21 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Bottom

Hermit Crabs version 2.0, All about land and sea hermit crabs.

Awan Afuqya
post Feb 18 2009, 04:05 PM

=)
1,796 posts

Guys, where can I buy nice and suitable sand for the crabs?

This post has been edited by Awan Afuqya: Feb 18 2009, 04:05 PM
funkychips
post Feb 18 2009, 09:33 PM

1967 Chevy Impala
949 posts

Hi Awan, you can use coconut fibre instead, as they absorb moisture better than sand. Look for them in garden centres or nurseries, normally labeled as cocopeat. They either sell by block (you need to soak in water to loosen it) or you can buy those in packs already loosen. Very good substrate to use for other pets as well like bugs, spiders, scorpions, reptiles, amphibians etc.
TSonscreen
post Feb 20 2009, 12:50 PM

Nomby
675 posts

QUOTE(funkychips @ Feb 18 2009, 09:33 PM)
Hi Awan, you can use coconut fibre instead, as they absorb moisture better than sand. Look for them in garden centres or nurseries, normally labeled as cocopeat. They either sell by block (you need to soak in water to loosen it) or you can buy those in packs already loosen. Very good  substrate to use for other pets as well like bugs, spiders, scorpions, reptiles, amphibians etc.
Still you need sand for a much suitable burrowing substrate for the crabs. Though its my first time to use coconut fibre as substrate and would like to ask, should i change it after a long term use? Will a damp coconut fibre will lose its efficiency in maintaining humidity?

This post has been edited by onscreen: Feb 20 2009, 12:56 PM
g-string
post Feb 20 2009, 04:42 PM

180 posts

hi...haven't posted here for a bit.

onscreen...i used coconut for about a month, its actually pretty good. it maintains moisture really well, and soft. doesn't smell, has a sweet sickly smell. but i never saw them burrow/dig though. if u're worried about humidity, just pour small amounts of water in a few places. it will keep the moistness.

now changed to crushed corals from pet safari. i guess sand is better as its their natural habitat. however its more messy and the sand gets everywhere. the easy thing however is to pick up their poop droppings. in the coconut, u cant see it biggrin.gif

however have yet to try a combo of both. sand at the bottom, a layer of coconut on the top. might be a good option. will let you know once i do it during the next cleaning period.

so pet center has new crabs, might pay them a visit. smile.gif

i have one request.....anybody has any turbo shells to sell? i've been looking high and low, but cannot find any for sale. Pet safari and other pet shops have none. sad.gif( my poor crabs have no shells to change. sigh.

anyone wants to sell?? pls do let me know. much thanks
xecton
post Feb 20 2009, 04:45 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

Anyone has any idea on where I can get shells in Penang?
Those that I found are all for decorative purpose, very fragile.
My crabs climb a lot and fall a lot. I need some real shells.
g-string
post Feb 20 2009, 05:35 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(xecton @ Feb 20 2009, 04:45 PM)
Anyone has any idea on where I can get shells in Penang?
Those that I found are all for decorative purpose, very fragile.
My crabs climb a lot and fall a lot. I need some real shells.
penang beach should have? just take a walk and see if can pick up anything....
yunkakei
post Feb 21 2009, 12:07 AM

Hehe, specially joined this forum just so that I can talk here. :'D I used to have 2 crabbies four years ago. If I'm not wrong, one was a Purple Pincher and the other smaller one was a Cavipe. But they both died because my crabitat wasn't good enough. T.T I didn't get any new ones because I trauma due to their deaths. Both got too stressed, got naked and died. Only recently I've regained the interest in having crabbies as pets again.

I'm surprised at the price of the PP now though because I bought mine for only RM6. O.o But that was 4 yrs ago, haha. *sigh* I want to get another PP because I love them! My old PP, Ashurahime was very friendly and loving. She enjoyed climbing all over me. I let her crawl from my palm to my shoulders, and she had never pinched me till the day she passed on. The Cav, Izayoi, though smaller, liked to bully Ashurahime by chasing her into a corner and climbing all over her. I miss them both...

Now I will focus on getting a proper crabitat before getting the crabs. So I look forward to advice from you all. :3 Thank you!
Awan Afuqya
post Feb 21 2009, 08:30 PM

=)
1,796 posts

Finally set up my 2nd basic crabitat with a bigger tank, sand and coconut fibre. Trying to look for a nice deco / place to climb like those mini house or ship wreck.

This post has been edited by Awan Afuqya: Feb 21 2009, 08:37 PM
g-string
post Feb 21 2009, 11:42 PM

180 posts

awan...nice. but y only one piece of wood? get one more, then u can put one pointing to the roof. u can see them climb to the top and sit there.
tkt
post Feb 22 2009, 02:33 PM

336 posts

i get free hermitcrab everytime i catch crab at my hometown...
any1 interested 2 get free hc do pm me coz once a while i'll go back hometown...
RM1 each enough ler.... tongue.gif

coz really cannot understand y shop sell it at damn high price~ hmm.gif
maybe 4 me is common creatures?
i throw them back in2 sea, sometimes da crab trap is full of them(they r fast hunter).
g-string
post Feb 22 2009, 07:51 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(tkt @ Feb 22 2009, 02:33 PM)
any1 interested 2 get free hc do pm me coz once a while i'll go back hometown...

i throw them back in2 sea, sometimes da crab trap is full of them(they r fast hunter).
hi tkt,

i'm looking for the empty shells, can you get some for me? medium to big sizes. i will pay you for your trouble. smile.gif now cannot get anymore crabs, coz no empty shells sad.gif
xecton
post Feb 23 2009, 02:40 PM

The Reverend
734 posts

QUOTE(g-string @ Feb 20 2009, 05:35 PM)
penang beach should have? just take a walk and see if can pick up anything....
There's none lah.
tkt
post Feb 23 2009, 04:34 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(g-string @ Feb 22 2009, 07:51 PM)
hi tkt,

i'm looking for the empty shells, can you get some for me? medium to big sizes. i will pay you for your trouble. smile.gif now cannot get anymore crabs, coz no empty shells sad.gif
not so fast woh...
not sure when back hometown...
no worry, if i get any i'll let u know.
g-string
post Feb 23 2009, 11:34 PM

180 posts

QUOTE(tkt @ Feb 23 2009, 04:34 PM)
not so fast woh...
not sure when back hometown...
no worry, if i get any i'll let u know.
thanks man. hopefully u go back soon thumbup.gif rclxms.gif
yunkakei
post Feb 25 2009, 11:01 PM

QUOTE(tkt @ Feb 22 2009, 02:33 PM)

What sort of hermit crabs do you manage to catch? ^^ I'd like to buy some from you!
tkt
post Feb 26 2009, 12:20 AM

336 posts

sea hermit crab....
donno ler but it can live without water as well....
yunkakei
post Feb 28 2009, 05:42 PM

I see...Cuz I prefer keeping land hermit crabs. ^^ Okays, inform me if you get some~ 8D
ZeneticX
post Feb 28 2009, 06:40 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

referring to the 1st page the largest hermit sold here is the Strawberry / Purple Pincer Hermit Crab.any other species larger thn tht?
azian9100
post Mar 4 2009, 02:11 AM

242 posts

QUOTE(Awan Afuqya @ Feb 21 2009, 08:30 PM)
Finally set up my 2nd basic crabitat with a bigger tank, sand and coconut fibre. Trying to look for a nice deco / place to climb like those mini house or ship wreck.

Wow.. nice set up..... admired your good work... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
aaronlim18
post Mar 5 2009, 03:20 PM

== IT FREAK ==
802 posts

QUOTE(tkt @ Feb 26 2009, 12:20 AM)
sea hermit crab....
donno ler but it can live without water as well....
i also want, maybe 4 enough, btw, how they reproduce ehh?

21 Pages « < 12 13 14 15 16 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 08:11 PM