losing it cause its clients money and their clients r loaded.
Yup, it is a free market.

But with only speculation and intraday trading, it won't bring the market very far, it only will lead to potential bubble in making while clients are the losing end, (only investment banks gain through commission), by then damage is more severe than low liquid market.
It is because when share price is not moving up, any gain is because other person's loss, just like futures market, it is a zero sum gain. One loss is substitute by one gain, there is no net gain in the process, in fact, it is a net loss after deducting the commission. That's why KLSE keen to promote and try to increase the volume as well apart of liqudity side. Futures is good for hedging but nowadays this derivatives product become a money making machine for investment house with people speculate on it.

It must strike a balance to have a healthy market which will only prosperous to all. Purely driven by speculation, only good for short term, long term wise, don't bring much benefit to the economy. So instead of lowering intraday commission, why not lowering across all the commission so that investors have cheaper 'loading' and increase the turnover rate as well as increase the liquidity of the market.

Volume can drive the market, but without corporate earning improvement and economy growing, volume can't drive the market higher. You need fundamental issue to support the share price to higher level. Market can be driven by volume alone.

Just my 2 cents.
chen9wei
post Apr 8 2008, 11:59 PM

Look at all my stars
923 posts

did the jupiter link with maybank ? else how to pay through m2u ?
Crossbone
post Apr 9 2008, 09:44 AM

275 posts

looks like Jupiter is a new brokerage firm
they are advertising aggressively to attract new customers.

I opened an account with them during the atic exhibition
they even paid the RM10 cds a/c fee for me
hanif444
post Apr 10 2008, 05:29 PM

1,523 posts

Hlebroking...

Rm12+0.42%+0.1%+0.03%=Rm12+0.55%...
cherroy
post Apr 10 2008, 05:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Crossbone @ Apr 9 2008, 09:44 AM)

Jupiter already is an old broking firm, just not that famous, if not mistaken.
nofear0720
post Apr 11 2008, 04:07 PM

128 posts

I know this is out-of-topic, but anyone knows what is the current clearing free rate?? Is 0.03% or 0.04%?? If it is not standard for all investment company then anyone knows what is the clearing rate for public investment share?

Babablacksheep
post Apr 11 2008, 08:12 PM

852 posts

QUOTE(Crossbone @ Apr 9 2008, 09:44 AM)

Hows the service? Is the GUI user friendly?
Can you describe more from your usage?
jumps
post Jun 7 2008, 07:04 PM

87 posts

Dear All,

Let say within a day, i purchase the same counter in 2 transactions:

1. (0.50 x 10000 shares) + 0.42% = 21
2. (0.50 x 10000 shares) + 0.42% = 21

Will I be charged RM 42 or charge the minimum of each transaction which are RM40 + RM 40?

Thank you.
emy_77
post Jun 14 2008, 11:05 AM

36 posts

I just received a Contract Note and noticed that Maybank has reduced its brokerage fee back to RM12 from RM40. Anyone know when this happened and why? My guess is competition had something to do with it
cherroy
post Jun 14 2008, 11:13 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(jumps @ Jun 7 2008, 07:04 PM)
Dear All,

Let say within a day, i purchase the same counter in 2 transactions:

1. (0.50 x 10000 shares) + 0.42% = 21
2. (0.50 x 10000 shares) + 0.42% = 21

Will I be charged RM 42 or charge the minimum of each transaction which are RM40 + RM 40?

Thank you.
For a single day transaction, they will add together (for the same stock) and treat it as one contract before start to calculate the commission.

Even you buy 1000 times x with 1 lot each, you won't be charged 1000 x min commision. tongue.gif smile.gif
jumps
post Jun 17 2008, 11:42 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jun 14 2008, 11:13 AM)
For a single day transaction, they will add together (for the same stock) and treat it as one contract before start to calculate the commission.

Even you buy 1000 times x with 1 lot each, you won't be charged 1000 x min commision.  tongue.gif  smile.gif
Hi Cherroy,

Thanks a lot for the clarification. Appreciated. smile.gif

Regards.
Neo18
post Jun 20 2008, 10:29 AM

1,850 posts

Guys,

I'm actively using CIMB i trade account. But i still get charged @ minimum RM28 per transaction, which mean, i need to buy RM6667 worth of share to 'breakeven'

Can i ask for further discount, maybe ask them to give me minimum RM12 like most other trading portal?

TQ
cherroy
post Jun 20 2008, 10:48 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Jun 20 2008, 10:29 AM)
Guys,

I'm actively using CIMB i trade account. But i still get charged @ minimum RM28 per transaction, which mean, i need to buy RM6667 worth of share to 'breakeven'

Can i ask for further discount, maybe ask them to give me minimum RM12 like most other trading portal?

TQ
No, once they implement min Rm28, then it is Rm28 across.

The only way is switching the broker you are using.

Neo18
post Jun 20 2008, 11:40 AM

1,850 posts

Ok, after taking into account many factor like:-
a. brokerage fee
b. availability of existing account
c. strong background of company.

I have decided to open another broker with Public Bank online trading.
I will be operating both account at the moment, but i plan to phase out CIMB itrade in one year time.

I will do most of my buying in PB.
sabrateur
post Jun 20 2008, 12:08 PM

236 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Apr 8 2008, 10:50 AM)
Volume can drive the market, but without corporate earning improvement and economy growing, volume can't drive the market higher. You need fundamental issue to support the share price to higher level. Market can be driven by volume alone.

Just my 2 cents.
I believe the purpose of volume is not to drive the market higher. The ability to drive market higher is not an aim of the stock market.

The stock market's aim is to value companies as accurately as possible. There are many theories to this, but what all theories have in common is that you need volume to determine the price correctly. The more people buy and sell, the more accurate the price would be.

You want people to buy stock when they think it is underpriced and you want people to sell when they think it is overpriced. No matter how little or how many shares they can buy. This is done buy short term traders.

Actually, if only long term buyers are in the market, this is what will cause bubbles. Everyone buy and keep, nobody sells.
cherroy
post Jun 20 2008, 12:58 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sabrateur @ Jun 20 2008, 12:08 PM)
I believe the purpose of volume is not to drive the market higher. The ability to drive market higher is not an aim of the stock market.

The stock market's aim is to value companies as accurately as possible. There are many theories to this, but what all theories have in common is that you need volume to determine the price correctly. The more people buy and sell, the more accurate the price would be.

You want people to buy stock when they think it is underpriced and you want people to sell when they think it is overpriced. No matter how little or how many shares they can buy. This is done buy short term traders.

Actually, if only long term buyers are in the market, this is what will cause bubbles. Everyone buy and keep, nobody sells.
What I meant volume is those 'goreng' volume in the market which is artificially make up by those syndicate. Those volume is purposely drive up the share price only in order to lure people into it or as a bait which has nothing to do company fundamental.

howszat
post Jun 20 2008, 03:36 PM

2,932 posts

QUOTE(Neo18 @ Jun 20 2008, 11:40 AM)
Ok, after taking into account many factor like:-
a. brokerage fee
b. availability of existing account
c. strong background of company.

I have decided to open another broker with Public Bank online trading.
I will be operating both account at the moment, but i plan to phase out CIMB itrade in one year time.

I will do most of my buying in PB.
PB have changed their minimum (recently?) to RM12 right?

Have you looked at their trading platform to see what its like yet?

skiddtrader
post Jun 20 2008, 03:47 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

Wow, now that is what I've never heard before. Long term buyers causing bubbles? Maybe commoddities but never share markets.

Only effect long term buyers will do is bring up to a price of a counter to where it becomes the actual price they deemed perfect for their share before they sell it. Long term buyers have no reason to keep a share once it reaches their target, and more long term buyers will not pay more than what they think the share is worth.

Bubbles are caused by speculation that something would be worth more tomorrow than what it is today, without any valuation of what the underlying principle of what the item is valuated at other than it's past price.

Ever heard of the village and the monkeys story? That is how a bubble is formed.

Long term buyers do not create bubbles.

This post has been edited by skiddtrader: Jun 20 2008, 04:14 PM
Neo18
post Jun 20 2008, 03:59 PM

1,850 posts

QUOTE(howszat @ Jun 20 2008, 03:36 PM)
PB have changed their minimum (recently?) to RM12 right?

Have you looked at their trading platform to see what its like yet?
No, i have not seen their trading platform. Anyway it doesn't matter, because i got CIMB platform for any additional information.

I just do my buying in PB. Any analysis or news, i can get from CIMB

Also, i just subscribe to I CAPITAL research and economy update. Paid RM720 ringgit for that!!! anyway, nevermind la.

As i told u guys, this next few years is learning curve. When you learn, you have to pay ma. Nothing is free.hahaha

This post has been edited by Neo18: Jun 20 2008, 04:01 PM
cherroy
post Jun 20 2008, 04:05 PM

25,802 posts

It is the first time, I heard long term buyers are the one causing bubbles. shocking.gif

Historically proven, it is those speculators are the culprit for those bubbles making range from 2000 tech bubble, US subprime, China stock market bubble recently. Those bubbles are being created by greed of people/investor/speculators. Those speculators keep on buying because they anticipated price will go even higher so with buying continous pile up so does share price, commodities price etc. They don't care about fundamental or valuation as long as there are takers/buyers at higher price then they can make profit out of it. And with easy profit and this cycle role on, bubble become bigger and bigger until the bubble is too big and can't sustain then bursting, then all bloods across the street, just like subprime recently causing massive billions and billions of loss on banks and investment banks.

Long term investors don't mean they won't sell, but mean they intend to keep it for long term in the first place when initial buy. They are not the one going in and out of the market frequently which reduce the volatility of the market. In fact, they are the one cuhsioning the down trend effect and stablise the market.

Long term investors don't mean they are buying blindly also which create buying force that create any bubbles. They generally look for value as it is meant to keep for long term.

Another point is long term investors doesn't mean they fall in love with the stock forever, when profit is enough or see price way beyond the fundamental price then will sell to realise those profit.
Typically case would be Warren Buffett that everyone knew he is a long term investors, but he still sold petrochina shares he owns previously because he saw it is too expensive to hold on already.

howszat
post Jun 20 2008, 04:16 PM

2,932 posts

It is my understanding that bubbles are caused by vegetable sellers, fish sellers, and rubbish collectors.

You know a bubble is happening when every time you see these people, they want to talk to you about buying shares, and only buying because no one is selling.

smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif

This post has been edited by howszat: Jun 20 2008, 04:16 PM
sabrateur
post Jun 20 2008, 04:17 PM

236 posts

Oops, I think I have stirred something here.

I agree, bubbles are caused by speculators thinking the worth of the thing/share/commodity will increase in the future.

What I meant was, I do not agree with the government's action of increasing the minimum brokerage fee. This will only chase volume away.

The usual reasoning is: "We want to encourage long term investing and not speculation." Increasing the brokerage fee is not the answer to this. The answer is education. People must learn that the stock market is not a casino. Pick a number and hope the roulette ball stops there.

I apologise for saying long term buyer creates bubbles. I take it back.

I just disagree that low brokerage costs will excessively promote speculation. Speculators will always speculate whatever the brokerage costs are.

Btw, what is the story of the village and monkeys? Never heard of that before.
skiddtrader
post Jun 20 2008, 09:39 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(sabrateur @ Jun 20 2008, 04:17 PM)
Btw, what is the story of the village and monkeys? Never heard of that before.
Actually I quoted the wrong story for an example of bubbles. It should've been the Dutch Tulip story found here.

While the Monkey Story actually relate more to syndicate play and people's greed. The story is here.

Sorry for the mistake of the story. ^^
mtsen
post Apr 6 2009, 01:13 AM

1,473 posts

jupiter started as jtrade I think, at that time they focus too much on IT technology and failed to surface out, then later when they started marketing as jupiter, things get better, by now they are an ok online trade ....
lovelypastels
post Apr 30 2009, 04:17 PM

15 posts

whats the online brokerage rate for public bank now? i know CIMB has the RM8.88 brokerage but then must put in cash RM10k into account at all times. Maybank still has the promotional RM8.

Public Bank's rate still at RM12?
ks3114
post Apr 30 2009, 06:57 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(lovelypastels @ Apr 30 2009, 04:17 PM)
whats the online brokerage rate for public bank now? i know CIMB has the RM8.88 brokerage but then must put in cash RM10k into account at all times. Maybank still has the promotional RM8.

Maybank's RM8 promotional rate is only for their Cash Trading Account. It doesn't apply for their Margin Trading Acc.

Means u need cash in the account before u can even queue to buy.
kb2005
post May 1 2009, 11:21 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(ks3114 @ Apr 30 2009, 06:57 PM)
Maybank's RM8 promotional rate is only for their Cash Trading Account. It doesn't apply for their Margin Trading Acc.

Means u need cash in the account before u can even queue to buy.
You mean 1 to 1 ?
ks3114
post May 2 2009, 01:29 AM

90 posts

QUOTE(kb2005 @ May 1 2009, 11:21 PM)
You mean 1 to 1 ?
yes.

Oh ya, on a different note, you can't purchase Maybank shares if you use the Margin Trading Acc. Can any1 confirm if this is true?
teewan
post May 3 2009, 07:56 PM

339 posts

Yes, margin account cannot purchase Maybank shares, and at least also cannot purchase shares with an exclamation mark "!", eg PN13 shares etc.

With cash account, I think all shares can.
kb2005
post May 3 2009, 09:35 PM

Yahoo!
17,875 posts

QUOTE(ks3114 @ May 2 2009, 01:29 AM)
yes.

Oh ya, on a different note, you can't purchase Maybank shares if you use the Margin Trading Acc. Can any1 confirm if this is true?
I was told by my friend too. It is strange why Maybank restricted te user to purchase teir own share!
ks3114
post May 3 2009, 11:24 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(teewan @ May 3 2009, 07:56 PM)
Yes, margin account cannot purchase Maybank shares, and at least also cannot purchase shares with an exclamation mark "!", eg PN13 shares etc.

With cash account, I think all shares can.
Oh ya, and also certain type of warrants and derivatives too. Maximum lots you can purchase with margin acc is 500 lots (500x100) only. Is it the same with cash acc too?
PureGeek
post May 4 2009, 12:28 AM

433 posts

QUOTE(lovelypastels @ Apr 30 2009, 04:17 PM)

Guys, I'm using Maybank E trading, they are holding shares for you at nominees basis if not mistaken

i do NOT receive annual reports (and not sure if i will receive the dividends as well) and i've missed one of the general meetings, do u guys share the same experience?

This post has been edited by PureGeek: May 4 2009, 12:29 AM
zirconia
post Nov 20 2009, 09:41 AM

QUOTE(PureGeek @ May 4 2009, 12:28 AM)
Guys, I'm using Maybank E trading, they are holding shares for you at nominees basis if not mistaken
This is the screenshot of default transaction cost of Maybank eshare trading. Are these values still applicable or is it lower?

kei18kun
post Nov 22 2009, 12:23 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

im with TA, want to ask is the broker overcharging me at RM40 per transaction when i sold 100 shares of KNM just worth RM80?
skiddtrader
post Nov 22 2009, 01:38 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Nov 22 2009, 12:23 PM)
im with TA, want to ask is the broker overcharging me at RM40 per transaction when i sold 100 shares of KNM just worth RM80?
No, they are not overcharging. Minimum charges for any transaction can be from RM12 for online (no assistance) to RM40 for broker assist.

Which is why it is important to know that your profits is enough to cover your minimum brokerages.

Your total transaction of RM80 will incur the minimum charges for sure whether if its RM12 or RM40.
kei18kun
post Nov 23 2009, 08:03 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Nov 22 2009, 01:38 PM)
No, they are not overcharging. Minimum charges for any transaction can be from RM12 for online (no assistance) to RM40 for broker assist.

Which is why it is important to know that your profits is enough to cover your minimum brokerages.

Your total transaction of RM80 will incur the minimum charges for sure whether if its RM12 or RM40.
then the broker give me misleading info since he says both same charges!!! vmad.gif
simplesmile
post Nov 23 2009, 08:06 PM

2,991 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Nov 23 2009, 08:03 PM)
then the broker give me misleading info since he says both same charges!!! vmad.gif
Why not learn to trade online?
kei18kun
post Nov 24 2009, 03:10 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

i just applied with him, he told me that its the same charges, the old fox!
skiddtrader
post Nov 24 2009, 06:21 PM

Suspicious
3,037 posts

QUOTE(kei18kun @ Nov 24 2009, 03:10 PM)
i just applied with him, he told me that its the same charges, the old fox!
Different brokers got different charges. I'm not sure how much TA us charging, but if you can check to see if they charge differently for their online transaction from their website or something.

kei18kun
post Nov 25 2009, 09:34 PM

Coconut in the sea(TM)
5,195 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Nov 24 2009, 06:21 PM)
Different brokers got different charges. I'm not sure how much TA us charging, but if you can check to see if they charge differently for their online transaction from their website or something.
nope its not mention in the website
~JK~
post Sep 20 2010, 05:05 PM

36 posts

i'm trading with maybank2u.com.my, n the brokerage fee is rm40..
n i don't know there's a brokerage fee of rm28 for online trading,
can i switch to the rm28 brokerage fee??
n what's the difference between the 2 different pricing??

This post has been edited by ~JK~: Sep 20 2010, 05:05 PM
mmusang
post Sep 20 2010, 05:53 PM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(~JK~ @ Sep 20 2010, 05:05 PM)
i'm trading with maybank2u.com.my, n the brokerage fee is rm40..
n i don't know there's a brokerage fee of rm28 for online trading,
can i switch to the rm28 brokerage fee??
n what's the difference between the 2 different pricing??
waah, u waking up old thread.
M2U got promotions for online trading, 0.1%, min rm8
~JK~
post Sep 20 2010, 06:42 PM

36 posts

good ma.. cannot sleep too much, if not really die away..

does it means that my brokerage fee of rm40 = i'm trading through remisier??
how do i switch to online trading then??

n what's the difference between online trading n through remisier??
lilyginger
post Sep 23 2010, 12:52 PM

448 posts

Its official, the new online trading rate from JF Apex Securities;

RM12 Flat for Intra Day Trades per Contract rclxms.gif

Minimum RM5K deposit with multiplier

For more information, visit ; http://www.apexetrade.com/bin/home.asp

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Added on September 23, 2010, 10:43 amQuotes from KLAW on 14th September 2009 at 1:10am.

Just to share my experience with an online service I am using: www.apexetrade.com

General Info:
1. Nominee account
2. Using the web-based solution provided by N2NConnect (which seems to be the same software being used by Cimb, based on some user's screenshots)
3. Software is Java-based, but shouldn't be a problem for broadband users.
4. Settlement of funds via Maybank2u or Pbebank.
5. Like most online trading accounts, the balance you have (if you have any) earns a little bit of interest (not sure what the rate is).

What I Like:
1. Software features quite comprehensive. Can look at detailed stock info, stock price/volume history, charts, candlesticks, etc.
2. When buying stock, shows you the breakeven price (after factoring in brokerage+stamp duty+that 0.03%)
3. Shows you your portfolio and its performance.
4. Trading generally takes only a few minutes to enter Bursa's system from when I confirm my trade details.
5. Uptime of the site is 24 hours, and I have rarely encountered any outage. Actually I never, but I'm not on there 24 hours a day, am I? (I shudder to think of how Maybank2u users execute their trades after 12am when Maybank is 'refreshing' their system)
6. Trades outside of trading hours can be placed anytime of the day, to be queued at Bursa before trading opens. Some online systems don't allow this or they have time restrictions on when you can place trades.
7. Easy to make changes/cancel submitted trades (as long as the trade has not been executed yet, of course).
8. Each user is linked to a dealer/representative. The built-in messaging system allows you to message the dealer with any queries. My experience of this is that my queries have always been answered promptly, and always within the day.
9. Create multiple watch lists for you to manage stocks that you're interested in, so that you don't have to filter for that stock everytime.
10. Shows you your realised gains/losses over history, so that you know how well your previous trades have performed.

~Battousai~
post Sep 24 2010, 12:45 AM

4,477 posts

non intraday is what rate ?

how to register there ? i dont see anything resembling it on the website
tech trader
post Sep 26 2010, 04:38 PM

36 posts

I called them to check on their E-Trade on the Go promotion, they informed me that the brokerage is;

Non Day Trade : minimum RM28.

I am thinking about signing with them for this package ;

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1261185/+100

On 22nd September 2010, JF Apex Securities has launched the following E-Trade on the Go. The details of the promotion as per the following(applicable to both existing and newly signed up client) ;

The client can choose either one of the following promotions ;

1-Purchase of Acer Aspire 4741-372G5'01 4"laptop with FREE 6 months P 1 WIMAX
Broadband subscription(2 GB usage/ month) and FREE Canon All in One Printer
MP258 for the price of RM2,399 (Retail price for this package is RM3,017.00 ).

2-Purchase of Acer Aspire 4741-372G50 14" laptop with FREE 6 months P1 WIMAX
Broadband subscription(2GB Usage/month) ,FREE 24 months DlGl broadband Subscription(1MB usage/month) and FREE Canon All in One Printer MP258 for the price of RM3,199.00(Retail price is RM4,070 )
In addition to the above the following package offers shall also be extended to newly sign up online trading accounts subject to the terms and conditions whereby the details of " terms and conditions" of which is attached for your guideline.

3-Free Acer Aspire AOD255 Atom 10.1 ( Terms& Conditions apply)

4-Free Acer AS4741-352G32MN 14" laptop with DlGl 3G 1MB broadband 24 months
subscription
(Terms& Conditions Apply)

Get more information on their webpage ; http://www.apexetrade.com/bin/home.asp

The brochure is attached.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Added on September 23, 2010, 10:18 amThe terms and conditions to be shared with everyone;

1-Duration : 20th September to 20th December 2010

2-Client must select either one of this option ;

Option A

Acer Aspire Atom 10.1
Deposit of RM3,000.00 for trading limit purpose
RM1,200.00 be deducted upon hand over of netbook

Option B

ACER AS4741 14” laptop (with DIGI 3G
broadband 24 months subscription)
Deposit of RM8,000.00 for trading limit purposes
RM3,300.00 be deducted upon hand over of notebook.

3-Clients will be required to trade with JF Apex Securities with cumulative brokerage of RM2,688.00 for Option A and RM7,488.00 for Option B, to be calculated by JF Apex Securities discretion, anytime during the first twelve (12) months starting from the date of signing up of the new trading account.

4-Initial deduction of RM1,200 or RM3,300 will be credited into JF Apex client’s trust account within thirty (30) days upon fulfilling the Terms and Conditions of the promotion failing which the said amount will be forfeited.

maria123
post Sep 27 2010, 03:26 PM

hi,

Im newbie in stock market. I just open an CSD account. But i realised that trading can do thru remiser or online. Please advise which 1 better. thks.
lilyginger
post Sep 27 2010, 07:46 PM

448 posts

Maria,

Theres pros and cons in online trading and remisier trading;

Online Trading
Pros;

Lower brokerage rates

(I copied from klaw remark on Apex-etrade)

1. Software features quite comprehensive. Can look at detailed stock info, stock price/volume history, charts, candlesticks, etc.
2. When buying stock, shows you the breakeven price (after factoring in brokerage+stamp duty+that 0.03%)
4. Trading generally takes only a few minutes to enter Bursa's system from when I confirm my trade details.
5. Uptime of the site is 24 hours, and I have rarely encountered any outage. Actually I never, but I'm not on there 24 hours a day, am I? (I shudder to think of how Maybank2u users execute their trades after 12am when Maybank is 'refreshing' their system)
6. Trades outside of trading hours can be placed anytime of the day, to be queued at Bursa before trading opens. Some online systems don't allow this or they have time restrictions on when you can place trades.
7. Easy to make changes/cancel submitted trades (as long as the trade has not been executed yet, of course).
8. Each user is linked to a dealer/representative. The built-in messaging system allows you to message the dealer with any queries. My experience of this is that my queries have always been answered promptly, and always within the day.
9. Create multiple watch lists for you to manage stocks that you're interested in, so that you don't have to filter for that stock everytime.
10. Shows you your realised gains/losses over history, so that you know how well your previous trades have performed.

Cons :-

You need good internet connections.

Remisier Trading

Pros

-since you are a newbie, the remisier can give you lessons on trading and recomendation on types of stock that is suitable to your risk appetite.
-Take care of your portfolio like you can always tell the remisier when to sell or hold and the remisier will monitor for you.

Cons
-Expensive brokerage fees

rosdi1
post Sep 27 2010, 08:14 PM

Cari makan
2,211 posts

QUOTE(lilyginger @ Sep 27 2010, 07:46 PM)
Maria,

Theres pros and cons in online trading and remisier trading;

Online Trading
Pros;

Lower brokerage rates

(I copied from klaw remark on Apex-etrade)

Cons :-

You need good internet connections.

Remisier Trading

Pros

-since you are a newbie, the remisier can give you lessons on trading and recomendation on types of stock that is suitable to your risk appetite.
-Take care of your portfolio like you can always tell the remisier when to sell or hold and the remisier will monitor for you.

Cons
-Expensive brokerage fees
... other than that I think your first step is to attend some classes on stock trading.
it will help to jumptstart the right way.
I attended the classes after I had started trading and I had regreted that.
I should had invested on the classes first.
Thank yo
Good Luck

silent9
post Nov 26 2010, 11:53 PM

QUOTE(rosdi1 @ Sep 27 2010, 08:14 PM)
... other than that I think your first step is to attend some classes on stock trading.
it will help to jumptstart the right way.
I attended the classes after I had started trading and I had regreted that.
I should had invested on the classes first.
Thank yo
Good Luck
where i can attend those classes??
where to register?
imran85
post Jan 11 2011, 01:50 PM

92 posts

I would like to know too.
SUSngkhanmein
post Jan 11 2011, 01:56 PM

カラカラ Karakara
7,727 posts

newbie here.. i also wish to attend but is it FOC?

Added on January 11, 2011, 1:57 pmrosdi.. mcm sifu at here.. PLUS can go in ma rite now?

This post has been edited by ngkhanmein: Jan 11 2011, 01:57 PM
popcorn513
post Jan 11 2011, 05:53 PM

僕は戦闘機君は航空母艦
1,332 posts

QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Jan 11 2011, 01:56 PM)
newbie here.. i also wish to attend but is it FOC?

Added on January 11, 2011, 1:57 pmrosdi.. mcm sifu at here.. PLUS can go in ma rite now?
i also new and haven't really attend any talk on stock (i suppose cheaper we learnt by ourself?)
But jupiter security got free newbie course, but only useful if you using their system
linuxbay
post Jan 12 2011, 05:52 AM

32 posts

ecmmoney is not too bad either...got promo's going on now..
just apply online and they'll PosLaju you the application form..

just got mine, will update when I start trading with them biggrin.gif
ronnie
post Sep 28 2011, 06:57 PM

Not enough stars
21,332 posts

Which Online Trading Portal offers lowest brokerage fee ?

This post has been edited by ronnie: Sep 28 2011, 06:57 PM
ngaisteve1
post Sep 28 2011, 07:14 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 28 2011, 07:57 PM)
Which Online Trading Portal offers lowest brokerage fee ?
History posts should have some info to compare. Previously i'm using Public bank but then change to Jupiter Securities which i find the brokerage fee cheaper. for cash is 0.07% or RM10 whichever lower. for more info on Jupiter Securities, can private message me ya.
ronnie
post Sep 28 2011, 07:24 PM

Not enough stars
21,332 posts

http://www.hlb.com.my/eb/ebroking/ebroking.jsp?flag=ebroking
Lower Rates, Higher Profits
Enjoy brokerage rates from as low as 0.10% and a minimum brokerage of RM8!

Is the above still true ?
ngaisteve1
post Sep 28 2011, 07:31 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 28 2011, 08:24 PM)
u can call them up to confirm. nod.gif
Icehart
post Sep 28 2011, 08:27 PM

14,902 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Sep 28 2011, 07:14 PM)
History posts should have some info to compare. Previously i'm using Public bank but then change to Jupiter Securities which i find the brokerage fee cheaper. for cash is 0.07% or RM10 whichever lower. for more info on Jupiter Securities, can private message me ya.
Or you sure that is "whichever lower"?

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 28 2011, 07:24 PM)
If you subscribed to the "right" account. smile.gif
ngaisteve1
post Sep 29 2011, 09:51 AM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(Icehart @ Sep 28 2011, 09:27 PM)
Or you sure that is "whichever lower"?
ops, it is whichever higher. thanks smile.gif
ciahcra
post Sep 29 2011, 09:59 AM

Always hungry
897 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Sep 28 2011, 07:24 PM)
The rate still true. but only applies to cash upfront account. if you want more trading limit than the cash you deposited, then normal rate will apply
kianwei.tan
post Sep 29 2011, 04:06 PM

i believe this table http://klse.i3investor.com/jsp/hti/brokers.jsp can help you
CSS
post Sep 29 2011, 05:03 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(kianwei.tan @ Sep 29 2011, 04:06 PM)
i believe this table http://klse.i3investor.com/jsp/hti/brokers.jsp can help you
Good site thumbup.gif

Which one is more established, ecm libra or jupiter? (Wanna ensure reliability and don't want my hard earn money go *poof*) cry.gif

Which one provides mobile trading?

ngaisteve1
post Sep 29 2011, 05:22 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(CSS @ Sep 29 2011, 06:03 PM)
Good site  thumbup.gif

Which one is more established, ecm libra or jupiter? (Wanna ensure reliability and don't want my hard earn money go *poof*)  cry.gif

Which one provides mobile trading?
jupiter does not provide mobile trading. not sure about ecm.
CSS
post Sep 29 2011, 06:02 PM

475 posts

QUOTE(ngaisteve1 @ Sep 29 2011, 05:22 PM)
jupiter does not provide mobile trading. not sure about ecm.
That's strange, what's with the website showing all the handphones and stuff? Is the service not provided? Or suck too much?

ngaisteve1
post Sep 29 2011, 06:25 PM

Software Engineer
6,779 posts

QUOTE(CSS @ Sep 29 2011, 07:02 PM)
That's strange, what's with the website showing all the handphones and stuff? Is the service not provided? Or suck too much?
okay, i recheck my email history. ya got but not for android smartphone.

Dear Sir,

We are not able to run on Android, Iphones, Blackberry Torch.  The basic requirements that Jupiter MPRO need are:

Java Version
Java MIDP2
GPRS / 3G account must be activated

Windows Mobile for Smartphone
Windows Mobile 2002 based Smartphone devices
Windows Mobile 2003 based Smartphone devices

Windows Mobile for PocketPC / PDA
Pocket PC 2002 and Pocket PC Phone Edition devices
Windows Mobile 2003 based Pocket PC and Phone Edition devices
Windows Mobile 2003, Second Edition based Pocket PC and Phone Edition devices
Users can choose from 2 methods of Internet connection:

a) Connect to Internet through mobile phone
Phone must support either Bluetooth or IR connection
PDA must support either Bluetooth or IR connection
b) Connect to Internet through WiFi
PDA must have WiFi card
Connection to wireless access point must be established

We have client using Blackberry Bold, HTC Diamond, Sony Erricson and other models as well.  We might soon launch MPRO for iPhone in future. However, this really depends on the individual phone for the installation of Jupiter MPRO.  Kindly call Service Center 03-2070 9800 or refer to MPRO homepage (https://www.jupiteronline.com.my/jssbecos/main_mpro.asp) to get more details.

Thank you.

Best Regards,
Customer Service Department
Jupiter Securities Sdn Bhd
Level 8,Menara Olympia
No 8,Jalan Raja Chulan
50200 Kuala Lumpur
Tel No  :  603-2070 9800
Fax No :  603-2072 8264
Morisato
post Oct 1 2011, 04:37 PM

284 posts

broker fees can discount some more?
Chartry
post Oct 20 2011, 12:30 PM

In the mood of love
1,616 posts

which one is the best for small traders, fee wise and requirements. thanks!
machoman_13
post Oct 28 2011, 11:03 AM

132 posts

You may find KLSE broker ranking and comparison here.

http://klse.i3investor.com/jsp/hti/brokers.jsp
umbreon
post Dec 8 2011, 01:28 PM

Hi. I'm new to stock market. Would like to ask regarding brokerage fee if trading same stock but queue at 2 different price/session, the brokerage fee count as two separate charges? Sometimes when buying, only partially match and have to revise to another buying price or wait until another round of match the whole amount. Please advise. Thanks a lot.
rayng18
post Dec 8 2011, 02:05 PM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(umbreon @ Dec 8 2011, 01:28 PM)
Hi. I'm new to stock market. Would like to ask regarding brokerage fee if trading same stock but queue at 2 different price/session, the brokerage fee count as two separate charges? Sometimes when buying, only partially match and have to revise to another buying price or wait until another round of match the whole amount. Please advise. Thanks a lot.
Buying same stock same day but diff time and price is still considered as one contract and brokerage will be charged for the total amount of that particular stock on that day
SUSlowya
post Jan 6 2012, 10:15 PM

4,821 posts

Anyone using the Maybank Broker 0.1% min RM8 Cash Account as per promotion http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions

Dont understand a clause that says:

The rebate on the Trading Fees is not redeemable for cash and is not
transferable.

Please advise?

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/Mayban...tTnC290911a.pdf
SANGKANCIL2000
post Jan 8 2012, 09:51 AM

164 posts

QUOTE(machoman_13 @ Oct 28 2011, 11:03 AM)
You may find KLSE broker ranking and comparison here.

http://klse.i3investor.com/jsp/hti/brokers.jsp
thanks.. stated there osk got cash upfront account... but ask my dealer always say tak ada...
mmusang
post Jan 9 2012, 12:26 AM

1,006 posts

QUOTE(lowya @ Jan 6 2012, 10:15 PM)
Anyone using the Maybank Broker 0.1% min RM8 Cash Account as per promotion http://www.maybank2u.com.my/mbb_info/m2u/p.../PRO-Promotions

Dont understand a clause that says:

The rebate on the Trading Fees is not redeemable for cash and is not
transferable.

Please advise?

http://www.maybank2u.com.my/WebBank/Mayban...tTnC290911a.pdf
i do not understand either. from wat i know, they do not immediately give rebate, only the end of month then it will be refund to you in deposit account.
asambuffett
post Jan 9 2012, 01:02 AM

476 posts

at last, we can trade from iphone for maybank stockbroking.

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?f...17&sec=business

This post has been edited by asambuffett: Jan 9 2012, 01:04 AM
JamesPond
post Jan 20 2012, 09:27 PM

4,526 posts

If this case how?

Intra day trade

1000 x 2.50, later
1000 x 2.60

how do they charge?

2500+2600 x 0.42% or 2500 x 0.42% + 2600 x 0.42%?

stockerzzz
post Feb 13 2012, 06:09 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Jan 20 2012, 09:27 PM)
If this case how?

Intra day trade

1000 x 2.50, later
1000 x 2.60

how do they charge?

if it is intraday trade with the SAME STOCK, then it is lump up as one charge.

(2500+2600)x 0.42%= ....

hope can clear ur doubt
tcchong28
post Feb 13 2012, 11:26 PM

64 posts

QUOTE(JamesPond @ Jan 20 2012, 09:27 PM)
If this case how?

Intra day trade

1000 x 2.50, later
1000 x 2.60

how do they charge?

Intra day = buy & sell same day !

For Public Bank share trading, Intra day trade rate = 0.15%

i dunno your site also same rate or not, pls confirm with ur broker in charge.

rayng18
post Feb 14 2012, 07:22 AM

1,481 posts

QUOTE(tcchong28 @ Feb 13 2012, 11:26 PM)
Intra day = buy & sell same day !

For Public Bank share trading, Intra day trade rate = 0.15%

i dunno your site also same rate or not, pls confirm with ur broker in charge.
Most houses charge 0.15% for intra-day trades and still subject to the minimum brokerage
Sone Shin
post May 3 2012, 12:03 PM

255 posts

Can I ask the current brokerage fees is how much now?
Where I can always updated with all this info?

Isit the brokerage rate still is 0.42% and minimum rm28 for online transaction?
M_century
post May 17 2012, 11:02 PM

114 posts

Can go as low as 0.15% min 12 depending on stock broking firm
holybo
post May 19 2012, 05:58 PM

1,449 posts

Anyone has the brokerage rate for each bank? I heard some bank can give minimum brokerage fees is RM6 or RM8.. How to entitle for that ya?
stockerzzz
post May 21 2012, 08:02 PM

425 posts

QUOTE(holybo @ May 19 2012, 05:58 PM)
Anyone has the brokerage rate for each bank? I heard some bank can give minimum brokerage fees is RM6 or RM8.. How to entitle for that ya?
for maybank, u can only entitle for the min RM 8 or 0.1% whichever maximum brokerage free if u are using cash upfront.
SUSMNet
post May 21 2012, 08:08 PM

11,954 posts

ambank esecurity rm6
holybo
post May 21 2012, 08:52 PM

1,449 posts

QUOTE(stockerzzz @ May 21 2012, 08:02 PM)
for maybank, u can only entitle for the min RM 8 or 0.1% whichever maximum brokerage free if u are using cash upfront.
means if i put in 10k, then I only have 10k to trade?

QUOTE(MNet @ May 21 2012, 08:08 PM)
ambank esecurity rm6
how to entitle for that? brows.gif
nspk
post May 26 2012, 11:58 AM

359 posts

Anyone try AmeSecurty with min RM6?
CSS
post Jul 8 2012, 10:34 AM

475 posts

QUOTE(umbreon @ Dec 8 2011, 01:28 PM)
It would be the same charges lump together.
phoenix87
post Jul 8 2012, 02:54 PM

709 posts

QUOTE(nspk @ May 26 2012, 11:58 AM)
Anyone try AmeSecurty with min RM6?
wht platform am invest uses?
venicelim
post Aug 26 2013, 01:01 PM

330 posts

anyone here using services & online trading acc with M&A Securities?
I dont see anyone mentioning about it here.
How much is their charges?

0.1024sec    1.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 04:16 PM