Badminton gear, racquets, shuttlecocks, shoes etc..

pskk
post Sep 20 2005, 10:19 AM

133 posts

dear all,

i'm from Penang and currently looking for a racket. i'm using a carbonex 20 SP at this moment. love this racket, adds power to my smashes even though i'm a small guy.
anyway as not really a good player, i would like a look for a racket that is more forgiving ( bigger sweet spot ) and more control. a friend recommended me trying an isometric shape racket, says it has a bigger sweet spot thus more forgiving.
my budget is around RM300, can u sifus out there gives some recommendations? would like to try Yonex MP series but hard to find in Penang. however saw MP44, 66 and 88 at one shop with very high price. the MP 88 retail price is RM649......didn't ask for any discount YET. can anyone tell me how much it costs in KL?
also FYI, would like a racket that is balance ( a little bit heavy on the head for power ) and maybe a medium to stiiff shaft.
about weight, one question, nowadays rackets getting lighter but manufacturers like Yonex claims that despite a lighter head, it can still generate power??? i'm sceptical about this hence my reluctance to get a racket weight lower than 3U.

thks.....
pskk
post Sep 20 2005, 10:29 AM

133 posts

sorry forgot to adv that the MP 44, 66 and 88 i saw are made in Japan and not Taiwan..
any other shops in Penag with a good selection of rackets i can view?

cchanmt,
u mentioned 'Wei sports' in Batu Lanchang...will try to find the place if not will ask for your help.

tried to add the Yonex selection chart for all here, not sure if successful.

thks.

pskk
post Sep 20 2005, 10:30 AM

133 posts

you need to click on the small attachment to view the selection chart......

pskk
post Sep 29 2005, 12:53 PM

133 posts

myth,

suggest you check out http://www.badmintoncentral.com/badminton-central/
you will find a lot of info in the forum section.....go into equipment reviews to chk out the reviews of whatever you want to know or you could go to the discussion forum on equipment for racquets.

pskk
pskk
post Sep 30 2005, 01:25 PM

133 posts

QUOTE(herberton @ Sep 30 2005, 08:49 AM)
Curetly im staying in Pulau tikus, penang. Just wonder if that is group which lack of people to play? I wish to play badminton at least once a week, but no kaki lah.

So, any group can let me join?

p/s: Im not a very good player... but its not that easy to beat also...
herberton,

if you are really keen, you can join my group.....we are not really good. a bunch of oldies from 30++ abv.
we play on Sun 9pm-11pm, have 2 courts ( in fact we occupy the school hall to our selves, so hv privacy ).....our group have about only 8 players so no need to worry about not being able to play.
only trouble is we play at the new chinese school ( Sin Min ) opposite PISA, may be a bit far for you.
we charge guest at RM5 per session or RM20 per mth....
if you are really keen, reply to this thread or PM me.

pskk

0.0402sec    1.05    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 02:42 AM